Reviews and Ratings for Spyderco Native 5 Folding Knife 2.95" S110V Satin Plain Blade, Blue/Purple (Blurple) G10 Handles - C41GPDBL5

Spyderco Native 5 Folding Knife 2.95" S110V Satin Plain Blade, Blue/Purple (Blurple) G10 Handlesrated 4.8 stars out of 5 (15.0 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Spyderco Native 5 Folding Knife 2.95 inch S110V Satin Plain Blade, Blue/Purple (Blurple) G10 Handles

 

Price: $185.50

Save $79.50 (30%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Spyderco Native 5 Folding Knife 2.95" S110V Satin Plain Blade, Blue/Purple (Blurple) G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
J_48_Johnson
Akron, Ohio
Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

my first Spyderco knife

After reading up on the S110V blade material I wanted a knife using this steel. I liked the profile of the Native 5 but I wasn't too sure about the scale color, I'd rather have another color. Also, I've never had a knife with scales made from the G10 textured or smooth. The textured G10 didn't disappoint at all. Even though the texture is very small, it's very, (for the lack of a better term), "grippy". The blade lived up to my expectations. I've not done a lot of cutting with it yet, but the times I've used it, it cuts smoothly and was sharp right out of the box. The only thing I didn't care for is the torx bit size, (T-6), to change the location of the clip was hard to find. I drove to three hardware stores and an auto parts store only to find T-8 is the smallest they had. I ordered one online just to change the clip location. Maybe switch to T-8 holes in the screw heads to switch the clip location, or throw a bit in the box to save the end user, (me), the time and effort driving and finally ordering one online.
Spyderco Native 5 Folding Knife 2.95" S110V Satin Plain Blade, Blue/Purple (Blurple) G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bill
Columbus
Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Great Pocket Size

Very sharp. Good looking. Nice grip.
Spyderco Native 5 Folding Knife 2.95" S110V Satin Plain Blade, Blue/Purple (Blurple) G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
R Gray
North Carolina
Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Handle Material, Lock Type
Cons: Handle Feel, None

Native 5 S110V - simple and strong

I was on the fence about whether I would like the Spyderco Native 5 S110V model. My favorites include the PM2 and Manix 2, so I was not sure if I would like the smaller Native 5. Simply put, it is an excellent knife and one of my favorite EDC knives. The size is perfect for my EDC tastes and it feels very sturdy. The quality of the build is impressive and the lock, like most back locks, feels very strong. The satin blade and hardware contrasts nicely with the dark blue/purple G10 scales. The blade was very sharp out of the box and is still hair popping sharp after semi-regular use for two weeks. Impressive edge retention. The only downside that I can see would be grip length. Some people will not like the handle size, however if you grip it using the blade choil, it feels perfect. The Native 5 will not become my favorite Spyderco model, that will be reserved for the Manix 2, but the Native 5 is certainly worth the money and I highly recommend it.
Spyderco Native 5 Folding Knife 2.95" S110V Satin Plain Blade, Blue/Purple (Blurple) G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chuck
Ohio
Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Top quality EDC

S110v great steel,very durable and great size for EDC!
Spyderco Native 5 Folding Knife 2.95" S110V Satin Plain Blade, Blue/Purple (Blurple) G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe C
St Petersburg, FL
Mar 13, 2018
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Weight

My favorite everyday workhorse

Great quality. Sturdy. Easy to use. Instills confidence. Perfect size for almost anything. Comfortable. My one minor issue is that it is slightly heavier than I would like. I wear it in my right front pocket. When I have on jeans or heavy shorts or slacks it is fine, but with lighter fabrics it pulls and become very noticeable by feeling uncomfortable and almost distorting the look of what I’m wearing. If I would have known better I would have gone with the lightweight FRN over the g-10. That said, I still love it.
Spyderco Native 5 Folding Knife 2.95" S110V Satin Plain Blade, Blue/Purple (Blurple) G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bill
Columbus, Ohio
Sep 05, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: None

Great size pocket knife

I use this for my general use daily carry knife. It's a little longer and heavier than my Kershaw so I use the pocket clip most of the time unless I don't want to advertise that I have a knife.
Spyderco Native 5 Folding Knife 2.95" S110V Satin Plain Blade, Blue/Purple (Blurple) G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cary
Aberdeen, Wa.
Aug 02, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None

