Reviews and Ratings for Spyderco Delica 4 Flat Ground 2-7/8" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRN Handles - C11FPGY

Spyderco Delica 4 Flat Ground 2-7/8" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRN Handlesrated 4.750 stars out of 5 (20 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
17
4 star
1
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Spyderco Delica 4 Flat Ground 2-7/8 inch VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRN Handles

 

Price: $84.00

Save $36.00 (30%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Spyderco Delica 4 Flat Ground 2-7/8" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cman
Wi,USA
Nov 13, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Excelllent Knife
For the last 6 months I have used this as my EDC blade. Nice and light weight. I use this mostly for cutting cardboard The VG-10 steel is extremely rust resistant and keeps a very sharp edge. The locking mechanism took a little while to loosen up, but works flawlessly not and no movement The clip can be adjusted for tip up or tip down left and right as well.
Spyderco Delica 4 Flat Ground 2-7/8" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jk
Australia
Jul 05, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Feel
One of the best edc knife
It's an edc knife for me. I had this knife for over 3 weeks now and carry it everyday. It is extremely light in weight, comes razor sharp and good design. The only drawback is the handle is not built as tough as some of my other knives like Benchmade. But then, Benchmade is in another league and much more expensive.
Spyderco Delica 4 Flat Ground 2-7/8" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tanner
Seekonk, ma
Nov 18, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Perfect edc
If you need your edc to be 3" or less.. This is the way to go. It's a sturdy, sharp, light weight, and rides low in the pocket. It feels great opening. It gives a bit more resistence than some spydercos i've used...but not so much that its the slightest bit difficult to open. This knife is extremely well made and definitely in the right price range for carrying around and constantly risking damage or loss.
Spyderco Delica 4 Flat Ground 2-7/8" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kevin G
Fort Lauderdale
Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Another excellent , affordable Spyderco product
A great size EDC, lightweight and easily accessible. Looking forward to my next purchase...
Spyderco Delica 4 Flat Ground 2-7/8" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mwebb
Oakland CA
Apr 22, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Very Flat & Light, Best Opening System, "Boye" Dent
I've always internally debated the relative merits of the Cold Steel Medium and Large Voyagers in their clip point configuration, VS. the Spyderco Delica/Endura. Both series are great knives, really light in the pocket with both "sheeple" and knife-nut lengths, efficient, relatively low cost (absolute terms!) and incredible modern bargains (in cost-to-quality terms!) and have been marketed for years and years - so that they have both passed the test of time in terms of consumer acceptance in a very competitive knife market, and in terms of "reports from the field" (validation by a lot of users). Recently, however, the Voyager series has moved in a new direction - much more massive handles, and a substantial (relatively speaking) increase in weight. So now the Delica4 and Endura are pretty much the remaining "flat and light" pocket knives. The Delica4, with pocket clip removed, is so flat it hardly leaves a silhouette in a jacket pocket - and it is so light it won't drag down your pocket. WIth the clip on, you can clip in inside a men's suit on the typical "checkbook" inner pocket and once again it is so light it won't drag down the pocket. Lockbacks are generally stiffer to thumb or flip open than liner-lock designs. Unfortunately for me on the former Cold Steel Medium Voyager, in order to open the blade with my thumb on the stud, I had to apply medium to heavy pressure which would cause the pad of my thumb to push down onto the actual edge of the blade, which made me nervous about thumbing the knife open in a hurry or under stress. (The current series Medium Voyager has a much wider blade and hitting my thumb pad on the blade is not a problem any more - the original Voyagers had much narrower blades.) Although the Spyderco Delica4 is a lockback with similar resistant to opening (probably closer to medium), I feel a lot more confident opening it with the PATENTED large opening hole. That's the reason you don't see other "hole"-based opening systems with the large round hole and Spyderco "hump" - because the design of the hole and hump are exclusive to Spyderco. I used to hate the exaggerated size of the opening hole on Spydies - the hole seemed unnecessarily big and the hump a deformity. But after playing with various designs over the years, I really appreciate the classic large Spydie with the large thumb whole - whether I hit the inner edge of the thumb hole with the tip of my thumb, or just land the fat of my thumb in the whole, opening is safe, secure, predictable, and quick. In other words safer when you are in a hurry. There is only one negative to the big hole. If you carry without the pocket clip, just lose in pant's front