Reviews and Ratings for Condor Tool & Knife CTK4070C15 Greenland Hatchet 5.87" Carbon Steel Head, American Hickory Handle, Welted Leather Sheath

Condor Tool & Knife CTK4070C15 Greenland Hatchet 5.87" Carbon Steel Head, American Hickory Handle, Welted Leather Sheathrated 4.357 stars out of 5 (14 reviews)
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
Condor Tool & Knife CTK4070C15 Greenland Hatchet 5.87 inch Carbon Steel Head, American Hickory Handle, Welted Leather Sheath

 

Price: $67.98

Save $12.00 (15%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Condor Tool & Knife CTK4070C15 Greenland Hatchet 5.87" Carbon Steel Head, American Hickory Handle, Welted Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim
Griffin GA
Dec 26, 2013
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Quality Toll At A Fair Price
Handy size and weight for a small axe/hatchet.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK4070C15 Greenland Hatchet 5.87" Carbon Steel Head, American Hickory Handle, Welted Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sean Antill
northwestern idaho
Mar 11, 2014
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
axe
My only wish was that it had just a little longer handle but I'm a big guy and got a hell of a swing so will worry about that if and when it break's as for the axe it's self awsum it goes with me all the time now just a great tool very happy with it hold's a great edge have already fallen sum stuff bigger then you mite believe for fire wood as it it that time of year here in Idaho just a great little axe Thanks guys will recommend this to anyone looking for a great axe at a great price Sean Antill
Condor Tool & Knife CTK4070C15 Greenland Hatchet 5.87" Carbon Steel Head, American Hickory Handle, Welted Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Aaron D
Coastal northern California
Feb 12, 2014
Pros: Balance, Construction, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Handle Material, None
Excellent head just changing the handle to 23 inch hickory
Its head is high quality but the handle is to short. Although it is forged well enough for me to give it a five. I can hardly wait to try it with a twenty three inch hickory handle.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK4070C15 Greenland Hatchet 5.87" Carbon Steel Head, American Hickory Handle, Welted Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Peter
Akron, Oh
Aug 21, 2013
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Great Copy of Classic
Outstanding quality and workmanship. When I first got it the head was loose. Knifecenter was great about taking it back. It took a while to get a replacement due to item being on back order but it was worth the wait. With my chopping block, this cuts branches down to kindling effortlessly. Way better than any knife. I give this my strongest recomendation.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK4070C15 Greenland Hatchet 5.87" Carbon Steel Head, American Hickory Handle, Welted Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gilbert
north carolina
Jul 23, 2013
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Quick chop
I use this short handled axe to trim tree limbs and other chopping tasks that require precise cutting. It is industrial strength having a very sharp edge and being carbon steel is built to last any lifetime of use with proper care. The protective sheath is outstanding in quality.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK4070C15 Greenland Hatchet 5.87" Carbon Steel Head, American Hickory Handle, Welted Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Arbiter
Michigan
Aug 17, 2013
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Excellent quality tool
Nicely made with excellent fit and finish. Sharp enough out of the box to put to immediate use. Would serve as a top notch camping/hunting/survival prep tool. Well done Condor.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK4070C15 Greenland Hatchet 5.87" Carbon Steel Head, American Hickory Handle, Welted Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
L W
Riverdale, GA
Apr 18, 2013
Pros: Balance, Construction, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Handle Material, None
Condor Greenland Pattern Axe 5-1/2" Carbon Steel Head
I have both small Wetterlings and Gransforbruks and babied them. I bought this axe with the intention to use it for everyday use, what surprising me is: this axe is well made, have great balance and the cutting edge is sharp out of the box. it holds the edge very well. I really like it. I know it's not a Gränsfors Bruks or a Wetterlings but for the money, you can't beat it.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK4070C15 Greenland Hatchet 5.87" Carbon Steel Head, American Hickory Handle, Welted Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ieatcaribou
Alaska
Jun 27, 2018
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Best axe for the money
This is my go to axe when I need to chop wood up here in Alaska. I'm amazed by some of the reviews who complain about the "rustic" look or that it's not made in the USA; it's an AXE! They clearly didn't do any research and are unable to look at pictures before they purchase something. Condor has been around for a long time and is very highly regarded in the blade/axe industry. This axe is 1060 carbon steel (lightly oil it), takes a great edge and feels comfortable. Anyone with experience in axes knows you're not supposed to put a razors edge on them because if you hit a knot or obstruction (nail, etc.) you'll roll the edge. Axes have a sharp, wedge like edge and this one comes with a perfect grind. I've had mine for 4 years and put it through it's paces and it still looks and performs like the day I bought it. The only thing I've done is burnt and oiled the handle a bit to give it MORE of a rustic look. If you buy one you won't be disappointed. 1060 carbon steel is a fantastic steel for axes!
