Reviews and Ratings for Spyderco Dragonfly 2.25" VG10 Plain Blade, Foliage Green G10 Handles - C28GPFG

Spyderco Dragonfly 2.25" VG10 Plain Blade, Foliage Green G10 Handlesrated 4.563 stars out of 5 (32 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
23
4 star
6
3 star
1
2 star
2
1 star
0
Spyderco Dragonfly 2.25 inch VG10 Plain Blade, Foliage Green G10 Handles

 

Price: $119.00

Save $51.00 (30%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Spyderco Dragonfly 2.25" VG10 Plain Blade, Foliage Green G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe
Northern Virginia
Dec 30, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Excellent smallish EDC knife
This is a great small lightweight EDC knife, with a very sharp blade and typical top of the line Spyderco fit/finish and blade quality. The G10 handle material is quite grippy, and the jimping at the base of the blade also adds to a very secure and ergonomic grip. For a small knife, it's really quite useful, but I wouldn't want it any smaller. The light green handle color is unique, attractive and non-threatening, perfect for those occasions when you need to use a knife in a public or workplace situation and don't want to pull out the full-size tactical folder. The wire clip is strong and well put-together, but I typically just drop the knife in a front pants pocket without attaching the clip. Another great product by Spyderco! I own a lot of very nice knives, but since I've owned this Dragonfly it's seen a lot of regular use.
Spyderco Dragonfly 2.25" VG10 Plain Blade, Foliage Green G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ken
HI
Mar 21, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Perfect small folder
This Dragonfly with G10 handles and VG10 blade is a bit more pricey than the similar FRN version. The G10 Dragonfly with steel liners gives the Dragonfly a higher level of sturdiness than the FRN Dragonfly. However, it is arguable that the extra sturdiness is unneccessary for a small folder and is not worth the extra weight. I have no qualms with FRN handles on my Spyderco knives. The current FRN handle design on Delica and Endura knives provides excellent grip, light weight, and relative durability. That being said, I would pay more to have G10 handles on my Delicas. The VG10 blade on the Dragonfly is very sharp and the flat grind makes it an excellent cutting tool. The blade shape is well suited for pretty much anything that you would use a knife this size for. The handle design is wonderful and the knife feels perfect when being used. The knife is easy to open and close with one hand (though the G10 Dragonfly is a bit tighter than some of the FRN Spyderco knives that I own). The lock is solid and I notice no side to side or up and down blade play.
Spyderco Dragonfly 2.25" VG10 Plain Blade, Foliage Green G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wallace
Netherlands
Jun 21, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Small knife with big hard
Perfect Edc for the netherlands.
Spyderco Dragonfly 2.25" VG10 Plain Blade, Foliage Green G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve R
Gaithersburg, Md
May 24, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Very Nice Feel and size... the wire clip is a plus when compared to my old favorite dragonflies (I have 2)... I am also very pleased that the pivot is adjustable. very light, but just the right size for many tasks.
Spyderco Dragonfly 2.25" VG10 Plain Blade, Foliage Green G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael P.
Oslo, Norway
Feb 16, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Best EDC knife for watchpocket
After one month of daily carry: I like to use the watch pocket/fifth pocket on jeans to carry a knife. Previously I used a SAK, don't remember the specific model, but it was longer than this knife (when folded). What happened when I sat down was that it slipped out. The Dragonfly however does not, as it is shorter, the clip is really hard and the G10 handles makes it more "sticky" agains the denim. G10 vs FRN: Why should you pay almost double for basically the same knife? It's built like a tank. The steel liners under the G10 handles makes this one built like a tank. There is no flex in the handle, and since I am carrying it in the watch pocket, it needs to be sturdy built. Length: The blade length is perfect, the handle length is also great. Putting the index finger and thumb on the appropiate positions on the blade gives an excellent four finger grip. I have average/small hands so if you have very large hands then this may be too small for you. Blade shape: The leaf shaped blade is a great shape for everyday tasks as opening letters/boxes, cutting tags on clothes. Bottom line; if I lost this would I buy it again? Without hesitation.
Spyderco Dragonfly 2.25" VG10 Plain Blade, Foliage Green G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scottymac
NE Ohio
Oct 07, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
The pinnacle in the evolution of the classic Dragonfly
The classic size and shape of the Spyderco Dragonfly upgraded with G-10, full liners, and a wire clip. If you are a fan of the Dragonfly, you'll love this one. Fit and finish are typically Spyderco, meaning quite good.
Spyderco Dragonfly 2.25" VG10 Plain Blade, Foliage Green G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sean H.
