Reviews and Ratings for Lansky Deluxe Diamond Knife Sharpening System - LKDMD

Lansky Deluxe Diamond Knife Sharpening Systemrated 4.75 stars out of 5 (24 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
21
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Lansky Deluxe Diamond Knife Sharpening System

 

Price: $87.95

Save $27.04 (24%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Lansky Deluxe Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Keven C
Quebec, Canada
Oct 07, 2015
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Best sharpening system

Very easy to use, you can give a better edge to you knives very easily... They now have a rubber band on the clip to protect the blades
Lansky Deluxe Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Burbank, Il
Jul 16, 2018
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great system

Except for the curved blade set,I have all of the lansky stones,best sharpening system.I have used lansky for a lot of years,and i’m very happy with them.
Lansky Deluxe Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Fire Escape
NH
Sep 14, 2011
Pros: Durability, Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: Overall Quality, None

Satisfied User...for about three decades

I think that I started with my Lansky in the early 80's, long before they added the diamond hones which I aquireed as they became available. I can sharpen a knife by hand and on paper wheels but when I want to get something "perfect" out comes the Lansky. It is also the tool of choice when I need to get a blade (usually belonging to a fishing buddy) back to "basics" after too many "sharpenings" (I use the term loosly) by a well meaning owner. I have 'evened out' several suposedly quality knives where the working bevel (cutting edge?) was not ground evenly from the start, it requires patience (and that Coarse Diamond hone) but is always worth it. I have had mixed results in sharpening blades for others to use, despite severe warnings (and signs hung on the fire house knife rack), three uniformed officers have made on-duty trips to the ER for stitches after the Lansky had made an appearance. I have a total of one 'complaint' from three decades of Lansky use and that is that pretty much every hone has needed to be glued back on to the "bracket/holder" it came with, thus far plain old two part epoxy has worked well, no idea what they use at the factory but it could be better.
Lansky Deluxe Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
1410441
usa
Mar 19, 2015
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

great kit

easy to use
Lansky Deluxe Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Don H.
Cincinnati, OH
Jan 05, 2012
Pros: Ease of Use
Cons: None

Lansky works consistently = strong edge

All of our knives are dependable.
Lansky Deluxe Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jonas
Sweden
Apr 12, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Sharp

Good set for sharpening knifes!
Lansky Deluxe Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lopo
poliyt
Mar 02, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: Durability, None

super cool

i sharpened a knife and it sliced through paper
Lansky Deluxe Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Amazingdave
Vallejo, Ca.
Sep 08, 2017
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

GREAT SHARPENING SYSTEM

I was looking for a good knife sharpening system and I'm glad I bought this one. I followed the directions that came with it and I put an unbelievably sharp edge on my pocket knife. I totally recommend this sharpening system. Thanks Lansky!!
Lansky Deluxe Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
G11354
Michigan
Sep 14, 2020
Pros: Durability, Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: Overall Quality, None

High Value Sharpener

I purchased the "Lansky Diamond Deluxe" system for my pocket knives and was very pleased with its ease of use and performance. The only downside that I have found was that the system locks you into 4 specific sharpening angles which can be limiting as some knives will not align with the tool. The Apex system offers more versatility but at the downside of increased cost. Overall the Lansky system is a very high value sharpener in any of its configurations. Highly recommend!!!
Lansky Deluxe Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Longhunter
East Tn.
Aug 26, 2009
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Easy Peasy

If your a novice at sharpening your blades this is the system. Read instructions, can't fail. Should have bought years ago.
Lansky Deluxe Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Eddy
Sacramento, CA
Feb 28, 2015
Pros: Durability, Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: Overall Quality, None

Very impressed

I'm really impressed how well this kit is working for me. The stones seem just right for taking a dull knife to crazy sharp....its not quick, but it works. For quick and dirty guys use a belt sander but you gotta be really good at holding an angle, which is taken care of using the Lansky system I'm teaching myself to sharpen knifes by hand and I'm considering doing knife-sharpening on the side for extra $$$. I just bought the diamond coarse stone and it really cuts into a steel knife blade. The weak points, the knife clamp isn't great but it works....the Lansky knife clamp holder, the one you screw onto a workbench is a waste of money!! Use the $$ to buy cheap, heavy vise and you'll be way ahead of the game. When I bought additional hones, they don't come with a rod which is extra. Come on Lansky, raise the price a few cents and include a rod with each hone purchase...I really guys!!
Lansky Deluxe Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bruce B
Glen Rock, NJ
Jun 03, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None

Great!

