Reviews and Ratings for Work Sharp WSGFS221 Guided Field Sharpener 221

Work Sharp WSGFS221 Guided Field Sharpener 221rated 4.667 stars out of 5 (15 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Work Sharp WSGFS221 Guided Field Sharpener 221

 

Price: $29.95

Save $5.00 (14%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Work Sharp WSGFS221 Guided Field Sharpener 221
rated 5 stars out of 5
William P
Chesterfield, Va
Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Enables you to get a consistent sharp edge every time!
The build in guides work great to give a a consistent angle and razor edge especially using the on board leather strop. Knives that I hadn't had an razor sharp edge in years, with some work and time (no its not a magic wand that you can pull the knife though once and have a razor edge instantaneously), where shaving sharp and beyond. I like the fact that has ceramic hone course and fine with fishhook grove, separate ceramic serration hone , course and fine diamond and leather strop sharpeners. The diamond panels lift off to reveal a small "compartment" with built in 3 or 4 blade broad "wrench". Its a lot of tool for the money and It now is really is the only hand sharpener that I use now because it just that "foolproof"! Now one "downside" is the guides are built for a 20 degree angle use on most outdoor knives. I have learned to compensate for this for kitchen knives with 17 degree by starting further down the guide ramp.
Work Sharp WSGFS221 Guided Field Sharpener 221
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike Du
United Kingdom
Jul 12, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None
work sharp guided sharpner
It is very easy to use and it makes the knives very sharp
Work Sharp WSGFS221 Guided Field Sharpener 221
rated 5 stars out of 5
Josh
Western NY
Dec 19, 2017
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Excellent for field touch ups
I keep this in my hunting pack for touch ups in the field, whether a knife just needs a couple passes over the strop, ceramic rod, or plate, this little tool handles it all. The best part about it is the angle guides, it allows you to be consistent and keep your knives in good shape.
Work Sharp WSGFS221 Guided Field Sharpener 221
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob
Guam
Jan 18, 2014
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Although overly busy with tools everywhere, this is a very fine sharpener. If you know how to visually determine blade edge angle (everyone should), the fixed 20 degree angle becomes a multi-angle tool. Simply determine blade edge angle visually, maintain that angle while sliding the knife back to the fixed angle and where the top of the blade contacts that fixed angle becomes the new angle mark for sharpening that individual blade angle. Simple, effective and expands the versatility of this great sharpener!
Work Sharp WSGFS221 Guided Field Sharpener 221
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom Horn
Illinois
Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Nice Field Sharpener
This is a nice sharpener to keep in the truck. I keep one in my bug-home bag. Will handle your harder steels (58+ HRC) better/faster than a stone, or ceramic V sharpener. You may need to fudge some on sharpening angles: steeper angle for camp tools, etc. Nice size to fit in hunting pack/tackle box. Would make a nice gift for the outdoors-man, knife enthusiast, or survivalist.
Work Sharp WSGFS221 Guided Field Sharpener 221
rated 5 stars out of 5
Leo R
Toronto, On
Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
really handy
Good set of grits
Work Sharp WSGFS221 Guided Field Sharpener 221
rated 5 stars out of 5
Craig B
Portland Oregon
Aug 06, 2013
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Works great and it has a broadhead wrench
It's lightweight and has six sharpening surfaces from course diamond to a leather stropp and angle guides for the perfect angle at the edge. My knives are literally razor sharp. I test the blade by shaving a bit of my arm. The only problem is that my coworkers, family, and friends all want me to sharpen their knives for them and now my arm is bald!
Work Sharp WSGFS221 Guided Field Sharpener 221
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike K
Burbank, Il
Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Very sharp product
Just got it, very well thought out,and clever use of space,will be getting one for my son.I love this store.
Work Sharp WSGFS221 Guided Field Sharpener 221
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gavin Van D
Canada, Ontario, Thunder Bay
Jan 17, 2015
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
No need for anything more.
This is amazingly easy to use, can produce a razor edge from extremely rough edges in mere minutes. I would recommend to anyone as a one tool option for all sharpening needs, from axes to scissors. the only other sharpening option that i believe my be slightly better but not as field usable is the Spyderco sharp maker
Work Sharp WSGFS221 Guided Field Sharpener 221
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bradley
Fairbanks, Ak
Apr 12, 2019
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Long lasting