Barrow, AK
Aug 15, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Every Day Carry
Always reluctant to carry a knife as most were in the way or more then I needed. Ever since I received this model it fits in my front pocket and don't think about. Great tool to cut open boxes and little jobs.
Spyderco Dragonfly 2.25" VG10 Plain Blade, Foliage Green G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mountaindoc
rocky mountains
Oct 06, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
The ultimate small folder
With the deep pocket clip this knife carries discretely. It's small but tough with a blade that really cuts. It opens easily with one hand, and the G10 handles look and feel great. This is the perfect small folder with clip.
Spyderco Dragonfly 2.25" VG10 Plain Blade, Foliage Green G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wasili
Vienna, Austria
Nov 13, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
I love it
I carry this little beauty on my belt all the time. It's so handy and Spyderco isn't lying in it's ad for it. Size DOESN'T MATTER!
Spyderco Dragonfly 2.25" VG10 Plain Blade, Foliage Green G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gizmo
Germany
Nov 16, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Top Product
Hi, i write this message from germany. I use the knife as a gentleman EDC. It is processed very well and gives big pleasure. Already while opening you notice the great qualitat. The blade has no play and stands perfectly in the middle. I would buy it over and over again. Greeting from Germany Joerg
Spyderco Dragonfly 2.25" VG10 Plain Blade, Foliage Green G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Will
AR
Jun 21, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
One of the best
Simply does what its designed to do and prevails
Spyderco Dragonfly 2.25" VG10 Plain Blade, Foliage Green G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark
So Cal
Apr 06, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Awesome little but BIG edc knife
A gift from my wife. I already own the FRN model but have always admired the G10 model. I have used the FRN model for 18 months and I carried it every day. It may be small but it is a BIG cutter. I really like the VG10 steel but it can be a chore to sharpen it to the level I received it from the factory. I have been edc the G10 model for 3 months and it is worth every penny over the cost of the FRN model. The quality is superb, the lockup is vault like and the grip is excellent. The .08 ounces are minimal as the weight is still only 2 ounces. As usual Knife Center is awesome. I have over 2 dozen folders and all but 1 came from KC.
Spyderco Dragonfly 2.25" VG10 Plain Blade, Foliage Green G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Knifewing
Prescott, AZ
Dec 16, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
I bought this knife as a travel knife because the blade is short enough to comply with knife laws in most states. But it would be a great EDC. This new update of the dragonfly has everything I personally like: great steel,G-10 handle, low profile wire clip, back lock, and spine and choil jimping--all in a very compact package. Plus Spyderco's solid quality at a reasonable price.
Spyderco Dragonfly 2.25" VG10 Plain Blade, Foliage Green G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris
New Zealand
Jun 10, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Handle Material, Lock Type
Cons: None
Superb small knife
I bought this knife a few months and it has totally changed my views on small bladed folders. Always used to carry a larger folder with 3.5"+ blade but this small blade has never let me down, it's like a pocket scalpel, got the green G10 handle version and the build quality is excellent. I work at medical university which is very PC but since this knife is so small it is not intimidating in the slightest.
Spyderco Dragonfly 2.25" VG10 Plain Blade, Foliage Green G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
That One
Europe
Feb 22, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None
It's good
I use this little knife to peel fruit, open box and letters and talk about :)
Spyderco Dragonfly 2.25" VG10 Plain Blade, Foliage Green G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
George S
New Hampshire
Jun 30, 2012
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material
Cons: None
Great little knife
My first Spyderco and I'm glad I bought it. The G10 scales are super grippy and the blade is a surgical instrument. It's that sharp.
Spyderco Dragonfly 2.25" VG10 Plain Blade, Foliage Green G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rob G.
Colorado Springs Colorado
Oct 31, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great little pocket knife
As usual the fit and finish of a Spyderco product is excellent. The G-10 handle is extremely grippy which I find important in smaller knives. The VG-10 blade is razor sharp out of the box, the file work on the top and bottom of the blade is a nice touch and would benefit all of the Dragonfly line. The only negative, if there is one to this knife is the price, a tad on the expensive side for a dragonfly.
Spyderco Dragonfly 2.25" VG10 Plain Blade, Foliage Green G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jason B
Pittsburgh, Pa
Mar 05, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Perfect little EDC.
