Reviews and Ratings for Cold Steel 90FH Frontier Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall

Cold Steel 90FH Frontier Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overallrated 4.393 stars out of 5 (28 reviews)
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
15
4 star
12
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
1
Cold Steel 90FH Frontier Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22 inch Overall

 

Price: $26.95

Save $18.04 (40%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Cold Steel 90FH Frontier Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Daniel S.
Eagan, MN
Mar 29, 2012
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Solid Hawk
I've been using this hatchet for anything from chopping down small trees to just throwing it in the backyard for at least three years. The carbon steel is very good but the handle will brake. I've been glueing it back together and that seems to be working. The tapered handle is a very good design. I've been thinking about making my own handle to replace the one that I've cracked. I'm not a woodworker but we'll see. Overall, very good throwing hatchet. I unwaveringly recommend it.
Cold Steel 90FH Frontier Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Marcus
Utah
Apr 01, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Head Material
Cons: None
great hawk for the buck!
We bought this hawk to throw at logs in the back yard. We will also be wearing it at Rendezvous, so we stripped the paint off to make it look more period. So far, we are not disappointed. The wood handle is straight and tough enough to survive several missed throws. The blade only required a little fine tuning and is holding up fine. I will be buying more for my scout troop!
Cold Steel 90FH Frontier Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jon G.
Sherrard, Il.
Aug 14, 2012
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Cold Steel Hawk Tomahawk
Great tomahawk for throwing or general use.
Cold Steel 90FH Frontier Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ben B.
western MT
Mar 20, 2013
Pros: Construction, Balance, Weight, Head Material
Cons: None
Love the Frontier Hawk
Indispensable bush tool. I use this hawk for a multitude of purposes when spending time outdoors. Not only for chopping wood, trimming debris, bush craft chores, survival, dragging game out, throwing, etc. Steel is strong and holds a great edge. This hawk put a deep dent in another hawk, when throwing, and did not suffer a blemish to the blade.Hardy hickory handles hold up well to use and abuse.The only concern is the head wants to slip, but after minor work, holds steady. Great look, feel, and balance. The frontier hawk is my personal favorite of the CS hawks. Not a tool I leave at home when out in the wilds of MT!
Cold Steel 90FH Frontier Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gibbyg
Imperial, Pa
Nov 05, 2016
Pros: Handle Material, Balance, Weight, Head Material
Cons: None
Fantastic tool, beyond original expectations.
Bought this on a whim with rewards points from another distributor (although I am a faithful customer to knifecenter and have never been disappointed by price or service). It has quickly become the go-to tool for chores. Removed set screw, sharpened, refinished handle, and it is a pleasure to use. Chopping, pruning, even light splitting... Holds an edge and its light weight makes it a swift and efficient tool. Choke up under the beard and its an effective 'push knife' for feather sticks and detail work. Would make an ideal camping/survival companion. And for the price and a little elbow grease, it is a fine tool.
Cold Steel 90FH Frontier Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Clutch
South Georgia
May 25, 2011
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Very Nice And Useful Product!
The Frontier Hawk has a well balanced and lightweight advantage...3 1/4" cutting edge is excellent! Hickory handle is solid and well shaped!
Cold Steel 90FH Frontier Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Carey
Cincinnati
Jun 01, 2011
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Cold Steel Frontier Hawk sticks 1st throw
Love the hawk. I had thrown as a kid, and hadn't done it in 30 years. As soon as I got home from work, and saw package had arrived my 13 yr old and I went out back. I had built a target after ordering, my first throw THUNK! My son's first throw same. The head had good sharpness out of box, and very good balance. Grandpa and neighbor kids have come over too. we are now playing games and cutting string as we get better. Great hawk at value price, highly recommend.
Cold Steel 90FH Frontier Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tatankaohitika1
Jacksonville , Florida
Jan 03, 2011
Pros: Balance, Construction, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Handle Material, None
Excellent Tool / Weapon
I used this tomahawk to fell an 8 inch thick Hickory tree very easily . It is very light weight , but is heavy enough for rough work like splitting wood . The blade is smaller than I thought , but it is razor sharp and holds edge very well . The head came somewhat loose , but easy to tighten . I reinforce the head underneath with tight rawhide . I highly recommend this tool as it is cheap but effective and durable .
Cold Steel 90FH Frontier Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Marcus
Utah
May 11, 2015
Pros: Weight, Construction, Handle Material
Cons: None
Frontier Hawk
I really like the look and feel of this hawk. After making a few adjustments to the head and handle I had a great friction fit and don't need the set pin. This is a great hawk for the price!
