Reviews and Ratings for Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall

Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overallrated 4.310 stars out of 5 (42 reviews)
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
25
4 star
11
3 star
2
2 star
2
1 star
2
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22 inch Overall

 

Price: $27.95

Save $19.04 (41%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Danny Morris
Delbarton, WV
Oct 12, 2009
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Cold Steel Rifleman's Hawk
When I first opened the box and took this thing out the first thing I thought was "wow, this thing is a bit heavy", but after I got used to the weight of it I took the weight as an advantage because it assists its chopping and throwing ability. I realized that this tomahawk was balanced out better if you held it in a choked up position. That makes it quicker and more comfortable to handle. I've heard many complaints about this hawk but I have none myself. I no longer have mine due to people with sticky fingers but I have a brand new one on the way right now. I would highly recommend this product to anyone who enjoys a good hefty destructing tool. Order one now, because Cold Steel has a bad habit of discontinuing good products.
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kevi
ny
Apr 02, 2012
Pros: Balance, Handle Material, Construction, Head Material
Cons: Weight, None
great
ive chopped wood ive taken down middle sized trees and taken the heads off fish with ease
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jason G
hawaii
Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Construction, Head Material
Cons: None
tomahawk
wonderful fit and finish heavy strong durable. well made. cold steel has gotten sloppy on some of their products but this was top notch.
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jason G
hawaii
Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Construction, Head Material
Cons: None
tomahawk
wonderful fit and finish heavy strong durable. well made. cold steel has gotten sloppy on some of their products but this was top notch.
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Woodsmanturley
kanwha co wv
Nov 07, 2012
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
the best woodsmam tool
When people talk about batoning a knive I laugh because we true woodsmen carry an axe of some sort this is great hawk I shortened the handle 2 18 in I'd rather beat on this than a fine knive lol
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Johnny Walker
Florida
Aug 13, 2009
Pros: Handle Material, Construction, Head Material
Cons: Weight, None
Awesome chopper and splitter
Although a bit hefty, this hawk is an absolute must for any outdoor enthusiast. Took mine to my back 40 the day I got it and used it to chop fire wood. Also couldn't help but throw it a few time. excellent product!
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
American Chopper
Kansas City, MO
Dec 17, 2010
Pros: Balance, Construction, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Handle Material, None
Amazing Chopper
At first I was disappointed with the wood handle, but once I started using it, the tomahawk chopped wonderfully. It can go through a 4" tree like it was nothing. I highly suggest this product to anyone who wants a functional, good looking tomahawk.
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cory
Michigan
Mar 26, 2013
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Boss Hawk
This hawk is incredible. Out of the box it was sharp and ready for action. The Rifleman's Hawk throws perfectly and I can hit almost anything with it and not hurt it. Chops well and effortlessly for it's size and the hammer was able to smash bricks, cinder blocks, block glass, and even small rocks into dust with a single blow. I would highly recommend this hawk to any outdoorsman. Also, I did not need to modify it in any way. The hickory handle is easily replaced if broken and a makeshift handle could be used in an emergency situation. I am repeatedly impressed with the quality of Cold Steel products in general, but this is one of my favorite items on their menu, or any other.
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dfredk
Mil
Apr 30, 2012
Pros: Construction, Head Material, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Not yet used, but appears to be excellent
My purpose for this hawk is a light trail tool so in not worried about throwing it. High quality tool at first look. The blade. Essex work when it arrived, but that seems to. E normal for items like this from any manufacturer. I have yet to see an axe that I liked the factory edge. The steel is a bit difficult to sharpen with only a stone, but it seems to hold an edge well once you get it where you like. The paint is high quality and appears to be fairly thick and durable. Good quality wood in the handle as well. Straight grain in the proper orientation and no knots
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe
Lubbock
Sep 09, 2010
Pros: Construction, Head Material, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Bigger and Heavier than you think
This Tomahawk was a gift for my martial arts instructor. We did some strikes and throws with her against our throwing board. The destruction this thing delivers is amazing. The product arrived well packaged with the blade covered. No flaws were apparent. The handle is sturdy and the head is solid and weighty. This tool will probably out last the owner, very good quality.