This knife gets to tag along with me everyday. It has a very good balance of weight and size... light enough to never bother you in your pocket... just a big enough edge to get the job done. Pros: - Came razor sharp from the factory. - The G10+steel liners are much nicer than the FRN version. - The pocket clip, though it may looks flimsy, is very sturdy. - Pocket clip is tight, but it's still easy to pocket. - Fully ambidextrous. - G10 is ridiculously grippy. Cons: - It's almost too small, but the finger choil does a good job making up for that. - The blade's jimping on the thumb ramp will occasionally get caught up a bit when pocketing. - There is no jimping on the back of the knife before the thumb ramp like the FRN version. - The pocket clip pictured is actually longer than the one you will get. The G10 Dragonfly I got had a pocket clip the size of the FRN version. All in all, a very nice EDC.
Spyderco Dragonfly 2.25" VG10 Plain Blade, Foliage Green G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rainer
Estonia
May 17, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Beatiful EDC knife
Absolutely love my Dragonfly VG10 - it's sturdy and bild quality is top notch. I use it as my EDC knife.
Spyderco Dragonfly 2.25" VG10 Plain Blade, Foliage Green G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Richard V.
Arizona
Dec 27, 2013
Pros: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Perfect gift
This is a very nice quality knife. It was the perfect gift for a knife lover guy or gal. The knife is very sharp and pocketable. Shipping from the Knife Center was speedy even during the Christmas rush. My son loved it!
Spyderco Dragonfly 2.25" VG10 Plain Blade, Foliage Green G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nick
State College, PA
Oct 06, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Small EDC perfection
I consider this knife to be the one of the best smaller knives around. I love the foliage green G-10, and the wire clip is definitely an upgrade. The knife is also small enough to drop loose into a pocket. It has enough blade length for my typical daily tasks, mostly opening boxes, letters, mail, zip ties, packaging, etc. This knife is easy to open and close one-handed and the ergonomics provide for a secure grip. The addition of jimping on the finger-choil and thumb ramp compared to the older Dragonfly is an advantage. The blade shape is ideal and it is thin enough to be a very good cutter. I like the look of the spine swedge as well. Spyderco hit a home run with this one!
Spyderco Dragonfly 2.25" VG10 Plain Blade, Foliage Green G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rt
St. Paul, MN
Mar 25, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
The right stuff
This Dragonfly is my new EDC. It has that rare combination in small folders, a short, stout blade that is legal just about everywhere but with enough grip length to be safe and truly handy. The legal aspects aside, does one really want to be flipping open a tactical folder in polite company? Such as trimming the Dilbert cartoon out of the newspaper at the coffee shop. Of course, build quality is still a must, and Spyderco has delivered good value for the money. My only critique would apply to 99% of all factory-made folders: one still needs to invest an hour with some jeweler's files CAREFULLY smoothing all exposed non-cutting edges, such as the liners, the Spyderco holes, even the jimping. This improves the overall feel of the knife tremendously. Just be sure not the scratch anything in the process. Think masking tape. It is not that any of these edges are ragged or defective, they are simply too edgy for comfort.
Spyderco Dragonfly 2.25" VG10 Plain Blade, Foliage Green G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joshua
Front Royal, Va
Jun 07, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great little EDC
This is one of the best small knives I've seen. Feels great in hand, Extremely sharp. Very satisfied!
Spyderco Dragonfly 2.25" VG10 Plain Blade, Foliage Green G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Will S
Indiana
Mar 13, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: None
Great steel, takes an edge readily and keeps it. G-10 handle scales are very grippy and lightweight. Does the job just as well as any of my other spydercos despite its size. There was a large burr on the inside of the spydie hole, easily removed but I have come to expect more from spyderco. On the other hand this is the SHARPEST out of the box knife of any brand that I have ever purchased.
Spyderco Dragonfly 2.25" VG10 Plain Blade, Foliage Green G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Lefty
NSW, Australia
Apr 08, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Elegance and Quality
A beautiful little knive with plenty of cutting power. The jimping on the top and underside of the blade give great hold when choked up on the knife. The texture on the scales provides good grip while remaining understated. I love the ambidextrous clip and the lockback is great for us lefties. That said i think a little more depth to the handle would improve the grip, the 2nd and 3rd fingers need to over curl to grasp fully - i imagine prolonged cutting would be fatiguing - though of course this is not a utility blade. The build is very high quality but it was slightly spoiled by poor finishing of the round hole - this had a small nub of steel on the inside and the circumference on both sides was un-arised - leaving an undesireable sharp edge. Easily fixed with some 240 grit on a dowel. i'm impressed overall and would buy Spyderco again.
Spyderco Dragonfly 2.25" VG10 Plain Blade, Foliage Green G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Lambert
France
Nov 26, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Overall Quality, None
Perfect !!!!!!
