Reviews and Ratings for Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles - 580

Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handlesrated 4.207 stars out of 5 (29 reviews)
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
22
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
1
1 star
4
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6 inch Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles

 

Price: $136.00

Save $24.00 (15%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Fast Eddy
Southeast, MO
Oct 22, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Benchmade Barrage™ AXIS-Assisted 3.6" Satin Finish Plain Edge Blade
Very sharp blade. I like the ability to mount the clip in the point up position for either left or right handed use. Blade assisted deployment is solid and fast. I have a Kershaw Blur and although I like it as well, the Benchmade seems a bit faster and seems to open with more force. I like it so much I'm considering purchasing another just to have it on hand. Definitely a solid knife that can handle some heavy work. Made in the USA Benchmade knives are worth every penny.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bojan
Croatia
Dec 04, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, None
Really good knife
I bought this knife from knifecenter.com because here it's around 150$. And i love it! It came "Benchmade sharp", I could shave with it right out of the box. Opens real nice and fast. I even removes spring for assisted opening and still no problems. Axis lock secures the blade great. Oh, and a tip broke off, but it was my fault for using it as a screwdriver :/ All in all, great knife, definitley worth buying.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pete
San Antonio, TX
Aug 26, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Handle Material, Handle Feel
Barrage assisted open
Great for everyday carry. Very solid lock up, well made. I like the tip up carry. Negative: I would like a bit more texture on the handle to afford a better grip.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Fresh Seth
Canada
Jul 12, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Might as Well Be an Automatic
This knife is incredible. I personally love this knife. Although I know a few people have had problems in the past with this knife, I have yet to have any, and I have been opening this knife non-stop since I bought it. The big reason why I love this knife so much is because the lightning fast deployment. This knife is so fast it might as well be automatic. And the best part, It is legal where I live in Canada. This knife comes out with authority not yet matched by Benchmade. I found this model to even be faster than the Special Edition Rukus with spring assisted. This knife is so fast that it has recoil. This knife deploys fast and with authority. I don't mind the valox handle material either. Yes, it's plastic, but it has been machined so well that it practically acts as an extension of your hand and fits precisely in your hand. I love this knife so much that I bought two. GREAT KNIFE
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt The Knife
East Coast
Sep 03, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
You won't be dissapointed!!!!!
This knife has become my most favorite EDC, I rotate my EDC's because I have so many and this one I feel is the best out of all the rest. Everything about this knife suits me. It sits low in my pocket, it is not a liner lock, whereas your thumb sometimes gets in the way during closure(ouch!), but an access lock! When you deploy this knife, (being that it's a assisted opening)opens with such a whack it will blow your mind, "UNBELIEVABLE"...I really didn't want to tell you all about this fantastic knife worrying about, there might not be anymore left in-case I wanted to buy another one and have my 2 sons get one...That's how awesome they are. The things that aren't so great about it?...I haven't found even one...Right down to the thumb stud, it's not the volcano type where-as your thumb doesn't get a good grasp on it, but a different type that your thumb can grasp with ease, I don't know the name of it but it works perfectly when wanting to deploy the blade.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tiko
sacto, CA
Aug 04, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Excellent open mechanism
All good about this knife, fast opening, no freeplay, almost no friction at the pivoting axis. One thing to consider: The handle is bulky and contains lot of space in side, could be flatter.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
Houston, TX
Oct 27, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
So far so good
I got used to carrying a smaller knife and decided to get a longer blade this time around and this knife is larger than I expected, but it is working out good so far. It took a little practice to keep it in my hand at first when opening it up, but I don't mind the slick handle now. Other knives would tear up my clothes with all the grip they had on them. I also like how I don't have to worry about my fingers being in the way when I go to close it, which can be done one handed. I didn't like the safety clip it came with, but it came off easy enough. It is also loud when it locks open. The steel is good and holds a decent edge after sharpening.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Craig
Carmichael, CA
Feb 16, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Feel, None
BEST ALL AROUND KNIFE
I do a ton of bird hunting, and love knifes that hold a great edge, and are easy to operate with one hand. I own a lot of Benchmade knifes and this one has all the qualities I love! The spring asst. is fantastic. This knife holds a great edge, is strong and solid! With a slight push from your thumb, about 1/4 inch, Bam, it locks open! The next best thing to a full auto knife! Also it has a lock on the back of the knife to prevent inadvertent deployment of the blade. The only suggestion for improvement would be that the handle was a little slimmer and had a little more grip texture.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob C.
Mansfield,Ohio
Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Material, None
My First Benchmade
This is one bad ass knife! When you flick it open you know you have a knife in your hand. It comes razor sharp out of the box. Love the little satin pouch that comes with it. Opens very easy. Only thing I dont like is handle material! Could have been better!!! But over all a very very good knife. I bought this at a gun show in Mansfield, Ohio. Must have spent three hundred dollars on knives at this gun show! Must be nuts! But I love it.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeremy
Michigan
Jul 06, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Almost an automatic
I am very impressed with this Benchmade. It came razor sharp. The spring assist is the fastest and hardest I have felt. It is almost as fast as my Protech Godson auto. The blade shape is unique and very easy to sharpen and the 154cm steel blade holds a great edge. The handle is comfortable although I prefer G-10 or Micarta handles but I did get this beast as a user so the plastic should work just fine. Overall this is a very nice Benchmade.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Norm
Ontario, Canada
Oct 12, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Handle Material
It could be an automatic!
