Reviews and Ratings for TOPS Knives BOB Brothers of Bushcraft Hunter 4-5/8" 1095 Blade, Brown Micarta Handles - BROS-01

TOPS Knives BOB Brothers of Bushcraft Hunter 4-5/8" 1095 Blade, Brown Micarta Handlesrated 4.929 stars out of 5 (14 reviews)
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
TOPS Knives BOB Brothers of Bushcraft Hunter 4-5/8 inch 1095 Blade, Brown Micarta Handles

 

Price: $149.95

Save $50.05 (25%) Off Retail

View Product Details
TOPS Knives BOB Brothers of Bushcraft Hunter 4-5/8" 1095 Blade, Brown Micarta Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brandon Pl
Los Angeles
Feb 07, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Topps Got This One Right, FOR SURE
This knife is AWESOME. Everything about it is solid. You can tell that a true Bushcraftsman made this knife. I haven't used the indentation for bow-and-drill fire starting yet, but that's a nice feature. The blade came with a certification from Topps with a promise to sharpen the knife if you sent it in to them (which I thought was very cool). The Kydex sheath is pretty good, but I think as 'Bushcraft' as this knife is, it deserves something more natural, like a leather sheath. It's nice having the ferro-rod too. It carves well and batons well. This is a meaty blade with some serious attitude. Truly, a piece of craftiness from Topps.
TOPS Knives BOB Brothers of Bushcraft Hunter 4-5/8" 1095 Blade, Brown Micarta Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Carlos G
Zion, IL.
Apr 01, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
TOPS Knives BOB Brothers of Bushcraft Hunter 4-5/8" 1095 Blade, Brown Micarta Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rob
NJ
Feb 17, 2013
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
tops BOB bushcraft knife
Came from factory sharp & ready to use. I like the scandi grind. Tested it on a kiln dried hardwood, it worked great except the coating creates drag
TOPS Knives BOB Brothers of Bushcraft Hunter 4-5/8" 1095 Blade, Brown Micarta Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris
Texas
Jun 30, 2013
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Fine knife
The quality of construction and attention to detail are top notch .The weight to size ratio is a bit off .Had it came with a 6 to 8 inch blade it would be almost perfect. That being said ,if I had to hit the backcountry for an extended period with only one knife this one would be at the top of the list. If you are considering a Buck punk forget it and get this one instead The overall quality is equal to custom jobs costing 2 or 3 times as much. The fire rod and striker notch seems to be an after thought , but I carry my firemakings seperately anyway. I removed the rod and holder from the sheath entirely
TOPS Knives BOB Brothers of Bushcraft Hunter 4-5/8" 1095 Blade, Brown Micarta Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim W
Charleston, SC
Sep 10, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Material
The Pit Bull of Knives
This sucker is stout! The blade is thick...which makes in indestructible. Excellent for batoning wood off all sizes. Not crazy about the black coated blade, wish I had gone with the un-coated. The fire started leaves a little to be desired. Certainly would not be my stand-by starter in a pinch but I guess it would be okay. Had to grind the coating on spine of blade to use to catch a spark off the rod. Won't be carving any intricate wood projects with dude but it will be with me in the woods.
TOPS Knives BOB Brothers of Bushcraft Hunter 4-5/8" 1095 Blade, Brown Micarta Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve
Pacific Northwest
Jan 31, 2013
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Love it
Knife is carried for general purpose, work, camping, and as part of my bug out plans. I will make a leather sheath for it that will be quieter.
TOPS Knives BOB Brothers of Bushcraft Hunter 4-5/8" 1095 Blade, Brown Micarta Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ron
Redlands
May 22, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish
Go to survival knife
This blade is heavy, but I like the solid feel. It handles battoning like a champ. Easy to sharpen. I like the kydex sheath, but it does ride high on the hip. I am getting used to it, but sometimes it gets in the way. Easy to add and remove to your belt, though. Tried the built in firestarter, but is pretty awkward to use with the indentation on the back. I would much rather use the back of the knife... but of course, it is enameled. I thought about stripping off the baked on black enamel, but you know, it really is tough and stands up to normal abuse much more than I thought it would. Didn't have the heart.
TOPS Knives BOB Brothers of Bushcraft Hunter 4-5/8" 1095 Blade, Brown Micarta Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
David J
Oxford, PA
Dec 30, 2012
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Top of the line
Being a knife nut I have several hundred knives. Always looking for the perfect knife. Weight is really good, length is good, blade grind is good, and the fit and Finnish are great. I have only slightly tested it but it has not let me down. One thing that I would change is the sheath. I am not a big fan of Kydex, I would rather have a leather pouch sheath. If you get lost in the woods, make sure you have a compass and a " Tops-Brothers of Bushcraft " knife with you.