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Greg
Durham, NC
Oct 29, 2014
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
The Patriot on Steroids
I bought three other entry Tomahawks that cost 5 times as much and this one works a lot better because its balanced like an axe vs. others that are all steel and awkward balance. This one is great and feels substantial in your hand.
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Todd B.
Columbia SC
Mar 19, 2013
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Great tomahawk at a great price. I refinished the wood handle with a darker stain, removed the screw in the head. It looks and performs better than I thought it would. Very satisfied with this product.
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cr
AZ
Mar 26, 2011
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Excellent
Speedy service and quality product. Very pleased with it overall. The hawk throws well and sticks like a ton of bricks. Also doubles as a good camping ax or when I need to severe limbs from zombies.
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Marcus
Utah
May 11, 2015
Pros: Weight, Handle Material, Head Material
Cons: None
Rifleman's Hawk
This is a great hawk for camping and such! After making some adjustments to the head and the handle I was able to get a great friction fit and don't need the set pin anymore.
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Carl
Radcliff , Ky
Jan 08, 2013
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
THE TOMAHAWK IS A GRETA PRODUCT FOR A DECENT VALUE. I USE THIS PRODUCT TO GIVE TO SOLDIERS THAT TAKE THEM TO AFGANISTAN. THEY USE THEM IN DAY TO DAY OPERATIONS FROM BUILDING STUFF, CUTTING DOWN DOORS AND PERSONAL DEFENSE IN ENGAGEMENTS WITH THE ENEMY. NO NEGATIVE COMMENTS FROM THE TROOPS.
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
George
chicago il.
Jul 01, 2014
Pros: Head Material, Balance
Cons: None
have several cold steel products.they look great coming out the box, and have used several of there products mercilessly while camping(bushman) . will continue to buy cold steel products
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Capndave
Schuylerville NY
Mar 22, 2010
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
one well made product.
This is a well made product.any product ive ever gotten from cold steel has been the utmost quality.I will always buy their products.
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Carl
Colorado
Oct 15, 2015
Pros: Construction, Head Material, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Great Bargain and Awesome Tomahawk
I have not used it much but as an Ironworker I can tell you this is going to get lots of use and last forever! The design with the tapered handle/head that seats the head more securely each time you swing the hawk is unbeatable. The set screw to hiold the head from slipping up the handle is a good idea that time will tell the full tale on. This is a fantastic bargain! Everybody should have one for camping not only for firewood but for self-defense especially at the price!
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joseph W
Norfolk, VA
Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Can not ask for a better chopper!!!
Well balanced, awesome blade, makes any chopping chore so much easier, perfect size and fits perfect beside your ruck.
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kevin
ny
Apr 02, 2012
Pros: Balance, Handle Material, Construction, Head Material
Cons: Weight, None
great
ive chopped wood ive taken down middle sized trees and taken the heads off fish with ease
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Spudnuckle
sydney au
Apr 26, 2011
Pros: Weight, Handle Material, Head Material
Cons: None
great tool
love this hawk!! Enough weight to chop efficiently and chop it does!!
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ryan
Brisbane, AU
Aug 30, 2012
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
I bought this hawk as a hunting/camping tool and it does the job perfectly. Very happy with the quality of the build and materials used, the factory edge is only ok but easily remedied.
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Zachr
Dsm iowa
Mar 15, 2020
Pros: Head Material, Weight, Balance
Cons: Construction, None
Cold steel riflemans hawk
Very heavy powerful head. Comes rough but perfect project hawk. A little tlc this hawk is comparable to the finest production hawks out there.
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
David Bleichroth
Elk Grove, IL
Mar 03, 2010
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Very Awesome
This is an outstanding tool. Much heavier than a hammer, but you get used to it. It's one of the few toys I have purchased my fiance actually likes...Must remember to sleep lightly!
