CYBER WEEK DEALS EXTENDED: 6,100 ITEMS ON SALE! Details

KnifeCenter strives to provide individuals with disabilities access to its products and services, including through an accessible website. If you have questions, comments, or encounter any difficulty in using this site, please e-mail info@knifecenter.com or call - (800) 338-6799

Skip to main content

This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By using our website you consent to our Cookie Policy.

CYBER WEEK DEALS EXTENDED: 6,100 ITEMS ON SALE! Details

Reviews and Ratings for Smith & Wesson Extreme Ops Karambit 3" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles - CK33

Smith & Wesson Extreme Ops Karambit 3" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles4.094 (32 reviews)
4 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
14
3 star
3
2 star
3
1 star
0
Smith & Wesson Extreme Ops Karambit 3 inch Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles

 

Price: $15.95

Save $7.85 (33%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Smith & Wesson Extreme Ops Karambit 3" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles4.094 (32 reviews)
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
14
3 star
3
2 star
3
1 star
0
Smith & Wesson Extreme Ops Karambit 3" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
5 out of 5
Wta
Tx
May 25, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Excellent karambit
An excellent addition to a collection
Smith & Wesson Extreme Ops Karambit 3" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
4 out of 5
Martial Law
MN
Feb 26, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Lock Type
Good knife
I bought this karambit for self defense purposes and i gotta say, it will do the job but some thibgs i would have co sider smith and wesson to do is, make a assited or automatic opening because in a situation of life and death, it would be a hassel to open the blade up manually but other than that, good knife, sturdy, and for me it didn't have to be sharp, as long as it was pointy then it would be the best use of a karambit known to slash like a tiger claw and penetrate like a boars tooth.
Smith & Wesson Extreme Ops Karambit 3" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
5 out of 5
Sabum Nim
Oklahoma
Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, None
the karambit
This karambit is my day carry I use it for my work and a great self defense carry as well. it is great for cutting tubing and cutting at weird angles that a straight blade cannot due well. It is easy to keep sharp. I wish they would put the carry clip up side instead of down side to make it easy to open with a pull. right side or left side would be nice. I have modified my knife to be carried this way. This is my 5th knife that I have bought, I tear them up on a regular use. For the money they are GREAT. I will buy more!!!
Smith & Wesson Extreme Ops Karambit 3" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
5 out of 5
Tony
Brunswick
Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Excellent knives
Perfect EDC, perfect price! Biggest Bang for the dollar should have bought 10.
Smith & Wesson Extreme Ops Karambit 3" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
4 out of 5
Tom
Los Angeles
Mar 31, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Pocket Clip
Fits the Bill
I really like this knife as my EDC. It has grown on me these past days. I like that its inexpensive at $17- If I lose it, I won't cry about it. Yeah, the clip should be on the other end, but I wear Duluth's Fire Hose Cargo pants and it fits in its own little pocket ring side up - Ready to be deployed when needed and pulled up by my finger as intended.I like the weight as well, It's a positive not a negative attribute. I flicked the blade with force into thick cardboard box and it sunk in deep. Would have been a very nasty cut. In addition when used for striking and crushing - the ring end will do the job. If weight is a serious issue then keep on looking. It's a good looking knife, pleasing to the eye and my cause a bad guy to reconsider & say "Can't We All Just Get Along?"The blade was a little stiff and i've been drawing it and it has loosened up. It is possible to Open it blade tip down to the ground, just modify your grip and work with it. Figure it OutI Give it a Big Thumbs Up.
Smith & Wesson Extreme Ops Karambit 3" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
5 out of 5
Thomas H
Pembroke, NC
Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great knife!
It was nice and sharp right out of the box. No noticeable flaws in the blade, or handle, and feels good in the hand. Great purchase all around.
Smith & Wesson Extreme Ops Karambit 3" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
5 out of 5
Bret H
McAlester, Oklahoma U.S.A.
Nov 08, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
great knife
