Reviews and Ratings for Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Satin Plain S110V Blade, Dark Blue FRN Handles - C101PDBL2

Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Satin Plain S110V Blade, Dark Blue FRN Handlesrated 4.852 stars out of 5 (27.0 reviews)
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
23
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37 inch Satin Plain S110V Blade, Dark Blue FRN Handles

 

Price: $143.50

Save $61.50 (30%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Satin Plain S110V Blade, Dark Blue FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Justin
Georgia
Oct 23, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Really does hold a great edge. I've only sharpened mine once in the last 8 months. I used the Spyderco sharp maker and it only took a little longer than my s30v blades. This knife is unbelievably lightweight too. Definitely a steal for around $100.
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Satin Plain S110V Blade, Dark Blue FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Echosierra
Pennsylvania
Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

The Ultimate Lightweight

This knife finally ended my search for the ultimate lightweight backpacking knife. I prefer the ball bearing locking mechanism on this knife to the back lock on the Endura. Lockup is solid with no blade play in any direction. The factory edge is excellent. Blade centering is perfect. Ergonomics on this knife are second only to the Paramilitary 2. The only con is that it's perhaps a lot to spend for a plastic-handled knife. I'll take it for the weight savings though.
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Satin Plain S110V Blade, Dark Blue FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Richard B
Dallas, Tx
Jan 28, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None

Love it!

Bought the knife specifically for the CPM S110v and I'm very impressed with the steel. Came very sharp (as expected from Spyderco) and has held its edge better than any other knife I have. I've gone after cardboard just to see if it'll wear down and abused it at work per usual and it still cuts like a champ. Was a little leery of the plastic handles at first, but they are far more stout than i expected (and also very light and slim). Good stuff here!
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Satin Plain S110V Blade, Dark Blue FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jorgepl
Asturias, Spain
Jan 01, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None

Great value EDC knife

wonderful steel for an existing great design, improved with lighter handle. Amazing cutting ability tested by "gravity" cut of thin paper. Only cons would be the pinned construction that difficults customization of handle (Was thinking about a pair of Cuscadi micarta grooved or CF scales ...)
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Satin Plain S110V Blade, Dark Blue FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jk.
n/a
Jul 23, 2020
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Spyderco Lightweight S110V

Awesome pocket knife EDC just plain APlus for grade.
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Satin Plain S110V Blade, Dark Blue FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris
Calgary, AB Canada
Jan 12, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use
Cons: None

Spyderco C101PDBL2 Manix2

Great knife for pretty much anything you need it for. Ambidextrous design makes it ideal for left handed people. Very high build quality and extremely sharp out of the box.
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Satin Plain S110V Blade, Dark Blue FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Miguel L
Miami, Fl
Mar 08, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

The best EDC ever!

As soon as I saw this blade I knew I had to have it (subjective). The shape of this blade IMO is by far the best Spyderco has in production. Now the objective opinion: after 3 months of having it I must say I haven't experienced a most pleasant folding knife, the handle is extremely comfortable, super light weight, the clip performs like no other, the initial sharpeness is insane (be very carefull handeling it). In addition, S110V for this price? IMO it's amazing! lately there has been online discutions about super steels and not been so worth it, or not so "needed" , I've got to tell you 3 months of use with just stropping, I haven't had the nedd to sharpen it yet, and I use it every day. Uses: food prep (vegetables and meat), cardboard cutting, packages opening, wood stabbing (just for fun and review), still it performs perfectly. The locking mechanism OMG so easy to use (and pleasant), I've used lockbacks, liners, frames, TriAd (that's another thing) but none like this, even it make me want to get the Benchmade griptillian just for the Axis lock, so usefull. About the handle material, I have to admit my first impression was "this looks cheap" but later on I've noticed that this is the reason it is so light weight and moreover the feeling in the hand an the compatibility with the tipe of lock is the reason this handle material is there, so no complaints at all. There is a G10 version of this knife, but since I dont think the Cold Steel G10 has a competitor on grip and I own a fiew, there is no need for G10 on this knife (IMO). Also I saw a review on YouTube comparing this knife with the G10 version and the poster choose was clear, LIGHT WEIGT. Conclussion, you can't go wrong with this knife.
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Satin Plain S110V Blade, Dark Blue FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cone M.
SC
May 13, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None

Great knife

What else need be said.
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Satin Plain S110V Blade, Dark Blue FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ian
VA
Mar 21, 2018
Pros: Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None

