Reviews and Ratings for Spyderco Military Left Handed Folding Knife 4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles - C36GPLE

Spyderco Military Left Handed Folding Knife 4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handlesrated 4.607 stars out of 5 (28 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
20
4 star
5
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
Spyderco Military Left Handed Folding Knife 4 inch S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles

 

Price: $192.50

Save $82.50 (30%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Spyderco Military Left Handed Folding Knife 4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rob S
Lynden WA
Apr 07, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Sadly Discontinued

This a great knife for southpaws. Large useable blade, grippy scales, and razor sharp. Don't miss out. Get one before they are gone.
Spyderco Military Left Handed Folding Knife 4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Albert
Winchester, TN
Jun 18, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None

Great left hander

Awesome knife
Spyderco Military Left Handed Folding Knife 4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Niall C
Vinalhaven, Me
Feb 21, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

GET EM WHILE THEY LAST

When I heard Spyderco was discontinuing the lefty Military, I knew I had to scoop one up before they were all gone. Knife centers price was the best I could find online, and It only took 2 days to arrive, which is unheard of where I live (on an island in Maine). Knife is superb, as expected. Hair shaving sharp, and perfect lock up. My only qualm is the the blade centering is slightly off, but with this knife being a hard user I couldn't give an eff. If your a lefty, GET THIS KNIFE WHILE YOU STILL CAN. Or dont, idc.
Spyderco Military Left Handed Folding Knife 4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve M
California
Mar 20, 2013
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Great knife

Excellent knife, the only draw back that I can think of is that the pocket clip can not be moved like many of Spyderco's other models. Other than that this knife is a must for a lefty.
Spyderco Military Left Handed Folding Knife 4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
W.L.
Macau, Other
Feb 06, 2013
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Type, None
Very well made knife, excellent
Spyderco Military Left Handed Folding Knife 4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Acidburn
Norcal
Feb 28, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Wow wow, what a treat.

Ranch work, food in field, works great. Nice to have a left hand option, truly a great value proposition, well designed, well built.
Spyderco Military Left Handed Folding Knife 4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
B.H.
Ca.
Dec 22, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None

B.H.

This Spyderco (like all Spyderco's) is very well made. Very nice knife & very sharp. Locks up like a tank. It's light weight, almost a little to light weight for my liking. Cons are; I wish the pocket clip could be moved around so it could be carried tip up. The other con is... it's a big knife... The knife fits in your jeans but when you bend down you know it's there. Not the best for EDC, but will work. This would be a great hunting / hiking knife.
Spyderco Military Left Handed Folding Knife 4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim
Baton Rouge, La
Jun 08, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None

Great knife

As a leftie, I have had trouble opening other knives with my left hand. The pocket clip has been on the wrong side. I had trouble holding the handle securely while turning the blade with my left thumb in the hole. Having a dedicated left hand knife just makes this easier. So why not just buy a right hand knife and switch the pocket clip to the other side? You can't always do that. Besides, the price was right.
Spyderco Military Left Handed Folding Knife 4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael B
East Tennessee
Aug 21, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

A must have for lefties

I purchased this knife for a EDC. The quality is amazing. The finish is real nice. On the handle the g10 is rough but wont tear up your pocket. Deployment is smooth as butter. Having the liner lock setup for lefties is a major plus. Never knew how awkward I was being forced to live. The Millie is a light knife. It's profile is thin. Even though its a 4 inch blade you don't even notice it in your pocket. This knife is a must have for any lefty.
Spyderco Military Left Handed Folding Knife 4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Buckaloo
Athens Tennessee
May 30, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Perfect left handed knife

I bought this knife years ago when they made it. I'm still carrying this knife years and years after buying it. Awesome knife. Will be buying another one once it drops. If your left handed this knife will be perfect for you. Love it
Spyderco Military Left Handed Folding Knife 4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
D
Mar 18, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great knife
Spyderco Military Left Handed Folding Knife 4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robertrobert
Midwest City, OkMidwest City, Ok
Mar 25, 2018
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Great Knives!!

