Reviews and Ratings for Smith & Wesson 12" Compact Collapsible Baton, Black, Black Elastic Nylon Sheath - SWBAT12B

Smith & Wesson 12" Compact Collapsible Baton, Black, Black Elastic Nylon Sheathrated 4.636 stars out of 5 (33 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
23
4 star
9
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Smith & Wesson 12 inch Compact Collapsible Baton, Black, Black Elastic Nylon Sheath

 

Price: $26.95

Save $19.04 (41%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Smith & Wesson 12" Compact Collapsible Baton, Black, Black Elastic Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scott
Michigan
Dec 03, 2014
Pros: Construction, Weight, Materials
Cons: None
Works as expected
Not much to say here other than it functions well and is exactly what i expected. There is a slight break in period on collapsing it, other than that it's great.
Smith & Wesson 12" Compact Collapsible Baton, Black, Black Elastic Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Magic Man
Michigan
Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
S&W 12" Black Compact Collapsible Baton
Very happy with the item. Carry in my suit pants pocket (I also have a belt flashlight holder that works). Great product.
Smith & Wesson 12" Compact Collapsible Baton, Black, Black Elastic Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Buddy A
Galveston COunty, Tx
Sep 04, 2015
Pros: Construction, Weight, Materials
Cons: None
Smith & Wesson 12" Compact Collapsible Baton, Black
Self defense for carry where firearms are prohibited.
Smith & Wesson 12" Compact Collapsible Baton, Black, Black Elastic Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert B
Fairbanks Alaska
Apr 06, 2017
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
S&W 12" baton
This is super comfortable. Concealable and made of top quality materials. I'd STRONGLY recommend this to anyone. 5⛦⛦⛦⛦⛦
Smith & Wesson 12" Compact Collapsible Baton, Black, Black Elastic Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nick
Maine
Mar 13, 2018
Pros: Construction, Weight
Cons: None
12 inch baton
Handles well compact and sturdy
Smith & Wesson 12" Compact Collapsible Baton, Black, Black Elastic Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark T
New York
Mar 26, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: None
Great Product
Perfect little EDC.
Smith & Wesson 12" Compact Collapsible Baton, Black, Black Elastic Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeff
New York
Aug 29, 2015
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
Awesome Product
This allows undercover /special details the ability to have to another weapon n their arsenal besides their duty weapon.
Smith & Wesson 12" Compact Collapsible Baton, Black, Black Elastic Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeffrey
ohio
May 21, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
i give this a A+ great baton small package
really like this product fits great in my front pocket. makes it nice to get to quick. for only being 12 inch it is nothing to mess with. very strong. I carry it for every day use and no one knows its there. its a great product. thanks Jeffrey
Smith & Wesson 12" Compact Collapsible Baton, Black, Black Elastic Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kb
Maine
Oct 19, 2017
Pros: Balance, Weight, Construction, Materials
Cons: Balance, None
Perfect
This really is a great baton. It is the perfect size and perfect weight for EDC...I carry it on the outside of my front pocket using the clip it comes with...at first glance it looks like a flashlight. It deploys easily and super securely...very high quality and it is TOUGH and SOLID. It would make all the difference in the world having this with you in a assault or robbery situation...plainly said it can easily break bones in an attackers hand, wrist or arm. Highly recommend it...just use caution how you carry it in your State ...check your laws. Many States allow open carry but not concealed...any type of carry is illegal in some States.
Smith & Wesson 12" Compact Collapsible Baton, Black, Black Elastic Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tg
mpls
Feb 06, 2015
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
well made, would do the job in spades, like all collapsibles, hard to close before broken in
Smith & Wesson 12" Compact Collapsible Baton, Black, Black Elastic Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wr250
between heaven and hell
Apr 24, 2018
Pros: Construction, Weight, Balance
Cons: None
so far so good
Almost don't know its in your pocket. Some people don't like the nylon sleeve but ill use it.so many sizes and styes available I see a fit and function for all.
Smith & Wesson 12" Compact Collapsible Baton, Black, Black Elastic Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Frank L
AZ
Nov 09, 2016
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
Very good durable product... I would definately buy from you guys agai
Good for EDC carry...small easily fits in pocket.. I love it...
Smith & Wesson 12" Compact Collapsible Baton, Black, Black Elastic Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Edwin
ny
Feb 02, 2017
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
PERFECT
perfect size
Smith & Wesson 12" Compact Collapsible Baton, Black, Black Elastic Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mic
Saint Paul, MN
Apr 06, 2017
Pros: Construction, Weight
Cons: None
Just Right
I have to walk from my parking place to my condo late at night. This is light enough and small enough I can easily carry it in my coat pocket.
Smith & Wesson 12" Compact Collapsible Baton, Black, Black Elastic Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Marc
Orlando - FL
May 11, 2016
Pros: Materials, Construction, Balance
Cons: Weight, None
Awesome!
Great none letal option, very small but very powerful. Just a little bit heavy
Smith & Wesson 12" Compact Collapsible Baton, Black, Black Elastic Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Debbie
Minnesota
May 08, 2017
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
Love the baton
I love the baton I bought, it's just the right size & weight for me, thank you!!
