Reviews and Ratings for Smith & Wesson Large SWAT MAGIC Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Plain Blade, Black, Aluminum Handles with Grip Inserts - SWATLB

Smith & Wesson Large SWAT MAGIC Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Plain Blade, Black, Aluminum Handles with Grip Insertsrated 4.692 stars out of 5 (13.0 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Smith & Wesson Large SWAT MAGIC Assisted Folding Knife 3.7 inch Plain Blade, Black, Aluminum Handles with Grip Inserts

 

Price: $37.95

Save $26.04 (41%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Smith & Wesson Large SWAT MAGIC Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Plain Blade, Black, Aluminum Handles with Grip Inserts
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark H
Indiana, Pa
Jan 02, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Great gift for my son who is in the military
Smith & Wesson Large SWAT MAGIC Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Plain Blade, Black, Aluminum Handles with Grip Inserts
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sterling R.
Abilene, Tx
Dec 02, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Weight, None

one word: wow!

This knife just plain scared me when I first got it and had time to check all its functions. And when Ii hit that little button and the blade shot out of its groove in the handle, I swear I almost wanted to mail it back! It opens about as fast as you can blink. I use knives for personal protection. Guns are not a solution to problems, because once you pull that trigger, there's no going back. With a knife, you have way more options.
Smith & Wesson Large SWAT MAGIC Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Plain Blade, Black, Aluminum Handles with Grip Inserts
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kenro
NORCO, LA.
Nov 09, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None

GOOD CARRY AROUND KNIFE

NICE FOR GENERAL PURPOSE USE. OPENS EASILY ONE HANDED. THE FIXED CLIP TAKES SOME "GETTING USED TO".
Smith & Wesson Large SWAT MAGIC Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Plain Blade, Black, Aluminum Handles with Grip Inserts
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bryce K
Houston, TX
Jun 13, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

great

sharp, opens fast nothing
Smith & Wesson Large SWAT MAGIC Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Plain Blade, Black, Aluminum Handles with Grip Inserts
rated 5 stars out of 5
B.J. G
South Yarmouth, MA
Dec 05, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None

GREAT KNIFE

I don't know who to thank first the PO or your shipping dept, probably both!! I ordered it Sat 12/3,received it 12/5!! That's what I call service! Knife is EXCELLENT!! Mechanism is a little stiff, had to work closing several times. I'm sure this will remedy itself. Knife is solid, feels great in the hand, one knows it will do the job. Thank-you Very Much
Smith & Wesson Large SWAT MAGIC Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Plain Blade, Black, Aluminum Handles with Grip Inserts
rated 5 stars out of 5
Allen-San
Crownsville, MD
Feb 17, 2011
Pros: Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None

A Real Handful

I recently bought the M&P model of Smith & Wesson and liked it so much I came back and bought this one. And I like it even more. A little lighter but still a real handful of knife, and very fast opening. Just great!
Smith & Wesson Large SWAT MAGIC Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Plain Blade, Black, Aluminum Handles with Grip Inserts
rated 5 stars out of 5
Richard R.
Rescue, California
Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Sheath, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
I'm never without my SWAT knife. I like the way the handle fits my hand and the ease with which the blade locks in the open position. I'm on my second knife and I buy them as presents for friends who work outdoors and frequently need a knife that can be opened with one hand.
Smith & Wesson Large SWAT MAGIC Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Plain Blade, Black, Aluminum Handles with Grip Inserts
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bill L.
Beach Lake, PA
Jul 27, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use

Great knife at a decent price!

I wanted a quality fast opening pocket knife and ordered one of these S&W SWAT knives. I like the spring action and speed of opening. It reminds me of a switch blade Stiletto without the pushbutton. You can either thumb it open with the blade stud or use the opening lever on the side, which is a nice feature a lot of assisted openers don't have. It feels very comfortable in my hand and the weight is good. The blade is dangerously sharp right out of the box. The inserts on both faces of the handle are different. The belt clip (bottom) face feels like a textured plastic while the top face feels like 80 grit sand paper, which does provide a solid grip but will be a pain to clean the skin dust out of. One other gripe I have is that the liner lock would be better if it protruded a little more. I'd hate to try and close this knife with gloves on. I'm going to have to get some seriously tiny Torx drivers if I want to take this knife apart for cleaning and maintenance but I prefer them over hex wrenches. To sum up, this is an awesome knife for the money! It's built well and seems like it will be dependable for a very long time if cared for properly. My gripes are purely a matter of personal preference. I really wish they made one larger than this. I'm seriously considering getting one with a combo blade as well. :-)
Smith & Wesson Large SWAT MAGIC Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Plain Blade, Black, Aluminum Handles with Grip Inserts
rated 5 stars out of 5
M3rc Nate
Seattle
Jun 10, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Great folding knife

This thing is a beast. Out of the box the assist worked perfectly. Lock works perfect, no issues at all. I like the "sand paper" like grip, definitely keeps it in your hand. Great full size (aka large) folding knife.
Smith & Wesson Large SWAT MAGIC Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Plain Blade, Black, Aluminum Handles with Grip Inserts
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bill F
Hearst, On
Oct 18, 2011
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use

Smith & Wesson SWAT

Well made especially for the price. Very good grip. Great utility tool. Only thing is that a screw came out from the inside liner. I use a torx wrench to take off the handle and I used red lock tight to permanently put the small screws back in.
Smith & Wesson Large SWAT MAGIC Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Plain Blade, Black, Aluminum Handles with Grip Inserts
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mike
Kentucky
Jun 26, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
This is a big 3.7 inch blade assisted opening folding pocket knife. The fit and finish are very good. The assisted opening feature is very positive in it's action. The only change I would like is the ability to change the pocket clip location to either end and either side.
Smith & Wesson Large SWAT MAGIC Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Plain Blade, Black, Aluminum Handles with Grip Inserts
rated 4 stars out of 5
Sandystrachan
Scotland
Jun 25, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening

A really good EDC with a few flaws

It arrives in a s&w cardboard box. The opening mechanism built into the blade works as intended but the quick lever on the edge takes time to wear in before its smooth and a useable option . The blade dulls really quickly even just cutting tape or opening packages etc. Its sturdy really grippy and easy to clean and fits the pocket well with noway of knowing its there it is a comfortable weight . The knife i have is this but satin but thats now discontinued about 3 week after i bought mine I have times where i cant use my hand properly if you are similar you wont be able to open it when your hands stop working .
Smith & Wesson Large SWAT MAGIC Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Plain Blade, Black, Aluminum Handles with Grip Inserts
rated 3 stars out of 5
Raymond Gulzeth
Brick, Nj
Jul 02, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening

Needs work

I love the S&W Swat line of knives. Great in the hand, blades that are super sharp and hold a great edge, and they have a fine appearance. That being said, the speed of their large bladed assisted openers need some work. I have the smaller bladed version of the same knife and I have nothing but fantastic comments for the knife including the super fast speed of the assisted opener, however I cannot say the same for its' big brother. I can thumb open most blades in about half the time as this assisted opener can open itself. Also VERY tricky to action with opening and closing. Disappointing at best!