Reviews and Ratings for Spyderco Native 5 Lightweight Folding Knife 3" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handles - C41PBK5

Spyderco Native 5 Lightweight Folding Knife 3" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handlesrated 4.824 stars out of 5 (17 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Spyderco Native 5 Lightweight Folding Knife 3 inch S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handles

 

Price: $105.00

Save $45.00 (30%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Spyderco Native 5 Lightweight Folding Knife 3" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Arthur H
NH
Nov 26, 2016
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Pocket Clip

Love my Native 5

Opens like a dream-I especially like the large thumb hole. Rugged knife good for EDC.
Spyderco Native 5 Lightweight Folding Knife 3" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ivan
Canada
Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great EDC

Great knife. Easy to sharpen. Holds edge well. FRN handles are light and makes it easy to EDC.
Spyderco Native 5 Lightweight Folding Knife 3" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Marcus I
USA
Jan 29, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Nice EDC

I feel this is a great EDC, been added to my rotation and carry it more then delica4 now. It is a very smooth but not really easily flickable but I normally do not "flick" my knives open anyways. The handle to me is not cheap but rather light/medium duty, although it seems to be more then adequate in strength as my Marnix 2's(have 2 LW,1g10) are as well. I have now bought a second native 5 LW as I love the lightweight of the new spyderco knives. Just like a polymer pistol frame, some will say cheap, some will say lighter duty, I am the latter as I have been testing the lightweight Spydie's for a bit and have full confidence in these polymer handle knives.. The lock up is solid and sounds so when closed and opened. Handle is on small side(length) so larger hands might run out of real estate. I boarder on medium/large glove size and is perfect for my hand even in rearward hand position. They have done a great job on HT of blade from what I can tell(no surprise from Spyderco) thus far from use and sharpening. I will say that overall Spyderco's come sharper (in my experience)then most from factory and both my native 5 were no exception. There are no cons for me on this one. By the way, my EDC see more then cutting paper and string and such, a lot of wood both green and seasoned wood as well as plastics, vinyl, burlap ect.
Spyderco Native 5 Lightweight Folding Knife 3" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Elvisharp
USA
Dec 25, 2018
Pros: Weight, Blade Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None

My favorite knife

I need a light duty EDC that is easy to carry, has a good blade and a secure grip, and can be choked-up on when you work carefully. The Native checks my boxes. The FRN model is strong and stiff enough to allow you to forgo the heavier built version.
Spyderco Native 5 Lightweight Folding Knife 3" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sjacat
St. Louis, MO
Jun 17, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

This is an excellent knife.

I use this knife to carry to the office, work around the house or hang out on weekends. It is a great general knife. The blade takes and holds an exceptional edge. The knife is light in weight yet not flimsy. Also, the handle fits my large hands well but at the cost of some blade length. Overall, I love this knife!
Spyderco Native 5 Lightweight Folding Knife 3" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
William F
Henrietta, NY
Jan 06, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None

Spyderco Native 5

Perfect size, carry clip can be mounted 4 ways. Spyderco usual quality.
Spyderco Native 5 Lightweight Folding Knife 3" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Eric
NJ
Dec 30, 2016
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None

I love the Native 5 Lightweight!

The Native 5 Lightweight is my favorite Spyderco design. I have the S110V in both handle materials, but I prefer the lightweight version as an EDC knife. I bought this lightweight in S35VN because for the money, you can't beat the value of this knife!
Spyderco Native 5 Lightweight Folding Knife 3" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Whee1z
Colorado
May 21, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Slicing Machine!

