Reviews and Ratings for SOG Vulcan Folding Knife 3.5" VG10 Satin Plain Tanto Blade, Black GRN Handles - VL-03

SOG Vulcan Folding Knife 3.5" VG10 Satin Plain Tanto Blade, Black GRN Handlesrated 4.500 stars out of 5 (14 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
0
SOG Vulcan Folding Knife 3.5 inch VG10 Satin Plain Tanto Blade, Black GRN Handles

 

Price: $151.95

Save $17.00 (10%) Off Retail

View Product Details
SOG Vulcan Folding Knife 3.5" VG10 Satin Plain Tanto Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charles
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Jun 29, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, None
Awsome EDC
This is a great EDC knife, what really grabbed my attention when I received this knife was it has a san mai blade with a VG-10 laminate edge. I have a lot of different folders from various manufactures (Cold steel, CRKT, Gerber etc..) And this Vulcan beats them hands down every time. And yes I'm comparing it to similar units from the other companies. My favorite was the first gen. Cold steel Recon1. I am quite hard on knifes as far as every day use, prying chopping cutting stuff at my work so it gets a workout! Now my one and only complaint is it should have G10 grips and about 1/2 inch longer, would make this knife tops in my book! I may even buy another one of these as it's such a beautiful folder for EDC use!
SOG Vulcan Folding Knife 3.5" VG10 Satin Plain Tanto Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael B.
Zurich, Switzerland
Feb 08, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Masterpiece
I love pocket knifes. And this is one of the master pieces. Excellent quality, great looks and also nicely sharp out of the box. Have it with me every day - it never fails.
SOG Vulcan Folding Knife 3.5" VG10 Satin Plain Tanto Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark
Virginia
Dec 01, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Remarkable Tool and Work of Art
Carry daily at home and on travel. Excellent feel, quality and superb edge. Not my first SOG folder, but this is my first tanto blade. ARC lock is well documented and remains my favorite system. SOG continues to produce quality edged tools that result in a satisfied and loyal customer. Still looking for an appropriate sheath for other than pocket carry.
SOG Vulcan Folding Knife 3.5" VG10 Satin Plain Tanto Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andrew T
Erie, Pa
Mar 20, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: Handle Feel, None
Amazing Knife
Best everyday carry knife I've ever owned. Opens faster than any assisted opener I've ever had. Feels great in the hand. The blade is razor sharp and holds its edge really well. Ive been using it regularly for weeks and you could still shave with it. On top of that the blade is beautiful, with the the san-mai blade forging. Worth every penny and more. Only complaint would be that the zytel handle feels less expensive than you would expect, even though it is very grippy and virtually unbreakable.
SOG Vulcan Folding Knife 3.5" VG10 Satin Plain Tanto Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Terry A
Australia
Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Love it!
I have a lot of knives and this is probably one of my favourites. When I ordered it I expected it to be a little bigger then it actually was but apart from that it was perfect, i love the tanto blade shape and mine was razor sharp out of the box passing the paper test like it was nothing. Even the zytel handle scales actually seem better then I expected. But nothing compares to how fun this knife is to play with, in that aspect this knife is a dream. I would definatley recomend this knife, especially at the price its at right now!
SOG Vulcan Folding Knife 3.5" VG10 Satin Plain Tanto Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nick G
Jacksonville, FL
Dec 10, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath, None
UNLIKE ANYTHING YOU'VE EVER BOUGHT!
I love this knife. The blade is so beautiful and razor sharp. The deployment of the blade is smooth and lightning quick. The blade does cut into the handle alittle but not enough to hurt the blade. The only way it would harm the blade is if you swing the blade shut excessively. The handle is nice, I like how they put metal liner all the way down the inside. The knife is very sturdy and is worth every penny. Just wish knife center included a sheath with the knife.
SOG Vulcan Folding Knife 3.5" VG10 Satin Plain Tanto Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Manrico
Rome, ITALY
Jan 22, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Ease of Opening, Blade Material
Cons: None
Awesome blade!
Just got this beauty from Knife Center! I'm so pleased with it... fully produced in Seki City (Japan), it comes razor sharp out of the box! Super steel great ergos, superb finishes! One of the most appealing knife I have in my collection. It is rock solid and opens quickly as a flipper or by thumbstud. Not a small one but not heavy, fits the hand perfectly. Good as EDC but I see it asa perfect self defense knife. Definitely recommended!
SOG Vulcan Folding Knife 3.5" VG10 Satin Plain Tanto Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Aa
CA
May 11, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Purchased recently
I use the knife sparingly. Don't really have a daily use for it, but it is the perfect size, absolutely rock solid blade. Incredible blade shape. The Arch lock is fantastic.
SOG Vulcan Folding Knife 3.5" VG10 Satin Plain Tanto Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jason M.
OKC, OK
Nov 10, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Lock Type
Cons: None
Dont listen to this last guy.
This will be one of the most beautiful knives you ever hold. In my opinion this is SOG's masterpiece, the San Mai blade is Seki City perfection and the rest of the knife is flawless. The zytel handles feel high quality and have great grip. I checked mine and the spot that the last guy said his blade was hitting the inside of the knife and cutting into it, well the closest spot where the blade and inside of the knife come together on mine has about a 1/8" gap so the blade never comes close to hitting. Only bad thing is that the blade is so pretty you might not want to cut anything with it, just stare at it all day.
SOG Vulcan Folding Knife 3.5" VG10 Satin Plain Tanto Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lgl
World Wide
Jun 13, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Excellent knife