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Justin
Vermont
Nov 11, 2013
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Construction
Great Tomahawk
The Rifleman's hawk axe head alone weighs nearly 3 lbs. Because of this I wouldn't recommend this hawk for throwing unless you are a seriously beefy person. It's great as a utility axe, though. The hammer poll is useful for pounding in stakes or nails or whatever, and the axe blade arrived fairly sharp. As I've noticed with most Cold Steel hawks, the axe head comes loosely attached to the handle and is held on by a small fitting screw. Even through normal use it quickly becomes loose and the screw can damage the handle. I gave this 5 stars because I knew exactly what I was getting: A well-made tomahawk that I would have to put some work into. If you enjoy these kinds of projects any of the Cold Steel hawks are great.
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Matunaagah
The northeastern forests
Dec 10, 2009
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Great belt axe
This tomahawk fills perfectly the niche of a camp axe that is short and light enough for one handed use and for wearing on one's belt, yet long and heavy enough to be comfortable for two handed firewood chopping. It was dull when it arrived, but not nearly so much as axes one would get from the hardware store. 5 minutes with a file and stone brought the edge up to hair-shaving sharpness. I found it performs as well as Snow and Nealley's hudson bay axe, which is of similar size. The edge held up great. The bit is longer than most axes, but I personally did not find this to be awkward. And oh yeah, it was TWENTY-FIVE DOLLARS! Cold steel does it again.
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kevin
Austin, Texas
Mar 29, 2010
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Are there instructions?
There is a hole in the head on the left side, and I don't know the function of this hole. Is it for a locking screw? The head is a little loose, so I'm wondering if the hole is some means by which it can become a tighter fit. I plan on further investigation, as it appears as if there may be a pin or set screw(?) at the bottom of the hole in the head. Have not whacked anything with the blade yet, as I want to make sure it is secure to the best of my ability.
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dagunz
Cassville GA
Apr 03, 2010
Pros: Balance, Handle Material, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Construction, None
Excellent hawk for an excellent price
Bought this for my almost 17 year old son. He immediately put it through it's paces in the woods behind the house. It's tough, well made, takes an edge well. It's well balanced, and chops and throws well. The hammer poll is exceedinly effective and delivers the force of the blow as directed. The hawk head is held securely by what looks like a roll pin through the side of the head into the haft of the weapon. My only possible down comment is that the haft may irreplaceable with this arrangement; I don't know how one would detach a handled and attach a new one. Which I doubt would ever be necessary, since the haft of the hawk seems to be very tough.
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Michael Shore
Fort lawn, sc
Jul 20, 2011
Pros: Balance, Handle Material, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Construction, None
Over all good
I had to make some modifications Such as making it a friction stop and shortening the handle but overall its pretty good
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bad Day
North Florida
Jun 12, 2020
Pros: None
Cons: None
Make It Yours
Stripped the finish off the head and blued it. Threw out the set screw. Sanded down the handle for a good fit then took the torch to it and stained it. Had to take a file to put an edge on it but it's pretty good now. Tried it out and it worked well but figured with a longer handle, it would make a fine camp axe so went ahead and bought the 30" replacement handle. Now it's danged-near perfect. Just gotta put in a little work to make it yours.
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Adam
New York
Jul 09, 2009
Pros: Construction, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Handle Material, None
Excellent for price! A little work made it perfect!
This is a low priced 'hawk from a company I have learned to love. When it came down to it, I knew I would get Cold Steel... just not sure what model. I plan on taking this out into the bush, so I went for the nice sized blade as well as the useful hammer back. Out of the box, its a nice looking deal. Nothing fancy, as indicated by the fairly rough wood handle, loose head, and blemished finish on the metal. But all is not lost... for a mere $20 something dollars, this would be my project. The Hawk reliably sticks quite deep into most tree wood at 10 feet, and cuts very well for its not-so-sharp blade. I was impressed with that aspect. Not too long into my throwing and hacking trials, the head became so loose it shifted position by a few inches on the shaft. After locating the appropriate allen key, the head was reattached very securely. The I ran a schedule of coarse to very fine grit sand paper on damn near the whole shaft, which helped out significantly... but some of the blemishes on the wood are so deep that you still will get your hands cut or stuck on the imperfections. To alleviate this, as well as give a good gripping surface, I cut approx. 14
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Shopper
New york, ny
May 04, 2010
Pros: Head Material, None
Cons: Weight, Balance, Construction
Sturdy!