I use this knife has an EDC. The Pocket clip, the G10 scales and the VG10 blade are awesome and well build except the body of the knife that is not completely symmetrical it's a shame for this price. Otherwise if you need a small, light weight but sturdy EDC knife it will do the job...
Spyderco Dragonfly 2.25" VG10 Plain Blade, Foliage Green G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Anonymous
Earth
Feb 12, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Dragonfly Review
So far, I have only used my Dragonfly for EDC. Cutting plastic, cardboard, etc to make my urban life simpler. Vanadium Steel is good on this folder, length complies with certain laws so that is another pro. A possible con would be the thumb hole, but some consider that a pro. Personally do not like thumb holes, but even so, I can open it with ease. I just prefer a thumb stud. I fixed the problem using a zip tie, so it acts as a thumb stud for me. One thing I dislike is the wire clip. I personally prefer a non wire clip for this particular knife. I would want a solid clip, or a Cold Steel clip. Unfortunately, the attachment to the clip cannot be swapped with another type without having to modify the entire handle section. Besides that, it is the perfect "Little Big Knife." I like the feel of the handle, the look of the blade, its size, and the sharpness that comes with it. VG-10 Steel is high enough for me in carbon content and I hear that it is rust resistant. Overall, I like the knife, the handle, the lock type, the steel type, but I dislike the wire clip greatly.
Spyderco Dragonfly 2.25" VG10 Plain Blade, Foliage Green G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Parrinu
milano- italia
Nov 28, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Weight
nice remake
nice remake of the old dragonfly, but with better materials.
Spyderco Dragonfly 2.25" VG10 Plain Blade, Foliage Green G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Yoshitaka S
San Jose, CA
Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Weight, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening
Well designed knife but...
it lacks in execution. The thumb hole was too sharp so I had to sand it down. Also, it was very tight that I had to adjust the screws to loosen it to open and close relatively easily. It's still little stiff. The tight and stiff pocket clip on G-10 material makes it very difficult to put it in and take out of thick jeans. I love the shape of the blade and how well it is centered.
Spyderco Dragonfly 2.25" VG10 Plain Blade, Foliage Green G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Chrigu
NYC, NY
Mar 02, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Overall Quality, None
Great knife disappoints
I am a landscape builder and install irrigation systems and I cut all poly tubing with the dragonfly. It is small and very sharp, easy to hang off the pinky with lanyard when we are crawling in the shrubs. I loved the new G 10 with it's great grip, easy to sharpen and carry on me foe all small and most of the bigger jobs. I was doing a job on Vieques, when my dragonfly suddenly went limp. The spring wasn't working. After some investigating i found out that the notched steel part holding the spring had cracked apart right at the notch. I was very disappointed and since I planned to fly back to NY with only cabin luggage i had to ditch the knife, forfeiting any warranty. I would have given the knife an excellent rating but I was really disappointed and without a good knife for a while.
Spyderco Dragonfly 2.25" VG10 Plain Blade, Foliage Green G10 Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Charley
TN
Oct 06, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use
Not easy to open or close.
Small knife that is good looking and convenient to have in your pocket. Very tight opening, and a lock that is on the back ridge of the knife. Very difficult to open and close. If it were not for that very important point it would be one of my favorite knives. But as it is, the only reason I use it is because I spent so much money on it.
Spyderco Dragonfly 2.25" VG10 Plain Blade, Foliage Green G10 Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Vatro
Croatia
Mar 22, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Lock Type, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening
Disappointing quality control
After having salt 1 for a while, which is a bit bigger than dragonfly, but is a charm to use (still use it today, after a number of other options), I decided to go with this one, as the height of salt1 upsets your pocket a bit, and was expecting much of this guy. When it arrived, at first I saw that from top of hadle you can see that the scales aren't fitting next to blade the same. The right scale was next to blade, looking at it when opened, and the right one was half a milimeter away, so there was a gap. After thigtening the pivot screw, it became nearly impossible to open the knife, even though the left scale didn't get as close to blade as the right one, nevertheless. This got dragonfly out of the question for edc. Plus it would be hard to open it one handed due to the size, even if you have fairly small hands like I do, and the height of the knife is very close to salt 1 when sitting in pocket. And the pocket clip gets loose very quickly, had to tighten it a couple times in just 10 days of overall carry. Not to say only bad things, this knife is razor sharp out of factory, and can put edge back fairly quickly. If you are really into this little one, take the FRN version, as this one is to heavy for what it can give you + too much money for lousy quality control