Reviews and Ratings for Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch - SWBAT21H

Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouchrated 4.643 stars out of 5 (56 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
42
4 star
10
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
1
Smith & Wesson 21 inch Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch

 

Price: $37.95

Save $26.04 (41%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Myke
CA
Jul 14, 2015
Pros:
Cons:
S&W baton
I have one of these and a ASP. I honestly can't tell that much difference. Yes the ASP is better but is it worth 3x as much? I don't think so.
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Roger In Wilmington
wilmington, nc
Dec 28, 2017
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
good deal on a quality baton
i got a good deal on a real S&W baton. i don't believe in paying $100 or more. this is quality. i'm not a cop, and often open carry this.
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gerry
Long Beach, CA
Nov 04, 2015
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
Great Seller
Seller was great. Received my product very fast. Highly recommend this seller. AAAAAA+++++++
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
John B
florida
Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Construction
Cons: None
collapsible baton
Great service and product
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Perry
Redmond, WA
Apr 22, 2018
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
Solid feeling baton
Very solid feel when extended. I questioned how much striking power could be generated until I beat the daylights out of a 2 x 4 in my garage and was then able to successfully retract it. The retraction took some getting used to, but I would not want one that slipped. a little difficult to get out of the sheath. I am considering getting some for gifts
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cliffandy
Portland, Oregon
Jan 05, 2011
Pros: Materials, Construction, Balance
Cons: Weight, None
Strong baton
How you use the product: This is a carry weapon option when I'm out at night; I walk a lot and ride a bike. Things that are great about it: rubber grip is good during raining-season (it rains a lot, here). Tracks nicely in that, it's projection has always engaged correctly. Easy to strip and clean. No moving parts. Things that aren't so great about it: It isn't really a minus but it is heavy. This matters more to me when I'm on my bike than walking. I don't have a previous baton purchase to know what's potentially problematic; it works as designed, I'm sure.
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dick
Rose City, Oregon
Oct 21, 2015
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
Love it.
I am a martial artist, sort of. This is good to practice with because the weight gives a bit of an upper body work out. And, I feel safe with this by my bed. It makes a little noise, clacking around unextended, or, that sweet *shink* of extending. Point is, I wouldn't equip this if I planned on hiding or sneaking or surprising anybody. It'd be excellent for a confrontation. Really, we should all have guns.
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt
ohio
Mar 21, 2013
Pros: Construction, Balance
Cons: None
great baton
my first baton - for protection at night - seems like it would hold up well!
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dale V
Wichita, Kansas
May 11, 2013
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
Good Quality for a Good Price
This seems to be a very good quality baton at a really good price. I have been carrying mine in my back pocket when I walk the dog. Our dog has been the victim of serious attacks by stray dogs twice during our walks. I carry pepper spray but if you can't manage to spray the eyes it is no help. I feel confident of being able to handle any situation with this baton as an option. A word of advice. You can close the baton by smacking it into concrete but if you buy a brass hammer you can easily close it with a couple of raps on the end without scarring up the baton.
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mario
McAllen Tx.
Feb 19, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: None
Excelent Product!! 5 stars
Its perfect for our office, we have sometimes problems with aggressive homeless people and they just only see the baton and they run. excelent product for a great price! thanks
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jacob
Nauman
Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Construction, Weight, Materials
Cons: None
Great Baton
Durable, hefty, awesome grip. I like it
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Helmut
Northbrook
Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Construction, Weight, Materials
Cons: None
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
George S.
West Monroe, LA
Sep 24, 2012
Pros: Construction, Materials
Cons: None
Awesome product!
It is very well made and comes with nice case. The rubber grip is perfect and will not slip out of your hand if wet with sweat, rain, etc...
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
John H
West Virginia
Feb 03, 2017
Pros: Materials, Construction, Balance
Cons: Weight, None
awesome defense tool
As a defensive tool, very well constructed but a little heavy.
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Peter
Miami, FL
Sep 02, 2010
Pros: Weight
Cons: None
Good Product
It expands and collapses with no problem. It is well balanced and has a good grip. It is also light in weight enough to give you speed. I would recommend it to others.
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bubba
County Jail
Mar 29, 2017
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
Beat Down
Product is great! Took out two guys quick..
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Roy B
Moses Lake, Wa
Nov 18, 2011
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
Impressed
This unit worked slick right out of the box. Excellent baton..well balanced..good sheath. Baton fits snug inside the sheath making sure it will not fall out if rolling on the ground but not difficult to pull out. Should loosen up a little with time and be perfect. Cons: None! Good buy!
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jcvssf
Ca.
Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
S&W
Welll built . Will do the job.
