Reviews and Ratings for Spyderco Dragonfly 2 Folding Knife 2.29" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive - C28WDP

Spyderco Dragonfly 2 Folding Knife 2.29" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusiverated 4.600 stars out of 5 (10 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Spyderco Dragonfly 2 Folding Knife 2.29 inch HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive

 

Price: $133.22

Save $71.73 (35%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Spyderco Dragonfly 2 Folding Knife 2.29" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rwb
Nevada
May 17, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Surgical Precision
After receiving this HAP40 Pakkawood dragonfly I put it to EDC in place of a CRKT Pazoda. Having used various SAK, ZT 450, Spyderco Domino, and other knives I have found myself to gravitate toward carrying the smaller blades. This Dragonfly shows incredible fit and finish. The Pakka scales are evenly matched and attractive. I like the SS liner as it gives a bit of heft and feeling of confidence in use. Initially I thought this knife a bit too small for my larger hand, but that is no longer the case. It did take some time to adjust to a one hand open/close. I still commonly two hand close this one. I did remove the clip and have been carrying knife in pocket. For me this is ideal in practice as this D'Fly just settles in with the car fob. The blade steel is good- it arrived saber sharp and shows good longevity -I have not had to touch it up yet. Overall a great little knife at a reasonable price for this level of quality
Spyderco Dragonfly 2 Folding Knife 2.29" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dhill
TX
Feb 14, 2020
Pros: Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Beautiful Knife and Excellent EDC
I am a huge fan of the Dragonfly line and this is my new favorite. I have the salt serrated, G10 handle, and now this one. The weight is in between the lightweight FRN and heavy G10 handles. It feels great in your hand and the steel feels sharper than any of the others. It's almost too beautiful to use as an EDC, but I never want to leave it behind!
Spyderco Dragonfly 2 Folding Knife 2.29" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wilkie
Colorado
May 25, 2018
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Sheath, Lock Ease of Use
Cons: None
Dragonfly
Beautiful knife.
Spyderco Dragonfly 2 Folding Knife 2.29" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jpj
Australia
May 25, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Modern Day Pocket Knife
My first Spyderco in a long time. What a great little knife, excellent workmanship with really tight tolerances, and the mahogany Pakkawood handles are a nice change. Easily slips into any pocket and hence great for EDC. The stainless liners mean that you know which pocket it is in and give the knife a very solid and classy feel Was probably smaller than I though but by no means does this diminish its performance. The blade is very sharp straight out of the box and the HAP40/SUS410 is holding its edge well. There are likely to be variations in colour of the handles due to the nature of the Pakkawood so keep that in mind. I'm in Australia and both postage costs and the speed of delivery were excellent.
Spyderco Dragonfly 2 Folding Knife 2.29" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
rated 5 stars out of 5
Risto
Fi
Jun 02, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Weight
buy this while you can!!
it's awesome upgrade to all ready awesome little knife, it feels bit heavier than original but also much more solid
Spyderco Dragonfly 2 Folding Knife 2.29" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
rated 5 stars out of 5
J432
Washington, DC
May 03, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Weight
Awesome Version of the DF2
If you like the DF2, you will love this version. It's definitely not the lightweight version; the stainless steel liners give the knife quite a bit of heft for its size, which probably is the only downside I could think of, beyond that the scales probably will not be as durable as FRN or carbon fiber. (Let's face it; this is double the price of the VG-10 FRN version, but in my view a different class of knife.) The scales on mine were, thankfully, lighter than what the website shows, which isn't surprising given the variations in the wood. Fit and finish is excellent, and the HAP40/SUS410 blade is icing on the cake. I'm glad I passed on some of the Spyderco Pakkawood sprint runs (e.g., Delica) and ended up waiting for this. For my needs, the DF2 is one of my favorite knives, and this is my favorite DF2.
Spyderco Dragonfly 2 Folding Knife 2.29" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
