Reviews and Ratings for Cold Steel 97TKMS Tactical Katana Machete 24" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath - 97TKMZ

Cold Steel 97TKMS Tactical Katana Machete 24" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheathrated 4.240 stars out of 5 (25 reviews)
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
10
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
1
Cold Steel 97TKMS Tactical Katana Machete 24 inch Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath

 

Price: $41.95

Save $28.04 (40%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Cold Steel 97TKMS Tactical Katana Machete 24" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Aj
MN
Aug 21, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Best Cold Steel Sword Machete
I am really glad to finally have this machete after preordering for about 4 months. It was worth the wait. I like CS's offering these sword like machetes with affordable prices. They are far better than any other swords in the price range and have the right material to prevent them breaking under serous use. I find all the machetes I have bought from South Africa to need some simple honing with a stone. The one of I got free from the wonderful knifecenter worked just fine. All I do is take off the burrs of the edge till it feels smooth on both sides. It will cut paper smoothly, but I couldn't shave with it unless I did a full resharpen. I love the thoughtfulness of the sheath design. Always been happy with that. The most important thing is the balance and feel of his katana like machete. It is great. I for one, among others love the molded polypropylene handle. It looks great and feels good for my hands. The balance of this machete is also surprising good.I love the inclusion of a full tsuba (guard). I own so many CS machete's, both utility and pure fighting based. This is definitely the one I cherish most. Thanks Cold Steel!
Cold Steel 97TKMS Tactical Katana Machete 24" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Shinja
Romania
Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish
Cons: None
VERY GOOD combination
This seems to be a great combination of the "heavy" japanese katana and the "light" machete. Actually this "combination" is a very great idea. (it reminds me of a Ninja-To) The sizes of the blade and the handle are very well thought and made. I can only imagine how many techniques can be done and be developed with this great piece of "weapon". Of course it's NOT for everyone and it's NOT a toy! The sheath is also very well thought and made. This is truly what it says: a TACTICAL Katana Machete. I can't see the handguard (tsuba) from the pictures but I hope that too is well made as the whole machete. It would have been good to be made round as the katana handguards (tsuba). I just can't wait to finally hold it in my hands. It will be one of my most appreciated items. (I train in japanese sword arts for years and I have owned some great and very good quality katanas too)
Cold Steel 97TKMS Tactical Katana Machete 24" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Callen
Somewhere, Texas
Sep 14, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: None
HANDLE COMFORT GRIPES
Hey all, On this machete, a lot of folks are complaining about the feel of the handle and I have a solution that I think is better than taping it up or resorting to gloves. If you get some paracord, about 3/16" diameter or so, you can weave a wrap around the handle, just going into the hollows in the polypropylene, and end up with a much more comfortable, and therefore manageable grip. Me and my guys found it best to start at the tsuba/guard and secure it at the lanyard hole at the end of the handle. It makes a world of difference!
Cold Steel 97TKMS Tactical Katana Machete 24" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Paul
North Carolina
Jun 06, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: None
Cold Steel 97TKMS
I also join in to offset the first foolish review. Blaming others for his lack of knowledge is laughable at best. I emailed Colt Steel before my order of 4-20-15 and asked when the Tactical Katana Machete would ship. I promptly received an email back saying mid to late 3rd quarter. I then KNOWINGLY made my pre-order. Knife Center has also emailed me twice so far with updates to the pre-order. Thanks for a great job!
Cold Steel 97TKMS Tactical Katana Machete 24" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe
NH
Jun 01, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: None
superb
I join the effort to offset a poor reader. It may be a language issue as he wrote "pretty" vs preorder. My cold steel chinese war sword machete was a pre order and it took about 60 days to receive. It was $ for $ a superior value. I am certain that their tactical katana machete will be a superior value as well, I have just pre ordered one for that reason. These are fully functional for use beyond "just a machete", I would characterize this as a great "first sword".
Cold Steel 97TKMS Tactical Katana Machete 24" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jay
New York
May 30, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: None
The reviewer below me needs a reality check
The reviewer below me obviously doesn't understand the concept of a pre-order. These take time to manufacture and ship. I'm giving this a 5 star rating to counter his low rating because it's not fair to give a product a low rated review simply because you cant read and don't understand how a pre-order process works.
Cold Steel 97TKMS Tactical Katana Machete 24" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kevin Gunner Calley
Richmond, Ks
Sep 22, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
This blade is Gnarly!
There is Nothing to dislike about this machete! Well made, sharp as a razor, right out the box! It will do just about anything you want to do with it!