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
John K
New Jersey
Apr 14, 2017
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
great!!
looks cool, very sharp and i use it for edc
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael Y
Justin, TX
Dec 18, 2015
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Morbidembalmer
California
Mar 04, 2018
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
Smith Wesson Baton!!!!
Awesome baton very well built and sturdy. The 21 inch is perfect size not to short not to long.Very pleased with this item .The handle has a nice rubber grip on it. Service Awesome. Super fast shipping. Lots of gear deals. Thank you again.
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ray C
Delray Beach, Florida
Feb 11, 2016
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
Good choice!
I carry this baton alternatly with several other batons that I have to choose from. I'll put it in my truck, car or motorcycle and keep in handy for backup protection. The grip and feel, deployment and weight is very comfortable. While some are not real happy with the sheath? I think it's okay. I highly recommend this item.
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Doug E
Lexington, KY
Dec 28, 2011
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
nice balance/weight, perfect length
I had a little trouble getting a good lock on the middle section. I have found that when you sling it to extend the baton a little twist of your wrist causes all the sections to form a good extended lock. Once you get that baby extended and locked, getting it to collapse is something of a chore -- this is probably a good thing.
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Carl H
New jersey
May 05, 2016
Pros: Weight, Materials, Balance
Cons: None
WOW!
I use the product to protect my fathers buisness, some things that are great about it are the weight, any baton that is light wont do anything when u hit the person, this one is bulky and heavy which is great. It expands and collapses perfectly a greay product for anyone looking for a baton.
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Promethius
Kentucky
Aug 14, 2013
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
Great Product
The hardest part with this is getting it retracted. Go onto youtube and watch a couple videos and you'll have it down pat. Otherwise great product, almost want to buy another one.
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rene De P
Sao Paulo, Other
Oct 08, 2016
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
exactly what I needed
I like the size, weight and balance of this baton. it is really robust and solid and the grip is also good.
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Eduardo G
California
Aug 26, 2016
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
S&W Baton
Great product easy to use and easy to put away.
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tonyincny
Syracuse, NY
Apr 09, 2018
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
I LIKE IT
It's small and easy to carry and when open it's like having a pipe in your hand. If you can't discourage someone from attacking you then you aren't trying. Oh, AND DON'T OIL THE BATON. Too much oil prevents it from locking open firmly. I had to disassemble it and wipe off the oil and now it functions as it should. Who would've thought you can over-oil something?
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cfg
Texas
Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
Great Baton!!! Exactly what I was looking for!
I run daily, sometimes after hours. My dog and I were recently attacked by another dog during one of those runs. Fortunately, we are both OK. I purchased two batons that I use as "small weights" during my runs while at the same time defend myself in case anything happens.
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tj
Rio Rancho, NM
Oct 19, 2017
Pros: Construction, Weight, Balance
Cons: None
Exactly as Described
Fast shipping. Great service. Came in box with adjustable holster. Fantastic buy. Got this one until I save up for a Talon.
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Juan
Maryland
Feb 02, 2017
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
S&W collapsible baton
This baton is exactly what I was looking for. It's the perfect length while collapsed, making it perfect to carry. Since I do my hiking solo I bring the baton with me. The weight and balance is superb. I would highly recommend this product for self defense and protection.
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
G. Smith
Boston, Ma
Dec 13, 2010
Pros: Construction, Weight, Materials
Cons: None
21 inch baton (SW)
I purchased this product because I am entering the police academy. The price of the item is excellent, especially due to the high quality. Great baton from a great manufacturer. Only downfall is that the grip is too large and that makes it difficult to draw the baton from the belt holder.
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Marc
NYC
Feb 09, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: None
Very good quality.
This one works as good as my expensive ASP.
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Martun
Texas
Oct 23, 2015
Pros: Construction, Materials, Balance
Cons: None
Feels Solid, Very Impressed
This thing has the power to mess anyone's day up, very sturdy. The only quote on quote con this thing has is that once you expand it fully it locks in place and is very difficult to collapse back. The only way to do this is by jabbing it on a concrete floor but other than that very good product.
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert W
Southern Maryland
Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
Excellent value for the price
Got this to keep in my car, just in case. The size and weight are well matched but in my opinion the textured rubber handle is the best feature. This is an excellent value for the money and I highly recommend it.
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wdm
Houston, Tx
Aug 20, 2015
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
Just an all-round Excellent Product!
A great product and workmanship at an affordable price point.
