THIS WEEKEND: FREE 2-3 DAY SHIPPING ORDERS > $95 Details

KnifeCenter strives to provide individuals with disabilities access to its products and services, including through an accessible website. If you have questions, comments, or encounter any difficulty in using this site, please e-mail info@knifecenter.com or call - (800) 338-6799

Skip to main content

This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By using our website you consent to our Cookie Policy.

THIS WEEKEND: FREE 2-3 DAY SHIPPING ORDERS > $95 Details

Reviews and Ratings for Cold Steel 95FS Assegai Spear with Short Shaft 38" Overall, Secure-Ex Sheath

Cold Steel 95FS Assegai Spear with Short Shaft 38" Overall, Secure-Ex Sheath4.273 (11 reviews)
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
6
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Cold Steel 95FS Assegai Spear with Short Shaft 38 inch Overall, Secure-Ex Sheath

 

Price: $44.95

Save $30.04 (40%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Cold Steel 95FS Assegai Spear with Short Shaft 38" Overall, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
American Chopper
Kansas City, MO
May 26, 2012
Pros: Materials, Finish, Handle Material, Head Material, Overall Quality, Usability
Cons: None
Great Spear, Deadly Sharp
This is one scary weapon. I can see now why the Zulus were so effective in battle with this spear. The blade is very long for the overall size, which allows the user to stab, as the intended purpose, and also cut, slash, and chop. I did not believe a spear could chop, but it slices though saplings almost as well as my machetes. This thing came shaving sharp, it has given me the deepest cut out of all my collection! Be very careful when cleaning the blade, the double edge can really bite down deep. The point is very uniform and all four sides come together very nicely. The point is also very strong, I have thrown it into cardboard boxes, trees, and two by fours, and the point is as sharp as ever. The only issue I have with this spear is that it was a pain in the butt to assemble, but when I finally got it together, the work was well worth it. I wish that they sold the secure-ex sheath when I bought mine. This is one excellent weapon, you won't regret getting one.
Cold Steel 95FS Assegai Spear with Short Shaft 38" Overall, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Michael
Navarre, Fl
Jul 06, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Fun toy!
I just thought this would be cool to have as a conversation piece, or something to put next to my bed at night. I like the compact size, and HUGE blade. I attached a 6 inch paracord strand (handle) to the sheath to make it easier to remove. I pull across my chest, and it works fine. For what you pay, the quality/craftsmanship is fine.
Cold Steel 95FS Assegai Spear with Short Shaft 38" Overall, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Mike P.
Goose Creek, SC
May 25, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Originally Just for the wall of my man-cave
I got it at first for a colllectible for my collection of edged weapons. I then put a razor finish on it and it became a great snake killer for the woods, and around the house. Sometimes it isn't cool to let a shotgun round off! A true and useable edged weapon from history, with true capability as a weapon, not some flea market crap! As with most everything, I used my box of stainless steel wood screws from Lowes, rather than the supplied pot metal screws.
Cold Steel 95FS Assegai Spear with Short Shaft 38" Overall, Secure-Ex Sheath
5 out of 5
Josh W
Collinsville, OK
Nov 02, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: None
Great weapon! i have thrown this spear into pigs and targets and the tips and the blade are still awsome. i have no problem with this weapon. very eaasy to sharpen if you even need to and it is very sharp out of the box. i would recemend this spear to pig hunters and or people who just throw these into a target. be careful near the edge because these will slice your finger off! the only thing that was hard for me is putting on the spear head. and i wish they would have put a sheath with it to. otherwise everything is awsome!
Cold Steel 95FS Assegai Spear with Short Shaft 38" Overall, Secure-Ex Sheath
4 out of 5
Big C
Marysville, WA
Jan 03, 2013
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Head Material, Overall Quality
Cons: Finish, None
Wicked
These spears are wicked, but not complete. They arrive in three pieces: shaft, head, and kydex sheath. You're also give two pathetic screws with which to attach the head to the shaft. Spend 50 cents at Home Depot and get some real screws. Also, the shaft requires a touch of sanding to get the shaft small enough fully seat in the head. Also, it needs to be sanded after seating in order to not warp the sheath. Really, those are minor problems. Because these spears are wicked. And where else are you going to find something like this? The heads are a full handspan long, arrive sharpened and greased, and with a point that I drove through all four layers of the cardboard box it arrived in, from a seated position. The metal is sturdy, and nicely welded where it wraps around to grip the shaft. It's actually quite a professional welding job, steady hand and good finish. The blade is thick, and will no doubt stand up to a great deal of punishment. More than I'm likely to deal out, anyway.
Cold Steel 95FS Assegai Spear with Short Shaft 38" Overall, Secure-Ex Sheath
4 out of 5
Chachee
S/W Michigan
Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Materials, Finish, Handle Material, Head Material, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Usability
Nice, but sheath needs work.
Overall very nice. Excellent Cold Steel Temper so spear flexes. Cons: Handle diameter is a little bit small for me. Difficult & slow to get spear in & out of sheath. (Tight fit)
Cold Steel 95FS Assegai Spear with Short Shaft 38" Overall, Secure-Ex Sheath
4 out of 5
Truckolove
Mt
Jan 03, 2018
Pros:
Cons:
Great weapon
Nioce
Cold Steel 95FS Assegai Spear with Short Shaft 38" Overall, Secure-Ex Sheath
4 out of 5
John R
maryland
Apr 30, 2013
Pros: Usability, Overall Quality, Head Material, Materials, None
Cons: Handle Material, Finish
6ft spear assegai
sharp as a razor it will be a good hunting spear
Cold Steel 95FS Assegai Spear with Short Shaft 38" Overall, Secure-Ex Sheath
4 out of 5
Kirk C
Kentucky
Aug 29, 2018
Pros:
Cons:
Good but like to see more options
Bought 2 long before they came with a sheath.would like to see them market the sheath separately and a couple of handle options like a larger poly-propylene and a textured solid aluminum. The cheap wooden ones that come with them are of questionable durability.
Cold Steel 95FS Assegai Spear with Short Shaft 38" Overall, Secure-Ex Sheath
4 out of 5
Bini Louis
Montois La Montagne,
Nov 06, 2011
Pros: Head Material
Cons: None
Great spear!
Cold Steel 95FS Assegai Spear with Short Shaft 38" Overall, Secure-Ex Sheath
3 out of 5
Robert
Los Angeles Ca.
Dec 06, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Finish
Expected better fit and finish from Cold Steel products
I could not fit the handle (with a poor finish) all the way into the blade shaft.Plus when I got it in as far as I could , it would bind up in the sheath and would not pull out. So either the handle has to be poorly attached or you cannot use the sheath. I ended up cutting away some of the back of the sheath. The blade is fine and the design is perfect but the assembled product looks like a flea market item.