Reviews and Ratings for Smith & Wesson SWMP1BS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 2.9" Black Combo Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlays

Smith & Wesson SWMP1BS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 2.9" Black Combo Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlaysrated 4.632 stars out of 5 (38 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
25
4 star
12
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Smith & Wesson SWMP1BS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 2.9 inch Black Combo Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlays

 

Price: $34.95

Save $24.00 (41%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Smith & Wesson SWMP1BS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 2.9" Black Combo Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlays
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rich
PA
Dec 14, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
GREAT KNIFE
I AM A PLUMBER AND I PUT THIS KNIFE TO THE TEST EVERY DAY. IT DEFINITELY DOES TASKS IT WASN'T DESIGNED FOR BUT AFTER A GOOD WASHING I SEE WHAT ELSE I CAN USE IT FOR. I JUST RECENTLY USED IT TO PUNCH A HOLE IN THE BOTTOM OF AN A/C UNIT WITH A GOOD WHACK ON THE GLASS BREAKER WITH A 20 OZ. HAMMER. I WAS IMPRESSED THAT THE LINERLOCK HELD UP. NO COMPLAINTS HERE.........
Smith & Wesson SWMP1BS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 2.9" Black Combo Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlays
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kevin
Perrysburg, OH
Dec 28, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
AWESOME
Great Knife. Looks awesome, great for show or use. Blade is ultra sharp and perfect for wire stripping, opening packaging etc. The 2.9" is a little small but still overall an great buy.
Smith & Wesson SWMP1BS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 2.9" Black Combo Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlays
rated 5 stars out of 5
Al
Shelton CT
Aug 01, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
I love this knife its light weight yey very durable
this knife so awesome I had one like it when i was in the military but lost it some where in my travels I am very happy to be able to replace it thank you
Smith & Wesson SWMP1BS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 2.9" Black Combo Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlays
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andrew S.
Portland, ME
Dec 31, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Sheath
Great buy!
Smooth action, very sharp, and durable. The most useful folder I've ever owned.
Smith & Wesson SWMP1BS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 2.9" Black Combo Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlays
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jz
LA CA
Feb 01, 2010
Pros: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Excellent Knife
Easy to open.
Smith & Wesson SWMP1BS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 2.9" Black Combo Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlays
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tony V.
Tucson, AZ
Dec 13, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Super knife.
Smith & Wesson SWMP1BS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 2.9" Black Combo Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlays
rated 5 stars out of 5
Johnny Aka Brrnot
Safety Harbor, Fl
Aug 23, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Magical-Impressive-Intimidating-Magnificent
They say "magic" I say it's better than that. I have owned a many knifes over the years and this one is by far the best. I am your average Joe well actually John, and I use a knife every day all day long in my job as a custom installer for a cable company. This knife has out performed and every-way. Anyone I let hold my knife(begrudgingly) has gone to KnifeCenter and ordered it. I own automatics that are harder to open than this "assisted" one. Thank you Smith & Wesson and KnifeCenter for such a perfect knife.
Smith & Wesson SWMP1BS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 2.9" Black Combo Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlays
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jdjimbo
canyon lake texas
Sep 18, 2012
Pros: Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
strong well built knife
use as a daily carry
Smith & Wesson SWMP1BS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 2.9" Black Combo Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlays
rated 5 stars out of 5
Emac
Huntertown, IN
Feb 04, 2011
Pros: Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Badass
Inexspensive quality!
Smith & Wesson SWMP1BS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 2.9" Black Combo Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlays
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert
California
Jul 07, 2009
Pros: Handle Material, Lock Type, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, None
MAGIC
Awesome knife. Only real issues are that it does not come sharp enough and the clip is permanently mounted in one spot only. Great for a sap pocket, not so good for inside the vest up top. Look and feel are unreal. Absolutely beautiful!
Smith & Wesson SWMP1BS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 2.9" Black Combo Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlays
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bubba
tampa , fl
Apr 21, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
awesome knife
very nice looking knife. blade is extremely sharp and opens with ease.
Smith & Wesson SWMP1BS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 2.9" Black Combo Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlays
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brorocket
Northern California
Aug 26, 2011
Pros: Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Handle Material
Cons: None
My first S&W
Very nice tool. Opens lightning fast, feels solid. I have already ordered 2 more units to try the different blade styles. Shipped fast also. Best price on the web.
Smith & Wesson SWMP1BS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 2.9" Black Combo Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlays
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jtw
Montgomery, AL
Jul 28, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
S&W M&P
Everything about this knife is great, including the price. A great value. I shopped for days on the internet and Knifecenter.com beat every price hands down. Fast service too!