This tomahawk has a very sturdy feel to it, it does however, feel way too heavy, especially for the kind of handle it has
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
John K
Poughkeepsie,NY
Mar 30, 2012
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Cold Steel Quality
This is my second one(lost the first). Typical Cold Steel quailty. The one thing I would like to change is the shape of the handle,to more of a grip instead of just round.
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jake
Arkansas
Feb 12, 2010
Pros: Head Material, Weight, Balance
Cons: Handle Material, None
Solid Product
I had to tighten the head down to the handle, but overall this hatchet it very sturdy.
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ghettorags
Ft. Hood Tx.
May 19, 2010
Pros: Balance, None
Cons: Weight
I love my rifleman's Tomahawk
It needs to be shipped with a sheath, but other than that it is awesome.
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jeff
Topeka, KS
Sep 20, 2010
Pros: Construction, Handle Material, Head Material
Cons: None
Good looking product
I plan on using this while camping for splitting wood but haven't "field tested" it yet. Seems to be a sturdy product but wish it came with a head sheath. Oh, the American Tomahawk Co. has their products made in Taiwan....... the description should've said that.
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 3 stars out of 5
Rick
California
Jun 03, 2009
Pros: Handle Material, Construction, Head Material
Cons: Weight, Balance, None
Well built, but a bit clumsy
Sturdy and will do the job, and the hammer poll is handy. My only complaints are that the cutting bit seems overly long and throws off the balance, and the hammer poll could be flatter. It is a bit domed and tends to glance off if driving nails or stakes.
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 3 stars out of 5
Consumer
Virginia
Dec 11, 2010
Pros: Weight, Balance, None
Cons: Construction
good for price
Out of the box the blade was loose. Looks like it was put together by someone who didnt have great work ethics. Blade itself is excelent. Handle is o.k. but could use better finishing. Over all good for the money, but will take some modifying out of the box.
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 2 stars out of 5
Paul
NC
Apr 27, 2011
Pros: Head Material, None
Cons: Construction
Loose Head
The head is held on by a hex screw, not friction as it should be. Meaning the hilt is a poor fit, so the head wobbles. I tried tightening the screw and it just went round and round. Now I'm trying to figure out how to back it out. Also it does not come sharpened, minor inconvience considering I can't use the thing.
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 2 stars out of 5
Bill From Greece
athens/greece
May 01, 2011
Pros: Head Material, Handle Material, None
Cons: Construction, Weight
failed
disapointed because of non/bad fitting i never used it. wish you inspected the items before shipping.
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 1 stars out of 5
Jay
NC
Sep 20, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: Head Material, Balance
Don't waste your money
Garbage all I can say.
Cold Steel 90RH Rifleman's Hawk Drop Forged Tomahawk & Hammer 22" Overall
rated 1 stars out of 5
Will
Colorado Mountains
Mar 22, 2019
Pros: Head Material, None
Cons: Construction, Balance, Handle Material
Don’t buy-
Decent steel and edge....after that nothing is right. The head is loose and sloppy even with the set screw. Sure I can fix this but it should come secured. The wood grain alignment to the head is at best 15 degrees off which isn’t bad for show but not for a use/tool grade My opinion is the balance is off. Perhaps this is due to a fairly skinny handle (I have “average men’s size hands M/L). For the price you might luck into a better one but I’m going to toss into my “fix later box.” I’ve had good luck with KnifeCenter in the past so I don’t fault them and won’t waste their/my time on sending it back.