The action on the Barrage is so quick it could be mistaken for an automatic. Lock-up is tight with no play, par for the course for Benchmade. The spine safety is easy to access and easy to use, combined with the Axis lock means this knife will never close unless you want it to. The scalloped and grooved scales and the ribbed spine ensure a good grip in any position. Automatic knives are illegal where I live; this is as close as you can get! An excellent all-around knife!
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rich
Tennessee
Nov 08, 2017
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: None
Brenchmade Barrage
This is my third Brenchmade knife. Very high quality and the assisted opening is very smooth. This knife will be used as an EDC knife, or just carrying if in the woods. Brenchmade knives can be sharpened to a razor sharp edge. As light as it is, it's still very rigid.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wesley H
Milner Georgia
Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use
Cons: None
580 Barrage
I use the knife as general use. It is great to have easy access with the clip and not having to dig out a pocket.the size of the knife is a little large. I do wish I had purchased a smaller size . The model 584 or 585. I now looking for these models to be on sale. I like the quick shipping on my order. Great customer service on the phone.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andy
Wilmington DE
Aug 17, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great knife easy to open, strong Great lock
Its a great knife opens easily texture of grips is just right so it draws smoothly from the pocket. Auxiliary lock is great safety feature to prevent accidental opening.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Philip M
Berkeley California
Jul 19, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath, None
Solid locking, strong spring
154CM Is an excellent blade steel. Very sharp out of the box I would wish for a more "grippy" handle. What I have done on more than a few folders is glue small strips of Emory cloth where I usually place my fingers and prefer the grip where I need it. It doesn't take much and with time the glue starts to give. Clean the glue and the knife looks new. Or repeat the process.Does not hurt the knife. I don't collect knives per se, I use then a lot. Oh, and if you use a course Emory cloth you will probably shred your jeans pocket unless you take care.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ken
Niagara Falls,NY
Feb 28, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Bad Ass Benchmade
This knife is one of my favorites....and three friends of mine picked it up after I did. Warning....it is razor sharp and Benchmade carries a life time warranty. The spring assist is wicked fast.....This knife is sure to please the picky knife connoisseurs...
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe V
Texas
Jul 23, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Awesome EDC/Emergency Tactical
My new EDC. Super quick deployment. Tank-like lockup. Awesome sound when deployed.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Marcus
Texas
Jun 14, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
where's the beef?
Not my first Benchmade, carried that one for years, but I've had this one almost a year and it's proven itself to be reliable as hell after being opened several million times and it holds a shaving edge as any piece of fine cutlery would. True one-handed deployment. I have a one arm friend who's interested in one. I use it mainly to eat bbq but if something needs cutting in a hurry, the Barrage is quick. I recommend this easy carry tool to anybody who wants an assisted opener. I might get another with a tanto blade and give it to me for my birthday.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dan
Texas
Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Material, None
Extremely good knife for the money!
First off, this knife opens like no other! The THWACK sound it makes as the blade contacts the stop pin and axis lock engages is quite intimidating.....which is good. The blade came razor-sharp, as all Benchmades do, and the satin finish is flawless. Have owned this knife for about a year, and have carried it for at least 6 months of that year. It has taken much abuse and handled it with no problem. Still has perfect lockup with no horizontal or vertical play. The only cons I can come up with regarding this blade are: 1. The handle material lacks grippiness. Not that its slick, but its not exactly traction-friendly either. 2. The assist, as mentioned, is crazy-strong. This would normally be a plus, however, from a one-handed operation standpoint, it makes closing the blade complex and fairly dangerous. I have another BM knife that's assisted and is very easy to close single-handed. These 2 cons are simply me being picky. I would recommend this blade to anyone!!
