Reviews and Ratings for Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles - SVORD-PK3-WOOD

Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handlesrated 4.246 stars out of 5 (57 reviews)
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
28
4 star
20
3 star
4
2 star
5
1 star
0
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3 inch Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles

 

Price: $29.95

Save $10.00 (25%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Will Y
QLD, Australia
Oct 04, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Feel, None
Really cool, really sharp
Firstly, let me point out that these knives are all handmade by one fellow in NZ. I had read on a few forums about the slight 'individuality' of some of these knives and upon receiving mine had to dismantle mine and add a washer in order for the blade to fold away snugly. Also the two wooden handle pieces did not line up perfectly so I needed to hit them with a bit of sandpaper. Once I got to using the knife, all of that was forgotten and will earn it 5 stars in my book. It took me less than half an hour to tweak the knife to my liking and now I have an uber sharp blade that is simple yet elegant looking. It holds an edge really well and feels great in my hand. In summary, if you want a fantastic knife and don't mind (possibly) spending a bit of time making it just right, then look no further.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michele
napoli (Italy)
Dec 10, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Sheath, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Feel, None
A "do it all" knife
After three weeks of continous use in the office sharpening pencil, cutting letters, cardboard, rope( sintetic and manila), paper, cleaning nails(only mine) and cutting old mouse pads, I can safely say this is an excellent knife a real " do it all" knife with long lasting sharpness. Easy to resharp. Handle feel is good but possible to improve. Beautiful wood for that price. Size and shape doesn't make people scream A KNIFE(you know what I mean)when see it
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Df
South Florida
Jan 02, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Excellent cutter at excellent price
I wanted a simple rustic knife with carbon steel blade that has a bit of belly to it. The primitive design of the Svord appealed to me and plastic handles didn't seem appropriate for a knife whose lineage goes back centuries so I opted for the wood handle. I think it's kind of funny that some mildly criticize the wood handle as being to roughly finished but c'mon, look at the blade. It's roughly finished as well! The wood handle I think complements the blade. The steel is excellent and took a shaving sharp edge. The unusual tang design at first glance looks like it may make the knife awkward to pocket carry but quite the contrary. This knife happily resides in a jeans pocket unnoticed and the tang helps facillitate retrieving the knife from the pocket. I have used mine mostly at BBQs and eating outdoors along with some other cutting tasks and the thing is great. Just remember to clean and oil regularly as it well rust while you look at it if neglected. I am very happy with this knife.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Daniel O'd
Portland Oregon
Apr 07, 2013
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
A versatile tool, great steel!
I heard about Svord recently, don't know how I missed them all these years, and they make some top-review knives, but I wanted to try out the "peasant" folder. This is not a keep-it-in-your-cabinet and admire-it-but-do-not-use-it kind of knife. This is a simple real everyday knife for field, camp, hunt, garden, crafts and cooking, even desk or warehouse I suppose, and it will not let you down. The heart of a knife is steel, and this is the VERY best. It takes an incredibly fine edge, and HOLDS it through lengthy tough work. At the end of the day, I am still smiling when I clean it up and give it a light touch-up with oil. The handle is a bit oversize for a good grip. The extended lever is GREAT for pocket-edge open, one hand. Did I not say "character"? I like a refined and polished knife as well as the next user, but pull this one out, and your friends will not go "ho hum" - the handmade look gets attention. I will probably get a couple more, for three reasons: the wood handle is easy to sand or carve or customise for individual preference, and because the blade with extension has two holes, it will easily convert to a fixed blade - I'm thinking about a really nice stag or hardwood handle ... and my ladyfriend covets mine. The service from Knife Center is as good as can be: very fair price, packed well, shipped without delay. This will become a time-proven classic, like the Opinel or Laguiole or Okapi or Higonokami or Douk. (The blade does not lock, one must be aware of the task in hand, and hold it firmly - but you know that!)