Cold Steel 97TKMS Tactical Katana Machete 24" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ryder
NJ
Aug 04, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
This thing is Diesel
When I was ordering this I was afraid it might be cheap & plastic-y... but it's not. Feels almost like a real katana, high quality polymer handle, steel guard, super strong blade. The blade is pretty thick but still has a tiny bit of flex to it. Definitely feels solid & quality. I chopped into some small dead trees with it, this thing's like an axe, without so much as a dent in the edge. I cut a small tree in half with this around 1-2 inches thick. Glides thru regular brush or plants. Serious cutting power. Thrusting power is no joke either. Can easily be weilded with one hand, not too heavy... it's a little tip heavy due to the light polymer handle but not too bad if you have some stregth. Some people were complaining about the bumpy handle (it's not wrapped it's just solid plastic). I had no issues with it... it is a little bumpy but that also improves the grip- there's no way this thing is slipping out of your hands. Anyway if it bothers you that much just wear some gloves ya pansies! My only complaint is I wish the sheath were a little more katana-like... but still a good sheath. Can't really complain for this quality at $40... thats the price of a mid range pocket knife, and you're getting a fully functional battle ready katana. Excellent cutting or beater katana if you dont want to mess up or sharpen your nice ones. Also great for trimming bushes & doing yard work! A lot more fun than a clipper!
Cold Steel 97TKMS Tactical Katana Machete 24" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Darrell C
Maryville, Tn.
Nov 25, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Figured it would be a Cheap kinda Toy.. IT is NOT.. this is some kinda Nice.. as a short Sword or a nice Machete.... Strong Good Metal .. Really Impressed with it....
Cold Steel 97TKMS Tactical Katana Machete 24" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matthew
Sault Ste Marie, MI
Aug 23, 2015
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Dual wielding Fun
Now I pre-ordered 2 of these back in March from this website (thank you knife center for giving us that option). The wait for my blades was worth it and when I finally got them, I was very happy. Since I moved on the day I ordered these, I had them shipped to where I work. So. . . Moving on about the blades. The blade is very good, as well as the handle. I would recommend those of you who have/get this machete is to wear gloves. The handle will dig into your hand and could slip out of your grip, but its still good. I'll be wrapping my handles with some paracord or black hockey tape. The sheath was some what a let down just because it wasn't like the one shown In the picture. That to I can fashion to my liking and comfort. All that needs to be done is to play with the sheath to see where your comfortable with it at. For those who are left handed, it'll work out for ya. Those that are right handed like myself, I tweeked the sheath to make sit on my lower back and hooked up an extra shoulder strap to it. All in all this is a very nice blade and very happy with it. Also I'm thankful again to knife center for allowing the pre-order, because now these are on back order again on the cold steel website. I'll be ordering from these guys again very soon.
Cold Steel 97TKMS Tactical Katana Machete 24" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hollywood
Winston Salem, NC
Jul 07, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great sword
Good sword for what it is built for and fully functional. I don't want to reiterate what everyone else has said but I will conclude the first reviewers comment... It's not a toy and made for practical use... What does a 13 year old need a machette for?!? Oh that's right, I forgot someone failed parenting 101.
Cold Steel 97TKMS Tactical Katana Machete 24" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Doug B
Ventnor City, Jersey Shore
Aug 21, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Everything expected from a COLD Steel Product
This was everything I expected from a COLD STEEL product. Out of the box sharp, this melee weapon is the ultimate hybrid of a sword and machete and its uses are only limited by the user. My only disappointment was the sheath. It is not the one pictured with the pre-order images and there is a horizontal cutout that the guard gets stuck on when you try to draw the katana out. Sheaths are always an after thought and I will have a kydex one made for mine.