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve
USA
Apr 01, 2017
Pros: Construction
Cons: None
Every bit as good as ASP
Every bit as good as my ASP baton for a lot less $$. Prefer the handle on the SW to the ASP. High quality item. I'd be satisfied with it if I paid 2x the $$
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kallistos
Columbus, OH
Sep 30, 2010
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
Great value, greater quality
I was very happy with my purchase of this S&W 21" baton. I regularly carry it at night while walking back from class on my university's campus. A friend and I train together in defensive baton tactics and I know this baton will always get the job done. It is very sturdy and the grip is great. Even though it is a friction lock, it is near impossible to close if extended properly (I usually have to slam mine against the concrete to close it.) It is fairly heavy, but any good baton is. The belt holster that comes with it is decent, though some may find it difficult to draw quickly as the grip prevents easy removal. I opt to carry mine in my front pocket simply because it is quicker and, in my opinion, easier.
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Anthony
Syracuse, Ny
Mar 22, 2018
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
Great Quality
Oh Dear God, these are HARD TO CLOSE. But, that's okay. If it was easy to close then they wouldn't work with thrusting moves. I oiled the sh*t out of it to try and make it a bit easier to close, though. When open, they are rock solid. I have a Monadnock and that has a bit of a wobble when open. Probably because they have a push-button locking mechanism. So, they don't have to fit tight to be solid when open. When open, it's like having a solid pipe in your hands. If you can't discourage an attacker then you aren't trying. And, you don't have to worry about "accidentally" slicing open an attacker and killing him which can lead to a jury trial and jail time - manslaughter or negligent homicide. Just put some knots on the attacker and run.
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Prashant
New York
May 29, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Quality Product
A very powerful tool for defense . The construction is worthy of the name of manufacturer. It is so much better than the other cheap products , that I can only recommend to buy one from Smith & Wesson and one of some un-known cheap brand, so you can hold both the batons in your hand and compare. It is worth all the extra $ I have put in. This product is very well built, and one hit to an un-wanted element and you will never be pestered again. I tried it for a quick draw, hit at odd angles , impact on soft/ hard surfaces etc. it is good. Initially we were not able to snap it back but after few trial and error we are good at it. I will definitely recommend it as a defensive tool.
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ken S
Southern California
Apr 05, 2012
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
Everything I had hoped it would be
I'm impressed as to the quality of the product and I hope to never have to use it but if I do, I feel that the product will be more than adequate for self defence
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gusss5
NY
Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Construction, Materials
Cons: None
S&W baton
Excellent product exactly what I was looking for.
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 4 stars out of 5
Todd
NH
Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Construction, Weight, Materials
Cons: None
This will stop anything short of a bear.
After smacking a few things in the yard with this item, I cringe at thinking how this would react against flesh and bone. You can't ask for a better personal defense weapon, well, besides a gun.
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 4 stars out of 5
Carlos F
Los Angeles California
Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Balance, Weight, Construction, Materials
Cons: Materials, None
Its good but. . .
Its awesome, and this is my first collapsible baton. But I have a problem with the paint removing from being wiped out and it starts to lose its friction, I have repainted this thing several times, but other than that its a good and cheap baton, very durable.
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 4 stars out of 5
Triton
U.S.A.
Dec 27, 2014
Pros: Balance, Weight, Construction, Materials
Cons: Materials, None
Worth the price.
It's a good baton for the price point. Pretty straight forward standard baton. There's really nothing extraordinary about it. Simple and well constructed. It's definitely is worth the money. The only thing lacking is the sheath/pouch. However, I suppose most manufacturers do this now, in order to keep the prices lower by using cheaper materials on the sheaths. This baton will certainly perform it's intended purpose for the average user.
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ted
Massachusetts
Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
Nicely made
High quality baton, heat treated steel and durable construction. Good length, strong and well balance.
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 4 stars out of 5
John
Iowa
Dec 05, 2012
Pros: Construction, Weight, Materials
Cons: None
Nice Baton for the Money
For the money, this seems to be a well made baton. It deploys easily with the flick of the wrist and has good balance. Collapsing it can be challenging, but that is the nature of these types of batons. Tapping the head gently at different angles on a hard surface before giving it the final vertical tap helps a lot. Two minor complaints are: 1.) The grip. Yes, it is not going to get away from you even with wet hands which is good. On the other hand, the rubber grip is so aggressive that after a few minutes of practice you feel like the skin on your hands is going to come off. 2.) The holster/pouch. It seems to be made for a Molle attachment system, not a belt. It can be worn on the belt but is very loose even on a gun belt.
