Reviews and Ratings for Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle

Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handlerated 4.543 stars out of 5 (70 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
48
4 star
17
3 star
2
2 star
1
1 star
2
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12 inch Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle

 

Price: $22.95

Save $16.04 (41%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tyson
CA
Oct 12, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
a great throw
I do knife throwing for fun and this is a great knife for just that and comes razer sharp right out of the box
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Luke A
Iowa
Mar 24, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Weight, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Blade Material
Throws Great
The price is great. It's balance is excellent for throwing. Tough enough for camp chores, but it doesn't matter if it gets beat up. It hasn't worn down yet! I'd like a nicer sheath and a better steel, but can't complain for the price. This is an excellent $20 knife that can be used as a throwing knife and camping knife (as advertised), but remember that it is only a $20 knife.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ub
Texas
Jan 19, 2010
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None
Very Practical Design
Almost 11 oz., about 3 oz more than I expected. Very consistent balance (bought three) straight out of the box. It is thicker, heavier, had to choke up from the tip a bit, but a couple of throws got consecutive satisfying "THUNK". I'm gonna whip the handle differently after the wrap gets bad, I do not like the "waffle" pattern cause it catches too much air. Comes with a very good nylon sheath. They cost a bit more, but you most definitely get your moneys worth.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ash
Canada
Jul 28, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Weight, Finish
Cons: Handle Material, None
Multipurpose tool
I have it for 5 years. Didn't use it much for throwing, mostly for camping and hunting. The blade steel is good as any carbon steel, can be easily honed to a razor sharpness and keeps the edge longer than any stainless steel blade. The paracord handle may be good for throwing, but I didn't find it very comfortable for other tasks, so I took off the paracord and made a handle of oak wood boards fixed with bolts and nuts. The most amazing thing about this blade is that it can be used as a spear head due to its thickness and shape. I can make a spear fixing it to a shovel or hoe handle with two wood screws.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Grayble27
moreno valley ca
Jan 26, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
THEY'RE AWESOME
I bought the cold steel true flight throwers and they are the best throwing knives I have ever had. The weight of the knife is great. Its not too light but its not too heavy either, to me its just right. Right out of the box the blade of the knife was sharp enough to cut hair off my arm. That's plenty sharp. The paracord handle feels really good in your hands. I have been throwing these knives about an hour a day since I bought them, the paracord is a little slashed up but what do you expect. The paracord is a great add on. The knife it self looks beautiful and it fits perfect in its sheath. I bought three and I am more than happy I did. I'm definitely going to get more.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hammy
MA
Jan 28, 2010
Pros: None
Cons: None
great knife... haven't thrown yet
Have not thrown it yet. Sheath is fine for $20 knife. Blade came surprising sharp. It is big, heavy, and feels rugged. Simple cord wrapped handle provides excellent grip. I like just carrying it around the house!
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Will L
Florida
Nov 09, 2010
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
good quality for price
I throw knives as a hobby and found this blade suitable. It also functions well as an all around knife, but is a bit too large for everyday carry.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dakota
New England
Jun 04, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
High Quality knife, takes a beating
This knife is excellent for throwing. I bought it along with a few Gil Hibbens, and it is definitely my favorite knife. The weight makes it easy to throw consistently. Even if you miss, I'd be more concerned about what the knife hits rather than the knife itself; it's downright indestructible. I marked "Blade Sharpness" as a con because it's too sharp. I use it as a throwing knife, and I don't want to slice my hand open every time I throw it with a blade grip, so I had to grind that down a bit. The paracord handle leaves a bit to be desired. I find that when I grip and pull it out of the (low quality) sheath, the cord gets bunched up in some areas and pushed apart in others, however it's very easy to readjust it. As I mentioned before, the nylon sheath is kinda crappy; the loose strap got torn off within a day or two of throwing, but thankfully the sheath is tight enough on the blade that it wasn't actually necessary. Despite the minimal drawbacks, I would definitely recommend this knife to anyone: beginner or expert.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ivo The "Sharp"
Europe
Jan 04, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material
Awersome knife. Very easy to throw. One grip allows to through it from 2 to 7 meters with a very good accuracy. It has been very good ballanced - simply said the best one I ever used guys !!!
