Reviews and Ratings for Spyderco Vallotton Sub-Hilt Folding Knife 3-3/4" S30V Plain Blade, G10 Handles - C149GP

Spyderco Vallotton Sub-Hilt Folding Knife 3-3/4" S30V Plain Blade, G10 Handlesrated 4.893 stars out of 5 (28 reviews)
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
25
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Spyderco Vallotton Sub-Hilt Folding Knife 3-3/4 inch S30V Plain Blade, G10 Handles

 

Price: $238.00

Save $102.00 (30%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Spyderco Vallotton Sub-Hilt Folding Knife 3-3/4" S30V Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scott
Madison WI
Sep 22, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Oh Yeah!
There is nothing junkie about this knife. It opens and closes smoothly, Looks beautiful, and the fit-finish is spectacular. I don't plan on using this as a camping knife (too nice) or as a EDC (too heavy)... instead I am gonna just casually break my Spyderco Vollotton out every once in awhile to remind my friends as to how a beautiful knife is supposed to look. Oh Yeah!
Spyderco Vallotton Sub-Hilt Folding Knife 3-3/4" S30V Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
The Duke Of Windsor
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 27, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Love it, but a couple questions...
Exceptional knife, etc & etc...A couple questions, though, Spyderco. How does "sub-hilt" and "modified coffin" come together in this handle? I don't get it, I guess, even though it's a fine handle by any measure. Also, the "modified tanto" blade? Also a mystery even though I like what seems to be a nicely done drop point with a unique double grind. And hey, the liner lock that protrudes into the region of the index finger: maybe put just a little jimping in there so it seems like something other than...well, a liner lock that protrudes into the region of the index finger. And did I mention I love this knife? Thanks!
Spyderco Vallotton Sub-Hilt Folding Knife 3-3/4" S30V Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
H-Kurata
Tokyo, Japan
Jun 24, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, Handle Feel, None
Excellent!
If it was regular product run I thought I would use it for everyday carry but since it is first production run with serial #, I have added this to my Spyderco collection. Grip is thick and meaty yet easy to hold, grinding work on the tip of the blade is precise just like custom knife made by Vallotton. I also like the logo of Vallotton's on the blade. Action is smooth and lock is tight and solid. Downside is spine of grip where the thumb rides are bit edgy, if this particular knife was manufactured in Seki Japan they must have done something on this part.
Spyderco Vallotton Sub-Hilt Folding Knife 3-3/4" S30V Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
James
ny
May 10, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
awesome
Simply awesome knife.fit finish perfect. I have the converted auto and its a spectacular knife. If u can find the auto jump on it. Nice placement of hidden release. If you have the coin u won't b disappointed. Nice and sharp. Couple passes on the strip and is sharper than ever.
Spyderco Vallotton Sub-Hilt Folding Knife 3-3/4" S30V Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
William
Hurricane, Wv
Mar 31, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Extremely solid knife!
I have purchased a dozen or so knives from Knife center and generally stay around the $40-80 range when selecting my next EDC. For those prices I can expect a perfectly descent knife of good quality that will serve for years on end. I would only occasionally venture into the $100 plus price range knives and look around but never thought I would drop this kind of cash on a knife before. This SpyderCo knife is a work of art! Every detail had been thought out and the highest quality materials were used when this knife was designed. Although this knife looks elegant enough to be a gentlemans folder it is built strong enough to employ in combat. You first notice the weight of the knife, it just feels so solid in your hand. Then you notice the thick gaged bolster's and handle material holding in an equally impressive blade length and thickness. The lock up is crisp and strong and the liner lock mechanism is easy to unlock. Overall, if you have the cash to spare and want a knife that will serve generations of your family then you cannot go wrong with this SpyderCo!
Spyderco Vallotton Sub-Hilt Folding Knife 3-3/4" S30V Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ray H.
Phoenix, AZ
Mar 12, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Worthy Spidy
Tight, close tolerance mechanism. Excellent materials, fit, and finish. Optimal sizing for carrying and most uses. Not inexpensive but worth the $.
Spyderco Vallotton Sub-Hilt Folding Knife 3-3/4" S30V Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brian B
Bridgenorth, United Kingdom
May 27, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great Perfectly Built Knife
A superlatively built knife. I am sure if Rolls Royce cars ever started making knives they would not do a better job than this product. The whole feel of the knife is flawless. I use the knife for general cutting use but the knife is so attractive I do not use it for heavy work simply to retain the beauty of the knife. I have not sharpened the knife yet because it holds a good edge but I feel patience is needed when resharpening the blade owing to the unusual shape and grind of the blade on this knife. I enjoy sharpening knives so this is not a problem for me. I will finish by mentioning that I think Spyderco should always continue with the production of this knife if only as an example of a knife that is perfectly built for a moderate price
Spyderco Vallotton Sub-Hilt Folding Knife 3-3/4" S30V Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Leporq
Switzerland
Jun 11, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Huge!
Very well finished knife. The handle is perfect for my big hands. And the tanto inspired design is crazy. Definitely a very special knife.