Smith & Wesson SWMP1BS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 2.9" Black Combo Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlays
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rod
Doral, FL
Nov 25, 2009
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, Lock Type
Cons: None
AMAZING!
Loved it! The spring assist is excellent...
Smith & Wesson SWMP1BS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 2.9" Black Combo Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlays
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brandon Sherrill
California
Mar 04, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great Knife!!
GREAT KNIFE!!! The styling of this knife is wonderful. It definitely has the intimidation factor when you pull it out. It’s very comfortable to hold and has a good feeling weight to it. I keep it clipped inside my front pocket all day and sometimes forget it's there, it’s very comfortable to carry around. You can’t get a better knife for the price, no cheap feeling parts on it, everything is tight and sturdy. This is an excellent knife!
Smith & Wesson SWMP1BS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 2.9" Black Combo Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlays
rated 5 stars out of 5
T. Mcgee
california
Jul 22, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great SOLID knife
great knife, feels super solid. It would definitely not let you down. It opens really fast and the tips is very sharp. All my friends want one now. Definitely reccommend purchasing
Smith & Wesson SWMP1BS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 2.9" Black Combo Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlays
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jerry K Bear
Jesup, GA
Dec 28, 2009
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
S&W Military & Police
Gift for USMC Gunny Sgt son-in-law. Two Tours Iraq wishes he had one while in country. I'm retired State Trooper and will purchase one soon. Easy Opening, Handle material. Looks great.Pocket clip could be stronger.
Smith & Wesson SWMP1BS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 2.9" Black Combo Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlays
rated 5 stars out of 5
Colin
MI
Sep 02, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Built like a tank!
I ordered this knife for work and self defense. It is built very solid, it feels like I could drive it through a 2x4 no problem. The one major problem I had was that little button on the back makes it a switchblade in Michigan. I verified it with the police. They make it without the button, but Knife Center does not carry that one, because I tried to exchange it for that one. Editer's Note: Smith and Wesson and the federal authorities consider the MAGIC system to be an assisted opening system rather than a switchblade or automatic opening system. There is no button on the knife. There is a slide to lock the blade open and closed, and a flipper on the back that allows easier opening, but with no greater ease than any other flipper-opening knife. It is the customer's duty to know their local laws regarding assisted opening knives. The opinions of this review do not reflect any knowledge or acknowledgment of local laws by Knife Center.
Smith & Wesson SWMP1BS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 2.9" Black Combo Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlays
rated 5 stars out of 5
Debbie
Ohio
Apr 29, 2013
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, None
Love This Knife
I love this knife the weight is just heavy enough to know I'm carrying it. I have this knife with me at all times to use for protection and whatever. I like the feel of the handle, I also love how easy it is to open and close. I do wish the clip was not as tight as it is, so it would come off my pocket faster.Over all I would buy this again and again Debbie In OHIO
Smith & Wesson SWMP1BS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 2.9" Black Combo Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlays
rated 5 stars out of 5
Judy
Troy, Ohio
Jan 07, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
He loved it!
My soon to be son in law ask for a knife for Christmas. He just graduated the Police Academy, so this product is perfect for him. He was so excited to receive it on Christmas day. Thank you!
Smith & Wesson SWMP1BS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 2.9" Black Combo Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlays
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt
Illinois
May 03, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Great Knife
Great Blade, easy open, nice handle, great price, pretty heavy duty
Smith & Wesson SWMP1BS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 2.9" Black Combo Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlays
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jre
St. Louis, MO
Feb 08, 2011
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great knife, great service!
This knife is everything I expected it to be. I have bought other similar Smith & Wesson knives with the MAGIC technology and love it. It is a very solid, high quality knife. Can't beat it for the price!
Smith & Wesson SWMP1BS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 2.9" Black Combo Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlays
rated 5 stars out of 5
Logan
Virginia
Jan 20, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
I love this
I accidentally broke my tip off and I've had this for a year now :(
Smith & Wesson SWMP1BS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 2.9" Black Combo Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlays
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lobo
houston tx
Oct 02, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Lock Type
great knife
i like the shape of the blade no to big no to small is a nice choice
Smith & Wesson SWMP1BS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 2.9" Black Combo Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlays
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
Burbank, CA
Mar 24, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
My first knife and it's great
I don't know much about knives but I do know I like this one. It feels sturdy in my hands but not too heavy, and the lock works great. The only con is that it's a little difficult to open, requires a decent amount of pressure but maybe this is good to prevent unintended opening. Overall awesome knife and exactly what I was looking for at this price.