TOPS Knives BOB Brothers of Bushcraft Hunter 4-5/8" 1095 Blade, Brown Micarta Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Len M
Whitefish Point, Michigan
May 24, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
This knife saved my life.
Having written about knives, and other serious outdoor gear, for more than 30 years, I'm rather proud of never having done what I call an "armchair review." Everything has been used hard before being written about by me, and a lot of gear has failed. When I reviewed the Brothers of Bushcraft knife from TOPS Knives for TACTICAL KNIVES magazine, it was winter, and more than 20 feet of snow had fallen on Whitefish Point, in the vast forests of Michigan's Upper Peninsula. I was on the pack ice of Lake Superior, when I nearly fell into a natural trap. Two intersecting grades led to a 10-foot drop off the ice shelf, to open water, where multi-ton bergs smashed against the ice face with the force of a freeway wreck. As I slid down one grade toward certain death in the frigid water below, I fell to my hands and knees to slow my descent. Unable to reach the recovery equipment in the pack on my back (I was the guide, I wasn't supposed to need it), I yanked the BoB from its Kydex sheath, and planted it firmly in the ice, like an ice axe. Using it thus, I was able to literally claw my way back to safe footing. Sometimes a field test becomes a little too real, and this knife saved my life. -- Len McDougall, author of PRACTICAL OUTDOOR SURVIVAL, Editions 1 and 2.
TOPS Knives BOB Brothers of Bushcraft Hunter 4-5/8" 1095 Blade, Brown Micarta Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob W
lancaster county pennsylvania
Apr 19, 2013
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
well made knife
I have been using my brothers of bushcraft knife since i received it. I have more expensive knifves in my collection, but this knife has become (very quickly) my favorite.I spend a lot of time in the outdoors and this knife perfporms all of its chores very respectfully. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a medium sized knife that performs like a much bigger knife.
TOPS Knives BOB Brothers of Bushcraft Hunter 4-5/8" 1095 Blade, Brown Micarta Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
John S
Alabama
Nov 29, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great field knife
keeps a good edge during prolong activities
TOPS Knives BOB Brothers of Bushcraft Hunter 4-5/8" 1095 Blade, Brown Micarta Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Old Timer
north woods
Jan 07, 2013
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
This is the one
The first thing you notice about this knife, especially if you're used to working with a Mora or Enzo, is the weight: it's stouter than a Ka-Bar and about as heavy. It was off-putting for me at first, so much so I nearly returned it. That would have been a mistake! The more I worked with it, the better I liked it. First, I sectioned and batoned a piece of knotty yellow pine, and made a spoon. The weight gives it surprising chopping power for its length, but it's well balanced and, I want to emphasize, quite useful for whittling. 1095 was the appropriate choice of steel for this tool. The edge remained shaving sharp throughout, with no chipping, folding, or dulling. I pounded the tip into a piece of oak and used the knife as a spokeshave on a piece of seasoned rock maple for an hour, then stropped it back to shaving sharp on the back of a leather belt. Then I made lunch. By that time it didn't seem so heavy. I knew I had a keeper. One of the best aspects of this knife, and part of what makes it such a pleasure to work with, is the shape of the handle. You know at once where your hand is on the handle and in relation to the edge and tip. The slight palm and pommel swell provide a very positive grip. At the same time, the sculpted Micarta handle scales are comfortable for long hours of work. I haven't used the bow drill divits or ferro rod notch, but they don't get in the way. The Kydex sheath holds the knife and its fire steel very securely, but the belt clip isn't the most comfortable. I plan to make a leather sheath, which will be quieter and lighter on the belt. Bottom line: if I could only have one knife with me in the woods, this would be the one. If you need more knife than this, you should have brought an ax.
TOPS Knives BOB Brothers of Bushcraft Hunter 4-5/8" 1095 Blade, Brown Micarta Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Doug
Roseville, MI
Jun 20, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great Knife
This is my first bushcraft knife purchase and I'm very happy with it. Not only did the knife get shipped and arrive extremely fast but the product was described on the website. Amazing quality. Already used it outside for some wood processing and fire starting and it works extremely well. For my first bushcraft knife purchase, I couldn't have done better.
TOPS Knives BOB Brothers of Bushcraft Hunter 4-5/8" 1095 Blade, Brown Micarta Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
R. Loucks
Germany
Jun 11, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Expected a bit more from this knife. Blade was not overly sharp and the sheath style is limiting in regards to how it can be fastened to things