Spyderco Vallotton Sub-Hilt Folding Knife 3-3/4" S30V Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dietmar
Germany
Dec 25, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Material, None
Cons: Weight, Pocket Clip
A fantastic (though not practical) knife!
If you are a collector, you owe it to yourself to get this knife! The level of quality is amazing. The knife is very solid, well-made, you're getting lots of hardware for your buck. The handle feels awesome, very comfortable, and looks great too! The locking mechanism looks rock-solid, must more reliable than some other liner locks I've seen. The clip is repositionable in 4 different locations, but I removed it, because it makes a large knife even larger. Also, the knife is quite heavy, so maybe not for EDC use. Anyways, an absolutely awesome knife, highly recommended!
Spyderco Vallotton Sub-Hilt Folding Knife 3-3/4" S30V Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alex N
Massachusetts
Feb 15, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Greate quality knife but will require careful maintenance
Quality is superb, all details fit with precision, the blade locks with authority and no play. On the minus side, due to blade's thickness and shape, the edge angle varies from the handle to the tip. I would not trust myself to sharpen this one and not ruin it. The knife is fairly think overall and it sticks out very visibly from a pocket. It might be better if the clip was attached at the very end of the handle.
Spyderco Vallotton Sub-Hilt Folding Knife 3-3/4" S30V Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt
Denver
Apr 13, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Stout Blade
If you have been eyeing this knife, buy it. Spine thickness is significant all the way to the tip which gives this blade a heft that most folders don't match, given that the scale and liner widths add more stability. Cuts with authority. Weight and size. Tip has a nice flat or maybe convex grind which adds value and utility to the blade. If you're worried about the aesthetics of multiple clip arrangements, you should realize your underwear is too tight.
Spyderco Vallotton Sub-Hilt Folding Knife 3-3/4" S30V Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dlb J
Hamburg, NY
Feb 18, 2020
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Spyderco Vallatton - INCREDIBLE!
This Vallotton Spyderco is one of the finest lockbacks in my collection. Made in Taiwan? I DON'T CARE! The design and quality of this knife are EQUISITE! The materials, workmanship, and function of the Vallotton are second to none. Simply holding it in hand will tell you all you need to know. Bravo, Spyderco!
Spyderco Vallotton Sub-Hilt Folding Knife 3-3/4" S30V Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Newcombe Blake
Austin, TX
Jun 11, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Spyderco VALLOTTON
Good for everyday use. VERY strong, yet easy to use and an elegant piece of design.
Spyderco Vallotton Sub-Hilt Folding Knife 3-3/4" S30V Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Oilofdawg
Georgia
Jul 23, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great!!
Very smooth action. Absolutely gorgeous!! Very well built and excellent fit and finish!
Spyderco Vallotton Sub-Hilt Folding Knife 3-3/4" S30V Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Emil M.
Illinois
Feb 28, 2013
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
This is a great knife. It's a little big, but it feels really comfortable in your hand. I use this knife for everything around the house. The fit and finish is great. It is a little big for carrying in your pocket, but it isn't too noticeable.
Spyderco Vallotton Sub-Hilt Folding Knife 3-3/4" S30V Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert Ell
Dublin,
Feb 21, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Love it Love it Love it!
Heavy (I like). Sturdy. Sleek. Stylish & exceedingly well finished. It is a heavy knife and one of the thickest blades I've seen on a folder. The blade locks up with confidence and stays centered. The edge is very sharp, hollow ground and without blemish. The tip of the blade grind changes toward the tip from hollow grind to....well something different. I don't know what to call it. But it suits the blade and add's strength to the tip. The handles are black linen Micarta. Highly polished, accented with chrome liners and pommels. You have multiple carry options if you want to carry it (Where legal) but it is such a beautiful knife that actually using it would be a sin :-)
Spyderco Vallotton Sub-Hilt Folding Knife 3-3/4" S30V Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Armando M
Charlotte, Nc
Apr 01, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath, None
My knid of knife, thivj-k bkid
Nice blade thickness. Rock solid lock up. Needs a nice sheath. I am a sheath guy, I like tknives that come with a high quality sheath.
Spyderco Vallotton Sub-Hilt Folding Knife 3-3/4" S30V Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vincenzo
Belgium, Europe
Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Outstanding, elegant and effective
Stunning example of Spyderco's quality: this thinly veiled homage to the classic italian stiletto, with small details recalling other traditional types of blades as well, is just a joy to handle. The beauty of the concept and the perfection of the execution are visible in every detail, from the polished G10 which reminds me of the best micarta, to the beautiful custom grind, which culminates in a tip design that you just have to admire. As with all things that possess real style, this blade does not trade function for beauty and possesses both in equal amounts: the feeling in your hand, slightly heavier than average pocket knives of this size and the incredibly smooth deployment tell a firmly clear tale of deadly engineering, from the very first second of you fondling it. The deployment is actually so smooth that rivals flippers, something of a real feat for a knife of this type. The liner lock is strong as you would expect in a hefty knife like this one. The hilt provides a vintage charm that is difficult to resist, especially with this design. The clip does its job although I always find myself thinking that a knife so beautiful, with such elegant lines, probably looks better after you remove the clip... but that is just me; I am not a big pocket clip fan. 10/10, worth every penny.
