Reviews and Ratings for Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Synthetic Handles - SVORD-PK3-BLK

Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Synthetic Handlesrated 4.222 stars out of 5 (18 reviews)
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
6
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
1
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3 inch Carbon Steel Blade, Black Synthetic Handles

 

Price: $14.95

Save $3.45 (19%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Synthetic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Leninsebastopol
California
Mar 29, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material
Cons: None
Truly Enjoyable
This knife helped me remember what knives are all about. Quality is better than the price reflects. Practicality and usefulness are yet to be put to a hard test but so far, great knife.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Synthetic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tommy F. T
Jacksonville, Florida
Apr 16, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Pocket Clip
Great bargain
Good carbon steel. Excellent value for the money. Sharp edge right out of the box.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Synthetic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Julian
Palo Alto, Ca
Jun 16, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Sheath, Handle Material
I'm hooked
I own some much more expensive Benchmade's, Spyderco's etc.. but I have been EDC'ing this 13 dollar gem since I got it. There is something about the simplicity of it that is really fantastic, and the while it didn't arrive too sharp, the carbon steel blade did not take too long to sharpen to hair-whittling. The handle material is a little sloppy, but it is a 13 dollar knife. Some nice micarta handles, and a good sheath, and it would be a near perfect non-locking blade at 2x the price. Check out the dimensions carefully, though, it's not small, the handle is large (especially with the tang), and it doesn't fit in the backpocket next to the wallet as well as a stockman or trapper slipjoint would, overall, awesome blade, I'll be buying a sheath and another color very soon.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Synthetic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Paul
New Jersey
Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Blade Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Handle Material
just what i was hoping for.
I bought this knife to modify for basic edc / bushcraft work. I made my own olive wood scales, polished, jimped, and re profiled the blade, the edge was sharp, but i wanted it a little cleaner. then i gave it a cider vinegar patina to help protect the blade. i carry it everyday for daily cutting tasks, and take it in the woods where i have made feather sticks, split kindling, struck a ferro rod, cut food, spread penut butter etc. Also, i am going to the UK in the early summer and this will be my UK legal carry knife when i am hiking, the friction lock and 3" blade are perfect. The blade steel is great, and the handle, although very basic looking, is a great ergonomic shape, so i traced the old handle shape onto my olive wood.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Synthetic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike G.
CA
Dec 18, 2011
Pros:
Cons:
excellent blade in an inexpensive setting
The blade steel and geometry are excellent. At this price point, do not expect perfect grinds. With a few hours, some sandpaper and a mousepad, you can convex this blade to scary sharp perfection. If you have some basic tools, it is not too hard to build a custom handle. I would definitely recommend his knife.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Synthetic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Shep L.
Ft Bragg, NC
May 03, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
Best bang for the buck!
The Svord PK is at first look a cheap looking knife. But once you use it and carry it is anything but. The plastic handles are simple and really easy to mod. The blade is just perfect. The design is utilitarian and effective. The PK has replaced my Benchmade, Bladetech and Opinel as my choice EDC. Svord hit the nail on the head with this one. I will be buying more to mod. The blade is really easy to etched/stain. Mustard works the easiest. Paint it on let it sit an hour or so and rinse.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Synthetic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Will
St. Paul, MN
Jul 23, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Not fancy, but really easy to use
This knife is easy to open with one hand, even with gloves on. I find that holding the knife handle upside down with the blade pointing up is the easiest way to open it. I can pull it out of my pocket and open it in about half a second now, and put it back quickly too. It does take practice. I like the steel that it's made from, but it is ground crooked. I don't really mind though. The blade after a little sharpening is really sharp, and it does hold an edge well. the handle is pretty big for the size of the knife. The blade is about the same as the larger SAK's, but the handle is large. I like this because it makes it easier to hold in your hand and put some serious pressure down onto surface you are cutting. I don't think that it would close on your hand because of the extra tang that sticks out of the blade. I like the way that it's made. Overall I would recommend it, but not for EDC because it is just to big in my opinion. Even though the blade is just average size the handle makes the knife look more intimidating than it really is, and pulling this out on the street (at least in the city) might get some funny looks. I still like it though. I put a string though the little hole in the handle and hand it from a hook. Great little knife. I would definitely love to have another one. Plus they are cheap, so if you lose it, no big deal.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Synthetic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kurfiss L
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Apr 25, 2012
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
It sneaks up on you
When I unwrapped the Svord Peasant, I thought it was one of the ugliest knives I have ever seen. I threw it in a drawer and didn't think about it much until the day when I couldn't find my Stanley Utility Knife to open some boxes. The Svord outperformed the Stanley in every way, especially at cutting up cardboard, opening "blister packaging", sharpening pencils, cutting strapping tape...you know, the everyday cutting stuff we all do. Sure, the retractable "utility knife" is great if you don't mind buying and changing out blades a lot, but this little beast, all you gotta do is touch up the edge. I now have five of them.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Synthetic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe
