Reviews and Ratings for Columbia River CRKT M16-01KS Carson Flipper 3.125" Black Plain Spear Point Blade, Stainless Steel Handles

Columbia River CRKT M16-01KS Carson Flipper 3.125" Black Plain Spear Point Blade, Stainless Steel Handlesrated 3.200 stars out of 5 (10 reviews)
3.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
3
1 star
2
Columbia River CRKT M16-01KS Carson Flipper 3.125 inch Black Plain Spear Point Blade, Stainless Steel Handles

 

Price: $31.95

Save $18.04 (36%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Columbia River CRKT M16-01KS Carson Flipper 3.125" Black Plain Spear Point Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dave
East coast .
May 13, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Good for EDC use !
A nice very discreet pocket knife that will get those jobs around the work place done efficiently , but not scare those who might see it being used . Good size , good weight , won't tear up your pockets when you are carrying it . Holds a great edge that re-sharpens easily to where it was when you got it brand new . A nice addition to any ones work tool box .
Columbia River CRKT M16-01KS Carson Flipper 3.125" Black Plain Spear Point Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt
Georgia
May 08, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Just an overall great knife
Used on a daily basis, just an overall great knife, holds an edge good and is easy to sharpen, recommend this knife as an everyday carrier.
Columbia River CRKT M16-01KS Carson Flipper 3.125" Black Plain Spear Point Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim
New York
Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
M16-01KS
I have always carried a knife on me. For any task that requires one. This is one knife I truly can say I enjoy having, It has a good strong feel to it. It locks in firm to the handle and eliminates any concerns of slippage. It sharpened easily and holds the edge. Small yet solid and that provides a good sense of security. For the price I believe it can't be beat. Without question I will order another.
Columbia River CRKT M16-01KS Carson Flipper 3.125" Black Plain Spear Point Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Big Dave
Southeast Texas
Jun 13, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Perfect for EDC
Pros: classic design size solid lock-up Cons: thumb stud hard use if you have meaty hands paws. I have to use the flipper.
Columbia River CRKT M16-01KS Carson Flipper 3.125" Black Plain Spear Point Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
M. Kay
N.E.Pa
Apr 03, 2019
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None
Nice Light to Medium Use EDC Knife
I purchased the CRKT M16-01KS for light to medium duty every day use for work and the times that surround that. The look is slim and sleek. Fits the 5th pocket on a pair of jeans perfectly. When opened and in use, the spear shaped blade keeps a low profile when using in public, but big enough to suit my needs. Sharp straight out of the box to go right into action. I've used it on nothing larger than paper board boxes and the hollow grind edge still slices a perfect smooth cut off a tomato for a lunchtime bagel sandwich and it halves that bagel cleanly. The flipper opens the quick and smooth. Only draw back I've encountered is the frame lock which holds the blade tight is a bit awkward to engage to close the blade. Otherwise, I find it perfect my needs.
Columbia River CRKT M16-01KS Carson Flipper 3.125" Black Plain Spear Point Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Gjc
Conn
Apr 29, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Lock Type
Poor finish and bad qualiity blade
Columbia River CRKT M16-01KS Carson Flipper 3.125" Black Plain Spear Point Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Bob
Wisconsin
Jun 14, 2020
Pros: Blade Material, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening
Slow, not secure
Action is slow and weak. Have to fling the flipper. Often doesn't open to full lock. Easing the screw to help speed leaves a wobbly blade. Nice blade, though.
Columbia River CRKT M16-01KS Carson Flipper 3.125" Black Plain Spear Point Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
James
Memphis, Tn
Aug 24, 2018
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality
A Second Look
Since my first review, I have done some more sharpening, taken it apart, clean and lubed it, and put it back together. (No left over parts! Yea!) It opens quite easily and locks up readily. But it is easily operable with one hand. It push cuts paper now. The blade is still way off center. It still feels like a toy to me. I hope that I got it on sale. Over $30 for this is way too much. I have many Kershaws that were less expensive that I like much more, the latest being the Fatback.
Columbia River CRKT M16-01KS Carson Flipper 3.125" Black Plain Spear Point Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
John M
Harrisburg, PA
May 19, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Weight, Lock Type, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Handle Material
Dont even Bother
Overall quality is super poor. Impossible to open via the thumb stud or the flipper. Tried loosening the pivet but same thing. I love frame locks but this one just has no function. It does not extend out so that u can press on it to close the blade. The handle feels super small in hand compared to the blade. Honestly i could have bought a knife for $10 with better quality.
Columbia River CRKT M16-01KS Carson Flipper 3.125" Black Plain Spear Point Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
James
Memphis, Tn
Feb 05, 2018
Pros: None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Feeling is Believing
I would like to have said seeing is believing, but I did not believe John M's review. He is correct. This is NOT a one handed opening knife.The thumbstuds don't work. The flipper doesn't work. Together, they will get the blade out from between the scales allowing a swift opening by grasping the blade between the thumb and index finger of the second hand. The blade tore paper OOB. I spent a few minutes on a diamond stone and a SM. It cuts now. The liner lock is nearly impossible to move with the thumb that is attached to the hand holding the knife. Once opened, I'm OK with it. It's the ergonomics that led to this review having no starz on tharz. Maybe a Star Bellied Sneetch would like the knife. And for the free head light. One end says open and closed, leading me to choose the correct end to turn to inset the non-supplied batteries. The headstrap is really small. The light doesn't stay in a fixed position. Can you say El Cheapo China @%*_^#. They say the wise man learns from others mistakes. Let me help you be wise. I just saw in the instructions that I am suppose to say things that a great about it. It arrived on time. But perhaps I am saying something great about KC and USPS. And how will I use it? I will fill up some empty space in my desk with it.