This a great work knife anda great defense carry as well. The blade is about the right size for my work cutting "plastic tubing". as for defense it is a good priced folding karambit it works well in the hand. I wish they would put the carry clip on the ring side, I moved mine. The one hand open is ok, but i changed mine to a notched pull open. This is the third that I own. I have broke the tip of the blade on one, tryied to use it as a screwdriver, it is a cutting tool not a screwdriver! my bad. I reshaped the blade and still use it. There are several videos on youtube on how to modify the knife. in a few words Great Knife
Smith & Wesson Extreme Ops Karambit 3" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
4 out of 5
Ryan
MD
Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material, None
Cons: Weight, Ease of Opening
great for the price
A quality knife for the price. A little tough to open at first but with use it gets better. Heavy but sturdy and fits comfortably in my hand(average male sized). I definitely recommend if you don't have it in your budget to spend a lot on the really nice ones.
Smith & Wesson Extreme Ops Karambit 3" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
3 out of 5
Dale
TN
Jan 02, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, None
First karambit
Nice for an inexpensive knife. Prefer multi position pocket clip options and flippers to thumb studs. But nice knife overall.
Smith & Wesson Extreme Ops Karambit 3" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
4 out of 5
Clint B
Texas
Sep 16, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Bought this knife for self defense. Steel is good and overall construction is good as well. A little stiffbut I'm sure with use it will free up for quicker deployment. Just wish it came with wave for faster opening out of pocket.
Smith & Wesson Extreme Ops Karambit 3" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
5 out of 5
Link
Austin
Apr 25, 2015
Pros: Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Best Throwaway Karambit
I've never been super into a really expensive EDC... I don't really want something that I'll have to be sad to throw away. I've found these to be comfortable in my (admittedly larger-than-average) hand, easy to adjust to one-handed opening, and of very decent quality for the price point. I don't think there's really any comparison in the under $50 for folding karamabits. One drawback is that about a year of EDC will result in the hinge screw coming undone... if you don't keep on top of adjusting it back down, you'll probably lose the bolt and have to spend another $15 to replace it.
Smith & Wesson Extreme Ops Karambit 3" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
3 out of 5
Michael M
Queensbury, NY
Mar 02, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: Weight, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness
Knife blade very dull
Knife was very dull out of box
Smith & Wesson Extreme Ops Karambit 3" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
4 out of 5
Onyx
Omaha, NE
Nov 28, 2014
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Lock Type
Cons: None
Solid knife
It's a well put together knife and very effective as a tactical tool. The cost of the knife hints to the materials to put it together are mid grade. Obviously there are much more expensive folders out there, that being said, it doesn't mean it's a poor quality knife. It's designed well and can take and keep an edge about average.
Smith & Wesson Extreme Ops Karambit 3" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
5 out of 5
G
Denver
Nov 17, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: None
S&W Karambit
Almost made a Freudian slip and put down S&M Karambit. lol Now that would be a nasty encounter and hard to explain. No obviously this is the S&W (Smith and Wesson) version of a combat Karambit. I was shopping for a quality Karambit and read many reviews, but looking at the varying costs I wasn't sure which to get. Anyway I had put in an order on several other items and threw the S&W in the mix. $15 bucks. About the knife. I was pleasantly surprised. It's solidly made. It's very easy to open and locks solidly in place with no looseness anywhere. The grip feel upright is very good, but Karambit's intended use is for a down blade cutting action. In that case the grip feel is excellent. The blade is very sharp and is an 1/8" wide on the back spine. Good enough to cut with. Can just as easily be used for camping and utility work. Remember, it's only $15. Since this purchase, I was able to pick up an Emerson for almost 1/2. Lucky day. If you're really serious about self defense/ combat situations, I highly recommend you spring for an Emerson. You'll know how serious you are when you see the price.
Smith & Wesson Extreme Ops Karambit 3" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
4 out of 5
Satokad
Upper Midwest
Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Weight
Good Solid Karambit