I think that this is probably the best Spyderco pocket knife on the market when all things are taken into consideration. For roughly $100 it is a very big upgrade from a standard Delica with VG10. The ergonomics are amazing, and its thin flat grind blade will just cut all day long. It is so lightweight that it literally will disappear in your pocket. I have several Spyderco pocket knives...but I generally reach for the Native 5. Its amazing.
Spyderco Native 5 Lightweight Folding Knife 3" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Didier
France
May 29, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Pocket Clip

Spyderco Native 5 lightweight S35VN

Hi all, First of all, i'm french so i apologize for my language mistakes. Since a long time i was looking for a good pocket knife and my needs were : - optimization between toughness and lightweight --> this knife is excellent and is the best that i tested for that ! - optimization between good grip / handling and small dimensions --> this knife is perfect on that point because of the finger scholle (i have medium size hands) - optimization between durability of cutting edge and ease of sharpening --> The S35VN is absolutely amazing for that. Better than the S30V (i have a PM2) and the Elmax (i have a ZT566) The only thing that i would have preferd would have been a belt clip which would have allowed a port more discreet to the belt. Thanks to Knife Center for that quality of the delivery :) 
Spyderco Native 5 Lightweight Folding Knife 3" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve F.
Rochester, NY
Sep 09, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Great featherweight version of the G10 model

This knife is the exact duplicate of the Native 5, with one change: FRN handles instead of G10. The FRN handles make this thing light as a feather! No problem in a suit pocket. You forget it's even in your pocket! Is there some give in the FRN? Sure. Does it matter? Not at all. Same blade shape and steel, same backlock. And the texture of the FRN provides a fantastic grip--even better than the G10 model. Every other aspect is identical to the G10 model (S35VN steel). This is a perfect EDC size; big enough to be useful, and small enough not to scare NKP (non knife people). This one feels solid, and the back of the blade maintains enough thickness far enough along toward the tip so that I do not have the fear of tip breakage that I have had with some other Spydercos. The back lock is solid, solid, solid. Blade centering is good, and there's no slop, play or bouncy springback when the blade is deployed and locked into place, something that is sometimes an issue with backlock knives. There is some pressure upon opening the blade because of the tension from the backlock system, and it's not going to open like a Kershaw Speedsafe our even a CRKT nonassisted flipper, but it's still pretty easy to open with one hand using the iconic Spyderco blade hole. The blade seems a nice compromise between softer steels (say, the 8Cr13MoV on my CRKT M-16, easier to both dull and sharpen) and premium steels (say, the Elmax on my Zero Tolerance 770cf, holds an edge forever but tough to sharpen). S35VN reportedly contains a bit more chrome than the S30VN in many other middle to upper-middle range blades, supposedly making it a little harder and a little more resistant to corrosion. I'll take their word for it. In sharpening and use, I can't tell the difference between those two. The handle is surprisingly comfortable for me; I have very large hands (for instance, I love the handle and grip on my ZT0350ts, a bruiser of an knife for EDK). Smaller hands won't use the well-jimped finger impression in the choil, and will be happy with the handle alone. Nice ergonomic jimping under the thumb, too; add the G10 sides and it adds up to a great grip, even if the knife is wet. I'm frankly amazed that I've been carrying this as often as I have, but there's something about it...The right size, the right weight, and comfy in the hand. Hits the sweet spot for an EDC. Not really a tactical knife, but well enough designed and tough enough in build so that I'd have confidence in it for that use in a pinch. I abuse my EDCs at times, and so far, this cool little folder is up to it. It arrived pretty sharp out of the box, although I took that up a notch or two. The only niggle (there's always something, huh) is that the clip-which is secure on my pocket-is VERY shiny, and it's not small. A little attention-getting. You can get a black clip from Spyderco, and deal it out (I did). The blade's S35VN is Crucible steel, and the knife is made in Golden, CO--a completely American knife. Kudos to Spyderco for bringing it in at such a reasonable price, given the materials and the build.
Spyderco Native 5 Lightweight Folding Knife 3" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Juan
Germantown, Md
Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use

Great edc

I have an original native that I loved, only I loved it's serrations to death. I was happy to see spyderco was still making, and had improved, the native. It is my go to edc days I need a smaller knife but plan to do some cutting. The design lets me get a good full hand grip whithout having a lot of empty handle when folded. Opening is smooth and I figure it will just get better with time. It has handled cardboard and zip ties with out issue so far. The only issue I have is the back lock requires more travel and force than most I am used to. You really have to bottom out the lockbar in the grove before it will unlock. I also love how the spyderhole fits the blade shape with out the distinct (ugly) spyderco humpback look of say a delica. I am sure this native will serve me even longer than 15 plus years my first one did.
Spyderco Native 5 Lightweight Folding Knife 3" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Donnie M
North Carolina
Aug 22, 2015
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

