Reviews and Ratings for Zero Tolerance 0456 Dmitry Sinkevich Flipper 3.25" CPM-20CV Two-Tone Blade, Titanium Handles

Zero Tolerance 0456 Dmitry Sinkevich Flipper 3.25" CPM-20CV Two-Tone Blade, Titanium Handlesrated 4.333 stars out of 5 (9 reviews)
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Zero Tolerance 0456 Dmitry Sinkevich Flipper 3.25 inch CPM-20CV Two-Tone Blade, Titanium Handles

 

Price: $216.95

Save $108.05 (33%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Zero Tolerance 0456 Dmitry Sinkevich Flipper 3.25" CPM-20CV Two-Tone Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ray D
Dillsburg, Pa
Aug 01, 2016
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Material
Cons: None
Suburb design; work as good as it looks.
Zero Tolerance 0456 Dmitry Sinkevich Flipper 3.25" CPM-20CV Two-Tone Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charles M
Framingham, Ma
Jan 06, 2017
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None
My Best performing & looking EDC
This knife is the perfect balance of top tier quality and beauty. The cts 204p blade, and titanium handles speak for themselves. We all know how spectacular the materials are. The ball bearing system, and the closed position detent make opening the knife lightening fast for a manual opener. There is ZERO lateral play in the blade while opening, open, or shut. The structure is solid without even a hair of free play, but it opens like butter. Somewhat easy to sharpen and it holds an edge well. The blue anodized pivot has deep purples and oranges when you look at it up close. The ONLY problem I have with this knife, is that it's so handsome that I'm scared to beat on her the way I usually beat on my carry knives. I usually work them hard, and retire them every 3-4 years. I love the knife so much, I fear that I might have to pick another knife to beat on while she sits in my safe. You will not regret buying this knife.
Zero Tolerance 0456 Dmitry Sinkevich Flipper 3.25" CPM-20CV Two-Tone Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matthew M
Rochester, NY
Jul 08, 2018
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
No BS review
I read a review on here that seemed to paint an inaccurate picture of this knife so I felt I needed to give the facts of this without the BS. Firstly this is a Reeve Integral Frame-Lock not a liner-lock. It has a hardened steel lock insert that eliminates the possibility of any lock stick. I've owned three of these knives and have given them as gifts and each is consistent in quality control. I've carried and put them through abuse to see how they hold up and they perform flawlessly. Each one locks up at about 40-50% so the lock will not fail as long as you maintain the tool and don't neglect it. Though the blade stock is a bit thick this is a great slicer due to its blade shape and flat grind. The blade steel is some of the best and uses the American version of the popular M390. The grind on all three knives is symetrical as is the grind of the swedge. The knife dissassembles without issue (make sure to poperly heat the pivot to loosen the Loctite and you'll have no problems). It runs on caged bearings (no plastic parts), has a stainless steel pivot, and aluminum backspacer. The detent is strong enough where when the flipper is engaged the knife rockets open. I have not noticed any wear or deformation on the detent ball after a year of carry and use. The stock pocket clip sucks, however there are plenty of aftermarket clips that suit the knife perfectly (this is not a determining factor). All three knives came perfectly centered and razor sharp. Depending on the hand this is a very ergonomic knife. I have medium sized hands and it locks into my palm like a bank vault. No hotpots from carrying, flipping, or slicing. One thing I wish it had was a little gimping on the spine for smaller tasks but this is just an opinion. The knife, though a bit heavy, has perfect balance and can be balanced on a finger tip where the index would normally sit when cutting. For the materials this is a great buy for the price and for great QC and customer service ZT does a fantastic job backing their product.
Zero Tolerance 0456 Dmitry Sinkevich Flipper 3.25" CPM-20CV Two-Tone Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Frank L.
Massachusetts
Mar 14, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Custom quality! Outstanding!
This is an incredible knife. The build quality is outstanding. It's almost too pretty to use. I have large hands, so I prefer bigger knives. I was a little worried that the 0456 would feel cramped like the 0450 ,but this knife is thicker and filled my hand perfectly. The machining that went into this is incredible. I'd give it an 11 if I could.
Zero Tolerance 0456 Dmitry Sinkevich Flipper 3.25" CPM-20CV Two-Tone Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brandon
Puyallup, Wa
Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
My new favorite!
I never thought I would buy this knife! I thought it had too much going on, maybe a bit too fancy for me. There were many other knives higher on my want list but my wife really liked the looks of the 0456 and finally convinced me to buy it. Let me just say this is now my favorite knife! It looks better in person and it feels great in the hand. This is a very high quality knife and the blade flips out ultra smooth and fast! I love the heavy weight, it feels so solid! My only complaint is I wish it had a deep carry pocket clip but I will order one from MXG Gear. Buy this knife if you are on the fence like I was. You will love it!
Zero Tolerance 0456 Dmitry Sinkevich Flipper 3.25" CPM-20CV Two-Tone Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
David
SW Nebraska
May 08, 2016
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Weight
New ZT owner
Daily carry, collector of good knives. This one feels very good. By that I mean fit and finish, operation. Top quality all around. I also have a 0450 and the same comments apply. Both of these knives have very good designs, hard to put them down to use something else.
Zero Tolerance 0456 Dmitry Sinkevich Flipper 3.25" CPM-20CV Two-Tone Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Shawn
Missouri
Sep 05, 2018
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Great knife build!
There are a lot of things I like about this knife. It is built well with a thick titanium frame, thick blade, lockbar insert, and captured pivot. The ergonomics are solid, the knife is easy to use and hold. But, the blade is not super hardened. It doesn't really hold a fine edge very long which was a major disappointment for me. For this blade steel they could have gone much harder. I have other blades in CPM-20CV that seem to stay sharp forever. I used a cold steel 4max to chop through a log and it was still shaving sharp afterward. Anyway, doesn't mean this ZT blade is bad it just isn't up to the performance of this steel type.
Zero Tolerance 0456 Dmitry Sinkevich Flipper 3.25" CPM-20CV Two-Tone Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mark
Sunnyvale, Ca
Mar 11, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Solid with a couple of nits
The knife is a very solid effort. It's my first ZT. I don't like the bolts threaded into the Ti handle. The blade grind is a bit awkward in the choil area, and the lockup is fairly late. But the knife looks and works wonderfully for this price point. I have to give a solid buy. It was pretty much exactly what I was expecting. It should come with some kind of storage pouch though.
Zero Tolerance 0456 Dmitry Sinkevich Flipper 3.25" CPM-20CV Two-Tone Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Anonymous
USA
Jan 01, 2018
Pros: None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material
Not at all
This is not what I would expect from a knife of this supposed 'quality'. Not in the least. It doesn't flip, feels awkward in the hand and will slip from your hand with just the least amount of sweat/water/etc. Literally you have to use two hands to open this; or flick it about 3-4 times to fully open. I just read a review about someone (and saw pictures) about the liner lock failing on him and having to get major surgery. It wasn't this knife but now I question the integrity of these knives. Also, you'll strain your fingers trying to lift or adjust this pocket clip.