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ryan
Eastern Washington
Aug 27, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Better than expected.
I went in thinking it would be another junk folder for the price but it handles more like a decent fixed blade. It is a little rough cutwith the wood handle but it isn't uncomfortable at all. Even with a factory edge I could shave (though with some effort) right out of the box. Being a friction folder it did take some minor adjustment with the screws to get it where I wanted it. Definitely good enough for me to look at their other knives.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dennis Nichols
Fort Wayne, IN USA
Jul 15, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Cutting lots of paper and cardboard. Excellent knife. A bargain! Just used a steel on it & it shaves hair off my arm! Great old time design. 400 years of peasants couldn't be wrong!
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
John S.
Pittsburgh
Mar 23, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
LOVE these little beauties!! I read all the reviews before purchasing two of the peasant knives. Yes... when they arrived the handle scales weren't lined up the greatest but.. it took less than 2 minutes to disassemble the knife, a few minutes on the belt sander to line them up perfect, hit them all over with fine grit paper then an application of gunstock wax reassemble and BAM! You got a super cool, well made, razor sharp, historic and just plain fun folding knife for less than 20 bucks!!! And what I did (that only took about 20 minutes total) was more fun than work and really wasn't necessary, I just like to tweak and tinker. These aren't meant to compete with high end tactical folders, so for what it can and should be used for I say congrats to Svord on a wonderful product and don't change a thing!!
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Natural-Outlaw
Northern Wisconsin
Oct 22, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
Love The Primitiveness (is that a word?) !
I truly love the primitive design of this knife; no frills, just a handle that fits my hand well and a drop point blade of excellent carbon steel! I have used it in the kitchen and to make fuzz sticks while camping etc. It takes a very fine edge and holds it well. I purchased it with the sheath and because I shop in the "husky" section (aka chubby, big guy) the handle pokes me in the side at times when on my belt. My wife says "lose some weight lard butt." She's crazy about me. Anyway, excellent working knife for chores around house or out in the field. I like.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Neal P
Denton Tx
Apr 13, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Svord knives
This is the go to folder for everything from whittling to anything expected from a major league knife. Easy to carry, handy to use, and keeps an edge.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chuck
Washington
Jun 02, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
an outstanding tool
this is a fine well made knife. it's a no-fooling-around tool for all those chores around the house that need a cutting edge. it feels good in my hand, it's easy to open and close, and it looks really nice.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rg
Yorktown, FA
Jul 13, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Overall Quality
Great knife
Terrific steel for a bargain price. Very well balanced and feels great in the hand. The handle is crudely finished, but who cares...It works great. Too large for pocket carry wearing anything other than loose pants with deep pockets. This is now my favorite knife.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Khristu4
Kane County, IL
Jun 26, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Impressive Strong Utilitarian Knife
I bought this knife because of the rustic look. I can say it has served me quite well and is now an EDC instead of my kershaws, spydercos, CRKTs and Ka-Bars due to its utilitarian purposes. I have cut food with it, an aluminum downspout, 7 inches of 1/8" thick plastic, driveway sealer strip, dug holes for seeds, cut cardboard boxes, plastic bags of soil and mulch, envelopes and branches. It has gotten scratches on the blade but after cleaning up and putting vinegar on or cutting an orange or apple with the knife, the blade turns greyish/black and hides them (the handle will turn darker as well if you get the vinegar from the blade on it. This is one knife I am not afraid to use roughly, get scratched up, and dirty. I have seen videos of people batoning small pieces of wood with it by using the tang and not the handle, I still haven't needed to do that yet but look forward to it. I haven't reshaped the blade, don't have tools for that but I have sharpened it with a simple diamond sharpening system. Still cuts.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Washington
Apr 01, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
My new favorite knife
Seriously, I have a lot of other knives that cost me a lot more money and I always grab this one first. The simple design and excellent blade are just about perfect and with just a few minutes of "adjusting" can be made even better. While it was very usable and decent as delivered, I took it apart, sanded the handles with 400, 600 then 1500 grit sandpaper for about 5 minutes then used mineral oil & beeswax on them and sharpened the blade(convex). It is easy to keep razor sharp and is incredibly comfortable to use.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
B. Otto
LA, CA
Jul 28, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Awesome Knife!