My EDC favorite

This knife is mainly used for cutting zip ties, multiple layers of tape from boxes, trimming plastic, removing stickers, and general warehouse use. It seems to hold an edge well. After two years of use, I sent it back to Spyderco for a sharpening. It came back four weeks later with a fresh and extremely sharp factory edge. I like the ease of carry. Perfect weight and size. You can't go wrong with this knife. I also own a Delica which is a gem, as well. I can't say enough about the excellent quality and customer support from Spyderco. That alone is a win-win for anyone that is unsure about a purchase. You will never regret purchasing a Spyderco.
Spyderco Native 5 Lightweight Folding Knife 3" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Eric
St. Louis
Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Handle Material

My new daily driver?

I ordered this knife based on knifecenter's special. For the price of $85, it's a steal, and still a bargain at ~$200. S35 steel is great. I use it for typical, light-duty applications (boxes, wire, packages, etc) and it's more than a match for those. It arrived shave-sharp (although not as sharp as my Mcusta) and it holds an edge like no other. The knife is much lighter in hand than other knives than the SOG, Al-Mar, or Mcusta that I rotate through for EDC. I tend to associate "light" with "cheap" and, truth be told, the handle does feel like cheap plastic. But the build quality is overall good. The thumb hole is slightly obscured in the handle when folded, but this doesn't make it more difficult to open. The action is smooth, although heavy, and the blade locks solidly (and loudly) into place. It feels like a slightly larger knife in the hand. The blade is of simple, elegant, and functional design and is razor sharp out to the tip. I'm not a huge fan of the spine locks, and this one requires a little attention so that your hand doesn't end up in the way of the closing blade. It has a four-way reversible clip, which is convenient, but it didn't arrive with the Allen key to remove it...I had to use one from another knife. Overall, I'm very pleased. I'm happy to add it to my EDC rotation.
Spyderco Native 5 Lightweight Folding Knife 3" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
James
South Carolina
Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, Lock Type
Cons: Handle Feel, None

Native 5

Great right out of the box. This is my 4th Spyderco and with the redesigned clip it is much better than the #3.
Spyderco Native 5 Lightweight Folding Knife 3" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chris
France
May 28, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Ease of Opening, None

Nice EDC

Pros : Very light knive, excellent blade (leaf shape, very sharp out of the box, easy to sharp), good scale grip Cons : not so easy to open (compare to usual spyderco knives like endura or dragonfly)
Spyderco Native 5 Lightweight Folding Knife 3" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tom
Germany
Jul 02, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None

A nice tool, good quality, good steel.

I use it as an EDC, for gardening, at work by EMS. It seems to be e precise, strong pocket tool. Pros: - lightweight, flat, small - superbe, precise quality and finish - good steel, cuts similar to 1095, but harder to wear, but needs more precision in getting scharp again Cons: - a terribe, thick, disturbing clip. Went off at once.
Spyderco Native 5 Lightweight Folding Knife 3" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Numbersman
Australia
Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Feel

Fabulous to Carry and Use

This knife has pretty much thrown out all my other common EDC choices, since it arrived. I have small to medium hands, and it just melts into them. It is feather light in the pocket, and yet the FRN seems strong enough for most use. I personally find the FRN a little slick compared to G10, so only gave this knife 4 stars. It has seen light duties, cardboard and other packaging, since arriving, but the blade steel seems the best I own. It is said to be fine with a 15 dps edge, so that is how I sharpened it, and it is crazy sharp. Amazing slicer. Extremely comfortable knife to carry and use, it has tipped out my Endura, PM2 and Tenacious, which were my most common carries before this. Very glad I pulled the trigger on this knife.