Reviews and Ratings for Spyderco Paul Alexander Ikuchi Flipper Knife 3.26" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber/G10 Laminate Handles - C242CFP

Spyderco Paul Alexander Ikuchi Flipper Knife 3.26" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber/G10 Laminate Handlesrated 4.083 stars out of 5 (12 reviews)
4 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
3
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
1
Spyderco Paul Alexander Ikuchi Flipper Knife 3.26 inch S30V Satin Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber/G10 Laminate Handles

 

Price: $140.00

Save $60.00 (30%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Spyderco Paul Alexander Ikuchi Flipper Knife 3.26" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber/G10 Laminate Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brian
Denver Colorado
Apr 09, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Beautiful knife.
You won’t go wrong with this knife. Spyderco has done it again with an award winning design. The knife is very light but don’t let that fool you, this is a serious knife made with the best materials. Comes super sharp right out of the box. I did have to wait almost 2 months before I got it but let me tell you. Well worth the weight.
Spyderco Paul Alexander Ikuchi Flipper Knife 3.26" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber/G10 Laminate Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Syl
Québec Canada
Apr 05, 2019
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Beautiful knife
What a beautiful knife,it was backorder but finally got it just for my birthday. Fit and finish is awesome,not to big for edc,it can be open with the thumb like a lighter. I love it,Once it was available the shipping was very fast. But it before it is to late. Syl.
Spyderco Paul Alexander Ikuchi Flipper Knife 3.26" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber/G10 Laminate Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ba
Dallas, Texas
Sep 26, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Blade Show gem
I had this knife for about 4 months and it has won it's way into the top place in my EDC rotation for work days. Super sharp blade, unique and smooth action, great ergonomics. I am typically not a Spyderco fan but this knife may change that. As someone else said it, if you prick yourself with this knife, you are either from Florida or shouldn't own knives. I honestly can't see how someone would manage to do that.
Spyderco Paul Alexander Ikuchi Flipper Knife 3.26" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber/G10 Laminate Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kevin
Honolulu, Hi
Apr 08, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Compared to the Kai personal steak knife
Blade size, handle material are comparable. Hands down for the spyderco for versatility! The carry option allows for greater ease of carry and deployment. Yes I did just use mine to cut my steak and eggs for breakfast. It nicely trimmed the excess fat (marbling) from my rib eye. Of course it was spyderco sharp, no sawing with this! Elegant yet rugged. Will clean up nicely. Like the others..it was worth the wait.
Spyderco Paul Alexander Ikuchi Flipper Knife 3.26" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber/G10 Laminate Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matthew
Manhattan Beach, Ca
Apr 07, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Nice one!
Fit & Finish well done Hides in the pocket Good steel Carbon handle works well Super Sharp Overall a very easy to use. I love it is so discreet.
Spyderco Paul Alexander Ikuchi Flipper Knife 3.26" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber/G10 Laminate Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rs
Mn
May 02, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Unique and sleek
Three weeks in and there’s nothing negative to report on this one. It flips open quick with very smooth action. Slim, sharp, deep carry clip, it’s a real keeper. I was concerned after reading the reports about nicks and cuts from the tip, but I’ve had no such issue with mine, not even once. It’s a great looking piece that I’m very happy to add to my Spyderco collection.
Spyderco Paul Alexander Ikuchi Flipper Knife 3.26" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber/G10 Laminate Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mt
Salisbury, Md
Dec 30, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None
Who got stuck?
Just got this knife. After reading some reviews I was a little worried about getting poked with the tip of the blade while closed. No problems at all. I can run my finger all over the blade tip in any direction with no fear. Maybe some people got blades that weren't engineered perfectly. I got a good one. Maybe some people shouldn't play with knives, I don't know. I give it 4 stars because I'm a southpaw and the lock is easier to operate for righties. Great product from Spyderco, as usual.
Spyderco Paul Alexander Ikuchi Flipper Knife 3.26" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber/G10 Laminate Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bazzisdumb
Here
Apr 27, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Handle Material
If you get yourself with this while its closed you shouldnt own knives
Fantastic, lightweight, sleek and classy little folder. Came razor sharp right out of the box. Not crazy about Spyderco's peel ply carbon fiber handle scales but that can be remedied with aftermarket scales. I've been fidgeting with it for a week and haven't come close to pricking myself or cutting myself with it. A certain knife reviewer is going to rag on this knife because the tip/cutting edge isn't at least 10 feet away from the handle edge when closed. Personally, I think his reviews are overrated and his army of fanboys are annoying. If you can think for yourself and form your own opinions on knives then maybe you'll like the Ikuchi. Maybe you won't. At least you'll be making that decision for yourself rather than letting a certain reviewer decide that for you