I recently took this, along with my Kershaw and Spyderco, to do some camping. This was the only blade I used the entire week! It's so basic, but it really does everything you could want in a knife. The handle is nice on arrival, but I sanded mine down to give it a smoother feel, then re-stained it. It feels great in your hand and is nice and sharp. This is a great purchase if you're looking for an amazing knife at a killer price, this is it.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bonnie S
Glencoe, KY
Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Svord Peasant Folding Knife
Great product!!!! Fast service!!!! Easy to navigate website!!! Thanks, Bonnie Strassell
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ken Arm
gainesville florida
Mar 01, 2014
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
good field knife
this is an easy to use and easy to maintain field knife.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Randy
Small Town Iowa
Dec 01, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Excellent Value
first of all think of this as a starter kit. You are buying a quality steel blade with rough shaped wooden handles. If you arent prepared to use a piece of sandpaper for 30 seconds to finish the handle scales, then get the plastic handled ones or another knife. No blade locks, no pocket clips, no sheath, just a quality steel blade. I always sharpen new knives as a matter of habit. These sharpened easily and quickly. I used the first one to whittle a wooden spoon from a piece of Walnut. It is as sharp afterward as it was before the hour of woodworking. You are buying a quality blade with unfinished wood handle scales. The wood grain raised when dipped in linseed oil. Easily sanded smooth in less than a minute. Excellent value for the money.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cutta Carter
Greater Washington Area
Jun 25, 2010
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Feel
Great knife to make into a custom
I haven't really used this knife to much. I mainly use my knives in an EDC role but this one is a little big for that. My normal EDC is a Kershaw Leek. It's much slimmer and has a pocket clip. I didn't buy this knife for that. I bought it to play around with it, customize it, and not worry about messing it up. It's a great blade for the price and I've put a razor convex edge on it. Even though the wood handles look good, I wish I would have gotten the synthetic ones. I will need to remove the finish and sand down the current handles some. All and all, I am very happy with my purchase for the price
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nbdfwd2
Marietta, GA
Mar 22, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
This Peasant likes the Peasant Knife
Very well made. Very simple. Cool to have such an old design reproduced so well
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
David O
Ben Lomond CA
Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, None
Great knife, with a little polishing..
I'm just going to repeat what a lot of folks have said-- the steel is razor sharp out of the box but the wooden handle is too tight on the end of the blade. It's nothing some sanding won't fix but it is something to note if you're going to give it as a gift.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt
New Jersey
Feb 28, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness
value
basic but the steel is top notch. doesn't come razor sharp but easy to put a long lasting razor sharp edge on.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark P
Reading, Ma
Jun 24, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Sheath, None
Awesome
This is one of my favorite knives I own and I own over 50 consisting of Benchmades, Spyderco, Ontario, Emerson, and much more. This blade is character at its finest. It comes with a good sharp blade with good retention, the handles are good material perfectly smooth, and the "ashburn" on the blade gives it a nice freshly forged look. I have complete trust in this blade and would recommend. My only complaint is that it didn't come with a sheathe, I bought one made for this knife for cheap off Knifecenter as well and it contributed to the old fashioned, "working mans" characteristic of this blade.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Allan
Madison, TN
Apr 03, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Weight
The best knife I've ever owned.
