Reviews and Ratings for SOG SOGfari Sawback Machete 18" Carbon Steel Blade, Kraton Handles - MC02-N

SOG SOGfari Sawback Machete 18" Carbon Steel Blade, Kraton Handlesrated 2.643 stars out of 5 (14 reviews)
2.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
3
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
3
1 star
5
SOG SOGfari Sawback Machete 18 inch Carbon Steel Blade, Kraton Handles

 

Price: $29.95

Save $8.00 (21%) Off Retail

View Product Details
SOG SOGfari Sawback Machete 18" Carbon Steel Blade, Kraton Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mk
Washington, DC
Oct 28, 2010
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Excellent
Gave away my last machete and this one is much more substantial in thickness and weight. easily chops bamboo. would like better sheath.
SOG SOGfari Sawback Machete 18" Carbon Steel Blade, Kraton Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nabilicious
new york, ny
May 25, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade material, Overall Quality, Edge Holding, Handle Material
sog sogfari machete
this is a good knife for the price and its better when you sharpen the blade. holds a edge very well.
SOG SOGfari Sawback Machete 18" Carbon Steel Blade, Kraton Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Camping Jack
Gaithersburg, MD
May 05, 2010
Pros: Sharpness, Blade material, Handle Material
Cons: None
Great Camping Tool
This thing is awesome. The regular blade is great for clearing brush, the saw back helps with thicker obstructions, and you can even use the handle to pound in steaks, or the eye at the top to pull them out. I never go camping without it.
SOG SOGfari Sawback Machete 18" Carbon Steel Blade, Kraton Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Pastor Matthew
Florida
Nov 30, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, None
SOG Great....for certain tasks!
Used this product along with gerbor gator to clear tree lines in Florida. Lightweight, durable and sharp right out of the box. The case was akward and the blade was very lightweight.....wish the sharp blade was durable. Purchased another SOG 18 in. after braking the first....cut great just was not designed to cut small trees. I will be more careful this time. STill like SOG better than the gerber.
SOG SOGfari Sawback Machete 18" Carbon Steel Blade, Kraton Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Pastor Matthew
Florida
Nov 30, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, None
SOG Great....for certain tasks!
Used this product along with gerbor gator to clear tree lines in Florida. Lightweight, durable and sharp right out of the box. The case was akward and the blade was very lightweight.....wish the sharp blade was durable. Purchased another SOG 18 in. after braking the first....cut great just was not designed to cut small trees. I will be more careful this time. STill like SOG better than the gerber.
SOG SOGfari Sawback Machete 18" Carbon Steel Blade, Kraton Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Scott Cannon
Victoria, Australia
Oct 01, 2010
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Material
Not that good
The blade dented when I hit a branch but it's probably not made for something that thick, it was about 3/4 of an inch thick. Other than that, it cut the thinner, more alive branches pretty good.
SOG SOGfari Sawback Machete 18" Carbon Steel Blade, Kraton Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Chris
Indiana
Dec 14, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Material, Materials
Did not buy here, however my blade broke in half the first time I swing it at a small branch!! The blade piece (about 8" long piece) flew right by my wife's neck and almost killed her, SOG offered me a new one but wouldn't have one of these crammed up my hindend!! Save yourself the trouble and buy Ontario or Cold Steel, they are similar price and NOT made with useless chinese metals. These are truly dangerous in my opinion, as I have owned dozens of machetes over the years.
SOG SOGfari Sawback Machete 18" Carbon Steel Blade, Kraton Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Sog Man
La Crosse, WI
May 05, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Sharpness, Sheath, None
Cons: Edge Holding, Blade material, Overall Quality
Make it tougher!
I was excited to get this machete after waiting a few months for SOG to release it. I used immediately to tackle trimming of my Lilac trees in the back yard. The machete cuts quick and clean and the saw back is ferocious. Using the knife edge to cut down branches 3/4" to 1" caused the blade to warp. I don't know if it was my strength or the toughness of the blade, it warped none - the - less. I also have a Gerber Machete and have used it the same way and the blade did not warp. The SOG machete is lithe and sharp and I recommend it for small duty jobs.
SOG SOGfari Sawback Machete 18" Carbon Steel Blade, Kraton Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
John V.
TEXAS
Jan 22, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Blade Material, Materials, Sheath/Scabbard
Highly disappointed...
I used this to clear some brush on my land. It dented quickly striking small branches, less than an inch in diameter. I mainly used it to chop climbing vines and it even dented on some of those. It was sharp out of the box but didn't even last one brush clearing session.
SOG SOGfari Sawback Machete 18" Carbon Steel Blade, Kraton Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Cory
Tahoe, CA
Apr 28, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Material, Materials
Same as the last review (Poor)
Initially I was pretty excited about this new machete. Its handle feels great, design and weighting is nice, sawblade has offset teeth as a real sawblade should, etc. It worked wonderfully for maybe a minute of cutting small brush and then I looked down at it to find 10-15 sizeable chunks (1-2 inch long sections about 1/4-1/2inch into the blade itself) missing out of the blade. I've used machetes for the last 15+ years and while I've seen them bend or get a chink in them if you caught a rock etc. I've never seen anything do this. I also was able to get a full refund on this(didn't buy here) so it's not so bad but if you plan on anything other than cutting high grass or maybe some leaves with this look elsewhere. If the metal were quality I'd love this though... hope for a redesign.
SOG SOGfari Sawback Machete 18" Carbon Steel Blade, Kraton Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Zachary
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Nov 25, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Good in theory not in practice
I have seen many reviews saying this machete is good for certain tasks unfortunately the task I set out for it was apparently to much. I used it to trim branches thinner than my pinky finger, the blade cut through them with ease however in the end we ran into problems. The blade is to thin which wouldnt be an issue if the blade was made from much better steel, it bent into an extremely wavy patterns after cutting through thin branchs and nearly broke after encountering a branch the thickness of my wrist. However that said the handle is excellent, but the quality of the steel is unacceptable. The icing on the cake was when it randomly fell out of the sheathe and cut through the flesh on two of my fingers and notched the bone. Overall good handle, good looking, and in theory well suited for many tasks but in the end the blade quality lets it all down.
SOG SOGfari Sawback Machete 18" Carbon Steel Blade, Kraton Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
G C
QC Canada
Nov 22, 2010
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, None
Cons: Blade Material, Overall Quality
Good balance, but weak.
Sorry, but this machete broke at first use, on a little tree. Fortunately I get a refund.
SOG SOGfari Sawback Machete 18" Carbon Steel Blade, Kraton Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
David
Spring, TX
Sep 05, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Finish, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Materials, Overall Quality, Blade Material
Brittle Blade not tough at all...Chipped, then Broke in Half!!
Initially felt good about this machete, the handle felt wonderful after years of using an Ontario (old army surplus). However, when finally set to anything better than green weeds or grass, the machete was easily chipped. When using to attempt to chop away at a log for a fire (a task my old machete didn't like too much either, but at least it lasted through the event) the blade broke in the middle, similar to what another reviewer mention their SOG had done to them. After reviewing, turns out that a Chinese steel was used to manufacture these. Too bad, the handle sure did feel nice...
SOG SOGfari Sawback Machete 18" Carbon Steel Blade, Kraton Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Pemby Dude
Pemberton BC
Mar 17, 2014
Pros:
Cons:
Garbage
Went back country in BC and pieces blew off the blade while I was going through 1/4"-3/8" kindling. SUCCCKS. Made to slice grass & flesh only I guess.