Cold Steel 90FH Frontier Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dennis M
schenectady ny
Oct 03, 2012
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
feels great
Cold Steel 90FH Frontier Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ben B.
western MT
Mar 20, 2013
Pros: Construction, Balance, Weight, Head Material
Cons: None
Love the Frontier Hawk
Indispensable bush tool. I use this hawk for a multitude of purposes when spending time outdoors. Not only for chopping wood, trimming debris, bush craft chores, survival, dragging game out, throwing, etc. Steel is strong and holds a great edge. This hawk put a deep dent in another hawk, when throwing, and did not suffer a blemish to the blade.Hardy hickory handles hold up well to use and abuse.The only concern is the head wants to slip, but after minor work, holds steady. Great look, feel, and balance. The frontier hawk is my personal favorite of the CS hawks. Not a tool I leave at home when out in the wilds of MT!
Cold Steel 90FH Frontier Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vegemite
Oakland, CA
Jul 11, 2011
Pros: Construction, Head Material, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Good, simple, useful
Like a good knife, this hawk is both a tool and a weapon. I don't throw or practice self defense with it, but I'm sure it will do well given its light weight. I've been using it as a woods tool, and I really love its simplicity and function. The first thing I did was ditch the set screw, de-burr the eye and sand the handle for a nice friction fit. Centrifugal force prevents it from loosening while chopping; I've had it come loose while batoning through tough wood, but it's easy to slide the handle back on and get back to work. It's nice to be able to break it down and pack it into tight spaces, like my kayak. The factory edge needs a little work (remember this is under $30). I sharpened mine on a cheap stone and now it carves fine feather sticks. It is very efficient cutting and splitting wrist sized wood and making kindling. It took hard whacks with a baton no problem. I also squared up one of the edges to throw sparks with a fire steel. I made a sheath out of a milk carton and applied olive oil to the handle, and now it's good to go. This is a low cost, high value item.
Cold Steel 90FH Frontier Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Summit55
Tacoma, Wa
Apr 11, 2011
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Move over heavy bowie knife!
Been using this thing hard since I got it 2 weeks ago. Out of the box it was ok sharp but could see the machine marks and was uneven side to side. Trued it up using the yellow smith diomond stone followed with the fine grit red stone.Found the best way to sharpen is remove head from handle and hold as if sharpening a planer blade.Almost as sharp as a large knife with a good carbon blade.
Cold Steel 90FH Frontier Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jesse S
Alaska
Jul 02, 2015
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Men's throwing competition!
Using the 90FH 22" hawk in a men's throwing competition. Great balance, fun to throw! Need to throw hawks one at a time so you don't split the handle of the hawk stuck in the target! Remember to order extra handles!
Cold Steel 90FH Frontier Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
James G
Knoxville TN,
Feb 09, 2013
Pros: Head Material, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: Balance, None
I bought this product second hand at a swap meet and all in all the best hatchet tomahawk ive bought. Tough as nails, Great steel, easy to throw, keeps a great edge. I carry it when ever i go in the woods as well in the cab of my tracter trailer. i love this product look forward to buying more products like this.
Cold Steel 90FH Frontier Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Patrick A.
Roanoke, Va
Jan 23, 2012
Pros: Balance, Handle Material, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Construction, None
Nice
I use this from throwing to camping. I did remove the coating and re finished the stock. the only thing I have a problem with is that you have to whittle down the top otherwise the only thing that holds the tomahawk head in place is that little pin in the back.
Cold Steel 90FH Frontier Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chris
Starkville, MS
Jul 31, 2013
Pros: Handle Material, Balance, Weight, Head Material
Cons: None
Cool lil headbuster!
Its a cool little axe. definitely a good project. don't expect it to be awesome out of the box doesn't take much work to turn it a tomahawk on par with alot more expensive tomahawks.
Cold Steel 90FH Frontier Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Philip
Milwaukee, WI
Aug 02, 2013
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
This is a fantastic tool! I bought my frontier hawk to serve as a project piece, throwing hawk, and camping tool, and I can certainly say that Cold Steel did not disappoint. I customized mine by stripping off the black coating, refinishing the wooden handle, and by adding a wrap just under the hawk head for aesthetic appeal. I am extremely happy with the finished product, and I would strongly recommend it. I wouldn't select this for log splitting, simply because of its lighter weight and shorter handle, but that's not what a hawk is designed for. Nevertheless, I think that in some scenarios, this hawk can serve as a very functional tool for firecraft/bushcraft. No one wants to lug around a 10 lb axe on a twenty mile hike. The frontier hawk supplies a lightweight, mobile solution. As far as throwing, I really couldn't ask for more. It bits deep and balances well.