I was first introduced to carbon steel blades by my grandfather when he gave me an Old Timer. Since then I've been very picky about what kind of material my knife blade is made out of. I was looking for a carbon steel folder for every day carry when I first found the Peasant. I thought it would be a good candidate for the job, especially when looking at the tang. Like many other owners, I sanded down and refinished the scales before moving onto putting a better edge on the blade. With that said, I have many knives with 1075 high carbon blades, stainless, and D2 steel; however, this little folder has taken the best edge that I have ever seen in a pocket knife or fixed blade for that matter. The day after finishing the work I done to mine, I proceeded to carve a walking stick for my son out of a piece of white oak, followed by many different general chores. When I was finished the blade still had an edge that could shave hair off of my leg. The only con that I have with the Peasant is that it feels very light for it's size, which I guess really isn't a con considering how durable it feels. I plan on purchasing another just to have a backup knife.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mack The Knife
Baton Rouge, LA
Jul 28, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Feel, None
Excellent Ruston Peach Peeler
I am not sure you can find a better knife at this price point. The peasant is a very basic knife, no fancy bells and whistles. It cut well out of the box. After a few passes of the blade on an Arkansas stone it cut even better. My coworker borrowed the peasant knife to peel the fur off his Ruston peach and was so impressed he almost "forgot" to return it. I recommend this if you need a knife that you will actually use…if you need something pretty look elsewhere.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Diego
Ben Lomond, CA
Jan 04, 2011
Pros: Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great Knife
Love the design, simple, utilitarian. Inexpensive and quality blade.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jon
PA
Dec 18, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
great knife
It came sharp and in good working order right out of the box. The simple operation and bare bones approach to this knife makes it an excellent tool. It's very simple to operate even with work gloves on.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Apophis
Earth
Jun 17, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great Value!
I bought 6 of these Svord Peasant knives in wold and poly handles because I thought they were an exceptional value and I wanted to give a few away as gifts. The extremely high quality carbon steel blades do not disappoint. I believe they are made of 15n20 Sandvik steel, sometimes referred to as a Swedish L6. In other words, a super tough tool steel used in saw blades. It's also frequently used with 1095 carbon steel for Damascus blades. The Peasant knife is an excellent slicer and everyday work knife. For under $20 this knife is a steal.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
I.N.F.K
Roanoke, Va
Aug 21, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Overall Quality, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, None
It's a Primitive Freakin Folder
This is not a tactical knife or an EDC knife. It's not a knife that you take to the mall, the store, your work, a restraunt, etc... It's a work knife!!! This knife is pure and simple, a no frills knife. However it's a realiable knife as long as you use it for cutting. Look in the description of this knife. Svord Knives even say that it's meant for cutting and thats it. Also if you have a problem with the blade opening, closing, or wobbling. Adjust it with the screws. That's why they're there.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chris W
Lakewood CO.
Apr 01, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great basic knife
This is a GREAT little knife. I typically carry a small 3" Puukko for EDC, but for those times when a fixed blade is just not something I can get away with, the Svord is perfect. Comes barber's-razor sharp out of the box...needs some slight adjustments to the tightness, light sanding and oiling of the handle, but it is a real bare-bones work-horse for those who are into a real knife.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Happy Peasant
Pennsylvania, USA
Apr 02, 2013
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
Great simple knife
The peasant knife is right at the border of being too large to carry around in my pocket, yet I enjoy it anyway due to its design and great steel. The edge needed a little work out of the package, but it turned out very nice.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jay
Southern Virginia
Nov 23, 2013
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
A Little Too Rough
I knew when I bought it that it was a rough old fashioned knife but it was a bit larger than I thought when folded and the blade handle sticks out a lot. The blade itself isn't sharp but I suppose I can fix that myself. The wood was very rough but I had expected that. It's an okay back pocket knife but not quick or easy to open.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jay F
Midlothian, VA
Oct 12, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Type, Handle Material, None
Cons: Overall Quality
Meh on the handle
Got five of these as groomsmen gifts and realized i had to sand down and refinish the handles before giving them out. The pointy butt end of the handle does noting but make the handle almost an inch longer than it has to be so i rounded them off. I also rounded off the inside of the scales and the outside to smoothen it out. The groomsmen and liked the knives because of the concept the extended tang, the looks, the edge, and the uniqueness. I wouldve given it a 5/5 if it wasnt for the quality of the wood finishing. Perfect knife with a little work. Awesome bang for buck
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Knife Nut Zman
LOGANVILLE GA.
