Reviews and Ratings for Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod - 204UF1

Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rodrated 4.933 stars out of 5 (45 reviews)
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
42
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod

 

Price: $17.50

Save $7.50 (30%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
Antonio M
Spain
Dec 31, 2015
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Very usefuk
If you really what a wicked edge, this is for you. Use it with a soft hand, though.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
Valantis B
greece
May 03, 2012
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None
very very good.
very very good.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
Freedoom
West Chester, PA
Jul 23, 2010
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None
The Pinacle of Sharpness
The ultra-fine rods for the spyderco sharp-maker are an excellent addition. Using the standard rods i was able to get a decent edge on my knives but with the ultra-fine they are hair whittling sharp!
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
Johnny
Los Angeles
Apr 09, 2013
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Love 'em
Great for what they are but be sure to strop after.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sam
Lincoln, NE
Jun 22, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Takes it over the top!
A welcome addition to my Sharp Maker. This is what will help you get your knives scary sharp. I only purchased one, don't see then need to have a pair.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
Carver
Port St. Lucie, Florida
Mar 03, 2010
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Ultra Fine Grit Rod
Puts the final touch to your blade, A must for the spyderco sharpmaker.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
Didier
France
May 29, 2017
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None
Spyderco Ultra Fine Grit Rod
Hi all, Obviously, i use these rods with the Spydi sharpmaker especialy for CPM steels (S35VN, S30V, Elmax) with hardness heat traitements. Indeed, you know that it's not easy to obtain a mirror edge with a strop (after using fine grit). With these rods, it's quite easy ! Thanks to Knife Center to ship to France :)
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
Peo
Sweden
Oct 17, 2009
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Perfect tools
I use this item to create an absolute razorsharp edge on my knifes. Easy to use and i can´t find anything bad about it
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scott H
Central Pa
May 29, 2012
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None
Ultra Fine Grit Rod
The ultra fine grit rods help to perfect the final edge on your knife when using the Sharpmaker.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
Johnny
Deltona, Fl.
Feb 02, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
I can now sharpen a knife
I can now get a ''razor'' edge on my knives, without clamps, gadgets. My spyderco system is easy, and very safe, the missing ingredient was the ultra fine set of stones, my knives went to so-so sharp to really sharp, to where they will ''pop hair'' I have seen it, when I was telling friends how sharp I could now get my knives. Thank you.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ethiel
Alexandria, VA
Feb 13, 2013
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Very nice Rod
This rods are amazing! Very smooth, and leave the edge scary sharp. I recommend these ultra fine rods.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
Larry
Chattanooga, TN
Sep 25, 2012
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None
Completes the sharpmaker perfectly
Been using the sharpmaker for awhile and decided to order the ultra fine rods. Really makes a difference. If you have a sharpmaker get these you wont be disappointed.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
Knifejock
TN
Feb 18, 2010
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use, None
Cons: Ease of Use
Sharpmaker ultrrafine grit rod
I ordered the regular sharpmaker with medium and fine rods. Then I kept reading about others who had ordered the ultrafine as an add-on. They talked about how it should be a part of the kit and how it produced a final polish. Well, I ordered the ultrafine thereafter. Yes the fine rods give very scary, sharp results. When I took the knife to the ultrafine I found what others had: it went beyond manufacturers level of sharp and the blade actually did look shiny polished on the edge since it was so finely ground. So yes, if you want a razor like edge I think this is a good addition. I wish Spyderco had had an option to include it in the original kit and given a base that would therefore hold all the rods - otherwise there are those loose (breakable) rods lying around!
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
Greg
Michigan
Feb 04, 2015
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
My new ultra fine rod is exactly what I wanted....I recommend this product.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
Trigger
melbourne, australia
Oct 17, 2009
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
make em "scary sharp" ;)
great sharpening system once you get the hang of it, these rods will put the icing on the cake
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kin Yu C
Pok Fu Lam, Hong Kong
Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None
Idiot proof! Don't miss it!
It can get your knife very sharp even if you don't know how to sharpen. Use it after the fine rod and do it gently with patience. You will have an amazing result. I am a suck sharpener and make the knivea even worse a lot of time but the sharpmaker gives me an good sharp edge under my horrible skill and this UF rod brings the sharpness to even another stage. If you have stills and good hands, you can get a crazy sharp edge with little effort. Do be reminded that it is a single price, yoh have to buy two for your sharpmaker. Don't miss it. Just buy it! It worths a lot more than the cost.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
James S
New Milford, CtNew Milford, Ct
Mar 15, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
ultimate setup
This makes the final touch in razor sharp knives.the perfect combination with fine stones.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rick
NY
Mar 23, 2018
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None
Well worth the money!
I don't own a Sharpmaker, I prefer the old school method of using a stone, followed by a fine grit honing rod. That typically gives my knifes a nice paper cutting edge. After reading reviews about this ultra fine grit rod, I couldn't pass it up for the price. Well...I'm quite impressed! Though risky I guess, I just hold it with one hand and make a few passes with my blade with the other hand (while wearing gloves just in case) I can't believe the mirror finish this thing puts on my edges, as well as the ultra sharp, hair shaving edge. Incredible the difference this thing made to my now 3 step process. No need to strop for me.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tong
Hong Kong
Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None
Not only sharpen but also improve edge retention
Works well on S30V, S35VN, 20CV, and M390. Can get very smooth polished edge. Edge retention on S30V and S35VN is noticeably improved.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
Daniel M
Oak Creek , Wi
May 22, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Help complete sharpmaker
These are helpful when putting a more refined edge on a blade. They also make removing a sharpening burr easier.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt
Fredericksburg, VA
Jan 04, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
WOW
