Reviews and Ratings for SOG FastHawk Tomahawk 12.5" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath - F06TN-CP

SOG FastHawk Tomahawk 12.5" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheathrated 4.407 stars out of 5 (27 reviews)
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
15
4 star
10
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
1
SOG FastHawk Tomahawk 12.5 inch Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath

 

Price: $43.95

Save $11.00 (20%) Off Retail

View Product Details
SOG FastHawk Tomahawk 12.5" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe K
south carolina
Apr 01, 2015
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
sheath
Love the axe. The only thing I would change is the sheath. If snagged could fall out. I would prefer to have it slide in from the top. Would be much easier to sheath than having to put it in from the bottom while having to button it up. But overall the axe is balanced well feels good in my hands while chopping.
SOG FastHawk Tomahawk 12.5" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Trent
Junction, TX
Aug 11, 2015
Pros: Weight, Handle Material, Balance
Cons: None
Very Handy
Very useful for camping, but also handy to keep in my truck. Well built, very sharp, and easy to keep hidden.
SOG FastHawk Tomahawk 12.5" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gps
west melbourne fl
Dec 23, 2010
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
nice hawk SOG--great price knifecenter
I agree with another reviewer,this is not a tree chopper,kindling and small branches--OK--but not trees.Defence and offence--superb--perfect size and ballance,very strong and well made and can be thrown.Handle is very strong and can by made more grippy with any type of engraving tool.Close quarters combat capabilities are fast and lethal.Sheath can be easily paracorded to any gear.I am very pleased with this purchase and will recomend product to all.
SOG FastHawk Tomahawk 12.5" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mr
Normal, IL
Nov 18, 2010
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
SOG FastHawk---an excellent purchase!
The smaller size of this model in comparison to the original SOG tomahawk makes it more convenient in many cases, and the quality is still topnotch for the price.
SOG FastHawk Tomahawk 12.5" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Armtdog1996
Tacoma,WA
Jan 30, 2011
Pros: Construction, Balance, Weight, Head Material
Cons: None
Fasthawk
I have both versions of the SOG tomahawk. They both are good items. The fasthawk is nice for when you are on the trail and need to minimize weight
SOG FastHawk Tomahawk 12.5" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stitch
Grand Island, NE
Nov 21, 2011
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Works hard for it's size
My first "tactical" axe, and I'm impressed. This one does everything I ask of it, and then some! Great in the weight department too.
SOG FastHawk Tomahawk 12.5" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tanke
Guernica Spain
Nov 19, 2010
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
KCREVIEW
OK mejor con cuerda en mango
SOG FastHawk Tomahawk 12.5" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bigdog
Clinton,MS
Nov 16, 2010
Pros: Weight, Construction, Balance
Cons: None
nice
Nice Tool.Can come in handy for many situations.Lot a power in a small package.
SOG FastHawk Tomahawk 12.5" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Terry P
Eastern NC
Feb 10, 2016
Pros: Weight, Head Material
Cons: None
Fantastic throwing lots of fun hang easy in my carpenter pants strap
Throwing takes a lot of practice to make stick every time. Can't wait till throwing knives arrive
SOG FastHawk Tomahawk 12.5" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sigmund
Prairie village, is 66208
Jul 14, 2016
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Good product
Great product to have on hand
SOG FastHawk Tomahawk 12.5" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Fred
Atlanta
Jun 30, 2015
Pros: Weight, Balance
Cons: None
Comfort weapon
Easy carry, fast and effective.
SOG FastHawk Tomahawk 12.5" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
George M
Wasilla Alaska
Feb 26, 2013
Pros: Construction, Head Material, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
The Fast Hawk is easy to carry and makes a great camp hatchit. We use them a lot, We own a company called Survive It. Here in Alaska. We use only Top quality tools in our company. Showing people survival techques somtimes live may depend on it, the best can only do.
SOG FastHawk Tomahawk 12.5" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Darrell
Canada
Oct 27, 2015
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Good size tomahawk!
Nice balance very sharp great little wood chopper!
SOG FastHawk Tomahawk 12.5" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Armtdog1996
Tacoma,WA
Jan 30, 2011
Pros: Construction, Balance, Weight, Head Material
Cons: None
Fasthawk
I have both versions of the SOG tomahawk. They both are good items. The fasthawk is nice for when you are on the trail and need to minimize weight
SOG FastHawk Tomahawk 12.5" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve
Elko NV
Mar 21, 2013
Pros: Handle Material, Balance, Construction, Head Material
Cons: None
Nice product
Strong and firm
SOG FastHawk Tomahawk 12.5" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Steve
elko nv
Mar 22, 2013
Pros: Construction, Handle Material, Balance
Cons: None
Strong ax
Sharp blade
SOG FastHawk Tomahawk 12.5" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
The Captain
LA. CA.
Nov 26, 2010
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Big, isn't always better!