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Big John
marshfield ma
Apr 18, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Weight
different
wanted second thrower new one is longer and heavier than older model also made in china not usa like old model (not a big deal just noting)
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jacob
Little Rock, AR
Jun 01, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Amazing
This knife throws very well. It also has the weight to stick deep into any target(1.5 inches in a tree).After about 400 throws the paracord handle wrap starts to wear away but could be pretty easily fixed.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kevin
Houston, TX
Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Materials, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Great bushcraft knife and "micro-machete", easy to modify
There's a system of creeks and retention ponds that runs behind my apartment and into a couple of nearby neighborhoods, filled with little hidey-holes that I often retreat to, usually at night, when I need to cool off and be away from people. This is what I take with me to use as a bushcraft knife and small machete, mostly to trim branches, weeds, vines and such. It's small enough for me to carry concealed when I have to (both since I live around sheeple who are afraid of even moderately-sized blades, and because the six-inch edge is just slightly over the legal limit where I am), but big enough to go through small (1.5" or so) branches with two or three chops or baton hits. It's STURDY. The steel is nice and resilient and it's easy for me to keep a machete-like (paper-cutting but no sharper) edge on it. The paracord handle is comfortable and has had no durability issues in the six months I've had it. Even if it were to come undone, it would be easy to buy or make G-10 or wooden scales for it. In terms of the purpose I use it for, I'd prefer to have some kind of hand retention device, but that's not a deal breaker, especially when you consider how easy this knife is to modify and that it's marketed as a thrower. I intend to drill a lanyard hole through the pommel. I modified the sheath by cutting off the useless retention strap, which did nothing except get in the way of sheathing the knife, and adding a paracord loop so I can quickly slip it over my shoulder for carry without worrying about a belt. I received mine as a gift but I would definitely buy another one for $25.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dylan
IL
Jun 08, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
VERY GOOD THROWING KNIFE
Very good throwing knife sinks deep into any target and makes a great boot knife. The knife is very well made and will stand up to the hardest abuse. My favorite part about this knife is that it can be thrown any style such as the no spin throw. IT can be thrown by the tip or even the handle. Buy this knife.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jimberg63
Burnham, Maine
Sep 19, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
BUY THIS KNIFE
I am a thrower. I throw much and I throw often. During the last 2 years I have thrown ALL KINDS OF KNIVES. Some break...some lose the handles....some throw quite nicely. This Cold Steel True Flight Thrower IS THE ABSOLUTE BEST THROWER I HAVE EVER HAD THE PLEASURE TO OWN.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Daniel Murakami
Honolulu, Hawaii
Apr 06, 2011
Pros: Materials
Cons: None
Cold Steel True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
Awesome knife, well made with excellent craftmanship.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
David B
South Africa
Jan 05, 2012
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Amazing knife
Great throwing knife, the best I ever purchased. Truly amazing product. Must be thrown from the handle as the blade is too sharp to grip when throwing from the blade!
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Patch
west virginia
Mar 19, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
works for me
i have thrown knives since i was a kid.this is the first throwing knife that works for me.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wolfmanpatriots
Always on the run and prowl. AWOOOOOOOOO!!!
