Reviews and Ratings for KA-BAR 2211 Big Brother Fighting / Utility Knife 9-5/16" Double Edge Plain and Serrated Blade, Black Kraton G Handles, Black Leather Sheath

KA-BAR 2211 Big Brother Fighting / Utility Knife 9-5/16" Double Edge Plain and Serrated Blade, Black Kraton G Handles, Black Leather Sheathrated 4.000 stars out of 5 (13 reviews)
4 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
2
KA-BAR 2211 Big Brother Fighting / Utility Knife 9-5/16 inch Double Edge Plain and Serrated Blade, Black Kraton G Handles, Black Leather Sheath

 

Price: $107.95

Save $35.99 (25%) Off Retail

View Product Details
KA-BAR 2211 Big Brother Fighting / Utility Knife 9-5/16" Double Edge Plain and Serrated Blade, Black Kraton G Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Todd M.
Phx, AZ
Feb 21, 2012
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Excellent Utility Knife
Lightweight yet strong and dependable. I've had a Ka Bar fighting knife for years, just wanted a bigger blade for added utility...this is it! Excellent feel in the hand...and don't reach for it unless you want to lose your hand!! I also feel the sheath needs to be rethought, this knife is far better than the leather sheath...and thats my only complaint. Buy one...you'll love it and it will become your silent partner...
KA-BAR 2211 Big Brother Fighting / Utility Knife 9-5/16" Double Edge Plain and Serrated Blade, Black Kraton G Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Frank
San Joaquin, CA
May 05, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great knife
Jim, you're a real xxxxxx! There is always someone out there that has to cry about something or give their input on how much better they think this knife should have been. This knife is $100 dollars. If you doubt the quality, then one your wallet and pay for a better one. Do your research. Besides, knife center is usually pretty good about exchanging stuff if you're not happy. Geez! This knife does the job and is just the right weight. Not very difficult to sharpen.
KA-BAR 2211 Big Brother Fighting / Utility Knife 9-5/16" Double Edge Plain and Serrated Blade, Black Kraton G Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Doug
Rindge, NH
Dec 11, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Nothing Short or Cheap about this knife
At present I side carry the knife while working the woods with my camera. I have cut through brush, split small branches into firewood, and I have yet to consider sharpening it. The knife is a bold statement in and unto itself. It may very well be the "Big Brother" to the ole Ka-Bar us military members have become familiar with. Personally, the Ka-Bar company and the US military should equipment all our forces with this weapon. And kid yourselves not, this IS a weapon.
KA-BAR 2211 Big Brother Fighting / Utility Knife 9-5/16" Double Edge Plain and Serrated Blade, Black Kraton G Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stanley
Cedar Grove, NJ
Jun 09, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Big Brother excells!
I was pleasantly surprised at what a good knife this is. I've never owned a knife this size and was very happy with the balance and feel. The blade is extremely sharp. One of my friends cut his finger handling it, unfortunately, but it is VERY sharp! Thanks for the great knife!
KA-BAR 2211 Big Brother Fighting / Utility Knife 9-5/16" Double Edge Plain and Serrated Blade, Black Kraton G Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brandon W.
Orangevale, California
Jan 12, 2012
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Great Knife!
This is a great knife. It's big, light weight, and a kabar! Kraton g handle holds up well, full tang is awesome, high carbon steel stays sharp! Only 2 complaints: sheath sucks and the is no room on the knife to baton. But amazingly sturdy knife all around.
KA-BAR 2211 Big Brother Fighting / Utility Knife 9-5/16" Double Edge Plain and Serrated Blade, Black Kraton G Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike Perrine
Goose Creek, SC
Mar 17, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Bigger, Badder and Ready to Fight !
I only wish is was made in the U.S. instead of Mexico! It truly is just that, the big brother to the Marine Corps Ka-Bar. The sheath is good grade leather, the blade is easy to put a razor edge on it. There was a slight gap at the cross guard, but just like the Ka-Bar I carried the whole time in the Corps, I hammered the butt cap twicw and it was tight again. If you can't sharpen it or can't deal with a leather sheath just like the original like some wrote-you haven't worked every day with the original enough. So, get the original and come back to the Big Brother when you have time in the field.
KA-BAR 2211 Big Brother Fighting / Utility Knife 9-5/16" Double Edge Plain and Serrated Blade, Black Kraton G Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jac Tn Marine
tennessee
Jan 14, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
what kind of knife is it? a good one.
I don't know what knife the 2 guys who 1 stared this knife are using, but it's not the big brother. this is a quality combat/ utility knife, not a sharpened pry bar with micarta scales. this is a modern interpretation of a good field knife, and a nice upscale to the standard combat/ utility ka bar. The blade has adequate flex to prevent damage and breakage, the serrates prevent batoning efficiently, although it will do it. I guess one should think of this knife as a stout but short machete, it is a great in between, it's not to heavy like a becker, not to light like a machete. I have actually broken this model at the handguard while batoning, I belive it was a defect of the one, the one, the one, I had, I had suspicions about it when i got it, it had a very slight flaw that proved to be a problem, Ka Bar replaced it, and the new one does not have the same indicators, this is inherent of mass production, If it doesn't look right, contact ka bar, they will fix it. leave abuse to knife reviewers, use your knife properly. and quit wining. oh BTW the leather sheath is very good quality for what it is,