New York
Feb 01, 2017
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
great work knife
I use it an every day work knife the blade takes and holds an edge and is very easy to open and close .
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Synthetic Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Alan L, The Urban Farmer
Columbus,Ohio
Oct 08, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath, Handle Material, None
Svord an excellent bug out knife as well
Emailed the warranty card to the company in New Zealand, and within an hour I got a response back, WOW! Neat design, easy to open and close with one hand. The Svord Brown Suede sheath is very basic but does the job. Looks like the blade would be easy to sharpen in the field. Very nice blade,unusal design and as classic as my Opinel's. JAL
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Synthetic Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Admiller1980
Des Moines, Iowa, USA
May 15, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: Handle Material, None
Exactly as it should be
There are no illusions about this knife. It is called a peasant knife for a reason. It is a useful knife but it's not designed to be safe, or pretty, or lightweight. The metal is not state of the art and the handles aren't carbon fiber. And that's ok. Because it's still AWESOME! I don't use mine on a daily basis but I would have no qualms about taking it camping or fishing. In its essence, It's a minimalist survival tool! Keep it oiled and sharp, and just enjoy it! It's unique...
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Synthetic Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
The General
Orange, TX
Dec 13, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Cool knife
Very functional cutting tool at a bargain price. I found it easy to open and close with one hand. Especially pleased with the carbon steel blade. I use it for everything around deer camp and work. I have not had it very long and I'm anxious to see how it "wears in". I bought three more of them for sons and son-in-law. It has made a very good first impression.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Synthetic Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Sims
Georgia
Jun 01, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Lock Type, None
Nice field knife
Finally an affordable knife not made in China. Perfect for knocking around in a toolbox or the bottom of a day pack.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Synthetic Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mark
Fort Worth, Texas
Aug 25, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Great basic carbon steel work knife for the money
Think of this knife as being comparable to an opinel in carbon steel, or sodbuster in carbon steel. It's a no frills inexpensive value knife with great steel. The peasant knife however, has no lock or spring. Handle friction holds the blade closed, and handle friction holds the extended tang when open, mid way down the back of the handle. When using the knife, the palm of the hand covers the extended tang for additional safety. A few observations that might help... Be aware that the blade is not stainless and like knives of yore, will stain and rust easily. The blade is held in the closed position with friction against the polypropylene handle slabs (or wood, depending on model) and it's adjustable at both ends. When opening the blade by using the extending tang to rotate the blade out, I occasionally had difficulty because I was inadvertently pinching the handles too tight with my other hand at the middle of the knife. There is no problem rotating the blade out if I adjust my grip to use the flat thumb rest at the end of the handle. Same problem closing the blade-- Don't pinch the handles too tight where the tang is held (midway on the handle), or it won't close. Also, there is a safety concern carrying the knife in a pocket with no spring keeping it closed. I would recommend a pouch for inside pocket use. I use a fairly smooth butcher steel for honing, and the tool steel sharpens with extreme ease to a scary sharp edge, as I would expect from this kind of steel. Thumbs-up: Value carbon tool steel slightly quirky, but charming novelty design
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Synthetic Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Joey B.
Ames, IA
Jan 05, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use
Cons: Handle Material, None
best cheap knife
My son loved this knife and said it had a great edge. He has MANY expensive knives and he loves this one.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Synthetic Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Oak
Chicago, Il
Sep 10, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Type, None
Better than a mall knife
Came with a pretty scary toothy edge, hurts a lot more than a refined edge if it cuts you, hah. The lack of a locking mechanism bugs me out more than i thought it would, i have to tape it down when sharpening or even stropping the knife to be safe. overall decent quality for the price, its a good beater or knife to just be rough with. the carbon steel is pretty nice, but also fairly reactive. it started getting surface rust from just being on the counter for a few days. you definitely need to put some oil on it if youre going to let it sit for a while. that said, it was summer when i got this, so it was more humid than usual. i would like to see a fixed blade version of this, i would buy it in an instant. even so, its still worth the money if youre interested and its still a higher quality build than a cheap mall/ gas station knife that doesnt even come sharp from the factory and has a blade that isnt properly heat treated.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Synthetic Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Anonymous
USA
Nov 02, 2015
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening
Not bad, not as expected.
To be honest, it's a decent blade but nothing special. I understand it's supposed to be a pretty simple blade but the finish isn't great; (Schrade used to make cheap knives but they were always very good quality). It's very tough to open, the handle is way too tight against the blade.
Svord Peasant Friction Folding Knife 3" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Synthetic Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Martin N
Ft Lauderdale
Feb 02, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: Handle Feel, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
returned item
I didn't care for the product even at the reasonable price. I feel the blade and handle design is an accident waiting to happen.