Have run every blade I own over this stone and the results are almost unbelievable relative to the standard fine grit stones that come with the sharpener. If you like razor edges, this is well worth the price.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
Zman
San Diego
May 29, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Must have if you have the sharpmaker
Must have if you have the sharpmaker. Enough said.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sam
Wisconsin
Oct 30, 2009
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
It's what I wanted
It's a great product from Spyderco, just remember to order two of them for a complete set for your Sharpmaker.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pete B.
South Germany
Jul 18, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Single replacements
Keep in mind, this is not a set, just a single stone, two needed for the Sharpmaker. Great way to polish up your edges.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lcadymd
lcadymd
Mar 10, 2011
Pros: Effectiveness
Cons: None
Excellent sharpening sticks to put the final touch on
Like it a lot. Can get blades MUCH sharper with this than just the "fine" sticks that come with the baseline Spyderco sharpener.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
C A
Florida
Feb 13, 2013
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Spyderco 204UF1 Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
All the positive reviews are true .. whisker whittling sharp.. best sharpener for everything
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
Daryl
Southern California
Dec 21, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Wow!
I've used a LOT of different sharpeners, and until I got the Sharpmaker my favorite was the Gatco clamped sharpening system. I still resort to the Gatco for really tough cases, but the Spyderco Sharpmaker has become my new overall favorite. After reading reviews from other people saying that the ultra fine grit rods made a huge difference, I decided to give them a try, too. WOW!!! I thought I'd gotten some wicked-sharp edges before, but the ultra fine rods really do take sharpness to a new level. I'm seriously impressed! I know you're not supposed to use the old "shaving the arm" test, but it's still the only way I can tell what kind of edge I really have. The regular fine-grit rod did give me a shaving sharp edge, a good one, I thought. But after the ultra fine, the hairs almost part themselves before the blade touches them. Yes, these really were worth the money. I have to repeat the same caution that others have noted, though: this listing is for only ONE ultra fine rod, and you need TWO. You'll have to set the quantity yourself when you order.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pascal
Switzerland
Jun 17, 2011
Pros: Effectiveness, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None
good quality, fast shipping!
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
Orlando S
Miami,fl
Mar 19, 2013
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
I have been using spyderco-sharp maker for many years but after used the ultrafine stones makes it super sharp here popping
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
Noel H.
WI
Jun 18, 2009
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
X-fine
Purchased the Ultra-fine sharpening rod to place a highly polished extra sharp edge on a variety of knives. Used either as part of the SP204 sharpening system or free hand. The result are as expected.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim
Hilton, NY
May 01, 2013
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None
Great Addition
Not essential, but great to have in your sharpening arsenal. Works great!!!
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
Adriaan B.
Cape Town; South Africa
Sep 16, 2011
Pros: Ease of Use, None
Cons: Ease of Use
Ultra fine grit rod
I ordered this product, just to find that there is only one rod in the post package. I thought that it was two rods by default. This happened to a friend as well. Please make sure to specify more clearly that the rod is packed individually and that one has to order two replacement rods for a set.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
Christian L.
Poitiers, France
Jan 06, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
A Must-have, if you love razor sharp blades!!!
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
Orlando S
Apr 09, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
puts a great final edge on
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
Clyde M
Madison, Nc
Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Uf triangle stone
I use this uf triangle stone freehand,to polish and refine my edges before stropping. Very happy with the results. Refines the scratch pattern to mirror/semi mirror finish. Great buy for freehand sharpeners that want to try out spyderco's uf stone before dropping the cash for the bench stone
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jebid
ontario oregon
Mar 11, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
spyderco sharpmaker fine rods
works good to put the final edge on my knifes.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scoot
California
May 10, 2017
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None
Spyderco Ultra Fine Grit Rod
Needed to get knives really sharp..Works great with the Sharpmaker
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
Fjs.575
The Hague, The Netherlands
Jun 24, 2010
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Maybe overkill?
I bought two of these rods to supplement the sharpmaker and I have to say the quality is excellent. The downside is that they can be overkill. That's because the fine rods which come with the sharpmaker are already doing a fine job and the added value of an even more polished edge is really minimal. But for those who dig a really polished edge they are great.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bladegod
San Rafael, CA
Jul 20, 2009
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
From sharpening to polishing
A must have for serious users of the Spyderco system. Hone the edge of your blades with the same easy to use system.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
Civ
Ohio
Feb 10, 2010
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Replacement Ultra Fine Grit Rod
to polish my final edge
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
Postal420
NYC
Apr 24, 2011
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None
Can u say scary sharp!!!!
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 5 stars out of 5
Larry S
Minneapolis
Jan 31, 2013
Pros: Effectiveness
Cons: None
You will need to buy these in pairs.
I had some doubts as to how much (if any) this extra grade step would improve the terrrific edge already applied by the Spyderco Sharpmaker kit to both pocket knives and kitchen knives. No more doubts. The edge is significantly finer. It changed my perception of how sharp an edge I had gotten using just the two ceramic "stones" included with the kit.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dull1
Maryland
Apr 24, 2009
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
if you're are buying the sharpmaker, go ahead and buy these
...it will save you shipping when you realize that you need them later to really complete your sharpening system. The Sharpmaker is the best sharpener on the market, but it really needs the ultrafine rods and the diamond sleeves to cover all your sharpening needs.
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 4 stars out of 5
Me, Mario
Netherlands
Jun 21, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
ultra fine ultra sharp
Use with caution, your knife will be as sharp as a razorblade
Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker Ultra Fine Grit Rod
rated 4 stars out of 5
Name
Location
Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Effectiveness, Durability
Cons: None
Sharpener
It is very strong and much harder than knife metals that I know of. VG-10, AUS 8a