Jul 16, 2012
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None
Nice knife
First, The Sheath. On first glance, sure, the sheath doesn't look all that special. It is not a $30.00 sheath. But, the knife is only $22.00 so what can one expect? A closer look shows while it is thin, which is a good thing if you want to avoid bulkiness, is made quite nicely. The majority of the sheath is of a tightly woven nylon thread with 5 rivets for strength at vulnerable spots. 2 where the knife enters the sheath. Where the tip of the knife rests, there is a rounded triangular piece of leather on each side and 3 more rivets which nicely protects the sheath from being damaged by the knife. So, while the sheath doesn't look like anything special, it seems to be crafted quite well. Time will tell.....The knife itself. I wish it weighed a few ounces more, but it is a nice knife. I haven't taken it outside yet, but I did fling it at my indoor target a few times, no spin, to see if it would pass my test. I bought three more. Now I have 2 to beat on practicing, and 2 to take out "hunting".... The handle, the paracord. I really like very much this paracord wrapped handle. It is not just wrapped round flat against the handle as most knives are. It is done in some kind of woven pattern that gives your hand something thicker to grasp onto. Not so much a feature for throwing IMO, but for other knife use, very "handy"....I have read many reviews about all knives with wrapped handles and with each, people say they fall off quickly.... Throwing at a wood surface, which I highly do not recommend, is a big part of the problem (put layers of cardboard in front of your wood for many reasons. It will make your wooden target last longer, protect your knives from breaking and stop the bounce that causes lost knives and coming back at you)... Regardless of the cause, one reviewer of another knife said to use the liquid (not the gel) type super glue to hold the cord in place...VERY good advice. For this wrap, you need only to put a few drops at the end side of the handle A drop here and there where the beginning touches the rest of the cord....For the traditionally wrapped knives, find the spot where the cord is tucked under on each end of the handle, a little line of glue along that lump it causes to start. A drop in a spot or two along the first wrap around and then a quick thin line straight across each side toward the bottom to keep the cord from bunching from impact. I like to try to avoid glue where my fingers will be touching the knife as much as possible. I throw no spin, so I don't want glue on the top edge where my finger slides along the top edge. It probably won't hurt anything, but the glue makes the cord hard and I prefer the softer feel. Also, don't use too much. All you want is a tiny bit in between threads to glue them together. It doesn't take much. This stuff soaks in nicely and 'welds' the two wraps together nicely. Using too much will look ugly. One of the first ones I did, using too much in a couple spots made it turn white in those areas. it looks like I dripped the glazing off a doughnut on my knife. Don't bother trying to scratch or sand it off. You will just make it worse. Do one spot on one knife at a time till you get the hang of it, so if you do use too much the first time, you can learn quickly. One tiny 2G tube is enough for a couple dozen gil hibben 8 1/2" cord wrapped knives plus a couple of these . .... Also, some people said the cord didn't last long from other knives hitting them. DID I READ THIS RIGHT?!? are people actually throwing there knives at their other knives? Sure, we see video of knife throwers hitting the same spot to impress upon you that they can throw accurately with consistency. They don't do this otherwise. They also don't mind you thinking they do, as they are also trying to sell you their knives. .. Notice they have multiple dots on their targets. Normally, they throw one knife at one dot... I understand you not wanting to retrieve after each throw, but, Space your shots. Hitting a knife with another will be far less frequent. Remember. Take care of your stuff. Especially your weapons. Don't buy more to replace damaged stuff, but by more because when it comes to weapons of self defense, more is better...Another nice knife? The Wes Hibben 10". Read my review of that knife to see more detail advice about targets.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jason D
TX
Jul 29, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Cold Steel Throwing Knife Review
I purchased 10 of these knives for a boys group. They showed up a nice utility edge. Really, I don't want throwing knives any sharper than that. Sheath is not great, but is adequate. Button snap is useless as a retention aid. Knife can be pulled out just as easily with retention strap snapped closed. Good weight/feel. I have had success throwing from blade or handle. Overall, really great knife for the designated use.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rusty S
Wappingers Falls N.Y
Sep 21, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Finish, None
Excellent Knife
I've had it for about 1 week and i have to say. THIS ONE OF THE BEST KNIVES I HAVE! Seriously this not just another cheap online throwing knife made of stainless steal. It is strong and wicked sharp out of the box. It also takes a new edge very well. Not to mention that it is a stupendous throwing knife for both beginners and experts.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
Fl
Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
One of my favorite
I had one for 5 or so years. Actually lost it in the woods for a year and found it , all I did was scrub off the rust and good as new. Even after that the blade never broke. Great knife
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Billy Bob
jackson,Ms.
Jan 06, 2011
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
very good buy
high quality,good steel and nice finish.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alex S
Bismarck, ND, USA!
Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Materials, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Handle Material, None
The knife can go through h#ll & back & still be in 1 peace
The best throwing knife a man can buy! Go Cold Steel or Go Home
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michele
napoli(italy)
Dec 25, 2013
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard
excellent for batoning
I don't know how to trow a knife but this is, for the price, more than excellent!It is a very very good bushcraft /outdoor/ survival knife, ,can be batoned thru the wood all day with no effect to the blade. Sheat is poor but for the price you can't ask an high quality leather sheat. It is " utility" sharp which mean fra from razor sharp but in less than one minute can be sharpened
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
The Dr
madison,OH
Mar 14, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
awesome awesome knife period
I have thrown dug cut sliced stabbed hammeren pryed and pounded on this knife and it just keeps coming back for more and the best part is its only twenty dollars for jobs that I don't want to put my kabar in danger with I use my true flight thrower I wish I had fifty of these thing it is a fun thrower and when you are done there you can rinse it off touch it up on a stone and use it for kitchen work there isn't much I wouldn't try with this knife high value low price point and just awesome
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bb
TN
May 20, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Great Throw Great Price
This knife is sharp, tough, and well balanced this knife has worked well but the finish did where off fairly fast this is a great survival knife for the money
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jen
Fruita, Co
Apr 07, 2015
Pros: Weight
Cons: None
Great Knife
This is a great throwing knife and could be useful in other situations too. I like the paracord handle. Good knife for the price.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sim Bo
asheville, NC
Jun 01, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
good product!
heavy duty and works great!
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jacob
Little Rock, AR
Jun 01, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Amazing
This knife throws very well. It also has the weight to stick deep into any target(1.5 inches in a tree).After about 400 throws the paracord handle wrap starts to wear away but could be pretty easily fixed.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rmac
TN
Dec 28, 2009
Pros: Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
No glitches in ordering process
I bought is as a gift.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vegemite
Oakland, CA
Jul 12, 2011
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Material
Cons: None
Budget Survival Knife
Out of the box, this knife is a solid chunk of steel, and it's hair popping sharp. You'd have to try hard to break this knife. I bought is as a budget survival knife, not to throw. A knife this size is a jack of all trades, master of none. If I had to take only one tool, nothing would beat this blade ounce for ounce. If you count the unsharpened ricasso, it's more like a 7" blade, and it is a nice 5mm thick, which means you can chop with it. The thickness also helps for splitting wood by batoning. I've made a few easy mods to the blade. Using a stone, I put a more acute angle near the handle and the tip so it carves wood easily. I re-wrapped the grip for a more oval cross section, which allow me to work comfortably with a variety of grips. I also squared up the spine to strike a firesteel. Now, I can chop a branch to size, split it, carve feather sticks, and strike a spark to start a fire. AND, I can still throw it if I want to. The steel is a little on the soft side, which makes it easy to sharpen and impact resistant. This knife is a great value and will probably last longer than I do.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Frank Castle
ON
Jan 23, 2009
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, None
This is a tough knife!
This knife is a great thrower, and also makes a really good hard use camp knife as well. It's thick blade gives excellent strength to the knife, and it can be used for prying. the 1050 steel takes a pretty keen edge, however will stain&discolor easily if any water/plant material etc. is left on the cutting edge. For anyone who likes throwers, this is a must-buy. This knife will exceed most people's expectations, if it doesn't, you're asking for too much out of a knife that only set you back 20 bucks.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark
Columbus NJ
Sep 20, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Product - Great Seller
Everything was great and the knives are the best I have found.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sebchat
france
May 12, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
great
Great knife
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dragonedge
Silverado, CA
Oct 25, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Handle Material, None
Can Be Thrown for Entertainment After Using Hard All Day
I have collected hundreds of knives and spent tons of $ for outdoor use blades (camping/survival). Go figure, the one I always carry - and give to friends and family - is the True Flight Thrower. It batons great, cuts meat easily (just re-read the comments from some of the throw-only-guys in the reviews), breaks up hard dirt when needed, pokes coals around the fire pit, and throws pretty good too! With such a flat profile, it stashes easily in most cases and bags. There is always one in the side case of my cycle. No, the cord wrap will not stay on (except one that I put electrical shrink wrap over). Don't discount this as a great self defense blade - especially for stabbing strikes as it will penetrate deeply. The handle shape allows it to be bound to a stick easily for an emergency spear if needed. Considering grinding a small barb on the back near the end to make it a better fish spear... Truly the all purpose knife I was spending too much money trying to find.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stumanchu
Chicago
Dec 11, 2009
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Materials, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material
Strong and sleek
I've bought and used dozens of throwing knives. The cold steel throwers seem to be in the upper echelon of those I've tried. I havn't thrown them yet, however I'm not worried that they will live up to their reputation. The knife is one solid piece with a good weight. They look great and feel sturdy. A great addition to my aresenal.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt B
South Texas
Apr 03, 2012
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Can't just own one...
