Reviews and Ratings for Spyderco Chaparral Lightweight Folding Knife 2.8" CTS-XHP Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRN Handles - C152PGY

Spyderco Chaparral Lightweight Folding Knife 2.8" CTS-XHP Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRN Handlesrated 4.364 stars out of 5 (11 reviews)
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Spyderco Chaparral Lightweight Folding Knife 2.8 inch CTS-XHP Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRN Handles

 

Price: $95.90

Save $41.10 (30%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Spyderco Chaparral Lightweight Folding Knife 2.8" CTS-XHP Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Curlyrai
Tennessee
May 11, 2020
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, None
The Delica Killer
I can't talk about the full line of Chaparral knives as this is my first and only Chaparral. But holy cow is this knife great. A full grain cutting machine with the CTS-XHP blade, the perfect gimping on the top as well as the finger choil. It seems like everything coming out of the Taichung factory is some of Spyderco best knives and this one is no exception. The fit and finish is one example. the Spydey hole is well chamfered. The deep carry wire clip is a favorite and all coming in at just 2 ounces. Let's see. Better blade steel, better clip, less weight and better fit and finish. Bye Bye Delica. You had a nice run while it lasted.
Spyderco Chaparral Lightweight Folding Knife 2.8" CTS-XHP Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Red
WA
Jun 16, 2020
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Best folder under $100. Bar none
I've owned this knife this it was released. Having wanted a Chaparral for a while, but the prices for the Ti, stepped etc were insanely high in my opinion. One of the smartest things Spyderco has done was to put out this LW version. This design, super thin for the pocket, with good ergos, with Spyderco's highly underrated bi-diectional scales, and add with it CTS-XHP blade steel. ALL for under $100!! With all said above, it's arguably the perfect EDC knife that gets A Lot if pocket time, deservedly - and it has some very solid contenders. To conclude, the LW Chaparral is a no brainer, particularly at it's price point.
Spyderco Chaparral Lightweight Folding Knife 2.8" CTS-XHP Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rick
NY
Apr 24, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Weight, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Incredible little knife!
After having mine for a couple days and using it at work for simple tasks of opening packages, cutting some cardboard and cutting up a chicken breast for lunch (INCREDIBLE SLICER)...this thing is awesome! Showed up in a tiny Spyderco box and I was immediately thinking, this thing is going to be tiny. Already had my Sage 5 on me today and in comparison the Sage 5 looked like a beast compared to the Chap. But after getting it in hand, the Chap feels amazing. Unique frn pattern in quite grippy. I wear a Medium-Large size glove depending on the mfg and when I choked up using the finger choil, there was still room to spare on the handle behind my pinky. Finger choil is great, the backlock isn't nearly as stiff or hurt the thumb like I've seen people complain about in reviews (Mike). It is so slim and literally disappears in your pocket. No problem carrying anything else in the same pocket, my phone which is in an otterbox doesn't get hung up on it at all. Thus far, I am extremely impressed with this little knife. It's not as fun to play with as the compression lock on the Sage 5, though it's to close with just one hand. Depress the back lock, give it a small shake and the blade falls. I honestly think that this Chap may become more of an edc for me than my Sage 5, when it comes to being at work.
Spyderco Chaparral Lightweight Folding Knife 2.8" CTS-XHP Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bill Brooks
Charleston South Carolina
Apr 12, 2020
Pros: None
Cons: None
Great Knife
Maybe the best thing Spyderco has ever done. Now do one in VG-10. Good bye Delica
Spyderco Chaparral Lightweight Folding Knife 2.8" CTS-XHP Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Will
Ohio
Apr 05, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Nice EDC
Light weight and shaving sharp out of the box. Removed the pocket clip because I prefer pocket carry. The blade lock spring is stiff when closing but it should never close on your fingers when using.
Spyderco Chaparral Lightweight Folding Knife 2.8" CTS-XHP Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hondo
Little Rock, AR
Jun 16, 2020
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Very sweet
I absolutely love the Chaparral. It is slim and lightweight yet handles my needs perfectly. I like the lightweight in my daily carry and the slim profile in my dress mode. It came crazy sharp allowing me to cut anything ... cardboard, labels, string, rope (seldom) ...anything I have put the edge to has succumbed to that razor sharpness. I typically do not use a pocket clip, but this one is comfy and easy. I agree that the lock is stiff but I happen to like that. I was born with a thumb that can double as a pry bar :) Great job Spyderco and KC.
Spyderco Chaparral Lightweight Folding Knife 2.8" CTS-XHP Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kickless
MS, USA
Jan 03, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Near Perfection
This is as close to EDC perfection as I have found in fifteen years of collecting. It is surprisingly small, even having seen the specs beforehand. However, the ergonomics of the handle and the 50/50 choil make it quite comfortable. For reference, I’m between and XL and an XXL glove size. The weight and size make it unnoticeable in the pocket. And the thin blade stock and flat grind cut exceptionally well. All in all, I could not be more pleased.
Spyderco Chaparral Lightweight Folding Knife 2.8" CTS-XHP Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Josh
California
Aug 30, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening
Nice but lock is stiff.
The fit and finish are great. It is a very small and light knife. The biggest problem is that the back lock is extremely stiff. My wife actually could not operate the lock. My hands are pretty strong but it still takes considerable effort to close the knife. The texture on the scales is also rather rough. The knife is nice for smaller cutting tasks but it is not the kind of knife that you are going to want to be opening and closing all the time. I think it will be a great option for a light, easy to carry knife for occasional use.
Spyderco Chaparral Lightweight Folding Knife 2.8" CTS-XHP Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
J432
Washington, DC
Jan 07, 2019
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use
Excellent EDC if you can handle the detent
After reading so many positive reviews, I decided to pick up one those knives, and am glad I did. Fit, finish and overall quality is what I expect from the Taichung factory - all superb. The little details say a lot: the part of the tang that engages the spring is polished, to make the action smoother. Let's get the one negative out of the way: the lock-back spring/detent is strong, and when combined with the thin blade (thinner than the DF2), closing the knife is less comfortable than ideal. I can open and close the knife with one hand, as the blade will drop with a small shake if the lock if fully dis-engaged, but if I had to open and close a knife 60 times in a row, this wouldn't be my first choice. Pluses are the slimness of the knife and blade (with a nice steel), and it rides deeper in a pocket than the DF2 because it does not have a lanyard hole and the clip is closer to the end. Compared to the DF2, you can get a good grip without using the choil, on top of the slightly longer blade.
Spyderco Chaparral Lightweight Folding Knife 2.8" CTS-XHP Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Seth
Jonesboro, Ar
Mar 11, 2019
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use
Great knife for the price
This knife is great medium size EDC and slicer. Blade came razor sharp from the box. The opening was a little stiff at first but is breaking in nicely. Dual texture grip and jimping make the knife feel very secure in hand. The back lock is a little stiff but nothing I can't deal with. At $90 the with the CTS-XHP steel you aren't going to get much better for the money.
Spyderco Chaparral Lightweight Folding Knife 2.8" CTS-XHP Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRN Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Mike
North Carolina
Apr 13, 2018
Pros: None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use
Item Returned
Unfortunately the backlock on this knife was so stiff that it not only hurt my finger when trying to retract the blade, I felt unsafe when closing it.