Jun 17, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Feel
A GOOD EVERY DAY KNIFE.WOOD HANDLES COULD BE BETTER SANDED.GREAT BLADE VERY SHARP.I AM GOING TO BUY ORTHER HANDLE MATERIAL ONE
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
F1ghtmast3r
Lexington, Kentucky
Aug 24, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Lock Ease of Use
Great inexspensive knife
For the price this is a fine knife. I put this one in my EDC bag as a backup. As it came the edge was not so great. After a little time on the sand paper and my Japanese water stones the knife now has a razor sharp convex edge. Love the design of this knife the tension screws allow me to adjust how this blade opens and closes. Lots of room for MODS here. I do believe at this price point I will be purchasing a few more to play with. I see a fixed blade necker peasant in my near future!
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
John F
Minneapolis
Dec 05, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, None
Cons: Handle Feel
Functional and Rustic
I wasn't expecting too much from this knife, so I am not at all disappointed. That is not meant to imply it is cheap or poor quality. It's a functional piece. Not so refined but pretty in its own right. The carbon steel blade arrived sharp and will be a cinch to touch up. It's a great slicer but has enough heft for rough jobs. The overall weight is light. I was disappointed that the scales are misaligned and the point at one heel has a split. No worries. I am going to remove the scales, trace them for a pattern (for future options), sand, reshape, and finish them with tung oil. The wood provides a warm and naturally textured grip. At this price the knife is a bargain. It's also a blank canvas for anyone inclined to modify and make the knife more to your liking. The core concept of this folder is solid.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Wheat
Parkersburg,WV
Dec 11, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Ease of Opening, Blade Material
Cons: None
For what this knife is it is nice , blade came sharp out of package but I did touch it up . Really like the raw look to it and it is good quality , just not sure if this is an EDC or a conversation piece as I would not use it overly rough but nice none the less
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Moon Rat
Denmark
Aug 27, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great knife!
This is a great carbon steel knife. It is sturdy and yet very sharp. The finish on the handle was not optimal in my taste, so I sandpapered it and gave it some linseed oil, but that was no big deal, as you can detach the blade from the handle. The knife has a opening mechanism like that of a traditional razor knife. It works well, when you tighten the screws on the handle to your preference. The size of the handle, and this opening mechanism, means that when closed it measures 17 cm or 6.7 inches. It is a great working knife, with its own simplistic beauty to it. I recommend it to everyone who are not afraid of sharpening their own knives.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Philipp
Fleurier, Switzerland
Jan 06, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Ease of Opening, Blade Material
Cons: None
Excellent knife for the price, sharp. No problem to order it from Switzerland. Knifecenter always optimal.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
William Hard
colorado
Feb 26, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath, Lock Type
Good knife for an old design
This is a great carbon steel knife for the price. I wish there was more warning about the absence of a locking mechanism.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jaf
Rosario - Argentina
May 14, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath
A very nice surprise
A real all-terrain. Good quality for a good price. Simple, light, strong and very, very sharp. I love it !!
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bryan D
Turners Falls, MA
Feb 01, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material, None
Cons: Weight, Handle Feel
excellent steel
This knife takes and holds an edge better than any knife I've owned, and I usually spend $200+. Beats ATS 34, 12C27, A2, 440C, VG10, and even good old carbon steel. There is a great video on Svord's website that shows how to sharpen to a convex edge. With practice you can open and close it fast with one hand. Locks up surprisingly solid when gripped. Downside: It's a little bulky for an every day carry and if the screws aren't tuned right it can come open in your pocket - not good when the blade is so sharp! Wasn't crazy about the handle, it's all rounded so no tactile cues as to where your hand is relative to the blade. Ended up making my own handle (easy with this mechanism) from wood scraps that fits my hand better and shaves 1/2" off the closed length. Overall: Buy this knife. It's just neat. Downsides are just me being fussy.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chris Zi
Virginia
Jun 09, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great knife for a low price.