I've always loved the Millie design, still have the first one I bought back in 96 when they first came out. Also have an all black S30V, a left hand S30V and a titanium handled S30V model. Will be adding more in the future. I typically carry two all the time, a right hander and a leftie. Works well for those of us who are ambidextrous. Great knives.
Spyderco Military Left Handed Folding Knife 4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Howard
Whitehall, NY
Dec 12, 2012
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Excellent knife

Nice fit and finish. It is hard to find left handed liner locks.
Spyderco Military Left Handed Folding Knife 4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeff C.
Louisiana
Dec 19, 2012
Pros: Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Got it today, a day early. Typical well made Spyderco product. As a lefty I have been wanting this knife for a long time. Thank You KC for making it affordable. Great service and knife. I am totally satisfied.
Spyderco Military Left Handed Folding Knife 4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bailey
Utah
Dec 24, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Great Knife!

Overall excellent knife. S30v holds a great edge, it's lightweight, the blade is easy to deploy. This is my favorite Spyderco knife, I highly recommend it.
Spyderco Military Left Handed Folding Knife 4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rafterrs
NORWAY
Apr 01, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Left handed military spyderco - EXCELLENTE!

I´m left handed... So it´s sweet with a left handed blade!
Spyderco Military Left Handed Folding Knife 4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pd
UK and abroad
Nov 06, 2009
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Light , well balanced and slick opening.

I bought this for use in a para military/jungle environment and it fits the bill. Slick to open, ultra sharp and well balanced it will be a comfort to have around.It is a work of art. I have a similar older knife that weighs three times what the Spyderco does. Recommended .
Spyderco Military Left Handed Folding Knife 4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
J. Wilson
New York, N.Y.
Jul 10, 2013
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Spyderco left handed military

The knife is great, both for city and country, especially for a left handed person. My only wish is that they made a left handed version with a Combo (plain and serrated) blade. Thanks.
Spyderco Military Left Handed Folding Knife 4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Otto L.
Norway
Oct 31, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Excellent knife for us left handers!

Solid, US made. Top notch blade that has a great edge. An excellent working knife that can take a beating.
Spyderco Military Left Handed Folding Knife 4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Orlando S
Miami,fl
May 16, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Lock Type, None
Hold a good edge Fits comfortable in hand Use knife on cutting boxes ,wood, carpet ,etc,et
Spyderco Military Left Handed Folding Knife 4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jared
Towson, MD
Mar 28, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Light and an incredibly good cutter.

Perfect in everyway except size. It's just a tad too big for me, but that is just my opinion.
Spyderco Military Left Handed Folding Knife 4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ray M
Elgin, Il
Jan 04, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
I'm a lefty & this was the first left handed opener I've owned. It took a while to get used to using my left hand to open and close the knife bbecause for years I've had to rely on my right hand. Use this as an EDC, it was razor sharp out of the box and based on a great deal from Knife center is an outstanding value. I prefer the S30V steel; often Spyderco features VG10. I also like the fact this model is made in the U.S.A. Knife center was prompt in shipping & I enjoy doing business with the Knife Center. Great inventory & reasonable prices; would like to see the free shipping minimum reduced to $50.00 versus the current $149.00.
Spyderco Military Left Handed Folding Knife 4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Curt
Wisconsin
Jan 11, 2013
Pros: Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Good buy!

This is a long knife but it sits in the pocket nicely. It is slim and light weight. The lock is very solid and strong, it clicks open with a loud, solid snap. No blade play whatsoever and came with a decent edge althought the grind was a bit uneven.
Spyderco Military Left Handed Folding Knife 4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Slickrick
South Carolina
Jan 25, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Pocket Clip

Sharp knife

All around use. Not recommend if all you do is open boxes. Initial opening of the knife using the spidey hole didn't pride enough grip bc of the position based on the swivel point. Quickly remedied by using a zip tie. Blade is sharp as to be expected from the blade profile. Quick stroping after a day of use typically brings back the edge, depending. Maybe a little large for some as an edc, but I prefer to be able to do any task with the blade I have.
Spyderco Military Left Handed Folding Knife 4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Gray C
Snohomish, WA
Mar 11, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Spyderco Left Hand Military, plain-edge

