Reviews and Ratings for United Gil Hibben Hall of Fame Throwing Knife Set 8-1/2" Overall, Leather Sheath (GH2034)

United Gil Hibben Hall of Fame Throwing Knife Set 8-1/2" Overall, Leather Sheath (GH2034)rated 4.294 stars out of 5 (17 reviews)
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
1
United Gil Hibben Hall of Fame Throwing Knife Set 8-1/2 inch Overall, Leather Sheath (GH2034)

 

Price: $29.95

Save $33.30 (53%) Off Retail

View Product Details
United Gil Hibben Hall of Fame Throwing Knife Set 8-1/2" Overall, Leather Sheath (GH2034)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Henry C
Boston, Ma
May 17, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Great knives
I initially bought a Gil hibben tomahawk and these together, but the tomahawk got here first. Unfortunately, the tomahawk quickly dented so I was not expecting much with these, but they went above and beyond my expectation. Highly recommend these
United Gil Hibben Hall of Fame Throwing Knife Set 8-1/2" Overall, Leather Sheath (GH2034)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Trailblazer3
Superior, CO
Mar 13, 2011
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Materials
Cons: None
Excellent Thrower For a Great Price
I purchased these knives to start to learn about throwing. My 15 yr old and I had a blast. The knives are a great product for starters and we are looking forward to buying more and continuing to improve our throwing skills.
United Gil Hibben Hall of Fame Throwing Knife Set 8-1/2" Overall, Leather Sheath (GH2034)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Newport News,VA.
Oct 15, 2010
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
alot of fun
Just starting out with the learning to throw.These are alot of fun and makes it easy with the learning process.
United Gil Hibben Hall of Fame Throwing Knife Set 8-1/2" Overall, Leather Sheath (GH2034)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Austin, TX
Nov 26, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great Throw
Awesome and well balanced. Great for learning how to throw and for experts.
United Gil Hibben Hall of Fame Throwing Knife Set 8-1/2" Overall, Leather Sheath (GH2034)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Josh Cw
Colorado Springs, CO
Sep 28, 2012
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Material
Cons: None
Love my first set of throwing knives
I enjoy using these knives to convert my dart-throwing skills to knife-throwing skills. I wanted to purchase a reasonbly prices set of knives that offerred a quality throwing experience. I feel as though I bought exactly what I needed to achieve my goals. Best prices I could find on this quality of knife.
United Gil Hibben Hall of Fame Throwing Knife Set 8-1/2" Overall, Leather Sheath (GH2034)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Taylor N.
Virginia
Aug 12, 2011
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Great all around
I am thirteen and just recently started teaching myself how to throw with no spin technique. I have had a blast and they are great knives. If you are looking for throwing knives they are perfect for learning how to throw. Also check out YouTube. Over all they are fantastic. I have had success with the no spin technique.
United Gil Hibben Hall of Fame Throwing Knife Set 8-1/2" Overall, Leather Sheath (GH2034)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mary J
Baltimore, MD
Jun 05, 2012
Pros: Materials, Finish, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
Great gift, EXCELLENT customer service!!
I gave this knife set as a retirement gift, so I'm not the one using it. However, my friend (the retiree) loves them, as does his whole family. I did handle the knives a little before giftwrapping them, and so I can add a little bit below on the ratings. Mostly, I wanted to commend knifecenter.com for their amazing customer service. When this set arrived without a sheath, I called, and even though the gentleman on the other end was surprised to hear this had happened with this brand (he did say it's not uncommon with another brand), he put me on hold to personally retrieve a sheath from another set and mailed it right to me. I needed it sooner than it was due to arrive (I was leaving town), and he took the shipping up a notch to guarantee delivery within the necessary window, all at no charge to me. These guys are terrific. Buy something, anything, from knifecenter.com. They will take great care of you, making sure you are another happy customer. I'm so pleased to have found them, and plan to find many reasons to order more. :)
United Gil Hibben Hall of Fame Throwing Knife Set 8-1/2" Overall, Leather Sheath (GH2034)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Elwood
Morehead ky
Sep 27, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, Finish
Cons: None
Bought these knives, had zero experience throwing knives always something I found Interesting. They seem very solid I've had a few missed and hit stuff there probably not meant to hit but didn't hurt em a bit picked em up threw em again. The sheath the came with was decent I had no problems with mine like some of the other reviews I read on the knives. Over all a gear product they showed up faster than they were due to be here, would definit buy again.
United Gil Hibben Hall of Fame Throwing Knife Set 8-1/2" Overall, Leather Sheath (GH2034)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wnspuma
longueuil Qc
Jan 26, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Nice
it helps me relax to throw knives... :-)