Too bad it can't be made in the USA. Great for the cash
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Thunk
Franklin Grove, IL
Mar 02, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
WOW!
Although a beginner, I found myself able to throw this consistently after a couple sessions. It is very high quality, balanced, and sharp. The cord-wrapped handle works well with my no-spin technique. Great sound when it is thrown hard into my plank target! What else is so much fun for the money?
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chad
kansas
Nov 15, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
awesome knife!
strong sharp knife very well balanced ,and a great thrower
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chuck Jones
San Antonio, Texas
Apr 23, 2010
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Materials, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material
True Flight Thrower
All comments are good about this knife I would buy it again. I am not a knife thrower and the first time out I paced off 7 paces like I do with my tomahawk and the knife stuck on the first throw. No other comments just wondering if the cord wrap will stay in place. So far it has.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ed.
Miami, Fl.
Sep 07, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Great Fighting knife value
This knife is a great value. The weight forward design is very adaptable to throwing or carrying. It's flat, carries very comfortably, and is well balanced for its purpose. I have cut clean through 1.5 inch saplings, destroyed a throwing board with repeated penetrating hits from ten feet. I have carried this knife in a home made sheath everywhere, and would rely on it for largo and cort engagements of the worst kind. It works for Modular Gunting, modern Arnis, largo and corto fighting...and...It's a $20.00 knife. Don't leave home without two of them neatly tucked away where only you can get to them.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nick
il
Nov 21, 2012
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
GREAT KNIFE
You will not be disappointed. This has to be the best throwing knife you can buy for around 20 bucks.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Silence H
Seattle, Wa
Sep 13, 2012
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Xxplosive
I can use this knife for almost any thing! Throwing quality is great. Came out the box SHARP!!! The sheath fell apart in the box though.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris
OBX , NC
Dec 31, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
AWESOME THROWER
i just started throwing and not only is this knife a good thrower u can use it for just about anything else it so easy even my girlfriend used it and stuck it its pretty heavy and tough finish scratches but it is a throwing knife
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael S
Austria / Europe
Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
perfect Throwing Knife
Perfect throwing Knife - very good quality
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve W
Phoenix, Arizona
Jun 16, 2018
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None
Not just a Throwing Knife
The True Flight Thrower by Cold Steel is NOT just a Throwing Knife, I mean this blade is a beast!! I had used it for bushcraft for a while and they're amazing, owing to its nature of being a Throwing Knife it's actually very durable for most if not all survival/bushcraft tasks, it features a 5mm thick 1055 mid carbon steel true full tang blade, It's not like most knives with rat tail tang this particular model has a full size tang which is considered as the toughest blade design all the time, therefore batoning and chopping are no match for this blade it's like a mini machete!!, add to that the steel used on this blade is very shock resistant according to Knife Steel Composition Chart, also the sheath it came with is as solid as the knife itself, it was tight the first time you put the knife in but it will eventually break in, Overall, This knife is really awesome for the price you can throw it, use it for survival or camping etc, Cold Steel did a brilliant job on this throwing knife I think they didn't even find out that they had also created a tough multipurpose knife at the same time they created the True Flight Thrower!.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve
Iowa
Aug 18, 2009
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
good knife
I finally got to use this knife and it takes a beating. Threw it at my target and it glanced off an old cast iron water pump and it chipped the pump. If the blade was stainless it would be even better but the fact that it isn't makes you know the knife better due to the fact you need to maintain it. I think the sheath could be made to fit on the belt better.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brandon S
Hamilton, On
Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Finish, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great knife comfortable perfect size and weight very happy
I throw knives everyday as much as I can and so far am very happy with this knife it is comfortable to throw perfect length perfect weight this thing is a beast the only problem I have is that I need 2 more of them!