Good, solid Karambit. It is a little on the large side, and it is hefty (I put weight as both a pro and a con as the knife feels heavy but it does give it a solid feel as if it would take a lot of hard use). I find it's a little too big and heavy for EDC. The blade is sharp out of the box, so I wonder if the blade issue is on a case-by-case basis. Lock-up is tight, and it is built like a tank. Overall a good knife but if you're looking for a nice, light EDC, you might wish to look at some of the other ones.
Smith & Wesson Extreme Ops Karambit 3" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
5 out of 5
Michael
Madison, AL
Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Lock Type
Cons: None
One Blade To Rule Them All
This is one serious piece of steel#Sharp enough to shave with straight out of the box, with an easy-opening blade , a tight lock, and a never-slip grip, the Extteme Ops Karambit is just what you want in a tight situation.I wasn't prepared for the width or the weight, but because of that, this blade is never going to wimp out on you.
Smith & Wesson Extreme Ops Karambit 3" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
4 out of 5
Phil D. Reis
Los Angeles, Calif
Nov 18, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
S&W Karambit 3" Blade liner lock
Shipping was quick. I purchased knife as it is the only way in California to legally carry a Karambit concealed. This particular model arrived in mint condition. The knife has good heft, locks up solid and would shave the hair off my arm. A light push of the thumb stud and minor flick of the wrist and the blade is open and locked. The G-10 scales gave the knife good grip combined with the butt ring make the knife undroppable unless you intentionally let go. All this combined with under $20 total price including shipping make the knife and Knife-center unbeatable.
Smith & Wesson Extreme Ops Karambit 3" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
5 out of 5
Leland F
Houston Tx 713-623-7044
Dec 20, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: None
Minor con Blade TIP sharpnessUse for Box OpeningFish CleaningBottom line, I am happy with the product
Smith & Wesson Extreme Ops Karambit 3" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
4 out of 5
Vince G.
US NAVY, Currently deployed
Jul 20, 2012
Pros: Weight, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Solid and tank-like
Overall a great product. Solid and almost tank-like in build, the blade is pretty sharp out of the box, and the overall balance is what you would expect of a karambit folder.The knife itself is a little on the bulkier side though, not really fitting as an EDC. But for the price, you can't go wrong if you are looking at an affordable Karambit Folder.
Smith & Wesson Extreme Ops Karambit 3" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
5 out of 5
S.C. Knife Man
S.C.
Mar 31, 2011
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Extreme Ops
Smith & Wesson Extreme Ops Karambit 3" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
2 out of 5
Adrian
CA
Mar 13, 2011
Pros: None
Cons: None
Knife broke; save your money, get a different knife
I had this knife for about 3 months when it broke on me. The pivot point for the blade fell apart and now all I have is a knife handle with no blade attached. However, during the time that the knife worked it worked very well. Fairly sharp, and the liner lock was nice and solid. The handle is larger than it should be. I would advise saving your money and getting a different knife.
Smith & Wesson Extreme Ops Karambit 3" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
4 out of 5
Nick D.
New York
Feb 13, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Weight
You can't beat the price!
This knife was the answer to my "knife fighting" phase! Overall it gives you more than you pay for it. The blade is shaving sharp, out of the box, a big plus. The handle scales are handsome, well done and remain serviceable even when your hands are wet. However, the knife is very heavy and large, which to me defeats the purpose of a knife designed for concealment and back alley fighting. Also, the blade has a good amount of horizontal movement to it. This knife is a paradox; in that certain portions of it are extremely well made and other features are not. If you're looking for a karambit to fool around with, this knife is a nice buy.
Smith & Wesson Extreme Ops Karambit 3" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
4 out of 5
Pappy
Julian pa.
Dec 30, 2010
Pros: Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Great all purpose knife
the blade looks to be good good for cutting boxes and all around rough use. I like the way the blade has a curve on the end for getting under and starting the cut. It looks like a good heavy duty knife. I don't even own it but I gave it as Christmas gift. But I did try it out before I wrapped it.
Smith & Wesson Extreme Ops Karambit 3" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
