Reviews and Ratings for Spyderco Chaparral Folding Knife 2-13/16" CTS-XHP Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber Handles - C152CFP

Spyderco Chaparral Folding Knife 2-13/16" CTS-XHP Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber Handlesrated 4.692 stars out of 5 (13 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Spyderco Chaparral Folding Knife 2-13/16 inch CTS-XHP Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber Handles

 

Price: $140.00

Save $60.00 (30%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Spyderco Chaparral Folding Knife 2-13/16" CTS-XHP Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ed P
Citrus Heights, CA
Feb 28, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Spyderco hits another one out of the park
I bought this as a gift for my son in law. I had the knife sent to me to examine it before I sent it to him. Tight lockup, razor sharp. The carbon fiber panels look different on the knife than in the pictures. I have several Spydercos with the carbon fiber handles and they wear extremely well and are quite strong. I was proud to give this knife and my son in law was delighted with it. Score. Typical of my experience with Spyderco and Knife Center.
Spyderco Chaparral Folding Knife 2-13/16" CTS-XHP Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark
Tiburon, CA
Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Fabulous Knife!
Great EDC. Size is perfect. Sharpens very well. I love the thin profile; not even aware of its presence when pocket clipped. Well done, Spyderco!
Spyderco Chaparral Folding Knife 2-13/16" CTS-XHP Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Paul Beretta Aka The Deacon
Greenville, SC
Jul 23, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: None
The other reviewer is an imposter
I own over 500 Spyderco knives and the Chaparral became one of my three favorites almost instantly. The Chaparral is thin, lightweight, and highly ergonomic. Like all the knives from Spyderco's Taichung, Taiwan maker, the fit and finish are excellent. The action combines glassy smoothness with the very secure blade retention when the blade is closed which make the midlock my favorite lock. The "nubby" textured CF favored by that maker provides a good compromise between grip and beauty and the lockup is rock solid. The Chaparral's thin (2mm)CPM S30V blade is a mere .013 directly behind the edge, making it one of the best slicers Spyderco has ever marketed. The blade was razor sharp out of the box and has proved itself have excellent edge retention.
Spyderco Chaparral Folding Knife 2-13/16" CTS-XHP Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike K
Overland Park, KS
Oct 17, 2012
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, None
This is a neat knife!
This is a neat knife! The carbon fiber scales class up the knife and help turn it into a Gentleman's Folder. They're matte finished and textured and give a good grip, unlike other folders with polished carbon fiber scales that can get slick. A pet peeve of mine is that many EDCs have handles longer than necessary for the blade length, but not the Chaparral. The handle couldn't be any shorter and contain the blade. The handle is shaped well and, with the jimping on the spine and choil, the knife fits my hand great and doesn't shift. Some have complained that the blade isn't thick enough, but this is a Gentleman's Folder/EDC and a thicker blade would only make the knife thicker. The blade is long enough, well shaped and SHARP. Although it's not apparent in the photos, the pocket clip is blackened. This compliments the dark gray carbon fiber scales and is low key. All in all this is a great knife.It looks expensive, is compact, tolerances are tight and it's ergonomic. One thing I think could be improved is the location of the backlock. It looks good, but I have to shift my grip to use it. I wish there were a provision for a lanyard, but given how short the handle is, I doubt there's room for a lanyard hole in the handle and it would probably have to be attached to the spine someplace.
Spyderco Chaparral Folding Knife 2-13/16" CTS-XHP Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve
New Zealand
May 21, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Great little knife
This is a very high quality little knife, built to remarkable tolerances: the construction is absolutely perfect. Coming from a slightly bigger knife (the UKPK), this knife is actually heavier and more obtrusive in the pocket due to the asymmetrical tail of the handle. I love the carbon fibre but I might have preferred the lighter FRN version for EDC. It's a great slicer, and makes short work of sturdy cardboard. The lock-up is very solid, and while the lock was initially very tight to operate, a drop of oil and a few days cleared that up. It's still not the most convenient lock type for one-handed use. The edge wasn't razor-sharp out of the box, but for everyday cutting I feel no need to rush into sharpening or reprofiling it.