Spyderco Vallotton Sub-Hilt Folding Knife 3-3/4" S30V Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kodiak Pa
Kodiak Alaska
Oct 20, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Hardcore, Well Built, Beefy EDC=AWESOME!
Extremely well built. If you're looking for a beefy EDC that is built like a tank, especially for a tip up liner this might be the knife for you. Solid lock up without blade play, liner is thick and employs perfectly on knife. Fast opening, multiple clip carry options and nice jimping. Handle is very handsome and comes with premium steel. My new EDC. I love this knife. Bought here at KCI.
Spyderco Vallotton Sub-Hilt Folding Knife 3-3/4" S30V Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mario S
San Juan, PR
Dec 21, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath, None
I LOVE IT!
I can't say enough about my new Spyderco C149GP Vallotton Sub-Hilt Folding Knife 3-3/4" S30V Plain Blade, G10 Handles. I'ts a greate piece! only thing is that I CAN' T FIND A QUALITY SHEATH FOR IT, Preferably a quality ballistic or canvas one with the SPYDECO logo... PLEASE HELP!!! A super lock-back @ a great price. Keep up the good work guys & gals!!
Spyderco Vallotton Sub-Hilt Folding Knife 3-3/4" S30V Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Paul D.
Cape Coral, FL
May 20, 2012
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Superior product, outstanding service, great price!
As a professional mariner who assists people in need I require a knife that can be opened with one hand, locks down tight and also easily closed, this knife meets these requirements and more. The weight and size are ideal for my job and the workmanship is magnificent!
Spyderco Vallotton Sub-Hilt Folding Knife 3-3/4" S30V Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chuck D
St. John, In
Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Well done Spyderco!
Took a gamble on this knife for I had never seen one in person. I was not disappointed when it arrived. A lot thicker and heavier than expected but I did not buy this for EDC. I bought this just to build my Spyderco collection but this is a great choice for any collection. The quality is amazing. Great detail throughout the entire knife. Nice hollow ground and convex grind blade in CPM-S30V steel. Beautiful polished G-10 scales with stainless bolsters to add a nice touch. The grip is a little too smooth for tactical use but that's not what this was designed for. If I could change anything about it, I would eliminate all the holes for multiple pocket clip locations. To me, it takes away from the beauty of the handles. If you do not want a large blade, heavy, thick knife, then this might not be for you but if you are really into Spyderco knives and are looking for an amazingly well built quality show piece for collector's purposes, this is a huge win! Highly recommend.
Spyderco Vallotton Sub-Hilt Folding Knife 3-3/4" S30V Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rick D.
N.C.
Jun 17, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
In a word, AWESOME
This knife is put together so well that you could easily mistake it for a custom from one of the finest makers! Fit/finish is superb. The blade is slender in height, 4mm thick, and I love how the hole has been integrated into the blade. There are just so many little things that are right about this knife that add up to perfection in the finished product. I could go on, and on, and on about this knife, but then Knifecenter wouldn't have room to place the review. Great service from Knifecenter, as usual.
Spyderco Vallotton Sub-Hilt Folding Knife 3-3/4" S30V Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jr
Orlando, FL
Jan 16, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Spyderco Vallotton Sub-Hilt folder
I received my new Spyderco Vallotton Sub-Hilt knife and I am very impressed. This has got to be the nicest Spyderco I've owned so far. It's a very beautiful knife. Construction and quality of materials are excellent. It was worth the wait.
Spyderco Vallotton Sub-Hilt Folding Knife 3-3/4" S30V Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ken L.
Southampton, NY
Apr 12, 2013
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Beautiful, hefty and bomb-proof...
Sturdiest folder I have yet to own. And best looking too... Not too big. Not too small. It's just the right size.
Spyderco Vallotton Sub-Hilt Folding Knife 3-3/4" S30V Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mpup
Woods of FL
Jun 23, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Beauty and a beast
Excellent knife. VERY solid lock-up, sorta like cell doors closing behind you. With a minor strop...razor sharp. Great design. Wish the stainless bolsters didn't have the extra clip holes. Detracts from the overall beauty of this knife. Sometimes beauty overshadows functionality. Makes me think of a solid 10 woman minus a few teeth. :) Would have been a 5 but for the bolster holes.
Spyderco Vallotton Sub-Hilt Folding Knife 3-3/4" S30V Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bj
Sydney, Australia
Feb 08, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness
Nice and Robust
Solid Feel, well built, great finish, very nice solid lock. I wish it didn't have all the holes for pocket clip mounting
Spyderco Vallotton Sub-Hilt Folding Knife 3-3/4" S30V Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Armando M
Charlotte, Nc
Apr 01, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath, None
Solid well built too bad they couldn't include a high perfor perforna
No high qyality sheath!