Lightweight Power House

An excellent EDC knife, it may give the illusion of being cheaply constructed but it's far from it. It is an excellent slicer with amazing ergonomic. I would recommend it to anybody.
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Satin Plain S110V Blade, Dark Blue FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kumasdad
CO.
Jun 08, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None

Another great Spyderco

My Spyderco collection keeps growing this is a very solid knife really feels great in your hand. Thanks for the fast shipping will comment later on use.
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Satin Plain S110V Blade, Dark Blue FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt
Pensacola Fl
May 10, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

great EDC

This knife is great its comfortable and holds an edge. Used it to cut about 30 ceiling tiles still sharp.
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Satin Plain S110V Blade, Dark Blue FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Constantine
cerritos, ca
Jun 23, 2015
Pros: Handle Feel, Lock Type, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None

A great full size lightweight Spyderco knife!

I love Spyderco knives! this is an all american made in the USA steel & handle knife. the blade is CPM-S110V, this is a good hard use super steel. the full sized handle feels comfortable in hand. the volcano grip on the frcp handle gives great traction! the ergos on the handle is great and very lightweight. the over all size and design makes this a great edc & utility knife and can double as a tactical knife. the full flat ground blade makes this a wicked slicer. no lateral & vertical blade play, and well centered. this is a ball bearing lock design and its solid. i love this knife.
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Satin Plain S110V Blade, Dark Blue FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Richard
Canada
May 10, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None

Amzing steel on a proven knife

First off let me just tell you this knife is incredible. The original manix lightweight was pretty much perfect except for the blade steel. CTS-BD1 had terrible edge retention and now Spyderco has more than rectified that by giving the knife a premium super steel blade. S110V has unparalleled edge retention. Its basically S90V (considered by many to be the holy grail of super steels) on steroids! The handle material is state of the art. Don't be fooled by the plasticy look and feel - it's nearly indestructible. The lock is exceptional too. It's easy to use and will never fail. The lockup is ridiculously solid with ZERO blade play in any direction. Overall this knife is pretty much perfect in every way.
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Satin Plain S110V Blade, Dark Blue FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kyle
Indiana
Sep 02, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None

Great EDC

I use this knife in a restaurant environment four-five days a week. Cutting cardboard, green abrasive scour pads, and more. Edge retention utility wise is phenomenal, haven't had a need to resharpen it. I reprofiled it at 25 degrees per side as soon as I got it because while the aggressive 10 degree angles from spyderco are sharp and cool looking, they don't last and do not fit my needs in a knife. Ergonomics, good. Handle, good. Blade, good. Steel, good. Overall I recommend this knife to anyone looking for a full sized EDC blade.
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Satin Plain S110V Blade, Dark Blue FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stryker
California
May 08, 2018
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None

FRCP beats Grivory.

My goal is tough 'n light, sub $200. I bought the Benchmade Bugout, the ZT 0460 and this Manix 2 Lightweight to compare and score (A) (B) (C). SCORECARD [Objective] Blade strength: A-Manix2LW. B-Bugout. B-0460. Handle strength: A-0460. B-Manix2LW. C-Bugout. Cutting: A-Manix2LW. B-Bugout. C-0460. Build quality: A-0460. B-Manix2LW. B-Bugout. Weight: A-Bugout. B-0460. C-Manix2LW. Street Price: A-Bugout. B-Manix2LW C-0460. [Subjective] Ergonomics: A, A, A. Ease of Deployment: A-Bugout. A-Manix2LW. B-0460. Ease of Closure: A-Bugout. B-Manix2LW. B-0460. Aesthetics: A-0460. A-Bugout. C-Manix2LW. Pocket clip: A-Bugout. B-Manix2LW. B-0460. Hope this helps.
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Satin Plain S110V Blade, Dark Blue FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bill C
St Louis,Mo
Jan 20, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Manix 2 Lightweight--A great value and as advertised

I needed a knife that could be opened and closed with one hand and with and without gloves on while hunting and fishing as well as Everyday Carry. Researched various knives from flippers to automatics and chose Spyderco's Manix 2 Lightweight. From the first time I used the knife, I knew I had made a good decision. Blade sharp from the factory. Lockup is solid. Closing was a bit stiff but after using it for several weeks, the action is so smooth after break in. It is so light for its size, that I often forget that it is in my pocket. The minimalist clip works well and the handle texture works wet or dry. I have small-medium size hands and I was surprised at how large the knife is, but it fits my hand well and the jimping and choil are placed perfectly for choking up while doing finer cutting. It is a great value for the money in my opinion. I like the knife well enough that I am thinking about buying a one for family members and friends. I would tell anyone to check the Manix 2 Lightweight if they are in the market for a good EDC knife
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Satin Plain S110V Blade, Dark Blue FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Trent
Spruce Pine, NC
Jan 12, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Pocket Clip
Cons: None

Awsome Light EDC!!