Being functionally ambidextrous with tools and already owning both a plain-edge and [last I was informed] a factory dis-continued fully-serrated-edge model of the Spyderco Military in standard right-hand configuration, I finally ordered a plain-edge Spyderco Left Hand Military and received it from the Knife Center in a timely manner. Essentially, I use the plain-edge Spyderco Military as a general purpose outdoor knife. I carry both the right-hand and the left-hand together, respectively positioned for easy acquisition by either hand. I find that, a lot of times, I'll have one hand already employed holding something and quick access to a blade I can open easily with my remaining free hand speeds whatever I'm doing along nicely. It's also nice that, in most scenarios, I can close it safely and clip it back at the top of my pocket with one hand. The classic, generously sized, Spyderco thumb-hole facilitates this and the pocket clip makes it easy to carry, as well as keeps it convenient. The plain-edge blades shape is well suited for various small scraping, shaping, shaving, as well as basic cutting, etc. chores, and the modestly pointed blade tip is useful for various light gouging, extracting, and drilling, etc. tasks [of course, when heavier or more prolonged work is required, I'd go grab a beefier, and, possibly, more appropriate tool]. The plain-edge Spyderco is better suited for a wider range of the tasks I find myself engaged in than the serrated model. Still, for a variety of pure cutting tasks -- particularly cutting wet rope -- I prefer the fully-serrated blade [which, yes, I also carry along with the plain-edged pair, when engaged in the appropriate activities]; if Spyderco made a left-hand, fully-serrated blade, I'd doubtless be scraping my pennies together to acquire one of them as well. The full size handle is easy to hold control, and manipulate; the lanyard hole is a definite plus, as I can easily find myself working over deep water. The left hand mounted pocket clip, along with the left hand set-up for the liner lock, are of course what define the left-hand model, maximizing it for left-hand access and carry. The action is a little stiff to open on my new knife; it will probably smooth out with use. As it works just fine in every practical sense, I doubt I'll do anything more than let it break in over time. The liner lock is perfectly solid and, being set up for left-hand manipulation on the left-hand model, probably easier and possible safer for less skilled handlers to use left handed that its right-hand counterpart. The knife did not come with a belt sheath which is of no consequence to me as I wouldn't be using one in any case; I purchased the knife for pocket carry. Also, although I live in a rural environment, it's next to a big city where any knife sheath on the belt, even for folders, are illegal and make one subject to arrest. In conclusion, I can honestly state, as the preceding implies, that I'm completely satisfied with yet another of my many purchases from the Knife Center.
Spyderco Military Left Handed Folding Knife 4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Tom
Ireland
Apr 13, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: Ease of Opening

Fair but need extra work

I give 3star for quality.i have to spend 1 h to make perfect.Smoot oppen and close disabled polish inside with ceramic.knife it self ok sharp enough but not I I usually keep knife razor blade and mirror polished.from design I really didn't like screws very tiny and be carefully when tighten.
Spyderco Military Left Handed Folding Knife 4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Dale
Waco, TX
Apr 23, 2013
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Overall Quality, None

Great knife with one issue

Best (only) LH knife I've tried. Fits my large hand perfectly. Easy to open and close one-handed. The curve of the cutting edge and the full flat grind profile is great for slicing. Razor-sharp out of the box. The clip, blade pivot, and lock all seem over-built, which is what I like. This knife is big. Be prepared for "That's not a knife, this is a knife." comments. Made in Colorado. Open-back handle lets more pocket lint in. Mine came with a stripped screw in the aluminum back spacer. It has screws coming in from both sides in line with each other, so it only has a few threads of engagement per screw. I don't know what they were thinking on this part of the design. My Endura has long screws that screw into stainless steel female inserts, making a much stronger bolted joint. I used the knife before discovering this, so KnifeCenter won't do anything. Spyderco would fix it for a small fee or possibly for free, but they said the turn-around is 3 weeks. I don't feel like waiting that long, so I'm just ignoring the defect for now. It's a shame that Spyderco has a policy against customers disassembling this knives. I could fix it in 20 seconds if they sent me a spacer and new screws.
Spyderco Military Left Handed Folding Knife 4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Left Handed
Cape Cod, MA
Jun 03, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip

Good knife that could easily be improved

This was one of the few knives intended for left-handed persons. Considering the few options out there specifically for leftys, it's decent. Two drawbacks are that it is not easy to open with one hand, unless you have huge hands, and the pocket clip is positioned so that more than an inch of the knife is visable when carrying in the front left pocket of most pants. Hard to imagine why they didn't use a zigzag clip to make the knife sit deeper in the pocket.