I love this knife. It's the second one I buy, cause my last one was stolen at the airport in Sierra Leone. Don't leave home without it.
SOG Vulcan Folding Knife 3.5" VG10 Satin Plain Tanto Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Brian
Washington
Mar 11, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Overall Quality, None
A great knife with one important flaw.
This is a great EDC knife. It holds an edge well and the slight recurve in the blade is very nice for slicing rope and such. The handle is comfortable, even for people with small hands like me. The knife can be easily deployed using the thumbstud, the tab on the back of the blade, and the arc lock. All three methods require a slight flick of the wrist, but the heavy blade carries significant momentum and the knife always opens successfully. It can also be flicked closed very easily. The handle is grippy, so I have never had this knife slip out of my hand even though it is a fairly heavy folder. The factory edge was reasonably sharp and proved to be durable. After one trip to the stones this knife sharpened up well and held an edge for a very long time. There is only one flaw worth recognizing in this knife: when closed, the cutting edge, right around the curve in the tanto tip, contacts the inside of the plastic handle. If you flick this knife closed, it will dull a 1/8th inch section of the cutting edge where the blade contacts the inside of the handle. This is hardly a flaw, and it does not inhibit the use of the knife. But I feel that it is worth mentioning. If not for this flaw, the knife would be worthy of five stars. I have a SOG x-ray vision tanto that does not have this issue. When closed, the arc lock stops the knife from closing until the blade contacts the inside of the handle.
SOG Vulcan Folding Knife 3.5" VG10 Satin Plain Tanto Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
C C
Canada
Jul 27, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Handle Material
Excellent and Beautiful Tool
The Vulcan Tanto is a lovely blade that I would have bought for looks alone even if it wasn't such a great knife. From the blade to the arc-lock to the steel reinforced liners, the Vulcan Tanto is an extremely well built knife compared to other knives of similar caliber. It serves my purposes well prying objects from wooden boards and even cracking open coconuts (albeit I would highly recommend against doing this regularly); generally anything that requires the front edge or tip. An unfortunate downside of the knife is definitely the zytel handle that is especially rough on sensitive fingers and hands. My particular product had perfectly flush seams on the zytel, but other reviews note that may not always be the case, so that should be considered with a grain of salt. Moreover, it is a concave bladed tanto, so specialized slicing tasks, such as cutting cardboard, is particularly difficult (relatively) for the knife, even with a sharpened edge. So if you require a knife for frequent slicing purposes, this particular tanto may not be the most practical of choices.
SOG Vulcan Folding Knife 3.5" VG10 Satin Plain Tanto Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Jake
WI
Apr 20, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Weight
Cool, but overpriced.
This is a great knife with a good steel and is overall very attractive. It's a little large to carry every day, but not overly so. However, with all of its pros, it also has some cons. The blade will actually make contact with the backspacer when you close it, and this is an issue. It cuts into the material and dulls the crap out of that spot on the edge quickly. Contacting SOG about this will pretty much get you a "too bad so sad" type of answer. Also, overall quality is only par at best. For a $155 knife made in Japan, I would expect better. It feels kind of cheap and they really skimped out by using zytel for the scales. The scales also don't line up on some of them. Honestly it's a crap shoot because some are perfect while most are not at all. Their quality control is REALLY lacking. Then again, SOGs are basically just Walmart knives. That being said, at the end of the day it is only a SOG, which are considered low end, simple production knives. I generally do not buy them and will usually not buy anything less than a Spyderco, but SOG does make some cool looking knives that are nice to have. Just bear in mind if you buy it and don't like it, you will lose half of your money or more if you sell it. They just don't hold their value because honestly they aren't worth it. If you can, wait till you find this knife second hand so you can pay a more reasonable price for it. The retail price is just ridiculous. This knife is definitely not worth $155, barely even a $100. At this $150 price point, you can buy a nice Benchmade or Spyderco. I say take your money elsewhere and buy a Benchmade Stryker/Griptillian tanto/Barrage tanto or a Spyderco tanto. All of those are in the same price range and are of MUCH higher quality.
SOG Vulcan Folding Knife 3.5" VG10 Satin Plain Tanto Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Colt R.
Iron River, MI
Oct 25, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Handle Material
Buyer Beware
I am an avid outdoorsmen and wanted a knife I could carry with me and feel safe carrying. When I saw the Vulcan Tanto I immediately fell in love with everything about it, especially the blade. I did my homework and all the reviews were good so I popped for it. Now, for a knife of this price I was extremely dissapointed in what I got. The handle feels worse than a $5 bargain knife. The handle is made out of three sheets of Zytel. On the back of the handle the seams didn't line up the way they should, pretty poorly in my opinion. I was pretty dissapointed at this point but I gave it a few days and really tried to not feel like I was duped. I almost convinced myself this was an ok knife until I saw something that blew my mind. When I actuated the arc lock and swung the.blade closed, the blade was making contact with the inside of the handle literally cutting the inside of the knife. At this point I had enough. I wrote to SOG and told them of my complaints and they told me to send the knife in to be examined. I got a call a few weeks later basically telling me that the knife does cut the inside and that I shouldn't swing the the blade closed, instead close it gingerly. I would have given this knife a 1 out of 5 but I really do like the blade but it just feels like a $20 knife over all.