Smith & Wesson 12" Compact Collapsible Baton, Black, Black Elastic Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
B
New York, NY
Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
God product. Well made. I carry it everywhere.
Smith & Wesson 12" Compact Collapsible Baton, Black, Black Elastic Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Yorick123
Missouri
Aug 07, 2017
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
Outstanding product and service
In terms of the quality of both this product and the seller, I echo previous reviewers: in a word, each is outstanding! KnifeCenter.com filled my order very promptly and it arrived at my home in just three days—one of which was a Sunday. The baton itself is extremely sturdy and deploys very easily with a flick of the wrist (though it takes a bit of practice to extend it fully on the first try). I’ve practiced strikes with it on my 80# heavy bag and it seems more than up for the task. And I love the portability; this fits easily on a belt or outside the waistband—even inside it, relatively comfortably, if one wishes to be discreet. And it’s easy to keep in hand when out for a run or walk, should one choose to do so. So, as noted above, this is definitely a five star product. (NB: Like other reviewers I’ve experienced some occasional difficulty collapsing the baton but a couple of firm downward strike against hard ground or concrete does the trick.) I’ll conclude with an important caveat: Any self-defense instrument or tool is only as effective as the individual using it. In other words, you must train with the baton regularly if you hope to wield it successfully in a self-defense situation. I suggest reviewing videos and practicing strikes on a heavy or BOB bag to get a feel for hitting something solid. If possible, find a training partner and simulate attacks in which you use a safe alternative in place of the baton to work on distance, footwork, and striking a human target. (At my martial arts club we wrap the cardboard part of a paper towel roll or similar with duct tape for a fairly sturdy but harmless training tool. Not perfect, of course, but I doubt anyone is going to let you practice striking them with the baton itself!) It is also important to visualize situations in which you might need to use the tool. Are there places on your exercise route that seem sketchy to you? Do you have a long walk to your car after getting off work at night? If someone were to attack you, how do you think they would do so? Where would they hide? From which direction would they approach? What is the best escape route? No training scenario can fully replicate the experience of an attack—the intense hormonal/chemical response (the so-called “adrenaline cocktail”), the infinite number of variables, etc.—so don’t expect this baton to make you invincible. If you are sufficiently prepared, however, it could be a real difference maker in an altercation that can’t be avoided or diffused.
Smith & Wesson 12" Compact Collapsible Baton, Black, Black Elastic Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andres F
Incirlik, Turkey
Dec 14, 2015
Pros: Construction, Weight, Materials
Cons: None
Simply awesome!
After being forced to be disarmed (military overseas, foreign country) I went through a process of finding the perfect less then lethal option. I started with pepper spray, although effective, the one I bought only gives me two shots and is somewhat bulky for carry. I bought the S&W 12in Batton and could not be happier. This Batton expands quickly and efficiently, it uses a magnet type retention instead of a clip, like most cheap ones do. It also comes with an attached clip on the base of the baton that makes carrying it a breeze. Although I would love to carry my gun like I used to in the states, I have settled with this and it provides me a bit of safety and at least some options. Note, I have received multiple training classes on the use of the expandable baton, due to me being military police, as such I feel confident in this tools ability to defend myself such a need should arise. The only con that I can muster after daily use would be that sometimes the baton makes noise when walking, as in a fast pace walk or run. This is to be expected as is part of the construction but still somewhat annoying. Don't hesitate to buy this if you want it!
Smith & Wesson 12" Compact Collapsible Baton, Black, Black Elastic Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tony
California (CA)
Oct 14, 2017
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
Awesome!
Excellent product. Small and compact yet sturdy and strong. Very happy with my purchase
Smith & Wesson 12" Compact Collapsible Baton, Black, Black Elastic Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tj
Utah
Jun 07, 2018
Pros: None
Cons: None
Excellent value
Great for the price. Stays clipped to back pocket and isn't noticeable. Remains extended when deployed.
Smith & Wesson 12" Compact Collapsible Baton, Black, Black Elastic Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jamrainman
Arlington, Va.
Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
Great Value
This is a fine S&W baton. Small, lightweight, and well made.
Smith & Wesson 12" Compact Collapsible Baton, Black, Black Elastic Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dave
AZ
Feb 26, 2019
Pros: Weight
Cons: None
Nice pocket baton
The only baton I have ever seen with a pocket clip. Opens easily and while it is small, can be effective. I hit a cardboard box to test it and it left holes in it. Very handy.