This is a very sturdy lightweight edc knife. Excellent steel. Dont let the unlined handle fool you its strong.
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Satin Plain S110V Blade, Dark Blue FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mario M
SSF, CA
Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Great great knife

Light weight. Really good steel just hard to sharpen but stays sharp for long... feels great in the hand. You can't go wrong with this knife
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Satin Plain S110V Blade, Dark Blue FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Erik W
SC
May 08, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

You won't notice it's in your pocket

I've had the knife for about a month now and it's done well. Summer finally started and I finally got some use out of it at work. It cut through thick industrial zip ties pretty easily. I accidentally hit the edge on metal handrails and rubbed it against the metal a good bit while cutting plastic off some rails. When I got home, I did a couple runs on the ceramic rod and it still shaved my arm hair. The lock on the blade is very well. It takes some getting used to but it locks up tight with no wiggle and is closeable with 1 hand. The handle is nice with good grip. The blue looks really nice. The wire clip is awesome. It's strong but easy to clip on your pocket. And it looks pretty cool
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Satin Plain S110V Blade, Dark Blue FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Inetta
Rijssen, Other
Sep 07, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Best lightweight spyderco edv

I've owned it for about 5 months or a few more. It's taken the place over my blurple manix 2 and pm2. I've used it a lot and it is so light yet so durable, and giving it S110V steel was a brilliant idea. Over all this time I have sharpened it just a few times. It's keeps its shaving edge so long. And even when you feel it lost a bit of bite taking it past the fine stones on a sharp maker gets it shaper then factory delivered again. Just keep up semi regular light sharpening like that and you'll never deal with the harder work like going from dull to shaving sharp. It's very light but it's a beast. After 2 months of work it's still very sharp and it simply won't give in. Superb. Ergonomics, weight build quality and blade quality 5/5 all around.
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Satin Plain S110V Blade, Dark Blue FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rob
Severn
May 08, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Great Value

