Reviews and Ratings for BaliYo Flip Pen by Spyderco, Black - YCN100

BaliYo Flip Pen by Spyderco, Blackrated 3.455 stars out of 5 (22 reviews)
3.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
5
3 star
8
2 star
3
1 star
1
BaliYo Flip Pen by Spyderco, Black

 

Price: $7.70

Save $3.30 (30%) Off Retail

View Product Details
BaliYo Flip Pen by Spyderco, Black
rated 5 stars out of 5
Daddio
Trinidad, CO
Oct 13, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
BaliYo Flip Pen by Spyderco (Black)
I sent this to my son who plays with his pen all day long. Now he has a real toy to use. It's right down his alley and he loves it.
BaliYo Flip Pen by Spyderco, Black
rated 5 stars out of 5
Luke
Chicago, IL
Jan 04, 2011
Pros: None
Cons: None
WOW!!! BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER - SERIOUSLY!!!
First of all, my son LOVES this pen. He's been flipping it around since Christmas morning. However, it was missing the pen component that was supposed to be inside. I emailed KnifeCenter.com and they sent me a new one immediately - I was only hoping to receive the pen part but they sent us a brand new item - and this one DID have the pen inside. Could not have asked for better service - will DEFINITELY use them in the future. Thank you, thank you, thank you!
BaliYo Flip Pen by Spyderco, Black
rated 5 stars out of 5
Davidjohn211
kent, wa
Oct 05, 2009
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
really cool
Its a fun pen to use and great to carry around, also people see me playing with and ask where to get one.I do wish it had a lock to hold it open.
BaliYo Flip Pen by Spyderco, Black
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stinky
Newport Beach, CA
Jul 22, 2010
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
The most fun I've ever had with a Pen!
I will never be without one of these. It gives you something to do with your pen other then stick it in your ear. With a little practice, you can impress your friends with your bali song prowess. Check out utube for the video. Makes a great gift.
BaliYo Flip Pen by Spyderco, Black
rated 5 stars out of 5
9Fingers
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 27, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Fun flipper!
Great conversation-starter, boredom eliminator, and unique writing tool. Bought one for each of my kids. They seem to build dexterity, as well. One of the best novelty toys I've seen in the past 10 years! Knife Center has the best price on these. Can't comment on durability, yet, but read the other reviews. The instructional videos are on YouTube, so you can think twice about paying for the DVD's.
BaliYo Flip Pen by Spyderco, Black
rated 4 stars out of 5
Sir Lamerok
CA
Jan 07, 2010
Pros: None
Cons: None
Great Fun Pen
I love this pen. It is a lot of fun, but I wish it had a clip to keep it open when you want to use it as a pen and not a toy (but who really buys this as a pen)
BaliYo Flip Pen by Spyderco, Black
rated 4 stars out of 5
Manny C.
Tacoma, WA
Oct 16, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Refill Quality
Cons: Materials, None
NICE ALTERNATIVE TO ORIGINAL
I bought one for everyone in the family. We have a great time writing, flipping and twirling this pen. It is lighter than the original USA made Baliyo and the plastic seems more brittle. However, it has not broken yet and does what it is supposed to. For $10.00 this is a great buy. Great gift idea.
BaliYo Flip Pen by Spyderco, Black
rated 4 stars out of 5
Grilin18
Michigan
Jan 16, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, None
Cons: Materials, Refill Quality
The Best Option for Flipping in Class
Been carrying off and on for over a year now. While light for more advanced flippers and techniques, it handles the basics very well. Only durability issues are from the pivots loosening with time, but that may be solved with blue locktite on a new pen. The pen itself is not even remotely good and the upgraded brass version only uses space pen refills. So no matter what version you choose this pen will never be a good writer (never mind the ergonomics). The pen is really just used in emergencies and to explain away any issues with the authorities. But with flip finz toys now in production that explanation may not be necessary. Overall, it is excellent for the price but a third tier option with a solid aluminum/brass construction would be amazing.
BaliYo Flip Pen by Spyderco, Black
rated 4 stars out of 5
Macraven69
Folsom, CA
Oct 06, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, None
Cons: Durability
Economy BaliYo
I use the BaliYo when in long meetings, in traffic, watching TV, long walks. The pricing is definitely a plus. The Economy model is lighter in weight than the standard Baliyo. This makes it a little difficult when going back and forth between the two. This Economy model may not last as long as the standard if you are constantly flipping it.
BaliYo Flip Pen by Spyderco, Black
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tylerk
Columbia, MD
Dec 02, 2009
Pros:
Cons:
Loads of fun
