Reviews and Ratings for Spyderco Military Folding Knife 4" S30V Black Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles - C36GPBK

Spyderco Military Folding Knife 4" S30V Black Plain Blade, Black G10 Handlesrated 4.625 stars out of 5 (8 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Spyderco Military Folding Knife 4 inch S30V Black Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles

 

Price: $206.50

Save $88.50 (30%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Spyderco Military Folding Knife 4" S30V Black Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scott
NE USA
Apr 18, 2019
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Light, lays well in the hand, well built...
This is an evaluation of the Spyderco miliary black/black, g-10 scales. This is my first Spyderco knife, as I am something of a Benchmade enthusiast. In fact, this military model will replace my venerable AFCK Benchmade as my everyday carry knife. This is the closest to a copy I could find as regards my precious AFCK... I was mildly surprised by the lighter weight of the Spyderco as compared to the Benchmade. I don't know if that is a good thing, bad thing, or not a thing. Time will tell. The fit and finish is superb! The blade locks open with an authoritative snap. Having only known the AFCK as a carry knife, I prefer the tip down carry. I don't know why individuals consider that a negative. The flat blade is something new to me, but I believe I'll adapt painlessly... I did lap the blade with a ceramic smoother, something I do with every new knife. They all benefit from a few licks of the ceramic... nothing radical, just a light dressing... In all, a fine knife. Even if it isn't a Benchmade...
Spyderco Military Folding Knife 4" S30V Black Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Desertdweller
Phoenix,Az
Dec 02, 2012
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None
well made Knife
Knife opens quickly and easily,the ribs on the top of the blade make it very stable for cutting of tougher material
Spyderco Military Folding Knife 4" S30V Black Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dlbrat52
KCMO
Nov 23, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Spyderco Military Excellence
This has already become one of my favorite knives. I've been carrying it everyday, not too big at all. I originally thought that I wanted a paramilitary for EDC carry but this knife is NOT TOO BIG. I have average size hands and the shape and grip and control of the knife is unbelievably comfortable and sure. I have several Spyderco knives and this is by far the best one.
Spyderco Military Folding Knife 4" S30V Black Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Armen
Yerevan, Armenia
Apr 24, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Exellent knife !
Blade deployment is smooth and fast. Blade shape is excellent. Round hole is excellent. Gimping on the blade excellent. No blade play. The blade black coating is better than on Benchmade. Solid lock up. Titanium liners on both sides. Handle shape is excellent. The handle is little bit big but excellent with glove on. G-10 excellent, very similar to Emerson. Very light for 4" inch long knife. Little bit big for EDC. I like tip up carry method. Excellent materials and designed. Exellent knife !
Spyderco Military Folding Knife 4" S30V Black Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Desert Dweller
Phx, Az
Dec 09, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Great knife
Comfortable grip,easy opening ,and works well.
Spyderco Military Folding Knife 4" S30V Black Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
John D'oh
Texas
Mar 02, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Watch out for the picture
I just bought this knife and after opening the box I went "I could have sworn I bought the serrated version." Then I looked and the name and realized that I had indeed bought the "Plain Edge" version. Then I made my way back to the site and realized why I thought I bought the serrated one, the picture is of the serrated version! So heads up on that one. Other than that I've only had the knife for about an hour now. It's very comfortable in my hand and I'm loving the handle material. It feels very solid when I open it too. I don't have any complaints thus far, other than the serrated thing, but keep in mind I've only had it for about an hour!
Spyderco Military Folding Knife 4" S30V Black Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dojo
Croatia
May 12, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: None
The legend is still the best
I have this knife for almost a year and I carry it all the time, it became my edc after carrying my Spyderco Stretch over the last 5 years. It perfectly fit to my pocket, and the handle grip is very good so as the blade sharpness.
Spyderco Military Folding Knife 4" S30V Black Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Jmaniac
Manila, Philippines
Jul 13, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use
great knife until you find out that the lock is really weak
This is the most famous tactical folder of Spyderco. When you handle it, you will know why. I've had this knife for two years now and am discovering some pretty bad stuff about it the more I learn about knives. PROS: The blade is full flat ground and made of S30V. Shaving sharp out of the box with lots of belly and gotta love the thick spine. The blade profile is great for stabbing soft objects, however I WILL NEVER TRY TO STAB WITH THIS KNIFE (you will know why in the CONS section). The thumb ramp jimping is the best I've seen so far. Excellent finger choil with a small guard that is unobstrusive. G10 handle is grippy yet not abrasive. Blade deployment is smooth. CONS: The clip cannot be moved so you'll have to settle yourself with tip down carry. Also, the clip is a bit weak and catches on stuff easily, I caught it on the chair I was sitting on and as I stood up, the clip was bent easily. Removed the clip, straightened it but now I can't put one of the three screws, the clip now has a permanent (albeit small) deformity and wouldn't lay flat on the handle. The knife tip is very thin, if you stab something hard, this will break off for sure. However, I said before I will not stab with this knife even soft objects. Why? The lock failed on me one time I tried to stab some cardboard. Luckily, the blade went through the cardboard fully so it didn't touch my fingers. I think the lock failed because the fit and finish of the blade tang and the lock face itself is poorly done. The is a lot of blade play when it is closed. The blade even brushes against the handle when opening with one hand. When open, there is still a lot of play, side to side and vertical. I noticed that if I move the locked blade vertically, the lock moves a little bit. I tried to spine whack the blade on a wooden table, giving it some force and the lock failed. I wouldn't trust my life on this. BOTTOMLINE: It's great for cutting things and EDC chores, but I wouldn't use it for self-defense or combat because the lock might fail. I'm a Spyderco fan and this one left me hanging. I hope this one is just a lemon and will not hold true for the rest of the Millies out there.