I use this product in my edc, its a great knife easy to open and a fairly sharp blade right out of the packaging.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Z Man
LOGANVILLE GA.
Jun 08, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Blade Material
could be a better sanding on handle
ALL OVER A GOOD EVERY DAY KNIFE.A VERY SHARP BLADE BUT THE WOOD HANDLE COULD BE BETTER DONE.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kim
Sweden
Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
Good inexpensive EDC knife
Awesome! i am going to get more of these cause the one i have quickly became my favourite.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mike M
michigan USA
Mar 11, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Handle Material, None
Svord peasant knife
I must give this handy knife a 4 for the price.Rather inexpensive but has a good blade made out of good steel.Vary sharp strait from the factory.Holds edge better than many knives of twice the price.Only drawback I can see so far is hinge strength. Best used for light duty work,Dont put your weigt on it.Could have used a stronger wood just tie a long nylon string through the hole and hang it around your neck.I use it mainly for cutting cardboard and plastic banding and shrink wrap on the job.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Nathan L
rigby idaho
Mar 19, 2015
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material
good project knife
Handle was of poor finish. I re did them took off the finish and even out the handles to match. Plastic handle version are made better
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Crispin
Big Island
Jan 04, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Someday I will make my own really nice birdseye maple handle.
I really love these knives and preach about them when ever I can. I find infinite use for the tang, prying, scraping, poking and such, a real multi tool and sturdy too. High carbon steel blade, the stuff that real tools are made of not some crappy stainless. Fits in the pocket comfortably. The only knife I ever owned the I've liked well enough to carry religiously day in and out. Love the simple historic design. I bought this wood handle knife to replace the one I have with plastic handle for re-enactment and such. Rated this so high ( I would rate the less expensive plastic handled version of this knife 5/5) because of all the quality in materials and design I've mentioned above and the very reasonable price but the finnish work is not that of a high end knife i.e. the wood is a bit rough and the finnish coating slightly drippy. As I say someday I will make my own beautiful wooden handle for this knife.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jeff J
Tulsa, Ok
Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
Simplicity Defined
I ordered this knife about a month ago with a couple more expensive blades. I never got a chance to fully check it out until last weekend. I usually order knives at least twice per month and have been busy using other purchases for work and recreation. When I pulled it out of the shipping box for the first time, I thought it was a bit odd and even crude and I left it in a drawer at my lake house. This knife saw heavy use last weekend and it held up very well. The CS blade can take a lot of abuse while remaining no worse for wear. It's not the usual type of knife I would purchase, but it's a very useful tool that I will continue to use at the lake. It is what it is.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Walt
Petersburg va
Jun 29, 2010
Pros: Handle Feel, None
Cons: Handle Material
Uniques
I am a collector. No collection would really be complete without this knife. It is a piece of history. Forged and hammered, fine wood handle. Very sharp. Good utilitarian knife or addition to your collection of the great western europaen heritage of ironwork.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Tony Mcb
Western Masachusetts
May 15, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Feel
Gives "crude" new luster.