rated 5 stars out of 5
Walker
Texas
May 18, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
Best Dragonfly Ever?
I love this knife. I've been a Dragonfly fan for several years, and I own FRN versions with blades in VG-10, HAP40, and H1. This is my first "heavier" Dragonfly, since I have not owned the G10 or Nishijin Dragonfly, so I cannot compare to those. But I love this knife! The steel is HAP40/SUS410, which I have enjoyed in the burnt orange Sprint model for several years. Yes, it is a tool steel, and some folks may have different experiences, but I have sweated all over mine in Texas summers and never had any trouble with corrosion. As long as you are willing to take care of your knife a little bit, you shouldn't have any problems with that. The video reviews of the steel and its properties -- especially its ability to become extremely sharp -- are well-documented on YouTube, so I won't go into that here, but it's definitely a super steel. The real selling point here is the handle material. Y'all, I expected a pretty wood with a smooth and "dead" kind of feel to it, like a bartop, and it doesn't feel like that at all. It looks like wood, it shines like wood, and it feels like wood. (I tried smelling it, but no, it doesn't really smell like anything, actually.) You can go research Pakkawood and its advantages on your own, but for the purposes of this review: yes, it's exactly like nice, pretty wood, and you can even feel the grain of the wood a little bit. So what you're getting here is a fantastically well-designed and well-executed "little big knife" with top-end materials. I'm over the moon for this knife, and I'm shocked that it hasn't sold out immediately because it is even better than the Sprint from a few years ago. I argue that it's the best Dragonfly yet -- even better than the ZDP-189 and Nishijin glass fiber model from a few years ago. Also, I received this knife much more quickly than I usually do from other (unnamed) online knife stores. Even though I would have bought this from KnifeCenter anyway because it's an exclusive, it is highly likely that I will switch to them going forward for all my future purchases.
Spyderco Dragonfly 2 Folding Knife 2.29" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
rated 5 stars out of 5
Larry
Corbin, Ky
Jun 11, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Perfect daily!
After purchasing the "blurple" paramilitary I wanted a smaller less obtrusive pocket knife I could carry every day with any pants, dress or casual. This little gem hits the mark. Scary sharp and beautiful to look at. Fit and finish are spot on with that perfect "snick, snick" open and close mechanics. Don't hesitate on this one! Thank you Knife Center!
Spyderco Dragonfly 2 Folding Knife 2.29" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
rated 4 stars out of 5
Alex
Singapore
Feb 04, 2020
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Sexy looking
Finish on this is tops. It is on par with a Taiwanese Spydie. My only concern for me, is in regards to the Spydie hole. The inside of the hole is rough/bumpy, ie it isn't polished. This is weird as the whole edge is super sharp, so you would have thought that when they drill through, it would be smooth. This is my third DF2 in rotation. Love how they fit into your jeans coin pocket byt act like a much bigger blade when using them. I actually like the ZDP189 version more, as it is so light. But this looks prettier / classier.
Spyderco Dragonfly 2 Folding Knife 2.29" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
rated 2 stars out of 5
Smr
CO
Jun 19, 2018
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: None
Product defects
Check your liners. I got one that felt terribly gritty out of the box, took it apart for a good cleaning and found that the LINER on one side was scratched. I mean nearly 1/3 looked like some one drug it across concrete, and it was in direct contact with the blade. Sent back to KC, great customer service etc. but the one they sent back to me has the same scratch pattern but worse and on BOTH LINERS Some how this one feels smooth, so I get that it easily could’ve passed a cursory inspection. But either I’m extremely unlucky in having gotten two with the same exact problem, of this is a some what wide spread issue with this model. I “fixed” both by switching the liners to opposite sides so the scratches are facing the inside of the scales where they can’t do much damage, and both became significantly smoother(obviously) but at this point I don’t want to keep sending knives back and forth so am just going to put it on my list to stop by the spyderco factory outlet in the future and see what they say