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Squirr3lsl4y3r
LA
Jul 30, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: Blade Material, None
Good knife, but be careful
I own 3 of these knives. I just started learning to throw knives, so these are the only ones I have ever used. although they do throw good, if you hit the knives against each other or something hard (like a rock, or hitting a stuck knife with a second thrown knife) the blades chip easily also, after about 3 weeks of throwing, the paracord wrapped around the handles began to unwind so i just took it off. But paracord is cheap, about $10 for 100 feet, if you wanted to re-wrap it wouldnt be hard. When buttoning the sheath, it is a very tight fit. Do not force the button closed unless you know that they are lined up correctly. I tried to force the button on one of mine and bent the receiving button. The steel used in this knife is NOT STAINLESS. Always wash and dry the knives after use to prevent rusting. One last thing; if you throw by the blade, prepare to lose the black finish from the tip. As the knife rubs against your skin, the black finish wears off quite quickly I was pleased with the knife, and when I will probably buy more of these
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Brian Mccrary
Elkhart, IN
May 07, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Throw it
I throw knives at events all the time, this knife for me is a great thrower and balanced well.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bob
Baltimore
Feb 18, 2019
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material
Interesting knife -- until it broke
My knife snapped in half the fourth or fifth time I took it out to throw. It hit the log target flat and broke. I have that happen before with other Cold Steel throwers. It's an interesting knife. I like the design but I could have done without the wrapping. I haven't decided whether to try another one. If I do, the wrapping will go. The sharp blade should be dulled for throwing.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Txema
arg
Nov 13, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
awesome
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mitchell P
buffalo mo
Aug 30, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Finish, Blade Sharpness
pretty sweet
I have been throwing this knife daily for almost a month now and am glad to say it has survived my harsh treatment of it pretty well. Apart from the black finish wearing off and chipping from average stuff ie hitting the ground, rocks, concrete from bad throws the only problem was the edge on this knife, for a thrower it is wicked sharp:) it will get you its just a matter of time. But other than that its durable sturdy heavy and scary its a little long for everyday carrying (this hasn't stopped me) works well for knife katas as well and the wrapping has survived as well still intact and the sheath once broken in is still tight but the rivets on the button came loose
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Keith
Northeast, AR
Sep 23, 2010
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material
Good Knife, Good Balance, Very Sharp (Honey bring the Bandaids)
Just learning to throw (Thorn style - no spin). Using multiple knives - the cord wrap handle lasted about 3 throws. It was quickly severed by another knife. Without the wrap the knife still feels balanced and throws just as well. Because I was throwing different kinds of knives it was easier to forget this one was very sharp. That's when I holler for my wife (MEDIC!!!) and she brings the bandaids. Maybe not the best knife to learn to throw with. But it does what it is made for. All in all, a good knife that will last a long time.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Daniel J Croll
Red Hill, Pa
Jul 14, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Overall Quality, None
Mixed feelings so far
This knife definitely makes a satisfying "thunk" when it sticks in the target and the weight is evenly distributed. I actually like the cord-wrapped handle for throwing with a no-spin technique. My only concern at this point is that the point has already started to bend and I've only had the knife for one day.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
New Age Viking With No Ship
texas, earth
Aug 26, 2012
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard
cold steel steal
huge heavy sharp chuck of metal, tried to loosen a screw with it bent the tip, so while not tool grade, it could still destroy anything made of flesh, easy to sharpen and feels good in the hand.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chris
Connecticut
Dec 30, 2010
Pros: Materials, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Waiting for Sheath
I bought this for my brother because he likes throwing anything that has a blade on it. The steel is resilient, as it ought to be, and flexes instead of breaking, even in cold weather. I'm upset however that knifecenter didn't ship me a sheath with the product. Also, although it may be unavoidable, the blade is chipped from hitting rocks, better chipped then snapped in half though i suppose.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Clayton T.