Spyderco Chaparral Folding Knife 2-13/16" CTS-XHP Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rich
Placerville, CA
Aug 31, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Like it!
Beauty of a knife. Works great too.
Spyderco Chaparral Folding Knife 2-13/16" CTS-XHP Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve S
Tamworth, UK
Jan 01, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Gentlemans Folder
This little beauty is a valued part of my collection of quality, interesting & unusual folders. It also forms a regular part of my EDC rotation. If I am not wearing Tac-lite's and need to dress a bit more formally then I will normally carry my Chaparral or a Benchmade Emissary. The Chaparral is light, strong and up to most general cutting tasks required at such occasions. The Carbon Fibre Scales give it a real look of quality and feel very nicely textured. The classic back lock gives it that Gentlemans Folder look and contrast well with the modern Carbon Fibre. It is also of such a size that it does not upset 'non knife people' when used. I can't find anything I don't like about this gorgeous little knife.
Spyderco Chaparral Folding Knife 2-13/16" CTS-XHP Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Braden L
Granite Bay, CA
Apr 11, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Fancy Knife
Beautiful CF handle with a sharp and thin blade. Handle is sufficiently grippy. Blade steel is awesome. Only criticism is to have clip even more deep carry.
Spyderco Chaparral Folding Knife 2-13/16" CTS-XHP Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Buddy
Aug 25, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Spyderco Chaparral Folding Knife 2-13/16" CTS-XHP Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe M.
Franklin, Tn
Aug 22, 2011
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use
Cons: None
Spyderco's version of Strider PT
The Chaparral feels a lot like my PT. Yes, the PT is a Ti frame lock and the Chaparral is a lock back. The PT blade is thick and the Chaparral is thin. But -- both have pronounced choil for the indexed finger, and aggressive jimping. Both have a great ergonomic feel. Both are about the minimum possible size to maintain a 4-finger grip (and not if you have large hands). Overall I like my Chaparral better than my PT and my small Sebenza. The PT and Seb are fantastic knives, each great in their own way. But the Chaparral has the slicing ability of the Sebenza combined with the small form factor and ergonomic feel of the PT. It fits the gap between the Dragonfly and Delica, with excellent quality and feel.
Spyderco Chaparral Folding Knife 2-13/16" CTS-XHP Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gary N.
Ridgecrest, CA
Sep 24, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Fantastic Knife
I love this knife. It is light and very comfortable to hold. I love the carbon fiber handles; they have a slight texture to them, and the edges are beveled. Fit and finish are superb. Blade lockup is very tight. I consider this a gentleman's folder. I removed the pocket clip and I carry the knife in my front pocket. I found one minor flaw however. When I removed the clip, the two opposing torx screws did not fully seat after tightening. There was some side to side play (they did not tighten down on the carbon fiber handles). After I put in a small washer and tightened the screws, one screw remained flush with the handle, but the opposite one stuck out about one and a half mm above the handle surface, but they did tighten firmly against the handles. Not a big deal, but something that Spyderco overlooked. I would still highly recommend this knife.
Spyderco Chaparral Folding Knife 2-13/16" CTS-XHP Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Aaron
Phoenix Az.
Jan 27, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Type, None
Quality
I feel the Spyderco Chaparral is a quality piece of workmanship! The fit and finish is top notch and makes for a perfect gentleman's folder. I use this as my EDC when not at work. The only reason why I gave this a 4 rating and not a 5 is due to the blade steel. The description states S30V and my knife came with CTS-XHP. When I looked at knife they have pictured (after I received the knife) the close-up did show CTS-XHP. They need to change the knife description. None the less I am very pleased with my purchase!
Spyderco Chaparral Folding Knife 2-13/16" CTS-XHP Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Paul B.
NY
Jul 27, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Lock Ease of Use
Not very good
I tried out the knife for awhile and i just didn't like the feel of it... I got it before most as sal glesser gave it to me to preview it as a prototype. I gotta say it was just not good in the hand. It's too small and the blade is uncomfortably thin. Backlocks aren't my favorite type of lock as they aren't very smooth. It's also made in Taiwan :P oh well. still a decent knife. maybe i'll find someone that will take it off my hands who will actually enjoy it. It's a decent knife but it's not a 100 dollar one