This knife has it all, great blade geometry, great ergonomics, light weight, and superb steel...all at an extremely reasonable price. The flat ground leaf shaped blade is an excellent slicer, yet retains enough material behind the edge to be very strong. The point seems to have the control of a wharncliffe, but the piercing ability of a spear point. It's an excellent balance. It excels in the kitchen in any task you'd normally break out your paring knife for, yet it strong enough to beat up in the garden or shop. The spydie-hole can be used like a thumb-stud to open the knife with ease, but unlike a thumb stud, it does not get in the way when slicing or sharpening. The knife itself is well thought out and has some great ergonomic features. It comes from the factory with a right-side tip-up carry pocket clip that I like. It's reversable if you'd like to carry on your left side. The clip itself is attractive, light weight, and allows for good concealed carry, but doesn't sit the knife so deep in your pocket to where it would be difficult to draw it out. The handles have an aesthetically pleasing texture that sticks to wet and slimy hands(I just used the knife to trim some chicken in the kitchen and had no problems with the knife slipping). The handle scales themselves are a nice dark blue FRN. Don't let you think this knife is fragile because it lacks full steel liners(one knife I'm aware of had the blade snap when abused rather than a handle-failure. The handle is plenty strong and does not flex). The handles are TOUGH and the knife has figure 8 shaped steel reinforcement inserts around the pivot to the stop pin rivot. The FRN does make for an extremely light knife that's also easy on the wallet. The knife opens with a little teamwork from your thumb and your wrist. Once out, you get the feeling of complete control. Not only is there texture where it's needed, but there is a generous finger-stop in the handles and an additional choil milled in to the blade for choking up to hold in an almost pinch-grip to hold the blade between the index finger and thumb. What would a knife review be without some mention of 'jimping"? This knife has it in spades on the spine of the knife and handles. My thumb naturally indexes to direct forward and downward pressure on the blade and has no feeling that it will slip anywhere under hard use our thrusting motions. The handle itself is shaped nicely to fill the hand with a pronounced hook near your pinky to lock it in your hand....again, with more jimping molded into the FRN handles near along the pinky-hook. The ball lock is great. It's ambidextrous and similar in use and feel to the benchmade axis-lock. On mine, it's easy to draw back the lock with my thumb and index finger to flick the knife closed. On my brother's knife(the same one) his lock spring was more stiff and may require snipping a coil or pretty extensive break-in to feel like mine out of the box. My knife also has more lock engagement than his. In any rate, the spyderco ball lock requires some extra force to pull back when compared to the axis lock, but is just as easy once your fingers toughen up a bit. It's simple and quick to both flick the knife out and to flick the knife closed with one hand while your other hand is busy with another task. The blade steel is the real news with this knife. S110V has 2.8% carbon, 15.25% chromium, 9% vanadium, 3% niobium, 2.25% molybdenum, and 2.5% cobalt. When put together in crucible's particle metallurgy process, this makes for very finely and uniformly grained steel that has exceptional corrosion resistance. The big news is that this steel has a LOT of carbides in it. It's loaded with the very hard vanadium carbides, but also benefits from the niobium and chromium carbides. This makes this VERY wear resistant steel. Once you form an edge on it, it's going to keep it long into the future with minimal maintenance. At the 63HRC where sal is treating these blades to, it's going to be hard to find any steel except perhaps k390 that will hold an edge as well. From the factory, it was pretty sharp with a decently uniform and even grind...but knife-nerds will likely desire better. Be prepared to put some elbow-grease in to sharpening this thing. That excellent wear-resistance means you're going to have to use diamond and/or silicon carbide stones. Regular stones just won't cut efficiently to put a good edge on it. Even with diamond stones, you're going to need to really work to chase the edge down as fine as you can. Stropping takes a while, so do the stone-work necessary to reduce the burr a bit before jumping over to the strop. The only real negative I have is that the pivot was adjusted really tight from the factory. With the lock fully drawn back, the blade had some significant resistance to opening and closing. It was not like my s30v PM2 that just swings like a pendulum. It was also slightly off-center, but I've never really cared about that unless it interferes with the function of the knife. I adjusted the pivot a bit and now it's much slicker, but still has no play when locked open. This bumped the camo s30v PM2 and my cpm-m4 contego out of my pocket as my current edc because of how light it is, how great the ergonomics are, and how great the steel is at keeping an edge. I am very pleased with it and would absolutely buy it again for the price listed. Spyderco really brought their a-game by putting out a knife with these features at this price-point. There's a reason it's hard to find this knife in stock anywhere.
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Satin Plain S110V Blade, Dark Blue FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charlie
Montana
Nov 19, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great Knife

I just love this hi-tech steel.
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Satin Plain S110V Blade, Dark Blue FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeffc
AZ
Jul 06, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Lighter, better steel

I have 2 original Mannix 2's and they are fine knives but are very heavy. This new lightweight model is much easier to EDC and the S110V blade takes and holds an edge well.
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Satin Plain S110V Blade, Dark Blue FRN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Sean
PA
May 12, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None

Great new offering from Spyderco!

This knife came hair-whittling sharp. The S110V is a great steel that holds up and the edge geometry is great. I wish Spyderco used a better pocket clip like the one they use on the Paramilitary 2. Overall, a great knife.
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Satin Plain S110V Blade, Dark Blue FRN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
David H
Stratford
Jul 07, 2015
Pros: Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Material
Cons: None

good edc

When it first arrived I wasn't that pumped on the handle but it has grown on me,its a lot stronger than the weight suggests. This lives in my overalls pocket and cuts all manner of things. I'd like to say it stays razor sharp but alas while better than my other knives it still needs a touch up from time to time.
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Satin Plain S110V Blade, Dark Blue FRN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bill
Buffalo ny
Aug 19, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Pocket Clip, Lock Type
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Handle Feel, None

Good but not great

Spyderco had a great idea with making a knife with s110v steel. It's rare, holds and edge, and harder than a coffin nail. But it seems like spyderco blew it's sad on the steel and forgot the rest. The handle is acceptable but not great. If they would take the time to put some g10s on it then this knife would be truly a masterpiece.
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Satin Plain S110V Blade, Dark Blue FRN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Sean
PA
May 21, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Great edge geometry and the steel is super durable. My only complaint is the flimsy pocket clip which bent after a few weeks. I had to fight with spyderco for them to send me a new one.