5 out of 5
Daj
Arizona
Dec 29, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
Excellent Value
I'm surprised to see negative comments on this knife. I was amazed at the quality of mine, especially for the price. The lock-up is as good as it gets and it came extremely sharp. Its one-hand opening is as fast as any knife I have. Getting this knife makes me question the pricing on $150-$200 knives that are similar in other respects. I realize there are aspects of quality that can be achieved through effort, engineering, materials, etc., but this knife at such little cost, seems a very credible refutation of the justification of knives priced very nearly ten times higher.
Smith & Wesson Extreme Ops Karambit 3" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
2 out of 5
Tjb
PA
Dec 27, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Rattles, cheap construction
I don't have a Karambit design in my current collection of knives, so I thought I would ask for the S&W Extreme Ops 3" for Christmas. I always have a 2.5-4 inch folder in my right front pocket and I plan to use it as part of my rotating collection for EDC (every day carry) applications. I'm a desk-jockey ("mouse driver"), so my cutting needs are minimal (but I do like knives!). Although this is a solid, heavy knife with pretty good ergonomics, I can't get over the extreme looseness of the blade. It rattles when I shake it and reminds me of a $2 "made in China" junk knife. I am concerned that the liner lock may not hold (might fail...). Despite this flaw, it does feel good in my hand and is a good utility knife/cutter. The blade is fairly sharp (cannot shave with it - but not bad) and I really like the long, thin pocket clip, which is well made and provides a secure grip in my pocket. I will try tightening the blade (but in my experience, this usually makes a folder hard to open one handed). Unfortunately, this is only a $19 knife and it is simply not cost effective to return it, so I'll keep it around as a "beater" knife. But from a quality and performance standpoint, it simply does not compare to my solidly made CRKT's, Cold Steels, Spyderco's, Boker's, or other folders. I am very disappointed in this one. I know that it IS made in China, however I expected a better product from S&W (love their revolvers!). Bottom line - I cannot recommend this knife based on the loose blade issue. S&W - tighten up the blade (and your Quality Control) and this will be a good value for the money.
Smith & Wesson Extreme Ops Karambit 3" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
3 out of 5
Sigtyr
Santiago, Chile
Nov 04, 2010
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
decente
por el precio esta bien, sin embargo prefiero juntar mas dinero y comprar otra marca. No es un mal cuchillo.
Smith & Wesson Extreme Ops Karambit 3" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
4 out of 5
Old Guy
Corpus Christi, TX.
Jul 01, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Big Solid Knife
This is a big tough tool. The quality of the one I recieved is very good. I expect to get several years of rough service from it.
Smith & Wesson Extreme Ops Karambit 3" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
4 out of 5
Sandata77
Philippines
May 25, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Weight, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Weight
Bang for buck Karambit
Not a bad karambit for its price. More of a utilitarian karambit rather than a fighting/martial arts karambit. Weight is both pro and con, beefy weight means this can get banged around without sustaining damage. Beefy weight also means you can't twirl this around like a regular karambit. Handle is a bit large for an average Asian hand. Looks really menacing when opened.
Smith & Wesson Extreme Ops Karambit 3" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
5 out of 5
Wolter
Denmark
Apr 17, 2010
Pros: Pocket Clip, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
My beautiful handtool
I use my knife every day,working as a building carpenter.The knife is easy to grab and use in any cutting purpose.
Smith & Wesson Extreme Ops Karambit 3" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
4 out of 5
Herbalist
-
Oct 01, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None
great buy
my only problem is the weight...other than that, i'm happy i chose this great value karambit
Smith & Wesson Extreme Ops Karambit 3" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
2 out of 5
Rafter
norway
Sep 19, 2009
Pros: Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
decent item. Not great, but a good value
Smith & Wesson Extreme Ops Karambit 3" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
4 out of 5
Jim Daniels
ARIZONA
Jun 26, 2009
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Overall Quality, Handle Material, None
Cons: Handle Feel
A LITTLE LARGER HANDLE THAN I EXPECTED BUT OTHER THAN THAT, A GREAT KNIFE. GOOD KNIFE FOR THE PRICE