Reviews and Ratings for Spyderco Caly 3.5 Folding Knife ZDP-189 / 420J2 Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber Handles - C144CFPE

Spyderco Caly 3.5 Folding Knife ZDP-189 / 420J2 Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber Handlesrated 5.000 stars out of 5 (8 reviews)
5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Spyderco Caly 3.5 Folding Knife ZDP-189 / 420J2 Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber Handles

 

Price: $220.50

Save $94.50 (30%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Spyderco Caly 3.5 Folding Knife ZDP-189 / 420J2 Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Texas Ed
Pennsylvania
Jan 29, 2020
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Classy
Great Knife. Very sharp as expected. Pretty slim in the pocket. The deep carry clip took some getting used to but its nice. I will only carry this to the office and out to fancy dinners. I have my hard use knives for the field. This will stay pampered as it should. Fit and finish are spot on. The thumb hole was sharp but am now used to it. Great looking blade. If you are thinking about purchasing this knife, you should do it. It is simple but impressive. Great piece of sharp steel.
Spyderco Caly 3.5 Folding Knife ZDP-189 / 420J2 Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Damon B
Dallas Tx
May 29, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Classy & tough
The Spyderco Caly 3.5 had been at the top of "must have knives" for quite a while. And I got one about 2 months ago. And I have definitely fallen in love with it. I have it ranked just below My Paramilitary 2 as my all time favorite at this time. The only SMALL issue I had was when it was just out of the Box it was gritty. When opening and closing you could tell and feel that there were possible metal shavings from the factory that were settled onto the pivot area. That was making the open and close of the knife not as smooth as I am use to seeing all spyderco knives. But with 2 drops of Nano oil it's EXACTLY how I was wanting it to be. It's cleared of all debris that was causing the problem. And that was all I can say about the knife that was not 100% right. Other than that it is definitely top-notch quality and very very nice knife. It's my perfect weekend Carrie for church and going out to dinner knife. It could handle anything I need it for I'm sure, but some knives are just too pretty to want to put through the ringer
Spyderco Caly 3.5 Folding Knife ZDP-189 / 420J2 Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Marc
Tennennesse USA
Oct 20, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Feel, None
Classy Large EDC
Classy Large EDC. More than enough style and class to impress, enough blade to intimidate. Polished carbon fiber handle scales do provide enough grip for delicate tasks, however not enough traction for aggressive ones. Thankfully good quality gimping is applied. The ZPD-189 san mai blade is beautiful and holds a toothy sharp edge for a long time. Consequently, don't think about sharpening this blade without diamond stones. The steel is too hard and has too many carbides to get a sharp edge otherwise. The pinned construction with the solid back lock is annoying. As a primary EDC, this will collect dust and lint inside. Expect to give the knife attention every once in awhile to keep it looking good.
Spyderco Caly 3.5 Folding Knife ZDP-189 / 420J2 Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Eugene L.
Mesa, AZ
May 21, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Solid gold
I just received this knife from KC and am floored. I watched a lot of reviews before dropping the cash and let me just say if you want perfection in a production knife, this is it... I read a lot about ZDP-189 and have handled a ton of blades, but out of the box this thing seemingly wanted to tear through spacetime. The true carbon fiber is stunning (as always) and the weight is stellar. The only thing I dislike is the ease of opening, *however* that is simply because it is brand new and not a blemish on the knife itself. Get one!
Spyderco Caly 3.5 Folding Knife ZDP-189 / 420J2 Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Fireman 306
Kaufman Texas
Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Sunday Carry
This is my " go to" knife every Sunday when I go to church. I carry it then because it's a knife I enjoy keeping in the best shape possible just due to how nice and pretty it is. It's a great slicing knife. Very thin behind the edge makes slicing through anything feel like silk. I have been a big fan of ZDP-189 steel a long time. And couldn't be happier with it. It's a thin knife overall. Makes it a great knife to carry as a gentleman's folder. But it is well put together and can accomplish the tasks of EDC without any problem whatsoever. I'd definitely recommend it to anyone interested. It is stiff at first. And it may have a " grittiness to it when you first get it." I found that it was steel dust from sanding from the assembly. And a drop or two of Nano oil fixed that INSTANTLY
Spyderco Caly 3.5 Folding Knife ZDP-189 / 420J2 Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sumantri
Jakarta
Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Ideal EDC knife
Ideal EDC knife for me. Blade material, finish and sharpness is excellent. Handle provides good grip for delicate cutting but can also be adapted for tactical use if necessary. Smooth opening, secure lockup and easy unlocking. Light and thin, but still has enough heft to inspire confidence. Looks and feels good in the hand. An excellent knife.
Spyderco Caly 3.5 Folding Knife ZDP-189 / 420J2 Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cameron
Des moines
Oct 25, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Outstanding EDC for most
I have carried this knife as an EDC for several years now and it is the knife I always come back to. I had two of the three inch versions and now I'm on my second 3.5, so I have a lot of experience with them. While it is not a heavy duty knife, it is ideal for everyday tasks like slicing food, opening boxes, etc. it is very light and has supremely good materials. The zdp can be a little hard to maintain without good abrasives, but it is harder than anything else out there. A full flat grind is difficult to find and this one is perfect, tapered heel to tip as well as spine to edge. A work of art. The pivot will not stand up to yard work or remodeling, but I have other knives for that. This thing will slice like no other. The design is not scary for non knife types and the old fashion back lock makes it seem even less aggressive. The ergos are great, the materials are great, the grind is great. What else can I say? I'm buying a third one in case I ever lose the one I've got.
Spyderco Caly 3.5 Folding Knife ZDP-189 / 420J2 Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matthew
Kailua, Hi
Nov 03, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Call 3.5 with ZDP-189
This is a very well made EDC folder that you will not be disappointed with. It has all the features that one would want for a pocket knife. The carbon fiber scales are really nice over the stainless steel liners. Economics of this knife is superb across the board, balance, smoothed surfaces, handle comfort, and hand placement. The weight and size to blade ratio are unsurpassed. My most favorite attribute of this knife is the blade design and shape. A perfect utility leaf style blade made with a wonderful San Mai steel laminate of ZDP-189/420J2. ZDP-189 is the premier blade steel available on the global market, so at the price point of this knife, it's a bargain. I believe that this knife will be discontinued as it shows it's not in stock at Spyderco. I highly recommend picking up one of these jewels while the ZDP-189 option is still available.