Everyone whose seen it has just shaken their head and grinned. Sort of a, "wait until you see THIS!" item. I do like the blad, though.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Davey P
UK
Sep 26, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Material, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
3" Peasant knife review
I've wanted this style of knife with a swing arm reminiscent of a the old cutthroat razors my grandpa used for many years, but the price has always been prohibitively expensive. I really liked the look of this knife when I first saw it, enough to buy one. It is roughly finished, and I had to add a para-cord loop into the folding eye to assist in closing without trapping fingers between the blade and handle. It feels well in the hand but will benefit from sharpening it properly. The Hots: It has a solid carbon steel blade, and the whole thing looks and feel good, but the finish is lacking. When holding it properly, your own hand prevents it from closing on your fingers. Folds up and fits in a pocket. The Not so Hots: The blade has a barely passable machine ground secondary bevel edge on it rather a scandi grind edge, which would be so much sharper and easier to maintain, don't expect this to be as sharp as say a Morakniv straight out of the box. The wooden handle version I been sent looks and feels like the two scales are slightly mismatched, and the varnish finish is really badly applied. so bad in fact it is missing in places. The bigger 3" version is just about small enough to put in your pocket. The whole knife is held together with two brass screw rivets so I think I may well take it apart over winter and finish it off when its too wet to go out doors
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Duke Of The Wild
Keaau HI
Jun 29, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Weight, None
Cons: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel
One problem.
Good blade, but the handle for it is junk. Poorly finished, and doesnt retain the knife very well but the other versions of the knife are great. Didn't come very sharp from the box either, but what would you expect from a 15 dollar knife
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Dexter
Afghanistan
Mar 14, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use
Amusing but impractical.
I use knives throughout the day for simple utility tasks that don't warrant the giant cool-guy tactical blades I'm issued. Cutting paracord, stripping wire, cleaning my nails,etc. I also have two Opinel knives that cost the same as this Svord. I can't imagine why someone would use the Svord over those. The primary trouble stems with the locking mechanism; There isn't one, really. You have to grip the rather short tang and squeeze it into the handle to hold the blade open. Since not every task requires a full-hand gorilla grip, those tasks become a lot more difficult as the blade swings about with each cut. For stabbing cuts I absolutely do not trust the blade to stay open.The curve lends itself to closing on your hand. Stropping is a pain, as the reverse stroke tries to close the blade and a firm grip is not good technique. On the plus side, it has a nifty steel. The material definitely feels rustic. It sharpens fairly easily and holds a decent, though not great edge. The wood handle is pleasant and would work better if not hampered by the ill-conceived lock. Bottom line: It's a nice knife to have but not to use. Get something else if you want a cheap utility knife. Get this if you want to fit in at a Ren Faire.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Trent
Tampa
May 03, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Blade Material, Overall Quality
What is happening in New Zealand?!
In the last few years, New Zealand has instituted a rather brutal business tax. It seems the knives of Svord are beginning to reflect this pretty blatantly. The blade of the Peasant Knife I bought a month ago is exactly one-half as thick as the one I bought three years ago. I used to say that I could bank my life on these Peasant Knives. But the new ones simply are just too thin. These folding knives are made of 15n20, a pretty inexpensive steel that is easy to heat treat. He only uses L-6 in his top-of-the-line models. So if Svord can't afford the quality upkeep on some of the cheapest materials available to knife makers, then I am going to be forced to look elsewhere for the same marriage of quality and simplicity, namely Mora. And this makes no sense to me, because Sweden's taxes are by far more demanding, but Mora is still putting out the quality. This is such a shame.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Zippydapanhead
The Boonies
Jul 07, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Peasants... Revolt!
I bought a couple of wooden handles and a purple aluminium one as toss in garden and work knives. I also enjoy getting experience with different opening mechanisms. They certainly are "rustic" but I would not to trust this to any substantial task. There are much better "rustics" and the aluminium one is worse out of the box with less potential improvements.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Eliseo M
Ceres CA
Apr 16, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Sheath, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type
It okay
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Brown Wood Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Coach
Pataskala, USA
Jun 15, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Keep your thumb on that tang.
It is a learning experience. I find it not well suited to all tasks, because the friction is missing. I must wedge the tang between the scales and this is not reliable. Gravity will close it, if you don't hold it open. Sometimes I want a different grip, but not with this knife. I consider it an interesting knife, but not a useful one. The blade sharpens very easily. I prefer a higonokami, which stays open due to friction.