Aiken, SC
Sep 06, 2012
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Still Learning
Just got this in the mail. Never thrown a knife in my life, so I can't be too helpful. But it hasn't broken and its fun, so... yea, good buy.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Hal
Rockville
Apr 13, 2010
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Tough and sharp throwing knoves
These knives are enjoyable to practice your throwing skills. While these knives are clearly marked "made in China," they seem to come with a relatively good edge and that has help up pretty well after the initial practice session. The sheaths are very functional and make this a pretty inexpensive and fun knife to have around the camp and in th ewoods.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ken
texas
Dec 19, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Nice Basic Knife
Gave as a Christmas Present. Sharp out of the box..nice weight ,seemed balanced..flimsy sheath
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Woodsman Lt
west Virginia
Feb 14, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
cant own just one
Throws great steel could be a little better but i like it alot good knive sharp durables nicks alot when u miss
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jake
Germany
Apr 15, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
CS TFT 12''
This is a great knife for the price. If you are looking for a budget survival blade - give this one or the GI Tanto a chance! I am a beginner when it comes to knife throwing. A complete rookie. Had my first throws with this knife and I learn faster than I had expected. The only thing I cannot do with it is a no-spin throw. But that may be just practise. The cord wrap hold up great so far. The knife came pretty sharp. I dinged the tip and got a chip in the blade after about 20 throws as the knife hit some rock. I suck at sharpening but it took only about 5-10 minutes to fix the tip with a small Fallkniven DC-4 (finer ceramic side). The steel is pretty soft, won't hold an edge long, very easy to sharpen. Perfect for a thrower or hard-use beater. This knife also excels at batoning. It is too light and the handle a bit too thin to be a good chopper. The only thing I don't like that much is the "CHINA" thing. If you decide to buy one - don't just buy one, buy at least three! It sucks to go get the knife after each throw.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Cliff
Melbourne Fl
May 24, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Great out of the box!
The product was great right out of the box. I was able to stick it in a post with ease. Even bounced it if a concrete block with no ill effect to the knife. Bluing did start to come off after repeated use but that's not a big deal to me. Handle paracord nice feature just in case you need some cord. Sheaths are a little on the flimsy side but do the job.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Gw
virginia
Dec 29, 2009
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, None
Great knife
I like this knife as it is a good throwing knife for the price and the handle/sheath allow you to use it for other purposes. The weight and balance are both good.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
David Odonnell
poolesville md
May 05, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
coldsteel true flight
use as practice thrower great balance with a strong tip paracord handles rip fast
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Roy H
Greeley, CO
Jun 27, 2012
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
MADE IN CHINA
The knives are fine, really tired of getting made in china stuff though. Most likely will not hold up because of the China thing though so I am not expecting much. The finiah is very industrial and not impressive. The weight is good, cord on the handle wont last but looks good. The sheath is cheap.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Danny
South Carolina
Feb 12, 2016
Pros: Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Blade Material
Fun thrower but weak tip
THE PROS: I got the knife from my brother as a gift several years ago. I loved the weight, balance, and the size above anything else about the knife. It was fairly easy to establish a solid consistent throwing rhythm with it and when it stuck, it stuck. THE CON: After having the knife for about 6 months and only having thrown it for about half an hour a week (on average), a day came when I hit my target (a soft, slightly decomposing stump of pine wood) and the tip actually broke. And it wasn't a matter of the blade flexing to the side or anything, it stuck into the target and as I pulled it out, the tip simply separated from the blade! I've always loved Cold Steel, and I've had overall great experiences with their throwing knives, but this one was a bit more of a disappointment. But a simple few passes on the grind wheel and I had a new, more 'stout' tip to the blade that hasn't flexed or broken yet, so the knife is definitely still good for throwing. But for 20+ bucks, I don't think you should even have to worry about minor fixes or mods on a throwing knife from such a well-reputed company. Overall, an OKAY throwing knife.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 2 stars out of 5
Mike
NJ
Oct 28, 2017
Pros:
Cons:
Broke In Half
Threw it a couple times, then i snapped in two at the handle
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 1 stars out of 5
Marton
Budapest
Sep 12, 2016
Pros:
Cons:
low quality
After around 10 throws it snapped into two. I could not believe it.
Cold Steel 80TFTC True Flight Thrower 12" Throwing Knife, Cord Wrap Handle
rated 1 stars out of 5
Jake
BAFB LA
Sep 25, 2011
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Materials, Sheath/Scabbard
huge disapiontment
i love to throw knives and have been doing it for about ten years now and was looking for a perfect thrower. i bought the true flight because people repeatedly said that it is unbreakable and one of cold steels selling points is how tough there knives are. well after just two days of owing the knife and just one throwing session the tip of the knife just broke off in my target i was not even throwing it hard.