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mc
Mt Pleasant, SC
Jan 29, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Love It
This is my new EDC knife. Well made, very sharp,& light enough for EDC.The scales,although plastic, are tough,grippy enough not to slip out of hand, but smooth enough not to abrade the pocket.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeremy Menefee
Wadsworth
Jul 28, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Handle Material, None
Very sharp out of box, holds an edge great, you name it, this knife works for it
So far my Barrage hasn't gone into too heavy of work, but the lock is great (even though I don't use it much.) the spring is perfect, and with some practice, it can easily be opened AND CLOSED with one hand, despite the spring... Very sharp out of box, holds an edge great, you name it, this knife works for it. Only improvement I'd make is a grippier handle (a la Griptilian) but that can be done with some grip tape, so no problems.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob
Henderson, NV
Oct 01, 2009
Pros: Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
this knife will be my every day carry knife used as needed, being left handed I like the lock being on the back spline instead of the side. seem to try to jump from my hand, just need more practice.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Gabe G
San Antonio, TX
May 25, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Overall Quality
Nice but problems
These guys were great no problems with order or shipment. Got the knife and everything was great. Fit and finish seemed outstanding. 2 days later the assist open broke. Knife wouldn't completly deploy. Have since sent it in to Benchmade.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
John2453
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 30, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Weight, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, None
580 Barrage Review
I had my 580 Barrage for 2 weeks when it failed. I opened it via the thumb-stud approximately 350 times when something in the deployment mechanism broke. At first, it was not fatal. I.e., I could manually open and lock the blade. I closed the blade after opening the knife manually and something jammed. The blade would not deploy b/c something had jammed the lockbar, preventing it from moving backwards. The knife was shipped to Benchmade on Tuesday, 1/26/10. I'll be deploying the blade to see if the AXIS-assist mechanism breaks again. At some point, if the assist proves to be a weak point, I'll disassemble the knife and remove the coil spring. That should turn it into a standard opening knife. That's the bad news. The good news is the steel holds an edge and any loss of sharpness is quickly regained when taken to a steel. The blade will push cut plain printer paper anywhere along its length. The back edge is not nearly as "sharp" as I thought it would be which is good for me since I plan to use the knife to skin game. Before the knife broke, deployment was very fast and dependable. Lockup was solid without any play. The handles are a little slippery making it difficult for me to quickly transition from a forward grip to a reverse one. Such manipulation will not be important to most, so I don't view that as a deficiency. This is my first Benchmade product and the first folding knife I've bought in almost 20 years. I bought it to replace my EDC large Cold Steel Voyager lockback. The Voyager was the original version sold with the plastic pant clip. That knife served me well. I've flicked the blade open literally thousands of times and the lockup is still solid without play. The intent was to treat myself to an upgrade. I guess the old saw holds true: If it ain't broke, don't fix it. Or in this case, replace it.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Clayton
virginia
May 20, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: None
Poor model
Pros: Blade holds an edge very well Cons: Cheap feel to the handle The spring failed to open the blade after 1 month The blade is very hard to push out manually Prior to spring failure the blade would not close all the way leaving a portion of the tip exposed The blade wouldn't always stay locked in closed position it would deploy at random Summary Bad knife from a great company, get another knife even a Benchmade just not this one I have a 950 rift great knife
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Andy H.
San Francisco, CA
Sep 18, 2010
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality
The spring/spring assist broke on me
I've only had this new knife for 2 weeks and for some reason yesterday the spring assist ceased to function. Not only that, but now its quite hard to push open and close the blade rendering it kinda useless. I will be sending this back to Benchmade on my next day off of work for repairs. Prior to this incident, I thought this was a great knife with the perfect EDC size for me but now I have to rethink using this. I may just leave in the drawer for the collection or sell it off and get a regular Griptilian or something. I always thought Benchmade knives were too pricey but I decided to make the Barrage my first from this company to try them out. Sadly, this experience may make it my last purchase with them.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Wily
Texas
Nov 20, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: Overall Quality, None
This Knife WILL Fail on you
I have had nothing but problems with the springs on my Benchmade 580. I won't go through the whole back story, but I have had two different 580's fail on me. I am now about to have to send in this latest 580 to benchmade for the THIRD time. I can't speak for the 585s, but I can tell you that the 580s are to be avoided at all cost. The failure rate makes them expensive TOYS, not TOOLS. It has failed on me so many times now, I hate to handle it. I just can't get over the feeling that it is going to break at any moment, and that is not how a knife should be.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Ryan
Massachusetts
May 22, 2016
Pros: Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Lock Type
First and probably last benchmade folder.
Like the headline said, first benchmade folder, for the price point, its a 1 rating. Spent a little below market at $110, bought new in box several months ago. By no means have I abused this knife, it has seen work that is average of a small folding knife, cutting cases, letter opening, even some food prep when I'm desperate, no major field work. Yet it has developed severe horizontal blade play in spite of the light use. The handle is cheap plastic, though the liners are robust. The handle feels great ergonomically, but I really can't stomach the plastic. Without a doubt it's a smooth operating knife with an elitist pride behind it, but I don't feel benchmade lived up the the hype at all. I've since gone back to my cold steel code 4 that I've beat to heck and at less than half the price has proven more reliable even after years of abuse.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
John2453
SoCal
Feb 17, 2010
Pros:
Cons:
Follow Up
The knife was received by Benchmade 1/29 and was returned to my doorstep 2/17. As mentioned, the knife failed after I had it 2 weeks. Upon inspection of the returned knife, I found it was missing a screw that secures the scales. Thus far, my experience with Benchmade has been very poor. The description on the service ticket is as follows: Service Ticket Type: Manufacturing Defect Problem: Spring out of position Resolution: Replaced blade, coil spring, left handle and stop pin bushing. Sharpened, cleaned, and adjusted.