Cold Steel 97TKMS Tactical Katana Machete 24" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Gatorlord
NE Florida
Aug 21, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Pretty Good with Some Work - v2.0 Needed
OK, I finally got my hands on this bad boy on August 20th, 2015 after waiting forever since the launch tease. Once Brown put the box in my hands I jumped right to it. Un-boxing found the piece in its sheath inside a plastic bag secured with a folded paper peg hanger label on one end. Very minimalist. Removing the machete (sword) from the over-the-back-mall-ninja sheath is a little tricky since they had to make a cutout in it to allow for the circular metal hand guard to clear. More on this later. In the hand, the blade felt heavy for its length. It's a 35.2 oz, 24" blade with a 12" full tang handle, magnet verified to the butt. The handle is probably the single worst I've ever gripped and using it just confirmed that 10x over. In an attempt to make the machete look mall ninja cool, like it has some kind of traditional wrapping, several ergonomic mistakes were made. The handle is also made of polypropylene, which is very shock transmissive to me. Mind you, I am exactly on the American average for men; 5'9", M-L gloves, so again the ergos on the handles got seriously whacked in the marketing dept. The sharp, protruding 'wrap' features are painful in use, and when combined with the handles width and hardness make it difficult to get a good secure and comfortable grip. As such, when the blade makes contact at anything other than a perfect angle, it tends to twist axially in your hand and jam those little wrap things into you. This hurts, is fatiguing, and dangerous. So, the bad news is form follows function and CS got that part totally backwards, and the handle is polypropylene. The good news is the handle is polypropylene, is reshape-able, you probably have a hack saw or file, and the ergonomics can be corrected in less than an hour. 80% or so in about 10 minutes. I'll tell you what I did below. You will thank me for it. The blade is wide and slightly thicker than most CS machetes (2.8mm vs typical 2.0mm). The edge is much better than other offerings from their South Africa plant. I believe it was sharpened at Ventura, CA...although why after all these years they can't get it right at SA is a mystery. The edge however was still not satisfactory and required minor reprofiling, which vastly improved its performance. Once I lined up my unlimited supply of practice dummies, aka palmettos, palms and scrub oaks, I found that the handle is absolutely abysmal and the edge was in need of work. After just a dozen or so fronds, my hands and wrist ached terribly and only one frond was a one stroke sever one-handed, with the other two being two-handed. All the rest were butcher cuts and very shocky to my hand. I have other CS machetes that fly through this stuff one-handed without any discomfort. i live and work on a park in Florida, so I expect a lot from expensive machetes. Ergo, fail. I was pi**ed. Seriously. After all this waiting. Blade retired for the day to contemplate a return. After sleeping on it, I decided to reprofile the edge with a Presto Eversharp that does a great job on CS machetes and did again. 5 minute job tops. A few passes on both sides put a nice secondary bevel on the edge and a quick steeling smoothed that out afterwards. The secondary bevel allows material to be pushed away from the primary bevel and cuts down on drag and effort...some good oil helps too. The blade has more of a sword balance at only 3.75" from the hilt and the center of percussion was found in a pretty narrow band about 1" wide, 6" from the tip or 4.5" from the tanto angle. Machetes typically are more blade heavy and forward, this is a sword. These data helped radically improve the cuts during testing the next morning. I love 1055 spring steel blades, but the price is paid in harmonics that have to be managed. Finding the center of percussion allows for striking at the point where the harmonics are least with the primary hand in grip position. This made for another vast improvement in cutting and shock transmission. The trifecta was when I decided to take a hacksaw and fix the handle into something more comfortable, ergonomic, and actually useable. Here's how I did it and some tips learned on the way: Get a hacksaw and a block of wood and go outside or in the garage; you're about to make a mess of tiny chips. Now, with the point of the blade in a block of wood on the ground and the butt anchored by your sternum, saw off the wrap protrusions until flush with the side of the handle. This takes a few minutes and makes a world of difference. Now, with gloved hands, grip the sword as you would to use it...tightly, just like you were about to make contact. Note anywhere you have an uncomfortable pressure point, note its location and with the same technique, use the hacksaw now as a rasp and remove just a little material at a time to make the handle more comfortable. It helps to actually take some swings at material to see if any little chafe points show up, if so, then rasp a little more until both hands are comfortable and secure. Once these three things were done, the machete became a useable sword and using sword technique, I began cutting fronds like they were made out of butter. Single handed, two handed, off handed...we're good. Little to no hand shock or twisting and much less effort for the work done. So why 4-stars: It's kind of a sword and kind of a machete, but not really great at either. For about the same money, you can get a fit-for-purpose carbon steel sword of this style that will handle better and have a better handle. However, if buying swords for some 'apocalyptic' scenario, 600 year old designs would rank low. For machete work, I would pick it last of the ones I already own. It's just too heavy for the volume of work I do. I can get two CS machetes that work faster with less effort for the price. Then there's the whole handle and useless over-the-back sheath business. So, all-in-all I got a neat project beater WaKatana-chete for a couple of Jacksons. I'm good, but probably wouldn't do it over again.
Cold Steel 97TKMS Tactical Katana Machete 24" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jibronator
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 22, 2015
Pros: Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
Pleased with the price
In many of the reviews I read, folks complained about the blade sharpness and the handle material, but for 40 bucks, I thought I'd give it a shot. The Blade: Straight out of the box the katana machete looked like it was shaped by a 40grit belt,and that's it. No finishing passes, no finer grits, just shape and go. It had deep grooves running down the blade edge and the symmetry of the bevel was done with little care. I didn't even bother to test it on anything, the blade was set up to hack at small limbs and that about it. So, I went to work on sharpening the blade. First step was to take out all grooves running perpendicular to the edge and fix the symmetry of the bevel. Next, sharpen to a 240 grit finish (remember this is a machete). After hours of shaping and sharpening this bad boy slices and dices; cuts branches, Palm fronds, water bottles, and even cuts sheets of paper. A little work to get the blade in shape but come on it's a Katana Machete...for 40 bucks! The Handle: Yes it's polypropylene, yes it's firm. Didn't bother this man's hands. Maybe I just have manly hands... The sheath is kind of hokie, in the way it needs to be manipulated to get the machete out, but it does keep it secure in there, so I'm kind of neutral on that.