Condor Tool & Knife CTK4070C15 Greenland Hatchet 5.87" Carbon Steel Head, American Hickory Handle, Welted Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Spencer J
NJ
Mar 07, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Also
Just wanted to add in without putting in any pros and cons in this review, this axe is at a not great but TREMENDOUS price for its great quality most of the ones I find are double this price or more.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK4070C15 Greenland Hatchet 5.87" Carbon Steel Head, American Hickory Handle, Welted Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Spencer J
NJ
Mar 06, 2013
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Construction, None
People don't know there stuff
Guys, stop listening too these other reviews they don't know what they are talking about. All they know is how it looks and the edge if it. It's nice good sturdy carbon steel type 1045 I think. This particular type of carbon steel is my favorite as a long time bushcrafter/survivalist. Now, it does have a rustic look to it but that is how it's made, it also proves how they don't use much if any factory machinery. The edge isn't the sharpest, but if you give it a good one and not be lazy, it will last a life time. This is not for beginners so if your just starting out I'd suggest a simple hardware store axe or even a Colman. The handle is the best you can find and won't break on you. The only complaint I will ever have about this great hatchet is ther is no belt loop. But if your creative like me and know the materials you can make one. So while it needs a bit of work its a Great axe, and in my opinion one of the best in the world.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK4070C15 Greenland Hatchet 5.87" Carbon Steel Head, American Hickory Handle, Welted Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kyler
British Columbia
Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Construction, Head Material, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Great backwoods companion
I have recently purchased this hatchet and am very pleased with it. Great sheath, quality grain hickory handle, excellent weight and feel. It has been happily added to my hard-use bushcraft tools. Not the same quality as my wetterlings forest axe but still a fantastic tool. It has replaced an old steel with wood scale handle carpenter axe I was using. It was heavy and had an unintuitive feel. My forest axe was just a bit too long to be convenient on many of my adventures. The greenland pattern axe is a great buy
Condor Tool & Knife CTK4070C15 Greenland Hatchet 5.87" Carbon Steel Head, American Hickory Handle, Welted Leather Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Jimmy J
Raleigh, NC
Feb 15, 2012
Pros: Weight, Balance, None
Cons: Head Material
Rustic hatchet axe
My dad always called an axe this size a hatchet axe and said it was the perfect camping and woodsman tool. I had a Craftsman brand hatchet axe for years and still do but it is in bad bad shape. Heard good things about Condor brand so I ordered one of these. Thought I was buying American so that was my fault. These are made in El Salvador I think. The head is a very rustic forging and the edge is more like a wedge than a knife edge. It is going to take some work to make it sharp. Sheath is just that. There is no belt loop.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK4070C15 Greenland Hatchet 5.87" Carbon Steel Head, American Hickory Handle, Welted Leather Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Jimmy James
Raleighwood, NC
Feb 09, 2012
Pros: Balance, Weight, None
Cons: Handle Material, Head Material, Construction
not impressed
Not impressed with the quality of this axe. Head is very RUSTIC in it's forging and appearance. Grind and polish is not executed very well. Not sure how sharp and axe is supposed to be but this one would not cut hot butter. Should have saved my money and spent 2X on Scandinavian brand since evidently no one can make a good axe in this country. Only positives are weight, proportion and feel, good balance.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK4070C15 Greenland Hatchet 5.87" Carbon Steel Head, American Hickory Handle, Welted Leather Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Pcd
Amarillo, Tx
Apr 01, 2015
Pros: Weight, Balance, None
Cons: Handle Material
Its Okay
I just got this axe/hatchet and have not had a chance to use it in the field. I do like the feel and the sheath however, the edge was very dull and there is a hairline crack in the handle. I spent a few minutes with a file and a stone and was able to sharpen it. I am not sure if I will return it due to the hairline crack. The handle has a good feel and the grain orientation is good. It did not take long to sharpen and like I said, the sheath is very nice. In fact, I may try and bye extra sheaths for my other axes/hatchets. Overall, I would say its better than the cheap axe you buy at your local hardware/sporting store but thats about it. Maybe in the field, I will be pleasantly surprised? I did apply a couple of coats of Teague Oil to the handle and added a landyard. Peace PCD