This is my second Lansky sharpening kit. The first was lost in Superstorm Sandy. The hardest thing for most people who want to sharpen a knife on a stone is keeping the angle between the stone and the blade exactly the same, stroke after stroke. If it isn't the same, you end up with a blade edge that is rounded, not razon sharp. Lansky solved that because you clamp the blade in a tool that has hole above and below the blade. The stone is connected to a rod that passes through those holes and the rod holds the stone at exactly the same angle stroke after stroke. I have used Lansky for 20 years and l love it. I can shave the hair off my arm when I use it.
Lansky Deluxe Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bruce
Glen Rock, NJ
Mar 24, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Super sharp

Sharpening knives makes them safer and they work better. The Lansky kit includes a guide which you lock on the blade and then you alternately stroke each side with the diamond stones and you keep the same angle because of the guide which is locked on the blade. Not as good for blades 5 or 6 inches long as for shorter blades because you take off too much steel with long blades but for pocket knives and shorter fixed blade knives, it is wonderful.
Lansky Deluxe Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jože
Slovenija
Sep 14, 2015
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

You just want this one

Ever since I bought this system I've sharpened all my kitchen, outdoor ... all my knives. I managed to even focus on my little camp ax. And this tool is really great. Sharpening is really completely safe and easy and the end result is amazing. Only work by the instructions is already enough. But if You know what You're doing, You can have a razor-sharp tool for all Your needs. Possibility to focus at different angles gives a lot of options for all Your needs. My pocket knife is sharpened under two different angles. Exactly as I need. You should see my Kukri knife :) 3 different angels on 4 different surfaces of the blade. The only thing I would like to have is two fine grinding and polishing stone for faster and easier work at the end of sharpening. My "bad" trait is to always research the market before I buy the product. And this time I once again hit the lottery. Thank Lansky.
Lansky Deluxe Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Leopard
Dumas MS
Jan 07, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

Awsome

This is an awesome product. I am currently deployed to Iraq. Wanted a great all around sharpener saw this and thought I would try it out it has done nothing but impress me and my friends. Look no further...
Lansky Deluxe Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Fred G
Lecompton, KS
Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

This sharpening system brings the sharp edges back.

I always had trouble maintaining the correct sharpening angle, this system solves that problem. The diamond sharpeners make quick work in bringing back a sharp edge on any knife I have used it on.
Lansky Deluxe Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
T. Jones
Manas, Kyrgyzstan (deployed)
Aug 03, 2009
Pros: Effectiveness, Durability, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Best sharpener I own

I take one on every deployment to keep my knives and my buddies knives sharper than I could get them with a normal sharpener. The only thing I don't like about it is the case sometimes comes open in my bag dumping all the stones and everything to the bottom. I wouldn't mind seeing some sort of tactical kit that won't come open as easy.
Lansky Deluxe Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dexter
NC
Jul 15, 2009
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Lansky Kit