Cold Steel 90FH Frontier Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jesse
Mayerthorpe alberta canada
May 13, 2014
Pros: Balance, Handle Material, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Construction, None
Fine tomahawk
The only thing i didnt like about the tomahawk was that the head was loose on the handle but with a little sanding and getting rid of the set screw the head fits nice and tight on the handle.
Cold Steel 90FH Frontier Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Daniel S.
Eagan, MN
May 23, 2012
Pros: Balance, Handle Material, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Construction, None
I realized I reviewed this product earlier, because I thought it was the original Cold Steel Frontier Hawk. Although this one is good too, I don't like it as much as the other model (with the 19" handle instead of 22"). The reason I don't like this one as much is the screw in the back. The old 19" has a screw in the side of the head that never affected the tapered handle mechanism at all. I like it that way. The screw in the back of the new 22" one holds the head in place more, but ends up interfering with the tapered handle mechanism. I think I'll just take the screw out when I get a chance.
Cold Steel 90FH Frontier Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Colby D.
Fremont, Oh
Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Head Material, Weight, Balance
Cons: Construction, None
Love this Hawk!...mostly.
I love the weight and feel of this hawk. It is a lighter weight hawk but the longer handle gives it the ability to be a work horse. The balance for throwing is almost perfect as I'm positive anyone can make this hawk stick to a target. I did refinished the handle and the blade to give it a more vintage look and the handle was not a good fit for what is suppose to be a friction fit tool, but the set screw that comes in the blade keeps it in place nicely. Overall....Great hawk for the money...planning on buying another.
Cold Steel 90FH Frontier Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Knut Raen
Tingvoll, Norway
May 10, 2011
Pros: Balance, Handle Material, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Construction, None
Pretty good
I used this as a throwing Axe. it was light, but powerful, and i am really satisfied with it except from one thing! the head is often sliding down the handle. it has this little screw on its back to make it sit still, but it wont! this really annoys me. if that screw wad been working, i would give it a strong 5-stars! maybe am i doing something wrong? idk! service was awesome, and it came from USA to Norway in 1 week!!! impressive!
Cold Steel 90FH Frontier Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Frank
Midland Texas
May 28, 2015
Pros: Balance, Handle Material, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Construction, None
Frontier Hawk Modern Classic
Tomahawks were purchased as presentation gifts. They are well made and solid representations of a frontier classic. Only criticism is the fit of the handle to head. Set screw is required to hold it in place. Not sure how it would hold up under heavy use.
Cold Steel 90FH Frontier Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Justin Belschner
harlingen Texas
Jul 19, 2011
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
fronter hawk
ordered this Hawk last week love it. build a hawk pole in the yard out od old telephone pole 20" Dia sunk three feet in the ground with about 13 feet out of ground . Hawk throws great out of box great deal for the money good handle all Hickory
Cold Steel 90FH Frontier Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Melissa
Jan 06, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: Handle Material
I bought 3 of these for my husband for Christmas. They are great! Except one of the handles arrived damaged and split in half after a few uses.
Cold Steel 90FH Frontier Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Joe R
Dec 27, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Construction, None
Very good relation quality - price. Very customizable.
I just bought this tomahawk to customize it, but it could be use as a tool out of the box with a little sharping time. Good product.
Cold Steel 90FH Frontier Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
John Doe
Anywhere, USA
Sep 26, 2017
Pros: Head Material, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: Balance, None
Solid working tool
Great tomahawk for working. I read a lot of reviews where the head didn't fit like it should have but it has yet to be an issue with me. Used it to chop down a 6in thick tree, didn't break a sweat. Now I don't like this for throwing. For whatever reason it seems to hit on the top of the ax head, connecting where the wood sticks out on top. Still for the price I got can't beat it.
Cold Steel 90FH Frontier Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 3 stars out of 5
Al H
Ca
Oct 15, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: Construction, Handle Material, Head Material
OK for a 25 dollar Tomahawk
Im trying to learn how to throw a tomahawk, so this cheaper one is great for that purpose. Not made in America. Not the best quality.
Cold Steel 90FH Frontier Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk 22" Overall
rated 1 stars out of 5
Joe
Mass
Feb 15, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: Construction, Handle Material, Head Material
Extremely poor quality
Handle and head do not fit .Even with handle fully seated the head is dangerously loose .The factory set the screw as tight as it would go and head would wobble up and down bu almost a half inch.Sliver protruded from handle. Save your money and buy a good USA made Estwing or something that will last.