United Gil Hibben Hall of Fame Throwing Knife Set 8-1/2" Overall, Leather Sheath (GH2034)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gary L
Granby, CT
Oct 28, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great throwing knife
This knife is indestructible and well balanced. The only con I would have is that they are difficult to in stock from any supplier.
United Gil Hibben Hall of Fame Throwing Knife Set 8-1/2" Overall, Leather Sheath (GH2034)
rated 4 stars out of 5
Star
Alaska
Feb 07, 2010
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
what I was looking for
I had a set of these that was stolen a few years ago, and was very happy to find them avaliable again. My only complaint is that the leather sheath that is included had a white mold growing on it.
United Gil Hibben Hall of Fame Throwing Knife Set 8-1/2" Overall, Leather Sheath (GH2034)
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kila
Hawaii
Mar 08, 2011
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Materials
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Great Design and Balance
You can't go wrong with a throwing knife designed by Gil Hibben. The knives are balanced and have a good weight for throwing. The only downside to this set was the sheath--it had some white stuff on it (in a previous review, they called it mold, but I'm really hoping it was just dust or something). Now, I just need to practice more to get the knives to stick on target.
United Gil Hibben Hall of Fame Throwing Knife Set 8-1/2" Overall, Leather Sheath (GH2034)
rated 4 stars out of 5
Sentinel Six
West Central, PA
Jul 22, 2012
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Well made for the money
There are many cheap copies of these knives floating around at flea markets, knife & gunshows, and other stores that sell cheap knives. Don't bother with those, spend a little more, and get these. The steel is tough, and is heat treated correctly to survive the impact of throwing. If you throe them right, the stick well, and are a lot of fun. They are also easy to clean up too. Oh, and if you really find yourself getting into it, but the large set (13 inch) of these as well. They're even better!
United Gil Hibben Hall of Fame Throwing Knife Set 8-1/2" Overall, Leather Sheath (GH2034)
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jeremy
Texas
Mar 04, 2013
Pros: Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
Great for the price.
These are definitely a good set to start with I'd you're not sure about knife throwing yet. Get these for their decent price and decent qualities. They're certainly not your end game knives, they're a great starter set. You need to be careful with the points. I had a bad throw that bent the very tip of one of the points. I was able to take it off and reshape it it with a grinder. It isn't noticeable when compared to the other knives. Also it comes with a nice sheath. I'm a leather worker so I can say the leather itself isn't very high quality, but its tough and should last. You can't really hope for more from a $30 set.
United Gil Hibben Hall of Fame Throwing Knife Set 8-1/2" Overall, Leather Sheath (GH2034)
rated 4 stars out of 5
Roy
Michigan
Aug 05, 2015
Pros: Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, None
nicely balanced throwing knife
I have the same knife at 11.5 inchs (6 knifes). I throw in the backyard as a activity for guests. We throw at an old tree log about three feet across. It's a great fun activity for a group. The 11.5 inch knife was a little heavy for the ladies. These 8.5 inch knifes have become the ladies favorite as they are lighter and they can throw them with more force. The men still prefer the bigger knife.
United Gil Hibben Hall of Fame Throwing Knife Set 8-1/2" Overall, Leather Sheath (GH2034)
rated 2 stars out of 5
Garius
Miami, Fl
Feb 05, 2019
Pros: None
Cons: Weight, Materials, Blade Sharpness
Very light, thin and sharp
I find them too light and thin for no spin throwing. They are pretty good for half spin. Overall i’ll Use them for half spin on occasion but mostly I just keep them in the bag.
United Gil Hibben Hall of Fame Throwing Knife Set 8-1/2" Overall, Leather Sheath (GH2034)
rated 1 stars out of 5
Ben H
Massachusetts
Dec 27, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: Materials, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material
FALSE ADVERTISEMENT!!!!!!!!!!!!! BUYER BEWARE!!!!!!!!!
I recently purchased this set of throwing knives and after reading gil hibbens guide to throwing knives I decided to try them out. I set up a large piece of plywood for a target and began practicing. It took a little while for me to get any to stick but once i did i started getting used to it. I had been practicing for about 45 minutes when the knife struck the plywood and split in half by the handle. I wasn't throwing aggressively or angrily, I was throwing a consistent strength and speed. (keep in mind im also a 130 pound kid that can't curl 20 pounds) Now Hibben Knives advertises this product as solid stainless steel but it is anything but. When I looked at the break I noticed there was only a millimeter of metal casing, (still not certain the outside was even steel) the inside was some other material entirely, but not any kind of metal. If i had known the product was not solid metal I would have never even considered buying it. But now i know that Gil Hibbens products are not good quality and that he makes a habit of lying about his products in order to sell them. Never again will I buy anything designed by that man or his company.