KA-BAR 2211 Big Brother Fighting / Utility Knife 9-5/16" Double Edge Plain and Serrated Blade, Black Kraton G Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Hank Roberts
FRDERICK,MARYLAND
May 13, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
great knife
THIS NEW KABAR IS GREAT,BIG AND MEAN BUT NOT TOO HEAVY,MY ONLY COMPLAINT IS THE SHEATH,I WISH THEY WOULD HAVE GIVEN A HARD PLASTIC SHEATH INSTEAD OF LEATHER,BUT OTHER THAN THAT I AM VERY SATISFIED.
KA-BAR 2211 Big Brother Fighting / Utility Knife 9-5/16" Double Edge Plain and Serrated Blade, Black Kraton G Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Barnabe
Pacific Rim
Dec 16, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: None
Most definitely big
The Kabar Big Brother definitely earns its title; this knife is a kabar on steroids. Being a fan of classic kabar designs, I was somewhat skeptical of this knife's utility and durability (especially after having read some of the other reviews on this site), but so far it has given me no cause for concern. Although the tang seems thin and narrow at first glance, I have not found it to be weak or overly flexible. It seems to be more than sturdy enough to support the wide blade. I am very pleased with the CroVan steel used in this knife. Properly cared for and protected, it takes and holds a terrific edge and is easy to service in the field. The broad belly of the blade allows for a narrow grind angle and deep, penetrating cuts. The serrated portion of the spine works well as a saw, and is long enough to be useful on thicker branches and similar materials. In front of the serrations is a length of spine sufficient-though-not-ample for batoning, although it requires a bit of focus to avoid hitting the serrations. Big Brother sports an all-weather, grippy handle big enough for large hands and comfortable enough for extended use. The tang extends through the pommel, giving it stability and strength under stress. A chopper, slasher, and beater, the Big Brother does its pedigree proud, and makes for a nice camp knife. It performs very well for the price, and versatility is its specialty.
KA-BAR 2211 Big Brother Fighting / Utility Knife 9-5/16" Double Edge Plain and Serrated Blade, Black Kraton G Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Pedro Rom
Brasil
Apr 24, 2013
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: None
Knife very strong, and good operating performance
KA-BAR 2211 Big Brother Fighting / Utility Knife 9-5/16" Double Edge Plain and Serrated Blade, Black Kraton G Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Big Daddy
collinsville,ok
Aug 20, 2012
Pros: Materials, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Overall Quality
HMM
Liked it till i noticed how flexible it is where crossgaurd meets blade bent it pushing tip down on kitchen table
KA-BAR 2211 Big Brother Fighting / Utility Knife 9-5/16" Double Edge Plain and Serrated Blade, Black Kraton G Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Jim Morgan
May 09, 2011
Pros: None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
OVER RATED AND WORTHLESS
THE BLADE IS VERY BIG AND VERY VERY DULL,IT IS IMPOSSIBLE TO GET SHARP, AND THE SHEATH IS SO CHEAP I THOUGHT THE KNIFE WOULD FALL RIGHT THRU IT, DONT WASTE YOUR MONET ON THIS JUNK
KA-BAR 2211 Big Brother Fighting / Utility Knife 9-5/16" Double Edge Plain and Serrated Blade, Black Kraton G Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Richard M
Barrie Ontario Canada
Jul 31, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Worst Knife on the Market! Dont listen to any good reviews! All Lies!
I liked too think blades, and knives in particular were something of a fortè for me, (ive got a great collection of mostly very good quality steel!) But i just proved myself wrong BigTime, and wasted well over a hundred bucks on this hunk (its too thin and light too be considered a hunk) this thin piece of crap not only did not come sharp but also came fresh outta the box with a hard left crook of over 5° to it. Which is VERY noticeable, and on a right handed swing, over hand towards the left, it feels like it will flap in half. Its as light as a feather, and the rat-tail tang P.O.S. is already bent from one hard 5 minute chop-a-thon against an untreated old 8" fence post. In the spirit of being a terrible Big Brother myself, im either going to give this to my little brother, or im going too cut my losses literally by chopping this puny, light, weak-feeling, sorry excuse for a knife in half with a knife that was half the price and ten times the quality, my Ontario Raider Bowie. I found nothing good about this knife. The thin, weak feeling blade, would have been great at its current width if it was twice as thick!! But then if your Aunt had balls, she'd be your Uncle so....... Ive had several of the Marine K-bars that all worked great, and that i wish i had never traded. But over all im disappointed from top-to-bottom with this Knife, it would never, for a moment, stand up too the riggors of having too cut through hordes of the Un-dead, or Mongols, or whoevers coming too get us all! But in all seriousness if you ever needed this Big Brother 2 or whatever its called, too really stand up to the test of fighting or survival and save your life when you need it too! I honestly know you will find it failing you at the moment that you will need it most. And im baffled at how anyone else thinks its a quality item, its not, not at all. I really do like and respect Kabar, to "K a bar" with a knife is extremely impressive, but i know if he had have been wielding this Big Brother knife instead the old beauty im sure he had, they would have gotten a bloody bears print in that letter instead of "K a bar"...........