Smith & Wesson 12" Compact Collapsible Baton, Black, Black Elastic Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Marvo
Ohio
Jun 20, 2019
Pros: Balance, Weight, Construction, Materials
Cons: Construction, None
Smith and Wesson 12-inch baton
I watched reviews of this self-defense weapon on YouTube beforehand, which was both a pro and con. The pro side was it brought attention of it to me. The con side was omission of key info on one (the best otherwise) and sheer boredom regarding others (a waste of time IMO). In regard to the unit itself, it is really handy for the right negative situation; a perfect size for, say, the average law-abiding citizen who is mentally prepared to use it. I might add that I am a senior citizen who attained a fifth-degree tae kwon do black belt over many years. The mental aspect is extremely important. I know this is stating the obvious, but so be it. There is no reverse action for taking a dive into the pool. Again, my view is to try it out AS IS and leave it AS IS if satisfied. I made the mistake of taking it apart to get rid of the material around the handle as well as the clip. This is a mistake. Again, this is a mistake. The top where the clip is is heavily magnetized and it also has a ring. The unit may not work properly afterward. It will take time to figure out, but it will work. I am sorry I took it apart. My advice is to leave well enough alone. Unless you live in the worst of slums, it is, after all, something that will be rarely used, and hopefully never at all. I just bought it and, because I wrongly followed what someone on YouTube mentioned, took it apart. I may order another if the one I have, which works but NOTevery time. It did beforehand, and right out of the box at that. Finally, the instruction sheet should have mentioned more. It is useless. The package and delivery both get high marks.
Smith & Wesson 12" Compact Collapsible Baton, Black, Black Elastic Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Harry
NE
Jul 04, 2019
Pros: Balance, Weight, Construction, Materials
Cons: Construction, None
Not Bad
I loved it and was getting the retraction down until about a week after I started practicing with it when I flung it open, the 2 pieces flew out of the handle! I ended up cleaning the back 1/2 inch of the piece that goes in the handle with some rubbing alcohol and wrapped some rubberized tape around it, heat shrink would be better, but I don't have any that big! It works fine now. I would have hated that to happen in a situation where I needed it for self defense!
Smith & Wesson 12" Compact Collapsible Baton, Black, Black Elastic Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Devin J
Colorado
Aug 04, 2015
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Materials
12inch baton
I used the smith and Wesson on a pouncing bag. It feels so good in weight so light you could carry two! The color , size and balance are great. Wish I would of known about the "material cancer warning" it kind of worries me. But defiantly a great concealed carry impact weapon.
Smith & Wesson 12" Compact Collapsible Baton, Black, Black Elastic Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Rob
Middlesex County NJ
Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Materials, Construction, None
Cons: Balance, Weight
Compact protection
Although being shorter than I expected, it is a great tool for close quarter hand to hand combat. Opening is easy closing is a bit more challenging but with practice it all works out. I would recommend this equipment. But if you don't like to close up get at least a 21".
Smith & Wesson 12" Compact Collapsible Baton, Black, Black Elastic Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jimf
az
Aug 01, 2017
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
great product
Well built. Works great. Nice because you can carry it in your pocket.
Smith & Wesson 12" Compact Collapsible Baton, Black, Black Elastic Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Xx
az
Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Construction, Weight
Cons: None
xx
xx
Smith & Wesson 12" Compact Collapsible Baton, Black, Black Elastic Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kenji K.
NY
Dec 02, 2017
Pros: Construction, Balance
Cons: None
Nice Baton, Cheap Sleeve
For a $24 12" baton, it's quite the sturdy one. Nice deployment, perfect lockup, deep carry clip, & compact. Instead of the spring clip that usually keeps the baton collapsed, this one uses a strong magnet that seems to be glued into the tail cap. Much better than those $10 ones on amazon. Got this for personal defense as opposed to the 2 ASPs I got. Carries nicely in the rear & front pockets of my 5.11 TacLite Pro pants, also fits perfectly (height wise) in the knife pocket, with about 1/4" to spare. If I got to compare the weight, I'd say it's about the same as my Leatherman Surge. Heavier than the ASP P-series, I own a P16, but much cheaper than name brands like ASP & Monadnock.
Smith & Wesson 12" Compact Collapsible Baton, Black, Black Elastic Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Michael J
Austin
Feb 13, 2013
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
First Impressions
Got this as a just in case sort of thing, but wow is this thing solid, although there isn't a whole lot about it on the web because of how new it is, nobody should have second thoughts about this, definitely equally as solid as any ASP baton, the only thing that I would change about this baton is the magnet, but that's just because I prefer a spring retentive baton, most definitely surprised at how solid this product is!
Smith & Wesson 12" Compact Collapsible Baton, Black, Black Elastic Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Charles
Omaha, Ne.
Feb 07, 2014
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
S&W 12in. Collapsible Nation
I use this for peace of mind. IT FITS AN CONCEALS GREAT with pocket clip in front pocket. Only thing is, that till broke in it's tough to close. Other than that great product.
Smith & Wesson 12" Compact Collapsible Baton, Black, Black Elastic Nylon Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
J.Dawg
Canada
May 05, 2018
Pros: Balance, Weight, None
Cons: Materials, Construction
S&W 12"Baton Fell apart while in use..
I use my 12" s&w baton for checking tires and if was needed self defense. I needed it, and the baton snapped into action with a flick of the wrist nicely! I hoped this would scare the attack and it would leave.. it didn't. I used this baton as class room described and the first couple smacks eased the tension but it didn't stop it. The third slap with this collapsible baton caused it to fly apart leaving only the handle in my fist to use. That part worked the Best. All and safe now and moving to a new brand. No returns on this item after use also.