Spyderco Paul Alexander Ikuchi Flipper Knife 3.26" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber/G10 Laminate Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Fernando
The old Kingdom of Spain
Jan 03, 2020
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
The (close to) perfect gentleman's EDC
I got it today, 4 months after placing my order.... so it was a long awaited baby. My first impressions out of the box: lightweight as a feather, sharp as a scalpel and the most elegant and classy gentleman' knife that I ever saw (I have been collecting knives for three decades now). However, I could not be more in agreement with a previous reviewer (Patrick): using his own words "If you open it somewhat frequently to either use or just admire the knife and it’s action, the flipper wheel will grind down the skin of your index finger and thumb to the point where it’s uncomfortable to open the knife". It is not a big problem because the Ikuchi can be opened easily and instantly by pressing the compression lock and flicking the wrist. And, most probably, after opening/closing it a hundred times, the lock/detent will soften to the point that the flipper becomes "index finger friendly". But as of now, my index finger tells me that I should not give the 5th star.
Spyderco Paul Alexander Ikuchi Flipper Knife 3.26" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber/G10 Laminate Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Patrick
Austin, Tx
Oct 16, 2019
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use
Thumbed Up, Thumbed Out
First thing first. Spyderco is absolutely my favorite knife manufacturer. I love the Dragonfly, Chaparral, Delica, Endura, Manix 2, PM 2, Para 3 lightweight, Sage, Native Chief, Spydie Chef and so forth. There is a lot I like about this knife, but there is one thing that I find grinds me so to speak. What’s to like about this knife? The design is creative without being whimsical. It’s a fantastic modern office EDC. People who are afraid of knives, staplers, thumb tacks and paper clips will want to handle this knife and will enjoy it. The knife is slender and the blade is surprisingly long. The CF is quite nice to look at and feel in the hand. The slenderness of the knife and the wire clip make it feel like it’s invisible when you’re carrying it. You will have to learn how to position this in your hand when you use your thumb or index finger to initiate the wheel-like flipper. This comes quite naturally though. You kind of light switch it with your index finger or thumb strike it (like a lighter) with your thumb to open it. Both methods are very satisfying. However, this is not a fidget friendly blade. This is my most serious criticism. If you open it somewhat frequently to either use or just admire the knife and it’s action, the flipper wheel will grind down the skin of your index finger and thumb to the point where it’s uncomfortable to open the knife. The knife’s action is smooth (maybe the CQI version will drop shut, but that’s not a big deal to me considering how light the blade is) and the detent is spot on. It’s just the nature of the flipper wheel. The jimping isn’t overly aggressive, but you need to strike the wheel with some speed to deploy the blade. If you just want a nice well made lightweight knife for light duty EDC that you won’t ever fidget with — this is a great knife for you. If you like to fidget with your knifes a bit or need a taller/wider blade, you may want to check some of Spyderco’s other offerings.
Spyderco Paul Alexander Ikuchi Flipper Knife 3.26" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber/G10 Laminate Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Alex
Singapore
Dec 30, 2019
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
CQI version improved but has its problems.
This is one sexy knife. Quality and blade is spot on as everyone has mentioned. However there are some design quirks which I believe could have been solved from the onset. 1- I have the CQI version where they fixed the problem of the blade tip catching/cutting when closed. They fixed this by recessing the blade deeper/angled it in more, so that if you run your finger across the liner part where the blade tip is when closed, you will not get cut. 2- As this new CQI version has angled the blade to sit deeper / recessed more, and as it is a compression lock, you actually cut yourself when pressing down the compression lock and doing a swing shut! Lovely looking knife, but tolerances need to be adjusted so you don't cut yourself. Overall a no recommendation from me.
Spyderco Paul Alexander Ikuchi Flipper Knife 3.26" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber/G10 Laminate Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Drj
Bradenton, Fl
Apr 17, 2019
Pros: None
Cons: None
Lovely: dangerously flawed
The Ikuchi is all it's cracked up to be: one of a kind and awesome. And, it will cut you. The design triumphed over safety. When closed the blade nests perfectly congruent to the handle. So perfectly, that the needle point is less than a millimeter below the handle borders next to it. You can't help but be stabbed by it in handling it. I was within the first minute I had it. A certain knife reviewer is going to absolutely skewer Spyderco (in kind, heh). You know who, and he will be freakin' livid. To fix, if you want to keep it, is to make a sheepsfoot swedge at the tip, that only has to be as wide as the ground edge, and nearly imperceptible. If you keep it and don't, you will be stabbed and madder than a hornet.