I have been using this sharpener for a couple years now. I own several William Henry knives the reason that is significant is the steel they use. Zdp189 and D2 the Zdp is a 65-67 on the rockwell scale. The sharpener has held up beautifully, I have owned other Diamond sharpeners that did not hold up to the abuse of those knives. This one is going strong 2-3 years later.
Work Sharp WSGFS221 Guided Field Sharpener 221
rated 4 stars out of 5
Al
Auckland, NZ
Feb 05, 2015
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None
Excellent tool for knives up to 15cm/6" or so with a 20 degree edge.
This is a very well designed and executed sharpening gadget. I used it to sharpen some completely blunt (new, never sharpened) work knives and it was easy and fast to sharpen each one to shaving sharp. The only limitations are its length, which limits its easy use to knives up to 15cm/6" long. I have sharpened a 25cm/10" chef's knife on it in stages which worked well but was a little awkward. The instructions are clear and simple and the design and build quality are both very good. The device is easy to clean after use and the diamond panels are removable. The only niggle I had with it was that the leather strop was rougher and less covered with honing compound than I'd have liked. I replaced it with my preferred leather and compound from Lee Valley, which too a couple of minutes, using a small bit of of double sided tape. Replacing the strop with a strip of aluminium and 3M micro finishing abrasive would make it most excellent. I recommend this tool to anyone who needs a simple, effective, portable solution for smaller knives.
Work Sharp WSGFS221 Guided Field Sharpener 221
rated 4 stars out of 5
Genghis
Keaau , Hawaii
Mar 21, 2015
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None
Darn thing actually works !
This self contained sharpening system is almost perfect for ALL of anyone's sharpening needs ! When I first got this unit I was very skeptical about it's advertising claims . After a few tries it turned out very very awesome ! During our outdoor activities my GF is famous for making excuses about leaving our sharpening gear at home . One time I was in a rascal mood and left her alone with the Work Sharp Field sharpener .I had treated the instruction sheet with a waterproof kit and left them in the unit . Soon she was sharpening everything that she could get her hands on ! I bought a dozen of them and gave them to people who appreciate and use gear . My nephew D really loved it ,the built in broad head "wrench" was better than his specialty one . My older brother got one and took the credit for introducing it to the family . What a guy ! My sister and I both had issues with the magnets that retain the diamond plates . My son had flipped the plates over for storage and lost one of them . Bummed out , I called the manufacturer to order a replacement , I was so surprised that they warranted it and express shipped me a replacement FREE of charge ! I immediately bought another six units . Out of all people that were given a unit we all agreed that adding a lanyard and increasing the overall size that a larger one would be the perfect field sharpener .
Work Sharp WSGFS221 Guided Field Sharpener 221
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tim
Great lakes
Jul 13, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None
Nice little sharpner
This little sharpener does a great job and has a lot of cool features. To do my bigger 8" and up blades I take off the diamond slabs and use them that way. For a compact do all in the woods or even at home or camp I would recommend one.
Work Sharp WSGFS221 Guided Field Sharpener 221
rated 4 stars out of 5
John
Arizona
May 07, 2014
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None
Work Sharp WSGFS221 Guided Field Sharpener 221
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ronnie
Waco, TX
May 09, 2016
Pros: Durability, Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: Effectiveness, None
Great, but slightly flawed.
I use this product to get a quick usable edge on a blade and to remove small chips and imperfections. When I'm done with it the blade will take hair off of my arm. It is easy to use. The diamond plates cut quick. The fine plate is what most seasoned sharpeners would consider somewhat coarse. I doubt that I will ever have to use the coarse plate. The ceramic rod works very well but you have to pay close attention to what you're doing since it isn't flat. I don't use knives with serrated blades so I can't speak to the effectiveness of the small ceramic rod meant for serrations. The unit does what it was meant to do which is why I only took off one star for what I consider a couple of cons. The first con is that the angles aren't adjustable. Secondly, I don't find the strop very useful as I prefer a large area to strop on. In a pinch I can use newsprint or a belt if I need to strop. I would prefer an ultra fine ceramic or even a small steel for a chef's knife in its place. Overall, I'd recommend this for anyone who might need an edge quickly but finds it impractical to carry around their entire system. I would also recommend it to someone who might need to remove a chip or roll from a small blade but doesn't want to pony up the cash for a diamond bench stone. No one should buy this product with the expectation that it could serve as their entire system.