I got this because I spend hours in traffic and figured playing with a real balisong was probably not the safest thing to do while operating a stick shift. It wasn't a bad idea. It's loads of fun and entirely safe, but it doesn't really have the same feel as a butterfly knife. I don't suppose it is meant to, but it would have been nice if they approximated the weights a little better.
BaliYo Flip Pen by Spyderco, Black
rated 3 stars out of 5
Gyffes
New England
Jan 07, 2010
Pros: None
Cons: Durability
Fine for the price
Spins better than I expected, especially after holding it and feeling how light it is. I dislike that to use the pen you have to twist the top -- which also is how you replace the ink. Now that I've opened it once to see how the ink is replaced, the pen cover doesn't wish to stay put. Also in the con, the little pocket clips keep popping out; while I've found mine and put them back in, a friend's vanished. Not a major loss, but a con nonetheless.
BaliYo Flip Pen by Spyderco, Black
rated 3 stars out of 5
Bb
TX
Jul 25, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: Materials, Durability, Overall Quality
Poor Construction
It's functional for flipping. A bit on the light side. But the bad part is that the pen is not functional on mine. The pen is suppose to come out with a twist to the head, but it seem to be broken out of the box. Occasionally, the tip of the pen sticks out a little during flipping.
BaliYo Flip Pen by Spyderco, Black
rated 3 stars out of 5
Mike Lamacq
Belgium
Jul 23, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: Materials, Durability
BaliYooo
Its great for flipping like a balisong but after about 5 days little pieces started coming of and about one month later the weigt in the handle broke of :/
BaliYo Flip Pen by Spyderco, Black
rated 3 stars out of 5
Ras
San Jose CA
Sep 09, 2009
Pros: Refill Quality, None
Cons: Materials, Durability
Great looking but not very durable
I have to admit this thing looks great, really great, Black and Stainless is an awesome combination, the arms have been slightly modified from the original and have a more triangular shape which changes the overall grip a little. The pen seems to work a bit better than the original even though it's not a Space Pen it's still a nice smooth writer. I do have one rather major complaint though, the quality of the plastic on this thing is pretty poor. I've had my original baliyo for about eight months and it's gone through a lot, lots of drops, lots of falls, a lot of hard flipping but it's still functional. I had this new one for two days and after a short drop onto my kitchen floor (about 4 feet) it SHATTERED, the arms just busted at the joints. I understand that this is a more economic model but still, I'm rather appalled that Spyderco would let this kind of quality pass in one of their products
BaliYo Flip Pen by Spyderco, Black
rated 3 stars out of 5
Bailly 10
bmore
Aug 08, 2010
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, None
Cons: Refill Quality
ok
The baliyo biack is ok but lt would be niceer to have more colors and still stay chaep
BaliYo Flip Pen by Spyderco, Black
rated 3 stars out of 5
Jason
Columbus, Ohio
Sep 28, 2010
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Fun Toy
Very lightweight, feel kinda cheap. Made entirely of plastic. It's fun to flip.
BaliYo Flip Pen by Spyderco, Black
rated 3 stars out of 5
Memnoc
Augusta, GA
Dec 26, 2009
Pros: None
Cons: Durability, Overall Quality
cheap plastic
fun to play with but its made with cheap plastic that chipped rather quickly when dropped.
BaliYo Flip Pen by Spyderco, Black
rated 3 stars out of 5
Ninjapig
salt lake city, ut
Dec 13, 2010
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
whimsical and fun
got this one as a gift but couldn't help but play with it before sending it on. the ends of the arms are weighted a little bit to help with the swinging arms and it is definitely fun to play with. as a novelty, it's great. as a pen, i'm not sure yet. for the price, it's a good buy.
BaliYo Flip Pen by Spyderco, Black
rated 2 stars out of 5
E
CO
Feb 28, 2011
Pros: Refill Quality, None
Cons: Materials, Overall Quality, Durability
Fun, but...
It's fun, but really needs a little more weight to it. An aluminum version would be very welcome.
BaliYo Flip Pen by Spyderco, Black
rated 2 stars out of 5
Flon Dhur
Toronto, Ontario
Apr 03, 2011
Pros: None
Cons: Materials, Durability, Refill Quality
Flips nicely. The matrial is too brittle, plastic cracked at the circular weight. Disapointed that does not use a standard Fisher Space Pen refill.
BaliYo Flip Pen by Spyderco, Black
rated 2 stars out of 5
X
Elk Grove, CA
Aug 11, 2010
Pros: Refill Quality, None
Cons: Materials, Overall Quality, Durability
Cheap
I was very excited until i saw it, cheap and clip sucks. really dont waste your money.
BaliYo Flip Pen by Spyderco, Black
rated 1 stars out of 5
Joe K.
Austin, TX
Sep 12, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: Materials, Durability
Poor construction
Pen works but not ergonomically functional. Too light for any serious flipping. Plastic broke around the circular weights.