Best knife I've owned

This was my first purchase out of the budget class. I read all the reviews and bought my Native 5 burple without ever holding a Spyderco knife in my hand. When it arrived, it didn't leave my hand for a week. This knife fits my hand like I was born with it in hand. Fit and finish is as good as I've seen. I am totally a Spyderco fan now. And very nice service and fast delivery from Knife Center also.
Spyderco Native 5 Folding Knife 2.95" S110V Satin Plain Blade, Blue/Purple (Blurple) G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
The Reverend
Usa
Jul 12, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Classic

Solid and sharpe unparalleled design and quality. If you are to purchase one spyderco knife this is an excellent choice.
Spyderco Native 5 Folding Knife 2.95" S110V Satin Plain Blade, Blue/Purple (Blurple) G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Screech
North East
Jan 26, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Great Knife

The quality, finish, and size is perfect. Also I have always had great service from you, thanks.
Spyderco Native 5 Folding Knife 2.95" S110V Satin Plain Blade, Blue/Purple (Blurple) G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark W
Hobart, Australia
Oct 20, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Love it!

Thanks to the knife center, I received my knife in 13 days to Australia. Was very impressed with the quality, the lock sounds and feels solid. This is my EDC. Very smooth to open. Slightly heavier than I thought but I like this because you can feel the quality in your hand. The blue/purple is more purple than I had expected and the S110V blade is hair shaving sharp from the box and I have had it just over two weeks and still is just as sharp as when I first got it. Was also surprised with the size, bigger than I was expecting, fits beautifully in the hand and the extra finger grip under the blade also feels comfortable. I love my Native 5. This knife will be very had to beat in my collection.
Spyderco Native 5 Folding Knife 2.95" S110V Satin Plain Blade, Blue/Purple (Blurple) G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
George
Cleveland
Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None

Beautiful knife

Spyderco Native 5 Folding Knife 2.95" S110V Satin Plain Blade, Blue/Purple (Blurple) G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Knife Nut
U.S.
Sep 04, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

I think she'll love it.

I bought this Native 5 for the steel (S110V), and the blurple scales. I love everything about it. I showed it to my wife, and she loved it. Long story short, I have one on the way for her, too. She doesn't know it yet, and I can't wait to see her reaction. She's one of those rare women who likes a good knife, and always has at least two EDC's on her. Years ago she found a Spyderco serrated Clipit, and hasn't let it out of her sight since. Knifecenter's service is impeccable, and you can't go wrong with Spyderco.
Spyderco Native 5 Folding Knife 2.95" S110V Satin Plain Blade, Blue/Purple (Blurple) G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Guru
Mannsville, NY
Dec 15, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

My favorite Spyderco

I’ve had the green G10 linerless version in S90V for a few years and it has seen nearly daily carry and use. I’ve been impressed by the build & that steel plus the knife is delightful to use. I’ve owned lots of different Spyderco models - many didn’t appeal & got sold off but the Native 5 has become my favorite model by far. I’ve been eyeing this one with the stainless liners & S110V for awhile. Thought it was one of their absurd sprint run versions at first but was glad to see that it’s widely available. I am NOT a fan of their ‘FOMO’ (Fear Of Missing Out) marketing schemes and don’t play that silly game. I don’t especially ‘love’ the purple G10 scales (“blurple” is NOT a word so I don’t use it) but handle color is far from a deal breaker when the knife is great. I am very satisfied with the build quality and a few days of somewhat rigorous use is a good indicator that the steel is every bit as good as the S90V one I’ve used for years. Your mileage might vary but if you get one I suspect you’ll like it. Very capable model that’s well made & this version is the cream of the crop
Spyderco Native 5 Folding Knife 2.95" S110V Satin Plain Blade, Blue/Purple (Blurple) G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Zhang
Mars
Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Handle Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness

Excellent overall

Worth the price for a 100$+ knife. The spring seems to be durable, it won't slide like certain cold steel pocket knives because the spring reaches the very end. Does not necessarily come sharp from the factory, which was a disappointment. Not willing to sharpen it and take the chance that I couldn't return it in case anything went wrong.
Spyderco Native 5 Folding Knife 2.95" S110V Satin Plain Blade, Blue/Purple (Blurple) G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Norman D
Wimberley, Tx
Nov 14, 2017
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Cons: Weight

Ho Hum

I am less impressed with this knife than I expected to be. If I compare it to the Delica 4 that is my main carry knife, this one feels more fat, bulky and heavy than the Delica 4, without having any additional advantages that result from the added heft. Yeah, it has fancier steel, and it is made in the USA, but the safe, where it spends most of its time, is little impressed. I'd go for the Delica 4 over the Native 5 in a heartbeat, any day of the week. It's not a bad knife, just for my purposes a less useful tool, in small ways, than the Delica 4.