Smith & Wesson SWMP1BS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 2.9" Black Combo Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlays
rated 4 stars out of 5
Joel
North Carolina
Feb 26, 2013
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Fun Knife
This is a fun knife. The assisted opening lock and opener are natural to reach as you pull it out of your pocket. The pocket clip fits only on one side which works well for your right pocket and right hand. I think it would be hard to take out of your pocket and open with your left hand.
Smith & Wesson SWMP1BS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 2.9" Black Combo Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlays
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jason
calabasas, ca
May 18, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Sweet knife
Aside from the awesome look, this knife has everything that I was looking for. I only wish they had made a longer blade than the 3.5".
Smith & Wesson SWMP1BS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 2.9" Black Combo Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlays
rated 4 stars out of 5
Brittany H
Temple, Georgia
Jul 06, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great Knife
I bought this for my dad and he does not use them he only collects them and loves them.
Smith & Wesson SWMP1BS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 2.9" Black Combo Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlays
rated 4 stars out of 5
Charlie
FPO, AP
Mar 26, 2018
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Ease of Opening, Sheath, None
Nice knife
Very very very sharp. Knife first-timers beware. Almost cut my pinky off trying to figure it out for the first time. Opening is quick and smooth, but require lots of strength. All in all nice but if the opening doesnt require that much effort so much that it hurts my finger then it would be better.
Smith & Wesson SWMP1BS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 2.9" Black Combo Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlays
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tim Fehr
PA
Jul 02, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
I was VERY happy with the SWMP1BS knife as a whole
I bought this knife for a young man in the US Marines leaving for Iraq ... I was VERY happy with the SWMP1BS knife as a whole and he was VERY pleased with it himself I'm proud to know he will be carrying this knife with his field gear while serving our great country ........ Thank you Knifecenter for handling this great product
Smith & Wesson SWMP1BS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 2.9" Black Combo Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlays
rated 4 stars out of 5
Justin
Kalamazoo, MI
Dec 02, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Cons: Lock Type, Pocket Clip
great value
Great knife, I was very impressed when I first got it. I was a little upset about the classification as an assisted opening knife, because the button on the back makes it a switchblade knife in Michigan. It wasn't specified in the review and it looked like the button was part of the blade. However, the button is fairly thin and can easily be removed with pliers. Now the knife is a great spring assisted knife with no mechanism that could be classified as an auto. Great Knife, very sharp, very fast, comfortable and it looks really sweet!
Smith & Wesson SWMP1BS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 2.9" Black Combo Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlays
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jim
Moreland Ga
Aug 05, 2009
Pros: Handle Material, Lock Type, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, None
S&W M&P Magic
Seems to be very well made
Smith & Wesson SWMP1BS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 2.9" Black Combo Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlays
rated 4 stars out of 5
Watchdog
Riverton WY
Dec 29, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
S&w M&P assisted drop point blade
This knife is used for ems situations and is very useful for that.
Smith & Wesson SWMP1BS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 2.9" Black Combo Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlays
rated 4 stars out of 5
Search And Rescue
Colorado
Mar 24, 2011
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, None
Its basically an automatic and a little dangerous to open
+ its basically an automatic - the blade is wickedly curved and will cut the user if they aren't careful
Smith & Wesson SWMP1BS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 2.9" Black Combo Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlays
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ak Ken
Detroit,MI
Mar 20, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Type, None
This Knife Rules
Pros: Very fast, excelent quality, very sharp, removable clip, window breaker. CONS: safety seems kinda cheap, dont know how to classify auto or spring assist
Smith & Wesson SWMP1BS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 2.9" Black Combo Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlays
rated 4 stars out of 5
R. Carvajal
Miami, FL
Apr 07, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality
Good Knife
Nice presence.Good quality Well made. Cons: I have another S&W knife and it seems that they all have the same defficiency. The assist button come loose after a couple of month's use and the metal nob that is left behinf makes it almost imposible to open with the assist. Otherwise an excellent knife.
Smith & Wesson SWMP1BS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 2.9" Black Combo Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlays
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tony M.
Saginaw, MI
Dec 31, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
Nice Knife
I am hoping the release will get a little smoother, but overall I love the knife.
Smith & Wesson SWMP1BS M&P MAGIC Assisted Flipper 2.9" Black Combo Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles with Rubber Inlays
rated 3 stars out of 5
Lawbider
beloit, wi
Feb 01, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Pocket Clip
Great Buy! Poor Quality!!!
I use it for everything cutting plastic, fabrics, aluminum ect. It is extremely sharp! It's the quality, my blade already has rust spots. It looses sharpness quick, and the pocket clip screws came out. I dropped it and the cover for the switch busted off. I love my knife, its just a poor quality build.