Cold Steel 97TKMS Tactical Katana Machete 24" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bob M
san diego ca
Sep 22, 2015
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Materials, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
i am happy with both of them. they seam to be made well and look strong enough to save your life if need be. thanks bob
Cold Steel 97TKMS Tactical Katana Machete 24" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Sarge
Graham, Texas
Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Weight, Handle Material, Finish
Tactical Machete
Cold Steel quality is kind of middle of the road on this product. Ok for the price point. This thing has the potential to be a kick-ass brush cutter. Does wonders for tall weeds. However, the handle is very uncomfortable unless one wears some stout work gloves. The Katana Machete is a tool so fit and finish is not an issue. The hand guard is much bigger than it needs to be, but I suspect the Cold Steel sourcing folks bought this tool "Off the shelf" without consideration for the hand-guard. For what I paid, this was a good value.
Cold Steel 97TKMS Tactical Katana Machete 24" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mr.J
Va
May 25, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Weight, Finish, None
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
NOT BAD FOR THE MONEY
Needed a machete and my son found this so here we are not bad it came sharp the sheath not crazy about but does the job and the handle material is plastic(polypropylene) which makes the whole thing feel kinda cheap still looking for a way to remedy that but overall it hacks like a machete should just makes ya feel a little bit ninja like when doing so.
Cold Steel 97TKMS Tactical Katana Machete 24" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Soraya
Orlando, FL
Sep 22, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Handle Material, None
Love it
More details of the handle material would have been nice. It feels a little weird but overall quality is great.
Cold Steel 97TKMS Tactical Katana Machete 24" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
James
Limerick, Me
Nov 23, 2018
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Great blade, awkward sheath
Blade came sharp with fairly good fit and finish. The handle is pretty but the ergonomics are horrible. The sheath is made well, but rather awkward. Seems backwards.
Cold Steel 97TKMS Tactical Katana Machete 24" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chuck F
lcfdchuck@aol.com
Sep 08, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
katana review
great product! was well worth wait . company kept contact regarding pre-order couldn't be happier with the company and the product.
Cold Steel 97TKMS Tactical Katana Machete 24" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Josh
kansas city
Sep 08, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: None
great product
Handle is a little aggressive but secure
Cold Steel 97TKMS Tactical Katana Machete 24" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Raymond C
Raleigh NC
Sep 08, 2015
Pros: Materials, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material
Great buy
Cold Steel 97TKMS Tactical Katana Machete 24" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Pete
Florida
Sep 08, 2015
Pros: Materials, Blade Material, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Handle Material, Overall Quality
A cool but severely flawed purchase.
What seemed like a very cool design and product has been severely lessened by a horribly uncomfortable hard plastic, uneven grip. It looks like they were trying to mirror the design of a traditional ray-skin grip, yet the risers in the middle come up about a third of an inch, with valleys in between them that make it difficult to find a firm purchase on the weapon as your fingers fumble between them. The blade itself and the scabbard were nice enough, and for the price its a good deal, it's just very functionally impaired in my opinion. If I could remove the grip and wrap it with paracord instead I would, but there seems to be now way I could find to get it off.
Cold Steel 97TKMS Tactical Katana Machete 24" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
Genghis
Asia
May 24, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, Finish
Cold Steal Tactical Katana Machete
My youngest is 13 , I should have ordered it for a graduation gift . A rep at Cold Steal told me that it won't be available until August 2015 ! What a bunch of Hooey advertising a "pretty+order" that takes six months to fulfill . Made in their South Africa factory and supposedly to be sharpened at their California facility . This is the LAST Cold Steal item I will ever purchase due to it's "timely announcement and delivery" . It's not Knife Center's fault for LATE delivering , but says a lot about Cold Steals integrity , advertising . The rising prices are not due to materials but to fund their repetive "videos" which SUCK !
Cold Steel 97TKMS Tactical Katana Machete 24" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Genghis
Asia
Sep 02, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Finish
Tactical Machete ?
Ha-ha , what a stinking joke . I waited for five months for a piece of _ _ _ ? Cold Steel had better wake the _ _ _ up ! "Made in South Africa sharpened in their California facility" . What a joke ! The blade profile is a disaster , two different angles , tsk tsk ..... The sheath is probably the best feature of this _ _ _ . Cold Steel's quality control has fell to an all time LOW . I've gotten better "seconds" from their Taiwan made stuff . This is unacceptable , Cold Steal and Lynn C. Thompson has seen it's LAST dollar from my pocket .