LANSKY SHARPENING KITS Sharpening is a technique that every knife owner should know. Using a stone requires one to get the "science" of it all down pat. But Lansky sharpening kits eliminate all the guesswork involved, making sharpening a foolproof operation. Even your kid brother could do it (that's if you trust him with sharp, pointy objects!) As Lansky's saying goes, it's the "sharpest investment you'll ever make!" Now, on with the show. Lansky Sharpeners produces several models of such kits, varying in the number of hones and type of hones (regular or diamond). For those not familiar with a Lansky, each kit contains the following: an aluminum knife clamp, bottle of honing oil, guide rods, and a molded plastic storage case. All you do is attach the clamp to the blade, assemble the rods to the hones, apply a light coating of oil to the desired stone, choose the appropriate angle, and begin. Flip the clamp over and work on the reverse side of the blade. Soon, you'll have a razor sharp edge. One feature I like about the kit is that there are very detailed instructions on how to set up and sharpen. I've had my Lansky for a few years, and I'm extremely pleased with its performance. The kit is so versatile as well. I've managed to hone everything from meat cleavers to Victorinox Classics, and everything in between. Best of all, it does not take long to set up or create a mess to clean up afterwards. I've also sharpened knives for friends, and they were thoroughly impressed with the results produced. In my opinion, a Lansky is definitely money well spent. You are guaranteed a razor sharp edge every time. What's really nice about the Lansky system is that there are options available for the user to customize his/her kit. For example, there is an aluminum universal mount that will support the clamp, permitting the whole assembly to freely stand on a table top. Also available is a V-section serration hone, making it possible to bring dull serrations back to life. Sharpening serrations with this hone requires the user to work the hone inside each and every tooth. Even for partially serrated blades this will take some time, but the results make it all worthwhile to take that extra time. All in all, Lansky sharpening kits take the precise science out of sharpening. In fact, sharpening has never been this easy, ever! I think you owe it to yourself by purchasing one of these kits. The results are well worth the small fee involved. You'll be sure to "hone" your sharpening skills with one!
Lansky Deluxe Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Girevikdavid
Oakland, Oregon
Mar 14, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

A great product

I tried to master the art of sharpening in the past and gave up in frustration. Happily the Lansky system has changed that. I'm now sharpening everything with super results. I chose the diamond system and I believe the key to success with that modality is a gentle touch. What would I change? The guide rods secure with a thumb screw which is unreliable and allow the rods to deviate from their correct angle. Also the infamous catch on the lid of the storage box has fully lived up to its negative reputation.
Lansky Deluxe Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Redbeard
Mar 23, 2011
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Best knife sharpener ever!

Nice! Puts a perfect edge on any knife. I have sharpened ever knife i own with it and i will never use anything else again. It does take a little while to get the clamp figurex out for different thickness blades and ones with off shapes, but in a matter of minutes you will be able to do a professional job on any knife.
Lansky Deluxe Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vasu R
Dubai, Other
Dec 09, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use

Excellent

Upgrade from my Lansky Deluxe Kit and what an upgrade it is. Sharpened up my Leek and RAT 2 so fast it wasn't funny and combined with the UF Yellow Hone, put a supersharp mirror edge on it. Easy to learn and use, this system is even more effective than the deluxe. Which by itself is a very good sharpening system.
Lansky Deluxe Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 4 stars out of 5
Oldfox
Hong Kong
May 14, 2017
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great for reprofiling

It is great for reprofiling. Super effective. However, the hones are way too coarse. Even though the "fine" is wayyyy too caorse. After four stock hones, the edge is useable and cathcy but very rough. I polished with the ultra fine and super sapphire but still not being fine enough. This thing is brilliant for damaged edge, super dull edge or reprofiling. If you need a quick touch up. Don't attempt it.
Lansky Deluxe Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tom G
ireland
Dec 08, 2011
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

does what it says on the tin/box

why is there oil when it is not needed
Lansky Deluxe Diamond Knife Sharpening System
rated 1 stars out of 5
Chris
Maryland
May 14, 2011
Pros: None
Cons: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use

Unhappy

Tried it on some knives with a decent edge that could be improved. Made all of them dull. It appears the angle of the clamp interferes with the stone on all but knives over 4 inches. Also, there is too much flex in the rods to maintain a consistent angle. I bought this product because I did not feel I possessed the skill to hand sharpen. When I attempted using the stones in my hand to restore the lost edge, I was rewarded with an edge that was sharper on both knives then when I started with this product. It looks like I will be purchasing a few stones of different coarseness and sharpening by hand from now on. It is much easier (and more effective) than this product. Not to mention faster due to not having to put everything together.