pocket, the hole is easy to catch on something and to begin to accidentally open the knife on withdrawal. For that reason I recommend either using the pocket clip and positioning the blade edge against a pant seam, or cutting off an old piece of bicycle tubing and sheathing the knife 3/4 of the way into the tubing. It will stay in your pocket (friction) when you pull the knife out of your pocket. Since the Delica has a removable pocket clip and screw holes on both ends and both sides, you can use the knife equally well left or right handed, in left or right, front or back, pockets. I like the pocket clip in the "stock" position because I don't have to flip the knife around in my hand to point it in the right direction for opening, and because I can curl my finger tips around the clip edge for a more secure grip when opening with one hand. The knife can also be snapped/flipped opened, holding EITHER the handle OR pinching the opening hole. The "Boye" dent is a slight depression in the lockbar which doesn't interfere with easy release for closing, but significantly reduces the risk of accidental opening due to a tight grip on the handle. The new Cold Steel Medium Voyager has a new Tri Ad modified lockbar system which greatly reduces the risk of accidental closing if the open and locked blade is "rapped" against a desk top (to test!) or hit on the back of the blade by a baton (escrima sparring with a taped blade). The Delica4 has a traditional lockbar system but passed my informal "rap the desk" test (with glove on!). There is little to no "flex" of the handle sides due to the addition of steel liners. Frankly I didn't notice much if any flex on the predecessor Delica design, and the steel liners might have been added to improve detectability through airport magnetometers in airports that don't use full body scanners. Finally I like the full flat grind (FFG) much better than the old hollow grind, and the new colors are really playful. The raised Volcano design on the handle is much grippier too. Overall the Delica4 is the "best of" thin and flat knives, with the Benchmade Pardue 530 being perhaps the only real, but much more tactical looking, competition.
Spyderco Delica 4 Flat Ground 2-7/8" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 13, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Great
Great quality for the money
Spyderco Delica 4 Flat Ground 2-7/8" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lime
MO
Jun 24, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Premium EDC
This has been my EDC knife for years. Mine is so old it has a molded pocket clip as part of the handle. I've used it for about everything even gutting whitetail deer. It holds its edge well. I like the size and lite weight and the fact that it is easily opened with one hand. It still locks open tight. I did break the very tip of it off years ago using it as a pry bar but, a quick touch up on the grinder fixed that.
Spyderco Delica 4 Flat Ground 2-7/8" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Aznriptide859
Durham, NC
Sep 21, 2010
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Sheath, Lock Type, None
Excellent EDC Knife
This was the first serious knife I bought, and for its price it's an amazing EDC knife. It's very sharp, lightweight, and the thumb-hole opening method is very smart, better than the thumb stud method in my opinion. For it's price, it definitely delivers.
Spyderco Delica 4 Flat Ground 2-7/8" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Katie W.
Poughkeepsie ny
Apr 11, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great
Fits well in hand, lovely knife
Spyderco Delica 4 Flat Ground 2-7/8" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tim
Pell City, Al
Jul 17, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great EDC
Love it. Best EDC knife around.
Spyderco Delica 4 Flat Ground 2-7/8" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael
Indiana
Jan 04, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Excellent all-around knife!
This is my fourth Spyderco Delica purchase. I actually purchased this one to give as a gift to my father-in-law for Christmas after he fell in love with my Delica. In my opinion, the Delica is an excellent all-around EDC design because it is lightweight, durable, ergonomically comfortable, and very easy to maintain. The standard VG-10 stainless steel sharpens easily and can take a very fine edge. Spyderco does a very good job offering a variety of steels in the their models (including the Delica). However, VG-10 is an excellent steel for general daily use. I also like the full flat grind in that it offers optimal slicing performance through most materials. If you don't own a Delica, I urge you to give it a try! You won't be disappointed.
Spyderco Delica 4 Flat Ground 2-7/8" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cody Ob
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Aug 31, 2013
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Durable Delica
This is my current EDC. Great all around everyday carry knife for the price. It can cut, it can saw, it can slice and it can stab! Perfect in a pinch, it could easily serve as a defensive option without seeming too menacing. The volcano FRN handle has a strong grip to it. Spyderco makes some tough knives and this is one of them. Great value, awesome VG-10 steel, it will last you forever.
