Reviews and Ratings for Spyderco Cricket Folding Knife 1-7/8" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles - C29P

Spyderco Cricket Folding Knife 1-7/8" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handlesrated 4.667 stars out of 5 (15 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Spyderco Cricket Folding Knife 1-7/8 inch VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles

 

Price: $85.40

Save $36.60 (30%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Spyderco Cricket Folding Knife 1-7/8" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Spkuse
Chantilly, VA
Oct 31, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Tiny Cricket
Ok, so it is a Spyderco and I love spidy stuff. When this came out of the box it was so much smaller than the pictures on line. However, this blade and knife are thin and very light weight. It is great to have around. No regrets in getting it. You can completely hid this little baby in any pocket.
Spyderco Cricket Folding Knife 1-7/8" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
Guam
Jan 29, 2013
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Love this knife!! Very light and use it as a money clip when I go out to special functions.. Barely notice it in my pocket, but when there is a need it's always there.
Spyderco Cricket Folding Knife 1-7/8" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Irish Knife Collector
IRELAND
Aug 03, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
PURE EXCELLENCE
YOU REALY HAVE TO HANDLE ONE OF THESE KNIVES TO APPRECIATE ITS BEAUTY. IT LOOKS GOOD IN A PICTURE AND IS SO MUCH BETTER IN THE HAND. ITS ERGANOMICS ARE PERFECT AND QUALITY ASWELL. ITS DESIGN REALY IS A WORK OF ART AND I CAN UNDERSTAND WHY THIS KNIFE ABOVE ALL IS ONE THAT PEOPLE LIKE TO COLLECT EVERY TYPE THAT COMES OUT. THIS TO ME IS FOR MY COLLECTION BUT I WOULD SAY IT WOULD WORK PERFECTLY FOR EDC. BUY THIS KNIFE WHEN YOU GET A CHANCE.... YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT!!
Spyderco Cricket Folding Knife 1-7/8" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Marco Z
Houston
Sep 19, 2012
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Such a easy and unique pocket knife!
Love the "Claw" like blade shape. Makes it so easy to open boxes or packages without contorting your wrist. Also good to clip paper articles, etc. Built very good Spyderco feel and click sounds √√√
Spyderco Cricket Folding Knife 1-7/8" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
William L
Oct 03, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
sharp knife
Opening packages, short point makes easy. Compact, sharp.
Spyderco Cricket Folding Knife 1-7/8" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Davie
U.
Mar 05, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
I have the original etched cricket
Everyday to carry cash, cut boxes and small items. I also had it out in some rough areas of town ready to deploy. I found the shape of the blade more difficult to sharpen. I had the original I purchased, never had a problem with it and it was made in Japan. I hope this is not the thinner version up for sale. The original was the perfect size. I'm thinking about purchasing the balance cricket.
Spyderco Cricket Folding Knife 1-7/8" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pornthep
Phuket, Thailand
Sep 14, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
It's a good choice.
It's great and beautifull. Small and hard.
Spyderco Cricket Folding Knife 1-7/8" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kurt H.
Largo, Fl
Jul 19, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
No Idea
I had never owned a Spyderco knife before, however I had read a very good review about the "Cricket", and was looking to invest in a small light weight knife anyway so I decided to give the cricket a try. Boy, was I pleasently suprised. I got the plain blade stainless steel body knife. It came razor sharp out of the box, and has a great feel in your hand. I carry it everywhere. It has become part of my daily outfit. I am so pleased with this knife, that I ordered 3 more to give away to family and friends. The idea crossed my mind that the stainless steel surface is a perfect medium to get custom engraivings done on the face and blade. It is such a unique item, that when I pull it out, it quickly becomes the focus of conversation. GREAT KNIFE!
Spyderco Cricket Folding Knife 1-7/8" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Richard H
lake placid, fl. 33852
Feb 06, 2015
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Beautiful work of art . Good edge when I opened it, fits disreetly in pocket. Cool blade design.. A must have for your edc kit.
Spyderco Cricket Folding Knife 1-7/8" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Guille
Hato Rey, PR
Feb 16, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Feel, None
a very good and useful knife
as a money clip in the pocket and an always ready tool for several situations.
Spyderco Cricket Folding Knife 1-7/8" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Datsgor
California
Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
Spyderco Cricket vg10 plane blade
I've been carrying this knife for about 6 years and use it a dozen times a day. If you're in an office, it's unobtrusive and won't get you the strange you carry a knife looks. Opening it is a pleasure, pull it out of your pocket grab the Spyderco hole and flip the handle down and it opens right into your palm, perfect. The blade shape is perfect for opening boxes, cleaning your fingernails and opening a beer when you're done with work. Buy this knife and you will use it the rest of your life.
Spyderco Cricket Folding Knife 1-7/8" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Norman D
Wimberley, Tx
Nov 14, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
What a Pleasant Surprise
I originally bought one of these as a novelty, because I wanted a watch pocket knife and I like Japanese fabrics - mine is the apparently now-discontinued version with the Nishijin scale on one side. I would up buying four of the Nishijin Crickets because a) I was astonished at how useful it is, b) it is beautiful, c) it fits perfectly in the watch pocket of jeans, and d) I got one for each of my three sons. I don't see how you could effectively sharpen one of these without using the Spyderco system (I'm open to enlightenment on this), but since I have that system I'm able to keep most parts of it sharp enough for my purposes. I admit to being crazy about this little thing, though it's possible that if I were doing it over, I'd have opted for the Lil' Lum Nishijin version, though it is twice as expensive and probably would not work in the watch pocket. So...nah...I'm very pleased with these little things, and highly recommend them.
Spyderco Cricket Folding Knife 1-7/8" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Citizen
of the world
Dec 06, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
this art
closed. it doesn't look anything like a knife to the untrained eye. so what is it? a jewel it fits any occasion of carry. not many knives can boast this important factor. sharp n cute it will charm its way to many new hearts. excellent as a real using tool as it is a charming keepsakes to give dear ones. it's one of those rare gems for ever treasured
Spyderco Cricket Folding Knife 1-7/8" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
X
Jul 23, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Lock Type
Cons: None
Spyderco Cricket Folding Knife 1-7/8" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Mrlampp
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 12, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Handle Feel
A step down
I owned the original Cricket. When it was lost, after saving my life several times, not to mention a great tool, I decided to get another. The design had changed.. but what bothers me about this version of the Cricket is that it feels cheap; the Spyderco "hole" is almost sharp enough to cut the finger that opens it. It feels assembly line made or more aptly, machined/manufactured/stamped, like it didn't have the Spyderco care put into it. Of course there's the marketing copy that makes it sound great, but in is not refined, not like its predecessor. I own 4 Spydercos, this one's being returned.