Reviews and Ratings for SOG SOGfari Sawback Machete 13" Carbon Steel Blade, Kraton Handles - MC01-N

SOG SOGfari Sawback Machete 13" Carbon Steel Blade, Kraton Handlesrated 2.250 stars out of 5 (8 reviews)
2.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
1
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
4
SOG SOGfari Sawback Machete 13 inch Carbon Steel Blade, Kraton Handles

 

Price: $26.95

Save $6.00 (18%) Off Retail

View Product Details
SOG SOGfari Sawback Machete 13" Carbon Steel Blade, Kraton Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Colange
clifton springs ny
Jan 18, 2014
Pros:
Cons:
No Issues
I don't know what other people are talking about but i beat the tar out of mine and its still breathing. I have used it enough and had it long enough to have it professionally sharpened twice. i have used it in freezing temperatures and 90 degree temp all the same. because of the small size its always in a back pack with me.
SOG SOGfari Sawback Machete 13" Carbon Steel Blade, Kraton Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tim
California
May 06, 2013
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
It Works
Not a fine knife but for the price you can't beat it.
SOG SOGfari Sawback Machete 13" Carbon Steel Blade, Kraton Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Grant
Altoona, PA
May 04, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, None
Cons: Edge Holding, Sheath, Blade material
Found Lacking
This product does do its job however, is a bit weak. I found after light use that the blade edge was actually bent from use. SOG could definatley beef up the steel or maybe not sharpen it so heavily, after all it is a Machete not a piece of Kitchen cutlery. The old cheap-O's I have used extensivly are much more durable. On a good note the SOGfari feels great in your hand. Way more solid and comfortable than any other Machete I have used. Also because of the sawtooth edge the sheath should be altered for ease of use, stock, the sawteeth catch on the sheath.
SOG SOGfari Sawback Machete 13" Carbon Steel Blade, Kraton Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Gwt
Mar 13, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Finish, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Materials
horrible
i used this machete to chop down some trees and brush and things like that, and earlier today i turn around and started chopping on a wood bored and it now has a 2 quarter sized holes in the blade, this is pathetic coming from SOG.
SOG SOGfari Sawback Machete 13" Carbon Steel Blade, Kraton Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Al
New Hampshire
May 06, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Weight, None
Cons: Blade Material, Overall Quality
Do not buy
Not a good machete. It looks great and it's razor sharp so sharp that it's too thin. The edge bent over after 5 minutes of clearing brush. Very disappointed in this tool I own a lot of great knives and bladed tools this is just not one of them.
SOG SOGfari Sawback Machete 13" Carbon Steel Blade, Kraton Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Grant Wills
Altoona, PA
Aug 17, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Material
Bad Blade
Update: Well the Carbon Steel Blade is even weaker than I had first stated. After probably a few more hours of use my entire blade snapped off. I never used the blade to pry, I even babied the machete after my initial realization of the wavy edge. But with one swing of my blade I was left holding the handle and ~2 inches of my blade, the rest was stuck in the wood. If you want to use this machete for cutting grass then I recommend it otherwise, get something else. It is possible that I just got a bad one but I expect better from SOG.
SOG SOGfari Sawback Machete 13" Carbon Steel Blade, Kraton Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Zak
Wisconsin
Nov 21, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: Blade Material, Materials, Finish
Piece of Junk
I have never written a review before!! Usually I am happy with a purchase because I look for quality. This machete is the biggest piece of junk I have ever bought. If I could give it a half of a star I would. Was chopping small trees to clear shooting lanes. Doing okay for a bit. Than noticed that after about 10 small trees(less than 1/2 inch in diameter) the blade was bent over at the edge!! I think they made this machete out of tinfoil. I have another machete that I used while on the service and have literally beat this thing to a pulp. Decided to try and find something better. What was I thinking. If you want to throw money away, than buy this piece of junk. If not go with ANYTHING else. It doesn't matter what. To SOG's credit I have owned a Sealpup since 2000 when I bought it in Germany while stationed there. That was the best knife I have owned. So I an soooo disappointed in SOG for this I will be writing a email to them. We'll see what they say. Stay away from this machete!!
SOG SOGfari Sawback Machete 13" Carbon Steel Blade, Kraton Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Alex B.
malvern OH.
Dec 16, 2011
Pros: None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
this is not the real sog machete go to sog.com for real machete.