Spyderco Delica 4 Flat Ground 2-7/8" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jcraig
Tennessee
Oct 19, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
A great addition to a proud line
I wanted a smaller 3" ~ ish EDC and couldn't make up my mind between this and the new Cold Steel Med Voyager. So I got both. Wow, this bad boy won the comparison hands down. Honestly, made in Japan carries a lot of geek weight with me when it comes to blades so that is a big plus. I have a 15+ year old Delica and while the basic shape is the same, the improvements over time are incredible. The FFG blade is thinner than their normal knives but that smaller profile makes for some beastly EDC style cutting. The steel liners don't add much to the overall weight but add a lot to my opinion of the stability of the lock up and overall structure. The extra large Spyder hole makes one hand deployment a breeze and for those who don't mind the look of it, the zip tie wave mod works flawlessly once you get the hang of it. As much as I like all of the above, where the design of the knife impresses me the most is the clip. The little oval for the Spyderco Delica logo in the center looks pretty, but it also serves as a flat smooth surface that sits directly under the pocket clip's contact point with your clothes regardless of which of the 4 points you choose to screw your pocket clip to. I cannot recommend this knife enough.
Spyderco Delica 4 Flat Ground 2-7/8" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Monroe Joe
Jacksonville
Dec 18, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Best edc
Best edc would like a H1 version but this will do just fine.
Spyderco Delica 4 Flat Ground 2-7/8" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael
Scottsdale, AZ
Apr 02, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great Knife
This is a very well put together knife. Very sharp, and the locking mechanism is excellent. It is light and easy to carry. I purchased it because of its large thumb handle, and it works as expected. Easy to open in a hurry. Love the grip: cool looking and non-sliding. Highly recommended.
Spyderco Delica 4 Flat Ground 2-7/8" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cynergyou
Southern NH
Sep 28, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great Everyday Knife
I bought this as an everyday carry utility knife. I like its lightweight, convenient clip design (you can change the location of the clip on the handle to suit your carrying needs). The blade is sharp and easy to open. The locking mechanism is good, although you can detect a very slight wobble of the blade if you try and wiggle the blade. This is a very useful and well made knife.
Spyderco Delica 4 Flat Ground 2-7/8" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tim
Pell City, Al
Jul 17, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great EDC
Love it. Best EDC knife around.
Spyderco Delica 4 Flat Ground 2-7/8" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Shreekar R Rao
Mumbai, India
Feb 27, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Sheath, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, None
Great EDU
The Delica 4 is an excellent knife. Use it daily. Good edge retention. Happy with VG10 steel. Could have been lighter.
Spyderco Delica 4 Flat Ground 2-7/8" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRN Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Fishin Fool
Florida
Feb 23, 2018
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality
Ok EDC knife
I use this knife on a daily basis. It is not abused or misused, but sees way more use than most every day carry knives. It has cut cardboard, heavy paper, wood, soft plastics and skinned a couple of hogs too, when I forgot my hunting knife in the vehicle. The full flat grind is nice and makes cutting through thicker material easier. I need to sharpen every 2 to 3 weeks to keep a really sharp edge on it, which is less often than many other knives I have carried. The blade is holding up very well, and so is the handle material. I have had some issues with the knife. It is now about two years old and the clip came loose several times, finally I gave up and took it off. One of the small rivets that hold the handle together is working it’s way out, and it looks like the knife is about to start falling apart on me after two years. I purchase good quality knives for my everyday carry and usually get about 3 to 4 years of life from them, it doesn’t look like this Spyderco Delica is going to make it that long. It’s too bad, because I really like the VG 10 flat ground blade. I am sure it would make an excellent light duty everyday knife, just not made to hold up to heavy use for long term.
Spyderco Delica 4 Flat Ground 2-7/8" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRN Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Dave
Knoxville, Tn
Dec 15, 2016
Pros: Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Cons: Overall Quality
Last Non USA Spyderco I'll Ever Buy
This knife is OK at best. The quality just isn't here. There are better knives out there at this price point. The Byrd Meadowlark 2 is a much better pick...and cheaper.