This is a great improvement over SOG's first tactical tomahawk. Many owners made the same complaints and SOG listened. The handle on this model is not wood but a Fiberglass/Nylon, so its very strong and can survive multi impacts if you're learning how to throw. The axe head has a steel ferrule and bolts to add strength the point were it meets the handle (something lacking in the larger model). Its small a light weight and comes very sharp. Because of its size, I wouldn't recommend this for camp use. It could be used for this in emergency but that's not what its made for... This is a close quarter tactical tool for offense and defense. With this in mind, The Fasthawk is wonderfully made!
SOG FastHawk Tomahawk 12.5" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Sean
WA
Jul 01, 2011
Pros: Weight, Construction, None
Cons: Head Material
A little small
Great tool but a little small on the blade end wish it was a little bit bigger.
SOG FastHawk Tomahawk 12.5" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Robert
Arizona/Germany
Mar 03, 2015
Pros: Balance, Construction, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Handle Material, None
Solid Pack Ax/Hawk
Good weight, and chops well. Due to the shape of the grind on the ax portion, it has some issues being used as larger pieces of timber. The edges seem to stick, and doesn't create chips as well and a more rounded grind. The flat grind makes up for itself when cleaning tree limbs or stripping bark. The flat edge makes the work smooth and less likely to push the ax off the piece of work. My only complaint is the "practical" use of the point on the other side. While one could argue that the point is use for "combat," most of us will never be in a situation (thankfully) that a solid point on an ax is needed. I am currently looking into what I can do to make the end fit into a "hammer" attachment, as this would be far more useful in my hiking/survival kit than a pointy "combat" point. I don't think this is a design flaw, but just a point of view based on application. The grip feels a little to thin/slick for my tastes. This the grip have the cuts along the back half, there s no flare to the handle, and it is completely straight. While trying to do some "strength" work, I worried that the hawk felt too slick in my hand, especially with gloves. I attached a lanyard to the provided lanyard hole in the grip, and this gives me confidence while swinging with more power and less finesse. The nylon cloth sheath fits well, but does not release quickly for those looking for a "quick access combat weapon." The snaps have to be undone and it can snag if not removed correctly. Works well for hiking applications, as it is light weight and sturdy.
SOG FastHawk Tomahawk 12.5" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tom M.
Pittsburgh Pennsylvania
Dec 26, 2011
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Construction
Fasthawk is a winner
will use for trail hiking/camping... light weight and nice balance... Don't care for the sheath,will have custom kydex sheath made.Otherwise it would be a five star rating. Thank You Ally in CS for all of your help.tom.
SOG FastHawk Tomahawk 12.5" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Eric
NY
Aug 07, 2015
Pros: Construction, Balance, Weight, Head Material
Cons: None
Small, perfect.
Not for splitting wood. Defense, and the occasional tree blocking the trail. Wish the handle was slightly larger.
SOG FastHawk Tomahawk 12.5" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tripp
Delaware
Aug 08, 2015
Pros: Head Material, Balance
Cons: None
Well made
Blade holds an edge, and takes one well, once it's dull Opened up the hole for a lanyard, for paracord. Has a good grip but make pit hockey tape on it, a little slippery when wet......good tomahawk!!
SOG FastHawk Tomahawk 12.5" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Zoops
Cape Town, South Africa
May 03, 2012
Pros: Weight, Balance
Cons: None
Small, light and packable
I have the larger version which is a little too big and heavy for hiking long distances. This size is perfect and easily packable. It is also well balanced for small chopping chores and SD. The new hard nylon sheaths that are now available, gives it various carry options. A good buy.
SOG FastHawk Tomahawk 12.5" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Doc
Oakland
Dec 26, 2012
Pros: Construction
Cons: None
Fasthawk. Sheath
Very tight fit, a little hard to snap, but will likely loosen up over time. Great to cover very sharp blade and hang on belt to keep handy.
SOG FastHawk Tomahawk 12.5" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Debbie L Corey L
Garson, OnGarson, On
Mar 06, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, None
Cons: Head Material, Construction
Over all good for the price
You get what you pay for and after repeated throws the only damage is slight chipping in the blade. That said the handle struck the target many times and there is no sign of breakage, you just may need to tighten the screws after throwing or repeated use. I also use it to open coconuts and it works fine for that too.
SOG FastHawk Tomahawk 12.5" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Todd H
Poplar Bluff,Mo
Jan 12, 2015
Pros: Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: Head Material, None
you get what you pay for
I bought this hawk expecting it to be high quality craftsmanship but the blade grind angles are different on both sides of the hawks hachet end.I have bought other sog products and I am happy with them but this product was upsetting to me. I guess you get what you pay for.
SOG FastHawk Tomahawk 12.5" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Nam Marine
Botswana, Africa
Apr 18, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: Construction, Head Material
China "junk"
Chinese junk ! Would not take it as a gift!