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 4 stars out of 5
Larry
boston
Jan 16, 2018
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
baton
easy to carry in pocket opens easily. closing requires some force
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 4 stars out of 5
Farlz
Fargo, ND
Feb 05, 2018
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
S&W 21" Baton
Nice, compact, deploys great.... Only problem is retracting. I have to hit it hard on the pavement to deploy
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 4 stars out of 5
Gks
Grand Rapids
Jan 04, 2016
Pros: Construction, Weight, Balance
Cons: None
Bring it to bad guys
Good quality for the price. Solid bone breaker.
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 4 stars out of 5
Raymond G
Arizona
May 07, 2018
Pros: Balance, Weight, Construction, Materials
Cons: Construction, None
Heavy duty baton...but baton is slightly slanted
When i first received this baton i was very skeptical at first, ive tried and even broke cheap chinese batons before by just opening closing them...this baton when i first opened it made a satisfying *crack* sound and it was locked in place very very well, it closed with 4 good slams to the tip on a carpet floor, its alittle heavier than expected at first but hold and play with it for a while and you'll get used to it...i opened and closed it a good 6 times to break it in and i noticed the shaft was slanted at the thinnest part of the baton (to check it, open your baton, lay it on a book or something higher than the floor, put the tip on the edge of the book then roll the baton back and forth towards you, you'll see from the middle to the tip if its slanted or not)..naturally i thought " well i guess even if its heat treated it will bend" (but i had mistaken this for bending instead of slanting) i was terrified that this would break and felt like money just went down the drain...so i contacted Knife center (very good customer service btw) and i told them my situation and it turns out its normal for batons to have a slight slant in the shaft due to the amount of room inside the casing that the telescopic baton is stored...so i felt better and at ease...so i decided to put the baton through a small test (because if it cant withstand alittle abuse then might as well use it as a paper weight) so i expanded the baton and i got a peice of 1 and a half inch of wood, and i just wacked it with the tip of the baton i checked it no bends...3 more times no bends, opened closed it, wacked it no bends...after 5 good wacks the baton didnt even bend slightly, the wood was more damaged than the baton...so next i tried bending the baton by hand...and nothing i tried fixing the slant by standing on it then pulling...and nothing it was solid, so i was starting to realize this baton was built very well, its not perfect but it will last you as long as you take care of it...and for the money its very affordable, and if by any chance this baton breaks on me you bet ill by another one.
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 4 stars out of 5
L. Adams
Texas
Mar 13, 2014
Pros: Materials, Weight, Balance
Cons: Construction, None
Easy to deploy, but hard to retract
It's used by a female while walking in the neighborhood to protect her from dogs. She also likes the weight and carries it without the sheath for arm exercise switching hands. However, while it is easy to deploy, it's hard to retract and collapse into the handle without really hitting the tip very hard on a firm surface.
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 3 stars out of 5
Ron
florida
Nov 28, 2012
Pros: Materials, Weight, Balance
Cons: Construction, None
Good baton but bad deployment from scabbard
I am a expandable baton instructor and find that the grip pattern is the problem with the unit/scabbard. Overall I like the construction of the baton itself but I have reservations about the scabbard/holster that's provided. We were just issued these and I am having alot of difficulty getting a clean draw from the scabbard. It is to deep/long/flimsy and the construction does not lend itself to a clean draw from any position. The "Molle" means of attaching it to a duty belt is part of the problem as is the tight tolerances between the baton grip and scabbard. I have yet to find an aftermarket scabbard that holds this baton. The grip pattern is to wide to accommodate the standard baton holders on the market. In my line of work seconds count. I have to wear this baton but am not looking foward to having to try and draw it if need be.
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 3 stars out of 5
Bastin B
MD
Apr 06, 2017
Pros: Materials, None
Cons: Weight
Easy to deploy but very hard to put it back
I have just received this collapsible baton. Overall good quality although quite heavy. Not ideal to bring along for my daily run. However, the deployment is easy but to put it back in I have to hit the ground to do it. I'm wondering whether I should have it replaced or not.
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 3 stars out of 5
Dmfeld22
New Jersey
Apr 06, 2018
Pros: Balance, Weight, Construction, Materials
Cons: Construction, None
Fairly cool product
I should have spent the extra $s and purchased a baton that had a button on the bottom of the hilt to retract the tubes more easily. A hard (cement) surface is requisite to bang the tip so the baton retracts. I didn't research deep enough, but overall am happy with the quality and balance.
Smith & Wesson 21" Heat Treated Collapsible Baton, Nylon Pouch
rated 1 stars out of 5
Wil
Calif
Mar 16, 2018
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Construction
Could not unlock
Extended baton once, and could not get the mid section to retract. Tried hitting down on a hard surface, and using a hammer, sledge hammer, and WD 40. Tried with gentle force first, then a bit harder each time.